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INTRODUCTION 
 

The purpose of the Training and Resource Manual for Juvenile Defenders is to 
provide juvenile defense attorneys with a comprehensive overview of the juvenile 
justice system and the legal and collateral issues that arise in juvenile 
delinquency proceedings in South Carolina’s family courts. The information 
presented in the Manual is intended for educational and informational purposes 
only. It is not intended to provide legal advice or legal opinion on any specific 
issue. Readers should not rely on this guide as a primary source of legal 
authority, but should consult official versions of South Carolina statutes, rules, 
and cases prior to making decisions or taking action in legal proceedings.  
 
Citations to South Carolina statutes and cases used throughout this guide are 
formatted as concisely as possible, and therefore, are not necessarily 
appropriate for formal citations in pleadings and papers filed with the family court. 
South Carolina statutes are cited as § __-__-__ (e.g., § 63-3-651 instead of S.C. 
Code Ann. § 63-3-651 (2010)). All S.E.2d cases referred to are South Carolina 
cases unless otherwise noted. When full statutes are included, emphasis has 
been added (with bold or underlined font) to some of the statutory language to 
draw attention to important details or recent changes in the laws. 
 

The materials contained in this manual are as complete and current as possible 
as of the date of publication, but laws and policies are subject to change at any 
time without notice. While I have made every attempt to ensure accuracy, errors 
are inevitable. I would like to be notified of any errors detected so that I can make 
corrections as needed in future updates.   

 
If you have any questions concerning information contained in the Manual, or to 
report errors or suggestions for future updates, please contact me at the 
Children’s Law Center at 803-777-1646. 
 

 
Blanche Quinn Richey 

 
Resource Attorney 

Children’s Law Center 
University of South Carolina School of Law 

 
 
 
 

- Updated January 2014 - 
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THE CHILDREN’S LAW CENTER 

 
The Children’s Law Center, University of South Carolina School of Law 

was founded in 1995 and serves as a resource center for judges, 

attorneys, and other professionals involved in juvenile justice or child 

maltreatment cases in South Carolina. The overall purpose of the 

Children’s Law Center is to improve the administration of justice in these 

cases, by enhancing the knowledge and skills of practitioners of all 

disciplines.  
 

The Children’s Law Center provides a full array of training, technical 

assistance, resource materials, and research activities addressing a broad 

spectrum of law and court-related topics affecting children involved in 

court proceedings in South Carolina.  
 

 
                     

Children’s Law Center  
 1600 Hampton Street, Suite 502 

Columbia, SC 29208 
 

Phone: (803) 777-1646    Fax: (803) 777-8686 
 

http://childlaw.sc.edu 
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DEFINITION OF “CHILD” 
 
 
 
 

While the legal age of majority in South Carolina is 18 years of age under 
§ 63-7-20(3), for purposes of the juvenile justice system, “child” or 
“juvenile” is defined by § 63-19-20(1) of the Juvenile Justice Code as 
follows: 

 

 "Child" or “juvenile” means a person less than 17 years of age. 
 

 "Child" or “juvenile” does not mean a person 16 or older who is 
charged with a Class A, B, C or D felony or a felony which provides for 
a maximum term of imprisonment of 15 years or more. 

 

 However, a 16-year-old charged with a Class A, B, C or D felony or a 
felony which provides for a maximum term of imprisonment of 15 years 
or more may be remanded to the family court for disposition of the 
charge at the solicitor’s discretion. 

 

 Note: § 63-19-20(1) also states that “[a]n additional or accompanying 
charge associated with the charges contained in this item must be 
heard by the court with jurisdiction over the offenses contained in this 
item.” (E.g., If a 16-year-old is charged with burglary in the first degree 
and petit larceny arising out of the same circumstance, both charges 
should be heard in general sessions court.) 
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CASE FLOW CHART 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

  
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
  
 
   

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

   
 

COMPLAINT 
Citizen, Law Enforcement 

DETENTION HEARING 
Only if detained. Must be held within 48 

hours, excluding weekends and holidays. PETITION FILED 

PREDISPOSITION EVALUATION 
Court may schedule disposition hearing for a later date 

to allow for an evaluation of the child’s needs and to 
determine appropriate custody and treatment options. 

DISPOSITION HEARING 
Judge decides outcome of case. 

COMMITMENT TO DJJ 
Judge may commit child to 
DJJ for an indeterminate 
period up until the child’s 

21
st
 birthday.  Guidelines for 

amount of commitment time 
are determined by the 

Parole Board or DJJ and 
are based on current and 

past adjudications.  DJJ has 
discretion on placement.  

TAKING INTO CUSTODY (by law enforcement)  
After being taken into custody, child is either released to 
parent/responsible adult or detained by law enforcement. 

 

90 DAY 
DETERMINATE 

SENTENCE 
Judge may order 

commitment to DJJ 
for up to 90 days for 

each offense. 

PROBATION 
Child remains in community at 
home or alternative placement 

and is supervised by a DJJ 
probation officer. Child may 
be placed on probation for 
any amount of time up until 

the child’s 18
th
 birthday.  

Court has discretion with 
probationary terms that may 
include community service, 

restitution, or a fine. 
 

DRIVER’S LICENSE 
RESTRICTION OR 

SUSPENSION 
Until child’s 17

th 
(for 

status offense) or 18
th
 

(for criminal offense) 
birthday. 

APPEAL 
Child has the right to appeal the 

judge’s final ruling. 

WAIVER / TRANSFER  
Jurisdiction of child’s 
case is transferred to 

adult court. 

DIVERSION 

DISMISSAL 

INIVESTIGATION BY LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 

INTAKE 

FIRST COURT APPEARANCE 

ADJUDICATION 
Court finds whether the 

allegations in the petition 
are true beyond a 
reasonable doubt. 

WAIVER HEARING 
Court considers waiver of 

child to adult court. 

PRE-WAIVER EVALUATION 

Motion may be made 
to waive eligible child 

to adult court. 

PAROLE / RELEASE 
Child may be granted conditional 

(parole up until the child’s 21
st
 birthday) 

or unconditional release from DJJ.  
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THE FAMILY COURT PROCESS FOR CHILDREN 
CHARGED WITH CRIMINAL AND STATUS OFFENSES 

 
 
 

INTRODUCTION 
 

Children have special needs and are treated differently than adults by the court system. 
In South Carolina, the family court has jurisdiction over children charged with criminal 
and status offenses. Status offenses are those offenses which would not be a crime if 
committed by an adult, such as incorrigibility (beyond the control of the parents), 
running away, and truancy (failure to attend school as required by law). A person’s age 
determines whether he or she will be treated as a child and tried in family court, or 
treated as an adult and tried in adult criminal court. South Carolina law defines “child,” 
for juvenile justice purposes, as a person less than seventeen years of age, but the 
definition excludes a sixteen-year-old charged with a Class A, B, C, or D felony or a 
felony that provides for a maximum term of imprisonment of fifteen years or more. 
However, a sixteen-year-old excluded under this definition may be remanded or 
transferred to the family court at the solicitor’s discretion. § 63-19-20(1). 
 
PETITION  
 

Any person, including law enforcement, who believes that a child has committed a 
criminal or status offense, may initiate a family court proceeding involving the child. 
Under most circumstances, a police officer or someone authorized by the family court 
will prepare a petition and file it with the family court. A petition, which is similar to the 
complaint in the adult system, is a formal document alleging that a child committed a 
delinquent act. The petition must clearly identify: (1) the facts alleging the child’s 
delinquency; (2) the child’s name, age, and address; and (3) the names and addresses 
of the child’s parents or guardian. § 63-19-1030. 
 
After the petition is filed, the child and the child’s parents or guardian are notified of the 
charges against the child. The court will then set a date and time for the adjudicatory 
hearing, which is the hearing where the judge decides whether the juvenile is “guilty” or 
“not guilty” of the alleged offense(s).   
     
TAKING INTO CUSTODY 
 

A child may also enter the juvenile justice system upon being taken into custody by law 
enforcement. The taking into custody is the equivalent of an adult’s arrest. 
 
Custodial Interrogation 
 

While in custody, a child has the same rights as an adult as far as police interrogation 
and the Fifth Amendment privilege against self-incrimination. Children who are in police 
custody and not “free to leave” must be warned of their rights pursuant to Miranda v. 
Arizona before being questioned about an alleged delinquent act. The Miranda warning 
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(also referred to as Miranda rights) is a formal warning given by police to suspects in 
police custody before they are interrogated to preserve the admissibility of their 
statements in criminal or delinquency court proceedings. The Miranda warning includes 
informing a suspect that he has the right to remain silent, that anything he says can be 
used against him in a court of law, that he has the right to the presence of an attorney, 
and that if he cannot afford an attorney, one will be appointed for him prior to any 
questioning if he so desires. Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966). The law does not 
require a child’s parents to be present in order for the police to question the child.   
 
DETENTION 
 

When a child is taken into custody by law enforcement, the officer who took the child 
into custody decides whether to release the child to a parent or responsible adult, or to 
detain the child, pending a hearing. If the officer determines it is necessary to place the 
child outside the home until the court hearing, the authorized Department of Juvenile 
Justice (DJJ) representative must “make a diligent effort to place the child in an 
approved home, program, or facility, other than a secure juvenile detention facility, when 
appropriate and available.” § 63-19-820(A). 
 

Children are eligible for detention only if they meet certain criteria defined by law.  For 
example, the law allows for detention of a child who has been charged with a statutory 
violent crime; had possession of a deadly weapon; or has no suitable alternative 
placement and it is determined that detention is in the child’s best interest or is 
necessary to protect the child or the public. § 63-19-820(B). A child must be at least 
eleven to be detained in a detention facility. In addition, children eleven or twelve years 
of age may only be detained by order of the family court. § 63-19-820(F). 
 

A child taken into custody for a status offense should not be detained more than 24 
hours unless a previously issued court order notified the child that further violation of the 
court's order may result in the child being securely detained in a juvenile detention 
facility. A child ordered detained for violating a valid court order may be held in secure 
confinement in a juvenile detention facility for not more than 72 hours, excluding 
weekends and holidays. § 63-19-820(E). 
 
Detention Hearing 
 

If the officer who took the child into custody has not released the child to a parent or 
responsible adult, the family court must hold a detention hearing within 48 hours from 
the time the child was taken into custody, excluding weekends and holidays. A child 
must be represented by an attorney at this hearing and may only waive this right after 
consulting with an attorney at least once. The court will appoint an attorney to represent 
the child if the child does not have one. § 63-19-830(A). The detention hearing may be 
held without the child’s parents or guardian if they cannot be located after a "reasonable 
effort," and the court will appoint a guardian ad litem for the child. Rule 32, SCRFC. 
 

At the detention hearing, any evidence relevant to the necessity for detaining the child is 
admissible. The DJJ representative will report to the court on the facts surrounding the 
case and make a recommendation as to the child’s continued detention pending the 
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adjudicatory hearing. At the conclusion of the detention hearing, the judge will 
determine: (1) whether probable cause exists to justify the detention of the child; and (2) 
whether it is appropriate and necessary to detain the child further. § 63-19-830(A). 
 

A child who has been ordered detained must be screened by a social worker or 
psychologist within 24 hours to determine if the child is in need of any services. § 63-19-
830(B). A child who is ordered detained is entitled to another hearing: (1) within 10 days 
following the initial hearing; (2) within 30 days following the 10-day hearing; and (3) at 
any other time with a showing of good cause. A child must not be detained in a 
detention facility for more than 90 days unless the court determines exceptional 
circumstances warrant additional detention. § 63-19-830(A). 
 
INTAKE 
 

When a child is referred to the family court for prosecution, the child will go through a 
screening process called “intake.” The function of intake, which is conducted by DJJ, is 
to independently assess the circumstances and needs of the child. § 63-19-1010. 
 

During the intake process, a DJJ caseworker at the local DJJ county office interviews 
the child and the child’s parent or guardian. The caseworker will provide information to 
the child and the parent about the system, collect background information from the child 
and parent, and have the parent sign releases for school and medical records. The 
caseworker will also attempt to identify appropriate services that might be available for 
the child and the child’s family. The information gathered at intake, along with the child’s 
school records, past involvement in the juvenile justice system, and other available 
information, will be used by the DJJ caseworker when making recommendations to the 
solicitor and to the court. 
 
DIVERSION 
 

If a child meets certain criteria, the solicitor may allow the child’s case to be diverted 
from the juvenile justice system. This means that instead of being prosecuted in the 
family court, the child will be allowed to participate in a diversion program, such as 
arbitration or juvenile pre-trial intervention. Criteria that would make a child eligible for a 
diversion program might include being a first time offender, a nonviolent offender, or 
drug/alcohol dependent. If the child successfully completes the diversion program, the 
charges against the child will be dismissed.   
 
WAIVER / TRANSFER OF JURISDICTION 
 

Under certain circumstances, a juvenile who is alleged to have committed a serious 
offense may be waived to adult criminal court. The waiver process is one of the most 
significant actions that can take place in family court, as it involves waiving or 
transferring the child’s case from family court to general sessions court where the child 
is tried as an adult.   
 

State law dictates when a child is eligible to be waived to adult court, based on the age 
of the child and the type of offense the child is alleged to have committed. Prior to 
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waiving a child to adult court (when waiver is within the court’s discretion), the family 
court must determine, after a full investigation of the facts and circumstances 
surrounding the case, that it is in the child’s or the public’s best interest.  
 

A family court judge has the authority to waive: (1) a child of any age charged with 
murder; (2) a 16-year-old charged with a misdemeanor, a Class E or F felony as defined 
in § 16-1-20, or a felony which, if committed by an adult, would carry a maximum term 
of imprisonment of 10 years or less, after full investigation; (3) a 14- or 15-year-old 
charged with a Class A, B, C, or D felony or a felony which, if committed by an adult, 
would carry a maximum term of imprisonment of 15 years or more, after full 
investigation and a hearing; and (4) a child 14 or older charged with carrying a weapon 
on school property, unlawful carrying of a handgun, or unlawful distribution of drugs 
within a half-mile of a school, after full investigation and a hearing.  § 63-19-1210(4)-
(6),(9). 
 
A family court judge is required to waive a child 14 or older charged with an offense 
which, if committed by an adult, would carry a term of imprisonment of ten years or 
more and the child has previously been adjudicated or convicted for two prior offenses 
which, if committed by an adult, would carry a term of imprisonment of ten years or 
more. § 63-19-1210(10). 
 
Waiver Hearing 
  
The purpose of the waiver hearing is to determine whether waiver is in the child’s and 
the public’s best interest. A child who is being considered for waiver will usually undergo 
a pre-waiver evaluation prior to the hearing. The evaluation results are compiled into a 
waiver evaluation report that is presented at the waiver hearing to assist the judge in 
deciding whether or not to waive the child.   
 

The U.S. Supreme Court has identified eight factors that may be considered by the 
judge when deciding whether or not to waive a child to adult criminal court. The eight 
factors are: (1) the seriousness of the alleged offense and whether waiver is necessary 
to protect the community; (2) whether the offense was committed in an aggressive, 
violent, premeditated, or willful manner; (3) whether the alleged offense was against 
persons or property; (4) whether there is sufficient evidence for a Grand Jury to return 
an indictment; (5) the desirability of trial and disposition of the entire case in one court 
when the child’s co-defendants in the alleged offense are adults; (6) the level of 
sophistication and maturity of the child; (7) the child’s record and previous criminal or 
adjudicative history; and (8) the prospects for adequate protection of the public and the 
likelihood of reasonable rehabilitation of the child by the use of services currently 
available to the court.  Kent v. United States, 383 U.S. 541 (1966). 
 
ADJUDICATION 
 

When a child is referred to family court and the solicitor chooses to prosecute, a hearing 
is scheduled for the family court judge to determine whether or not the child is guilty of 
the alleged offense. At this stage, the child will either admit or deny the allegations in 
the petition. The child has the right to a trial where the solicitor has the burden of 
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proving beyond a reasonable doubt that the child committed the alleged offense(s). The 
child also has the option of admitting the allegations and pleading guilty.  
 
Children’s Rights 
 

The U.S. Supreme Court has held that children are entitled to fundamental due process 
rights which are guaranteed to adults by the United States Constitution in proceedings 
that could result in confinement to an institution in which their freedom would be 
curtailed. These rights include: (1) the right to notice of the charges and time to prepare 
for the case; (2) the right to an attorney; (3) the right to confront and cross-examine 
witnesses; and (4) the privilege against self-incrimination, including the right to remain 
silent in court. In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967). The Supreme Court also held that children 
are guaranteed the right to the adult criminal court standard of “beyond a reasonable 
doubt” when determining guilt and the right against double jeopardy. In re Winship, 397 
U.S. 358 (1970), Breed v. Jones, 421 U.S. 519 (1975). 
 

Some rights guaranteed to adults in criminal prosecutions, however, are not guaranteed 
to children in South Carolina family court adjudications. These rights include the right to 
a jury trial and the right to bail. The U.S. Supreme Court held that children do not have a 
constitutional right to a jury trial because the “juvenile court proceeding” has not yet 
been held to be “criminal prosecution” within the meaning and reach of the Sixth 
Amendment. McKeiver v. Pennsylvania, 403 U.S. 528 (1971).  
 
Guilty Plea 
 

If there is ample evidence supporting the allegations of the petition (i.e., sufficient proof 
that the child committed the alleged offense), the child may decide to give up the right to 
a trial and plead guilty or admit to the facts of the petition. Before a child pleads guilty, 
the child’s attorney may enter into plea negotiations with the solicitor. Plea negotiations 
may involve: a reduction of a charge; dismissal of one or more of multiple charges; 
elimination of the possibility of waiver to adult court; and/or agreements regarding 
disposition recommendations for the child, such as an agreement by the solicitor to 
recommend probation. When a child enters a guilty plea, the judge must be satisfied 
that the plea was entered into voluntarily before adjudicating the child delinquent. 
 
Adjudicatory Hearing 
 

If the child denies the allegations in the petition, an adjudicatory hearing is held before a 
family court judge. The adjudicatory hearing is comparable to a trial in adult court. The 
purpose of the adjudicatory hearing is to determine if the child is guilty or not guilty. 
Before finding a child guilty of an alleged offense and adjudicating the child delinquent, 
the judge must be satisfied that the evidence proves beyond a reasonable doubt that 
the child committed the offense.   
 

At the conclusion of the adjudicatory hearing, after all the evidence has been presented, 
the judge will make a ruling. The judge may determine that the state failed to prove its 
case beyond a reasonable doubt and find the child not guilty, or the judge may find the 
child guilty and adjudicate the child delinquent. It is important to note that an 
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adjudication is not a conviction. Adults who are found guilty of an offense are 
“convicted;” children are “adjudicated delinquent.” This distinction is important because 
state law specifically states that an adjudication does not result in civil disabilities that 
would ordinarily result from a conviction of the same offense. In addition, the disposition 
of a child or any evidence given in court does not disqualify the child in future civil 
service applications or appointments. § 63-19-1410(C). 
 
These hearings are closed to the general public, and only those individuals who have a 
direct interest in the case or who work for the court may be admitted. § 63-3-590.  
 
DISPOSITION 
 

The final phase of the court process is the dispositional hearing. At this hearing, the 
judge determines what type of sentence the child will receive to hold the child 
accountable for his or her actions and prevent future violations of the law. 
  
Predisposition Evaluation 
 

After adjudicating a child delinquent, the family court judge may move directly into the 
sentencing phase or dispositional hearing, or the judge may order the child to undergo 
an evaluation prior to sentencing the child. The purpose of the evaluation is to gather 
information about the child and the child’s surroundings, background, and 
circumstances. The information is then provided to the judge in a report designed to 
assist the judge in determining an appropriate sentence. In making this determination, 
the judge will take into account the needs and best interests of the child. 
  
The predisposition evaluation includes psychological, social, and educational 
assessments that are conducted in the community (community evaluation) or at a DJJ 
evaluation center. If the child is sent to a DJJ evaluation center, the child will also 
receive a medical examination and attend school while at the evaluation center. A child 
may not be committed to an evaluation center for more than 45 days. § 63-19-1440(C). 
 

The evaluation report prepared for the judge includes: information gathered from 
interviews with the child and the child’s parents or guardian; psychological and possibly 
psychiatric evaluations and tests; information gathered from the child’s teachers and 
school officials; an overview of the child’s school and court records; and 
recommendations regarding treatment and services that would benefit the child. 
 
Dispositional Hearing 
 

While the purpose of the adjudicatory hearing is to determine whether the child is guilty 
or not guilty of the alleged offense, the purpose of the dispositional hearing is to 
determine what sentence is most appropriate for the child, taking into consideration the 
child’s best interest and the protection of the community.   
 

At the dispositional hearing, the judge will generally decide between a probationary 
sentence or a commitment to DJJ. The judge will take the following into account when 
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sentencing the adjudicated child: evaluation reports, seriousness of the offense(s), 
school records, behavior at home, and prior court history.  
 
Probation 
 

The majority of children adjudicated delinquent are placed on probation. The length of 
probation may be for any amount of time up until the child’s eighteenth birthday. When 
placing a child on probation, the judge will specify what the terms of probation will be, 
depending on the unique circumstances of the child. The terms of probation may 
include regular school attendance, random drug testing, restitution, community service, 
electronic monitoring, curfews, participation in a community program, individual or group 
counseling, and in- or out-patient treatment. 
 
Commitment 
 

The court may determine that it is necessary to remove a child from the community and 
may commit the child to the custody of DJJ for placement at one of its institutions.  The 
judge may commit a child to DJJ for either a determinate period of up to 90 days for 
each offense, or for an indeterminate period not to exceed the child’s twenty-first 
birthday (unless sooner released by DJJ or the Juvenile Parole Board). Before 
committing a child to DJJ for an indeterminate period, the court must order the child to 
undergo an evaluation unless the child has been previously evaluated by DJJ and the 
evaluation is available to the court. § 63-19-1440. 
 

A child who receives an indeterminate commitment will be held at DJJ for an indefinite 
period of time, not to exceed the child’s twenty-first birthday. Once committed, the child 
is given a set of "guidelines," determined by the state Board of Juvenile Parole (the 
Parole Board) or DJJ, depending on the adjudicated offense(s). The guidelines set out 
the minimum and maximum number of months that the child will remain at DJJ and 
range from 1-3 months to 36-54 months. Guidelines are based on the seriousness of 
the current offense(s) for which the child is adjudicated and the child’s history of 
previous adjudications. These guidelines, along with information regarding the child’s 
behavior and progress while at DJJ, determine how long the child will be incarcerated. 
Children may be incarcerated at DJJ longer than their maximum guidelines, up to the 
child’s twenty-first birthday, for reasons including refusal to comply with a treatment 
plan, negative behavior while committed, or an additional charge. Children may also be 
released prior to their minimum guidelines for good behavior. A child who has reached 
his minimum guidelines has the right to appear before the Parole Board periodically for 
the purpose of parole consideration (eligibility for release). A child appearing before the 
Parole Board has the right to an attorney. If the child’s family cannot afford to hire an 
attorney, an attorney will be appointed for the child  
 
Transfer to Department of Corrections (DOC) 
 

A child serving a commitment to DJJ for a violent offense, who has not been released 
by his seventeenth birthday, must be transferred to the Youthful Offender Division of 
DOC. All other children who have not been released sooner must be transferred to the 
Youthful Offender Division of DOC at age nineteen. § 63-19-1440(E). 
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PAROLE 
 

The release of a child committed to DJJ for an indeterminate period is determined by 
either DJJ or the Board of Juvenile Parole (Parole Board). DJJ is the releasing entity if 
the child was adjudicated delinquent and committed for a status offense,   
misdemeanor, or probation violation for a status offense or misdemeanor. The Parole 
Board is the releasing entity if the child was adjudicated delinquent and committed to 
DJJ for any other offense. The releasing entity may grant a child a conditional or 
unconditional release. If a child is granted a conditional release, the child will be 
supervised by the local DJJ county office for a period of time determined by the 
releasing entity. The specified period of conditional release may not exceed the child’s 
twenty-first birthday. A child on conditional release may be required to pay restitution, 
perform community service, or complete a local aftercare program in the community.     
§ 63-19-1850. 
 
RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 

A child has the right to appeal the family court judge’s decision regarding disposition. A 
child can only seek review of a final order (i.e., the judge must have made a ruling as to 
disposition in the case.) If a case is appealed, it is reviewed by the South Carolina Court 
of Appeals.   
 
EXPUNGEMENT OF A CHILD’S RECORD 
 

Upon reaching the age of 18, a child who was taken into custody for, charged with, or 
adjudicated delinquent for having committed a status or nonviolent offense may petition 
the court for an order destroying all official records relating to: (1) being taken into 
custody; (2) the charges filed against the child; (3) the adjudication; and (4) the 
disposition. The granting of the order is in the court’s discretion. The court will only grant 
the order for expungement if it finds that the child seeking to have the records expunged 
is at least 18, has successfully completed any dispositional sentence imposed upon 
him, and has not been subsequently charged with committing any criminal offense.       
§ 63-19-2050. 
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INTAKE 
 

 
 
 
DJJ INTAKE SERVICES  

 
DJJ is required to provide intake services for children brought before South 
Carolina’s family courts. The function of intake is to “independently assess the 
circumstances and needs of children referred for possible prosecution in the 
family court.” § 63-19-1010(A). 
 
While the solicitor must review DJJ’s recommendations as to intake, it is the 
solicitor who must make the final decision regarding whether or not to prosecute. 
If the solicitor decides circumstances do not warrant prosecution, the intake 
counselor must assist the child and family by making referrals for services as 
appropriate. If the child is adjudicated delinquent or found by the court to have 
violated probation, the intake counselor is responsible for recommending 
appropriate dispositional options to the court, including services available to the 
child. § 63-19-1010. 
 
Note: DJJ may change its recommendation in court or prior to a court hearing if 
any of the child’s charges have been reduced or dismissed as part of a plea 
bargain. 
 
 

THE INTAKE PROCESS 
 
During the intake process, DJJ gathers information about the child. The law 
states that before the hearing of a child’s case, the judge shall “cause an 
investigation of all facts pertaining to the issue to be made.” § 63-19-1030(C). 
The investigation should consist of an examination of the child’s age, habits, 
surroundings, home environment, prior court history, and parents’ habits and 
character. Prior to the hearing, the court may also order that the child undergo a 
mental examination by a psychologist or psychiatrist.  If the child attends school, 
a report on the child must be obtained from the school that the child attends.       
§ 63-19-1030(C). 

 
Statements of the child contained in DJJ’s files “MUST NOT be furnished to the 
solicitor’s office as part of the intake review procedure, and the solicitor’s office 
MUST not be privy to these statements in connection with its intake review.”       
§ 63-19-1010(A) (emphasis added). 
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NOTICE AND SERVICE OF SUMMONS 
 
 
 
 
NOTICE  

 
“In any case where the delinquency proceedings may result in the commitment to 
an institution in which the child’s freedom is curtailed, the child or the child’s 
parents or guardian must be given notice with particularity of the specific charge 
or factual allegations to be considered at the hearing. The notice must be given 
as soon as practicable and sufficiently in advance to permit preparation.” § 63-
19-1030(D).   
 
Rule 35(b), SCRFC requires notice of the adjudicatory hearing to be served on 
both parents, and if the child is not living with the parents, the guardians or 
persons with whom the child resides. 
 

 
SERVICE OF SUMMONS 

 
Under § 63-3-570: 

 Service of summons and process of the family court in delinquency 
proceedings shall be made as provided by law for service in the court of 
common pleas. 

 If the judge determines that personal service is impracticable, the judge may 
order service by registered or certified mail, addressed to the last known 
address, or by publication thereof, or both. 

 It shall be sufficient to confer jurisdiction if service is effected at least 48 hours 
before the time fixed in the summons or process for the return thereof. 

 Service of summons, process, or notice may be made by any suitable person 
under the court’s direction.  

 
Anyone summoned who fails to appear without reasonable cause may be 
proceeded against for contempt of court.  If the summons or process cannot be 
served, the court finds that the service will be ineffectual, or the court finds that 
the child’s welfare requires that child be brought into the court’s custody, a 
warrant may be issued for the child, parent or guardian of the child, or any 
person who has control or possession of the child, to immediately bring the child 
before the court. § 63-3-580. 
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PROSECUTION 
 
 
 
 
PROSECUTION, DIVERSION, OR DISMISSAL 

 
The solicitor or the solicitor’s “authorized assistant” is given authority to 
determine whether or not a child should be prosecuted in family court. In making 
this decision, the solicitor must review DJJ’s recommendations regarding the 
child, which are based on information gathered at intake. § 63-19-1010(A). 
 
Upon receiving a case referred for prosecution, the solicitor should review the 
child’s court records and case information to ensure that the child was properly 
charged. If the solicitor determines, based on the available information, the 
charges are appropriate, the solicitor will make a determination as to whether the 
case should be prosecuted, referred to a diversion program, or dismissed. 
 
If the solicitor determines that the case should be referred to a diversion 
program, it is not necessary to file a juvenile petition. If prosecution is 
appropriate, the case continues and an adjudicatory hearing is scheduled. 
 

MOTION FOR DISMISSAL 
 
Children, like adults, have the constitutional right to a speedy trial. Although there 
is no requirement regarding the time frame in which a case must be prosecuted 
in family court, the South Carolina Rules of Family Court establish a time frame. 
Under Rule 35, SCRFC, the adjudicatory hearing must be set at the "earliest 
practicable date but no later than 40 days from the filing of petition unless 
delayed by order of the court, which order shall set forth the reasons for the 
delay.” 
 
Failure to schedule the adjudicatory hearing within the prescribed 40-day period 
can only be used as a ground for dismissal “upon an affirmative showing of 
material prejudice.” Rule 35, SCRFC. 
 

SPECIAL RESPONSIBILITIES OF A PROSECUTOR  
 
RULE 3.8 of the South Carolina Rules of Professional Conduct provides 
standards for solicitors in criminal cases. The Rule states that a prosecutor must: 
 

 refrain from prosecuting a charge the prosecutor knows is not supported by 
probable cause; 
- A prosecutor has the responsibility of a minister of justice and not simply 

that of an advocate. This responsibility carries with it specific obligations to 
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see that the defendant is accorded procedural justice and that guilt is 
decided upon the basis of sufficient evidence.  

 

 make reasonable efforts to assure that the accused has been advised of the 
right to, and the procedure for obtaining, counsel and has been given 
reasonable opportunity to obtain counsel; 
 

 refrain from trying to obtain a waiver of important pretrial rights from an  
unrepresented defendant; 
 

 make timely disclosure to the defense of all evidence or information known to 
the prosecutor that tends to negate the guilt of the accused or mitigates the 
offense, and, in connection with sentencing, disclose to the defense and to 
the court all unprivileged mitigating information known to the prosecutor, 
except when the prosecutor is relieved of this responsibility by a protective 
order; 
- The exception stated above recognizes that a prosecutor may seek an 

appropriate protective order from the court if disclosure of information to 
the defense could result in substantial harm to an individual or to the 
public interest. 

 

 except for statements that are necessary to inform the public of the nature 
and extent of the prosecutor's action and that serve a legitimate law 
enforcement purpose, refrain from making extrajudicial comments that have a 
substantial likelihood of heightening public condemnation of the accused and 
exercise reasonable care to prevent investigators, law enforcement 
personnel, employees or other persons assisting or associated with the 
prosecutor in a criminal case from making an extrajudicial statement that the 
prosecutor would be prohibited from making under Rule 3.6 or Rule 3.8. 
- This rule supplements Rule 3.6, which prohibits extrajudicial statements 

that have a substantial likelihood of prejudicing an adjudicatory 
proceeding. In the context of a criminal prosecution, a prosecutor's 
extrajudicial statement can create the additional problem of increasing 
public condemnation of the accused. A prosecutor can, and should, avoid 
comments which have no legitimate law enforcement purpose and have a 
substantial likelihood of increasing public opprobrium of the accused. This 
is not intended to restrict the statements which a prosecutor may make 
which comply with Rule 3.6(b) or 3.6(c). 

 
PLEA AGREEMENTS 

 
In Santobello v. New York, 404 U.S. 257 (1971), the Court established that state 
prosecutors are obligated to fulfill the promises they make to defendants when 
those promises serve as inducements to defendants to plead guilty." See 
Sprouse v. State, 585 S.E.2d 278 (S.C. 2003).   
 

http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=708&SerialNum=1971136568&FindType=Y&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.08&mt=Westlaw&vr=2.0&sv=Split
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INDIGENT DEFENSE 
 
 
 
RIGHT TO COUNSEL 

 
A child has the right to counsel in any case “where the delinquency proceedings 
may result in commitment to an institution in which the child’s freedom is 
curtailed.” The child or the child's parent must be advised of this right to counsel 
in the written notice of the court proceedings and allegations against the child. 
This notice must also advise the child or child’s parent that an attorney will be 
appointed to represent the child if they are unable to hire an attorney. § 63-19-
1030(D). 

 
DETERMINATION OF INDIGENCY 
 

When determining whether a child qualifies for an appointed attorney, the court 
considers the parents’ financial ability to hire an attorney for the child. This is 
usually handled through a screening process that determines indigency 
according to a baseline weekly income that increases according to the number of 
dependents. If the parents are able but refuse to hire an attorney, the court is 
authorized to appoint an attorney and order the parents to reimburse the Indigent 
Defense Fund or pay the court-appointed attorney in an amount determined by 
the court. § 63-19-1040. 
 

CONFLICTS 
 
If a child qualifies for an appointed attorney and a conflict arises in the public 
defender’s office preventing the public defender from representing the child, a 
member of the private bar will be appointed to represent the child. Generally, the 
clerk of court has the judge sign an order appointing the next attorney on the 
criminal appointment list. If the case is unusually complicated or involves a more 
serious offense, the judge may decide to appoint a specific attorney. 
 

 WAIVER OF RIGHT TO COUNSEL 
 
In a case where the proceedings may result in commitment to an institution in 
which the child’s freedom is curtailed, the judge must inform the parent and child 
of their right to counsel, and specifically ask them to consider whether they do or 
do not waive this right. § 63-19-1030(D). While the statute allows for the waiver 
of right to counsel, it is standard practice for family court judges to require 
children to be represented by an attorney at all court hearings to ensure the 
child’s rights are protected. A child may waive the right to counsel at the 
detention hearing only after consulting at least once with an attorney. § 63-19-
830(A). 
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RULES FOR CONDUCT OF HEARINGS 
 

 
 
 
CONDUCT OF HEARINGS. § 63-3-590.  

 

All cases of children must be dealt with as separate hearings by the court and 
without a jury. The hearings must be conducted in a formal manner and may be 
adjourned from time to time. The general public must be excluded and only 
persons the judge finds to have a direct interest in the case or in the work of the 
court may be admitted. The presence of the child in court may be waived by the 
court at any stage of the proceedings. Hearings may be held at any time or place 
within the county designated by the judge. In any case where the delinquency 
proceedings may result in commitment to an institution in which the child’s freedom 
is curtailed, the privilege against self-incrimination and the right of cross 
-examination must be preserved. In all cases where required by law, the child must 
be accorded all rights enjoyed by adults, and where not required by law the child 
must be accorded adult rights consistent with the best interests of the child. 
 

RULES FOR CONDUCT OF HEARINGS. § 63-3-600.  
 

Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the rules of court and the court 
may consider and receive as evidence the result of any investigation had or made 
by the probation counselor; provided that either party shall be entitled to examine 
the probation counselor under oath thereon. The court may adjourn the hearing 
from time to time for proper cause. Where a petitioner’s needs are so urgent as to 
require it, the court may make a temporary order for support pending a final 
determination. 
 

ADMISSIBILITY OF DOCUMENTS INTO EVIDENCE 
 

Rule 7, SCRFC, is relied upon frequently in family court proceedings involving 
children. Under this rule, the following documents and written statements are 
admissible into evidence without requiring that the persons or institutions issuing 
the documents or statements be present in court:  

 A written statement of a child's school attendance signed by the school 
principal or duly authorized school official; 

 The school report card showing a child's records of attendance, grades, and 
other pertinent information, provided that such report is released at periodic 
intervals by the school;  

 A physician’s written statement showing that a patient was treated at certain 
times and the type of ailment;  

 A written DSS or other agency report, reporting the home investigation or any 
other report required by the court (unless the agency is party); and 

 An employer’s written statement showing wages, W-2 statement, income tax 
returns, and other reports of like nature. 
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CHECKLIST OF IMPORTANT ISSUES TO CONSIDER 
 

 
 
 
IS THE CHILD COMPETENT? 

 

If the court has reason to believe a child lacks the capacity to understand the 
proceedings against him or to assist counsel in his defense, the court should 
order that the child undergo a competency evaluation. § 44-23-410. (See section 
on Competency.)  
 

The following indicators may warrant a referral for an evaluation: 

 The child is under 12 years of age. 

 The child does not appear to understand the attorney’s or judge’s questions 
or what is happening during the attorney/client conferences or court 
proceedings. 

 The child has a history of mental health problems, has been in and out of 
hospitals, or is or has been on medication.  

 The child is in learning disabled (LD), emotionally handicapped (EH) or other 
special education classes.  

 

IS THE CHILD SAFE?  
 

If there are any indicators that the child is being abused or neglected, the child 
may need to be taken into emergency protective custody (EPC) by the court and 
placed with Department of Social Services (DSS). 
 

A DSS home investigation should be ordered if: 

 there are signs of abuse or neglect; or 

 the child’s parent appears to have issues affecting her or his ability to properly 
care for the child, such as a substance abuse problem or a severe mental 
illness. 

 

SHOULD A GUARDIAN AD LITEM BE APPOINTED FOR THE CHILD? 
 

In certain situations, the judge may appoint an attorney to act as guardian ad 
litem (GAL) for a child in a delinquency case. The appointed GAL is responsible 
for ensuring that the child fully understands the court proceedings and that the 
child’s rights are being protected.   
 

A GAL should be appointed when: 

 the child’s parent is the victim;  

 the parent cannot be found or willfully fails to come to court; 

 the parent does not seem to be concerned with the child’s best interests; or  
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 the parent cannot understand the proceedings because of mental incapacity.  
 
SHOULD A PSYCHOEDUCATIONAL EVALUATION BE ORDERED? 

 
If the child is struggling in school, is in regular classes, and has never been 
tested for learning disabilities, the judge may order that the school perform a 
psychoeducational evaluation to assess whether the child is properly placed or is 
in need of special education or related services.  The order should include an 
amount of time in which to have the evaluation completed to ensure a timely 
response. 
 

IS THERE A NEED TO DESIGNATE A LEAD AGENCY? 
 

The court has the authority to designate a state agency to act as lead agency to 
provide a family assessment to the court. The assessment must at least include: 
the family’s strengths and weaknesses; problems interfering with the family’s 
functioning and the child’s best interests; and recommendations for a 
comprehensive service plan to strengthen the family and help resolve these 
issues. The lead agency is required to provide the family assessment to the court 
in a timely manner. § 63-19-1410(2). 
 
The court will conduct a hearing to review the proposed plan and adopt a plan as 
part of its order that will best meet the needs and further the best interests of the 
child.  In developing a comprehensive plan, the court should consider: additional 
testing or evaluation that may be needed; economic services available to the 
family; counseling services; and any other programs or services appropriate to 
the child’s and family’s needs. Id. 
 
The lead agency is also responsible for monitoring compliance with the court 
ordered plan and must report to the court as ordered. Id. 
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 ROLE & DUTIES OVERVIEW 

 
 
 
As an attorney representing a juvenile in family court, you have an ethical 
obligation to represent your client’s expressed interests at all stages of the 
delinquency proceedings. 
 
You owe the same duties required by the South Carolina Rules of Professional 
Conduct to your juvenile client as you would to an adult client. You have a 
responsibility to provide your juvenile client with a clear understanding of his or 
her legal rights and obligations, zealously assert your client’s position, and 
ensure that your client has a clear understanding of the court proceedings and 
possible outcomes, including the collateral consequences of a juvenile 
adjudication. 
 
While maintaining a relationship with your client’s parents or guardian is 
important, that relationship should never interfere with your duty to your juvenile 
client or the expressed interests of your client. This is true whether you were 
appointed by the court to represent the juvenile or retained and paid by the 
juvenile’s parent or some other person. It is important to remember that the 
attorney-client privilege does not extend to the child’s parents. 
 
Juvenile defenders, in addition to being familiar with all applicable constitutional 
law, state statutes, case law, and court rules, should have an understanding of 
issues specific to the representation of children, including DJJ’s policies and 
procedures, available community-based alternatives and services, brain and 
adolescent development research, special education, and collateral 
consequences of juvenile adjudications and dispositions. 
 
On June 7, 2013, the South Carolina Commission on Indigent Defense formally 
adopted the Performance Standards for Indigent Defense in Juvenile Cases, 
along with the general Performance Standards for Public Defenders and 
Assigned Counsel. Both sets of Standards became effective July 1, 2013. 
 
In addition to the above-mentioned Performance Standards, the following 
publications provide additional analysis of the role of the juvenile defender and 
best practices:  

 
 National Juvenile Defense Standards (2012, National Juvenile Defender 

Center) 
 

 Role of Juvenile Defense Counsel in Delinquency Court (2009, National 
Juvenile Defender Center) 
 

 American Bar Association Model Rules of Professional Conduct 
 

http://www.njdc.info/pdf/NationalJuvenileDefenseStandards2013.pdf?utm_source=Report+-+NJDCR&utm_campaign=WNR+2-8-2013&utm_medium=email
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SC COMMISSION ON INDIGENT DEFENSE 
PERFORMANCE STANDARDS FOR INDIGENT DEFENSE IN 

JUVENILE CASES 
 
 

 

Effective July 1, 2013 
 

The following Performance Standards for Indigent Defense (Public Defenders and 
Assigned Counsel) were formally adopted by the SC Commission on Indigent Defense 
on June 7, 2013, effective July 1, 2013. Counsel in juvenile cases should also refer to the 
general Performance Standards for Public Defenders and Assigned Counsel as adopted 
by the Commission on June 7, 2013, effective July 1, 2013. 
 

These performance standards are not intended to provide a new basis for a claim of 
ineffective assistance of counsel. They are benchmarks taken from existing national 
standards, and do not and cannot redefine the existing precedents that set forth the 
basis for determining when reversible error has occurred. 
 
Section 1. Purpose of Standards 
 

Juvenile delinquency proceedings in the South Carolina Family Court are fundamentally 
different than adult criminal cases. Judges are charged by the South Carolina Code of 
Laws with acting in the “best interests of the child,” this emphasis on the rehabilitation of 
the child contrasts with the more punitive model used by the adult criminal justice 
system. These standards aim to provide guidance to appointed counsel in juvenile 
matters with particular emphasis on the distinctive requirements of the South Carolina 
juvenile justice system. 
 
Section 2. Attorney Role 
 

Guideline 2.1 Function of Defense Counsel. The participation of counsel for juveniles 
subject to delinquency proceedings in Family Court is essential to the administration of 
justice and to the fair and accurate resolution of issues at all stages of these proceedings. 
 

Guideline 2.2 Role of Counsel. Counsel’s role is to insure that the interests and rights of 
the juvenile client are fully protected and to insure that the juvenile is afforded due 
process. Additionally, counsel in juvenile cases should be familiar with dispositional 
alternatives and services, should investigate the client’s social, educational, and 
psychological history, and should advocate a plan approved by the client generally 
proposing the least restrictive alternative. 
 

Guideline 2.3 Attorney Qualification and Training. 
a. In order to provide competent representation, counsel should know the South Carolina 
Code of Laws, the South Carolina Rules of Evidence, the South Carolina Rules of Family 
Court, and the South Carolina Rules of Criminal Procedure. 
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b. Counsel should be cognizant of the roles of the Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ), 
the Department of Social Services (DSS), the Department of Disabilities and Special Needs 
(DDSN), and the Department of Mental Health (DMH). Counsel should be aware of the 
various service delivery systems and placement processes for these agencies. 
c. Counsel should be encouraged to attend continuing legal education seminars devoted 
specifically to the function and procedures of representing juveniles subject to Family 
Court proceedings. 
d. Counsel should review and follow the Performance Standards for noncapital 
representation as they apply to qualification and training. 
 

Guideline 2.4 Independence of Counsel. It is essential that the professional independence 
of counsel and the integrity of the attorney‐client relationship be maintained at all times. 
 
Section 3. Attorney Responsibilities 
 

Guideline 3.1 Acting Diligently and Promptly. Counsel is bound by Rule 1.3 of the Rules of 
Professional Conduct to act with reasonable diligence and promptness in representing 
the client. Counsel should be prompt in all dealings with the court, including attendance, 
submissions of motions briefs and proposed orders, and in dealing with clients and other 
interested parties. 
 

Guideline 3.2 Acting Ethically. Counsel in a juvenile case must know and follow the 
standards of professional conduct set forth in the Rules of Professional Conduct and 
decisions of the South Carolina Supreme Court. 
 
Section 4 Lawyer‐Client Relationship 
 

Guideline 4.1 Client Meetings. A lawyer should meet with the client as soon as 
practicable and as often as necessary to ascertain all relevant facts and matters related 
to the defense known to the client. 
 

Guideline 4.2 Keeping Client Informed. The lawyer has a duty to keep the client informed 
on all developments in the case and of the lawyer’s efforts and progress with respect to 
all phases of the representation. This duty may extend also to a parent or guardian 
whose interests are not adverse to the juvenile, subject to the confidentiality 
requirements of the South Carolina Rules of Professional Conduct 
 

Guideline 4.3 Confidentiality. Counsel should seek to establish a relationship of trust  and 
confidence with the client. The lawyer should explain to the client that full disclosure to 
counsel of all facts known to the client is necessary for effective representation and, at 
the same time, explain that the lawyer’s obligation of confidentiality makes the client’s 
disclosures to counsel privileged. 
 

Guideline 4.4 Client Duty and Responsibility. A lawyer has a duty to his juvenile client to  
protect confidentiality and to consult with his client just as in an adult case. This duty to  
 
 SCCID Performance Standards for Indigent Defense in Juvenile Cases 
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determine how to best approach the case and any plea negotiations must be  
undertaken with the client being fully informed. In juvenile cases this must be done with 
the client’s best possible legal resolution of the case in mind and not the best interest of 
the parent or guardian, which may at times conflict with the client’s interest. 
 

Guideline 4.5 Resolving Conflicts of Interest. The lawyer’s principal duty is always first and 
foremost the representation of the client’s legitimate interest and not personal or 
professional advantage or convenience. Conflicts of Interest rules should always be 
followed. The potential for conflict of interest between a juvenile and his or her parents 
should be clearly recognized and acknowledged. All parties should be informed that 
counsel represents the juvenile and that in the event of a disagreement between a 
parent or guardian and the juvenile, the attorney is required to serve the interests of the 
juvenile. 
 

Guideline 4.6 Advice to Give Client. A lawyer should advise the juvenile client with 
complete candor concerning all aspects of the case. This includes a frank estimate of the 
probable outcome. 
 

Guideline 4.7 Testimony by Juvenile. It is the duty of the attorney to protect the juvenile 
defendant’s privilege against self‐incrimination. If the client elects not to testify then the 
attorney should insist on the recognition of this right. 
 

Guideline 4.8 Decision Making. Certain decisions related to the conduct of the case are to 
be made by the lawyer and others by the client. The client is ordinarily responsible, after 
being fully advised and consulting with Counsel for determining: 
i. The plea to be entered at adjudication; 
ii. Whether to cooperate in diversion program; 
iii. Whether to be tried as a juvenile or an adult, where the client has the choice; 
iv. Whether to testify on his or her own behalf. 
 

Decisions concerning what witnesses to call, whether and how to conduct cross-
examination, what motions should be made, and similar strategic and tactical decisions 
are the exclusive province of the lawyer after full consultation with the client. 
 
Section 5 Attorneys’ Initial Duties 
 

Guideline 5.1 Early Release. Whenever the nature and circumstances of the case permit, 
counsel should explore the possibility of diversion from the formal juvenile court process. 
 

If the client is detained, the lawyer should immediately consider all steps that may in 
good faith be taken to secure the child’s release from custody. At detention hearings the 
lawyer should be present and prepared, where circumstances warrant, to present facts 
and arguments relating to the jurisdictional sufficiency of the allegations, the 
appropriateness of the place and criteria used for detention, and any non‐compliance 
with procedures for referral to court or for detention. The attorney should also be  
 
 SCCID Performance Standards for Indigent Defense in Juvenile Cases 
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prepared to present evidence with regard to the necessity for detention and a plan for 
pretrial release of the juvenile. Counsel must be familiar with and able to use the DJJ 
guidelines for release in preparation for and presentation at detention hearings. 
 

Guideline 5.2 Visiting Detention Facility. Whenever the juvenile is detained, the attorney 
should regularly and periodically visit the juvenile. The attorney should keep records of 
these visits. 
 
Section 6 Pretrial Duties 
Counsel should be held to the same standards set forth in the non‐capital representation 
regarding Pretrial Duties. 
 
Section 7 Transfer Hearings 
Counsel is responsible for being familiar with the provisions of SC Code of Laws Section 
63‐19‐1210 and its application to the client. Counsel should be ready to argue for or 
against transfer of jurisdiction to or from the Family Court based on the best interests of 
the client. Counsel must prepare for Transfer Hearings and consider the need for expert 
witnesses or other witnesses necessary to support the position of the client regarding the 
transfer of jurisdiction. 
 
Section 8 Plea Negotiations 
 

Guideline 8.1 The client should be made aware of any plea negotiations. Clients should 
be aware of any plea negotiations as soon as practical to inform them. Counsel is 
responsible for explaining and making sure the juvenile understands the concept of plea 
bargaining in general as well as the details of any specific plea offer made to the client. 
Counsel must advise the client on all possible consequences of an adjudication, including 
collateral consequences. Where it appears that the client’s participation in a psychiatric, 
medical, social, or other diagnostic or treatment regime would be significant in obtaining 
a desired result, the lawyer should so advise the client and seek the client’s consent to 
participation in such a program. 
 
Section 9 Trial/Adjudication 
 

Guideline 9.1 Trial/Adjudication Standards. The trial of a case in Juvenile Court requires 
much if not all the same skills and preparation as required in any noncapital trial handled 
by an attorney. Therefore, close attention should be paid to the provisions for handling a 
trial set forth in these Performance Standards for noncapital cases by indigent defense 
attorneys. 
 

Guideline 9.2 Disposition without Trial. Counsel must be aware of any alternative 
programs, along with inquiring if the minor would qualify for such diversion program, 
which may be available and allow the case to be disposed of without trial. This would       
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include, but not be limited to, negotiated guilty pleas, alternative dispositions, deferrals 
and diversion programs. As noted above, this requires counsel to be informed about all 
these possible resolutions and to have fully investigated them in the context of the 
client’s case. 
 

The client must also be fully informed regarding the alternatives to trial and the 
advantages and possible disadvantages of a trial versus a negotiated plea or diversion 
program or other disposition. 
 

If the client elects to enter into any plea or any of the other dispositions available to him 
or her it is the attorney’s responsibility to be sure the client is properly informed and 
prepared for the Court hearing that will impose this resolution short of trial, including the 
Court procedures and format, his or her expected conduct and the possible 
outcomes/sentences. 
 

Guideline 9.3 Trial of the case. Counsel must prepare for the trial just as described in the 
Performance Standards for non‐capital cases except for matters relating to juries since a 
jury is not available in juvenile adjudications. 
 
Section 10 Disposition/Sentencing 
 

Guideline 10.1 Counsel’s Role at Disposition Hearings. The active participation of counsel 
at disposition is often essential to the protection of clients’ rights and to furtherance of 
their legitimate interest. Counsel must know and be ready to address the DJJ Guidelines 
for disposition as they relate to the client’s case. Counsel must prepare for the 
disposition just as described in the sentencing provisions of the Performance Standards 
for non‐capital cases while being aware of all the various options available for disposition 
in the juvenile’s case. This can be the most valuable service to a client by an attorney. 
 

Guideline 10.2 Duty to Investigate. Counsel should promptly investigate all sources of 
evidence including any reports or other information that will be brought to the court’s 
attention, including all witnesses who are material to the disposition decision. Whether 
or not social and other dispositional reports are readily available, the lawyer has a duty 
independently to investigate the client’s circumstances, including such factors as 
previous history, family relations, economic condition and any other information relevant 
to disposition. The lawyer should look to secure the assistance of expert personnel 
needed for purposes of evaluation, consultation, or testimony with respect to formation 
of a dispositional plan. 
 

Guideline 10.3 Client Counseling. Prior to disposition counsel should explain to the client 
the nature of the disposition hearing, the issues involved, and the alternatives open to 
the court. When psychological or psychiatric evaluations are ordered by the State or used 
by defense counsel, Counsel should fully discuss and explain the process of these 
procedures to the client. 
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Guideline 10.4 Hearing Duties. It is Counsel’s duty to insist that proper procedure be 
followed throughout the disposition stage and that orders entered be based on adequate 
reliable evidence. Counsel may seek to compel the presence of witnesses whose 
statements of fact or opinion are before the court or the production of other evidence on 
which conclusions of fact presented at disposition are based. 
 

Guideline 10.5 Counseling After Disposition. At disposition counsel should urge the Court 
to apply dispositional requirements that fit the client and avoid placing a 
counterproductive burden on the client and his or her parent or guardian. Counsel has a 
duty to obtain the Court’s Final Order and review it carefully. Counsel should file 
objections to any errors or irregularities in the order and seek a hearing. If the Court 
refuses to correct its order after the hearing, Counsel should consider filing an appeal on 
behalf of the client seeking appropriate relief. When a dispositional decision has been 
reached, it is Counsel’s duty to explain the nature, obligations and consequences of the 
disposition to the client and his or her parent or guardian and to urge upon the client the 
need for accepting and cooperating with the dispositional order. If appeal from either the 
adjudicative or dispositional decree is contemplated, the client should be advised of that 
possibility, but the attorney must counsel compliance with the court’s decision during 
the interim. 
 

Guideline 10.6 Continuing Duty to Client. The lawyer’s responsibility to the client does 
not necessarily end with dismissal of the charges or entry of a final dispositional order. 
The attorney should be prepared to counsel and render assistance to the juvenile in 
securing appropriate legal services for the client in matters arising from the original 
proceeding. No matter the outcome, if Counsel feels that counseling services are 
necessary for the juvenile and/or the parent or guardian, Counsel should do everything in 
his/her power to assist them in receiving this assistance. Counsel should embrace a 
holistic approach to the client that not only addresses the immediate legal needs of the 
client but also seeks to place the client in the best position possible to succeed after the 
Court matters are resolved. 
 
Section 11 Post‐Dispositional Hearing Duties 
 

Guideline 11.1 Post‐Trial Matters. Counsel must be informed about and be able to handle 
contempt proceedings and probation violation matters. The Performance Standards for 
non‐capital representation apply to Counsel in these matters as well. 

 

 

End of Document 
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BASIC STEPS OF REPRESENTATION 
PRIOR TO THE ADJUDICATORY HEARING  

 
 

 
This section briefly discusses the steps defense counsel should take prior to the 
adjudicatory hearing. It is very general and does not address the representation of 
juveniles in detention, at risk of being transferred to adult court, or with special 
circumstances (e.g., mental health issues; juvenile sex offenders; and lesbian, gay, 
bisexual, and transgender [LGBT] youth).  
 

 The final section of this manual, Resources for Juvenile Defenders, lists 
several excellent publications that address juvenile defense and trial 
advocacy, and  provide a much more detailed and in-depth look at handling 
juvenile court cases. 

 
Upon being appointed or hired to represent a juvenile: 

1. Meet with your client as soon as practicable in order to gather information 
about your client’s background and the alleged offense to assess your client’s 
competency and prepare for court hearings. 

2. File a Rule 5 Motion for Discovery and a Brady Motion with the clerk of the 
family court and serve it on the solicitor.  

3. Contact the solicitor handling the case to discuss the status of the case, 
possible diversion programs that may be appropriate for your client, and 
potential plea negotiations.  

- Until you meet with your client, you will not know if pleading guilty is an 
option, but it can be helpful to have an idea of what the solicitor is 
willing to consider, as far as plea negotiations, when you meet with 
your client.  

4. Contact the local DJJ office to discuss your client’s case. 
- Find out what DJJ will be recommending to the court regarding 

potential evaluations and sentencing.  
- Inquire about available and appropriate community services for your 

client and client’s family.  
- DJJ should also have your client’s school records and prior court 

history available for your review. 

5. Review the discovery received from the solicitor. 
- This should include the petition, incident reports, your client’s prior 

record, any written or recorded oral statements, and any other 
discoverable information under Rule 5, SCRCrimP or Brady v. 
Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963), which requires the disclosure of 
exculpatory evidence. 
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6. Retain independent experts for mental health evaluations or other evaluations 
as needed, instead of relying on the reports of DJJ or DMH. 

7. Visit and familiarize yourself with the scene of the alleged delinquent act. 

8. Determine the need to enlist the assistance of an investigator.  

9. Explore all possible defenses. 

10. Interview all potential defense witnesses and character witnesses and 
prepare them for court. 

11. If after thoroughly investigating the facts of the case and exploring all possible 
defenses there appears to be sufficient evidence to prove the child committed 
the alleged offense, discuss with your client the possibility of entering a guilty 
plea.  

12. The decision to plead guilty or go to trial is ultimately the client’s decision, but 
as the child’s attorney, you should advise your client of the benefits of a plea 
and give your professional opinion as to what the best course of action would 
be under the circumstances. 

13. If your client wishes to plead guilty, and you feel confident your client is 
competent and understands the implications of giving up the right to a trial, 
negotiate with the solicitor for a plea agreement that will result in the best 
possible outcome for your client.  

- When negotiating, be creative and offer suggestions for sentencing 
options that are the least restrictive for your client but that address the 
solicitor’s concerns.  

- When discussing a plea offer with your client, explain the family court 
judge always has discretion as to sentencing, and that, even if there is 
a negotiated plea, the judge may refuse to accept the negotiated 
terms, but then must allow the child to withdraw his or her plea.  

- You must inform your client of any plea offers made by the solicitor 
even if your client makes it clear that he or she does not wish to plead 
guilty.  

14. If your client wishes to go to trial, refer to the Trial Manual for Defense Attorneys in 
Juvenile Delinquency Cases, 2012 Edition by Randy Hertz, Martin Guggenheim, 
and Anthony G. Amsterdam of New York University School of Law. This excellent 
resource is a detailed guide for handling all aspects of juvenile court cases from 
initial steps of representation to post dispositional advocacy. 

15. See Disposition Planning and Advocacy section for steps to prepare for the 
Dispositional Hearing.  
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ATTORNEY-CLIENT COMMUNICATIONS 
 

 
 

It is important to meet with your client well in advance of the child’s first hearing 
to adequately prepare and provide your client with meaningful representation.   
 
When you meet with your client for an initial interview, while you will have 
questions for the child’s parent or guardian, the majority of the conference will 
involve you asking the child questions and making sure the child understands the 
court proceedings. Do not let the child’s parent or guardian answer for your client 
during the interview. This is your opportunity to get to know your client and 
assess the child’s competency.   
 

Be clear about the attorney-client relationship. Make certain your client and 
client’s parent understand that you represent the child, not the parent. Also, 
make it clear that that there is no exception to the duty of attorney-client 
confidentiality in juvenile cases for parents. You must have your client’s informed 
consent, before revealing any information related to the representation, even to 
the child’s parent or guardian. In addition, the attorney-client privilege does not 
extend to parents, so when discussing the facts of the case with your client, do 
so in private, without the parent present to preserve the privilege. 
 
Here are the basics to cover during the initial meeting(s) with your client: 
 

(1) Introduce yourself and explain your role.  
- Make sure the child understands you are his or her attorney; that you do 

not work for the state, the court, or DJJ; and everything he or she tells you 
in private is confidential. 

(2) Assess your client’s competency. If you do not believe your client is 
competent to go to trial or to assist you in his or her defense, take steps to 
have a competency evaluation conducted. (See Competency section.) 

(3) Interview your client to gather as much relevant background information as 
possible in preparation for requesting diversion, plea negotiations, and court 
hearings.  

(4) Make sure your client understands the charge(s) he or she is facing and 
question your client about the facts surrounding the alleged offense(s).  

(5) Explain the court proceedings including the roles of the judge, solicitor, DJJ 
staff, court reporter, and bailiffs. 

(6) Explain all the possible outcomes of the case including collateral 
consequences. 

 
INTERVIEWING YOUR CLIENT  

  

To effectively represent your client, you need to know all the relevant background 
information about your client and client’s circumstances, as well as the facts 
surrounding the case.  
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When interviewing your client be mindful of the child’s age and ability to 
understand your questions. Use age appropriate language and avoid legalese.  

 
The National Juvenile Defender Center (NJDC) has prepared an excellent 
treatment of attorney-client communications included in the NJDC’s Juvenile 
Defender Delinquency Notebook (2d ed. Spring 2006), which is available free of 
charge on the NJDC website at www.njdc.info/delinquency_notebook/interface.swf.

  
Interview Questions 
 
The following is a sample list of questions to ask your client during the Attorney-
Client Conference:  

 

 What is your full name? 

 How old are you? 

 When is your birthday? 

 What is your address? Is that the address where you always stay?  

- If not, be sure to get the addresses and phone numbers of all places 
your client stays for extended periods of time, e.g., relative’s or friend’s 
home. 

 What is your phone number?  

- Also, ask for additional numbers of relatives or neighbors where you 
can contact your client in case your client’s phone service is 
disconnected.   

 Who else lives in your home? (Siblings, grandparents, mother’s boyfriend, 
etc.) 

 Are your parents employed?  Where?   

 Are you enrolled in school? Where? 

 What grade are you in? 

 Are you in regular or special classes? (E.g., Emotionally Handicapped (EH), 
Learning Disabled (LD), or other special education classes) 

 What kind of grades are you making this year?  

- Explain that the judge will have access to the child’s school records 
prior to and during the court proceedings.  

- Verify any school information you are relying on by reviewing DJJ’s 
records or have the child’s parent sign a release allowing you to 
access the records directly from the school. 

 Did you miss any days of school this school year?  Any class cuts or tardies? 

 Have you had any disciplinary problems at school?  How many times have 
you been suspended this year? Have you ever been expelled from school? 

 Are you involved in any extra-curricular or after-school activities? 

 Do you go to church? Are you involved in any church activities? 
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 Have you ever been to court before? Explain. 

 Do you have a job?  

 Are you pregnant? Do you have any children? 

 Do you drink alcohol or take any drugs?  

- You may get a more honest answer by asking: “When is the last time 
you drank alcohol? How often? How much? When is the last time you 
smoked marijuana? If you got drug tested today, would you test 
positive?”   

- Explain that the judge may order the child to take a drug test. 

 Has the Department of Social Services/DSS ever been involved with your 
family? Have you ever been in DSS custody or lived in a home without your 
parents/guardians?  

 Are you currently taking any medication? Have you taken any medication in 
the past? If so, what?   

 Have you ever been hospitalized?  
- You are mainly concerned with any psychiatric stays or serious head 

injuries. 

 Have you been diagnosed with any mental health problems? 

 Are you receiving counseling or therapy? Have you ever? 

 How is your behavior at home? 
- Ask the parents this one, too, because the judge often will, and you 

want to be prepared for their response. 

 Is there anything else about you or your family you think I should know? 

 Also ask the child’s parent if the child has experienced any significant trauma 
or loss (e.g., witnessed violent acts or experienced the loss of a family 
member or close friend). 

 

After interviewing the child regarding background information, question the child 
as to his or her account of the alleged delinquent act(s). It may be helpful to read 
the petition aloud and tell the child “this is what the State is saying happened, is 
that true?” or “now you tell me what happened.” Be sure to question the child 
about the following: 
 

 Time, date, and place of offense 

 Details of the events that led to the offense 

 Names, addresses, and telephone numbers of any potential witnesses and 
details about what they witnessed 

 Any possible written or oral statements made to the police or anyone else by 
the child or any co-defendants 

 Was your client given Miranda warnings? What were the circumstances? 
Who gave the warnings? Did your client sign anything? 
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PREPARING YOUR CLIENT AND  
CLIENT’S PARENTS FOR COURT 

 
 

COURTROOM ETIQUETTE 
 

Explain the importance of acting appropriately when appearing before the judge 
and while in the courthouse. Review the following with your client and client’s 
parents or guardian: 
 

 Be punctual for all court hearings. Arrive before you are summoned to appear 
to ensure you are not late. 

 When in the courthouse and waiting for your case to be called, conduct 
yourself in a quiet and orderly manner.  

 Dress appropriately for court - shirts tucked in; pants pulled up; no hats, 
shorts, sleeveless shirts, t-shirts, short skirts, short dresses, or flip flops; and 
no excessive jewelry. 

 Hair should be neat and groomed. 

 No chewing gum. 

 No cell phones or other devices in the courtroom. 

 Stand when the judge enters or exits the courtroom. 

 Do not approach the bench. 

 When speaking to the judge or when the judge is speaking directly to you, 
always stand unless the judge tells you to sit. Make eye contact with the 
judge; do not look down at the floor. 

 Speak clearly and loud enough so that the judge and court reporter can hear 
what you are saying.  

 Always respond verbally; do not answer questions by shaking or nodding your 
head or shrugging your shoulders. 

 Always speak to the judge respectfully (e.g., “Yes, sir,” “No Ma’am,” or “Yes, 
Your Honor”).  

 
ADDRESSING THE COURT 

 

Encourage your client to thoughtfully consider what he or she may want to say to 
the presiding judge in court and provide guidance. Depending on the 
circumstances, it may be beneficial to have your client write a letter to the judge 
expressing remorse and plans to stay out of trouble in the future. 
 

The judge may also ask the child’s parents or guardian to speak in court or 
answer questions. It is critical that you convey to the parent the impact his or her 
comments may have on the judge and the judge’s decision regarding sentencing. 
While parents may be inclined to vent their frustrations with their child in open 
court while they have the court’s attention, you should make sure they 
understand that once a judge rules, here is nothing that parent can do to change 
that ruling.  



37 

 

 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

Discovery 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



38 

 

DISCOVERY & DISCLOSURE OF EVIDENCE 
 
 
 
 

When appointed or hired to represent a child in family court, the defense attorney 
should file a Rule 5 Motion for Discovery and Brady Motion.  Rule 5, SCRCrimP, 
which addresses the disclosure of evidence in criminal cases, is also applicable 
in juvenile actions under Rule 2, SCRFC. Rule 5 identifies the types of 
information subject to disclosure by both the prosecution and the defense, and 
also identifies information that is not subject to disclosure. 
 

DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS 
 
In Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963), the Court addressed the prosecution’s 
obligation to disclose evidence to the defense. The Brady disclosure rule requires 
the prosecution to provide to the defendant any evidence in the prosecution’s 
possession that may be favorable to the accused and material to guilt or 
punishment.  State v. Kennerly, 503 S.E.2d 214, 220 (S.C. Ct. App. 1998) (citing 
Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83, 87 (1963)). Favorable evidence includes both 
exculpatory evidence and evidence which may be used for impeachment. United 
States v. Bagley, 473 U.S. 667 (1985). Materiality of evidence is determined 
based on the reasonable probability that the result of the proceeding would have 
been different had the evidence been disclosed to the defense. Kennerly, 503 
S.E.2d at 220. “A ‘reasonable probability’ of a different result is accordingly 
shown when the government's evidentiary suppression ‘undermines confidence 
in the outcome of the trial.’” Bagley, 473 U.S. at 678. Furthermore, the 
prosecution has the duty to disclose such evidence even in the absence of a 
request by the accused  United States v. Agurs, 427 U.S. 97, 107 (1976).    
 

DISCLOSURE OF ALIBI DEFENSE 
  
Upon written request of the solicitor, stating the time, date and place of the 
alleged offense, the defendant has 10 days to notify the solicitor in writing of the 
intent to offer an alibi defense. The notice must specify the place where the 
defendant claims to have been at the time of the alleged offense and the names 
and addresses of any alibi witnesses. Rule 5(e)(1), SCRCrimP. 
 
After receiving such notice, the solicitor has 10 days (must be at least 10 days 
prior to trial date) to notify the defense attorney of the names and addresses of 
any witnesses the State intends to present to establish defendant's presence at 
the scene of the alleged crime. Rule 5(e)(2), SCRCrimP. 
 
Failure to comply with the requirements of Rule 5 may result in the exclusion of 
testimony of any undisclosed witnesses. Rule 5(e)(4), SCRCrimP. 
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DISCLOSURE OF INSANITY DEFENSE OR GUILTY BUT MENTALLY ILL PLEA  
 

Upon written request of the solicitor, the defendant has 10 days to notify the 
prosecution in writing of the defendant's plan to rely on an insanity defense or to 
enter a plea of guilty but mentally ill. If the defendant fails to comply with this 
requirement, the court may exclude the testimony of any expert witness offered 
by the defendant on the issue of his mental state. The court may, for good cause 
shown, allow late filing of the notice or grant additional time to the parties to 
prepare for trial or make such other order as is appropriate. Rule 5(f), 
SCRCrimP. 
 

WAIVER OF DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS 
  
Upon a showing of good cause, the court has the authority to waive the 
requirements of Rule 5. Rule 5(g), SCRCrimP. 
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Rule 5, Disclosure in Criminal Cases (Applicable to family court cases, per Rule 2(b), 
SCRFC) 

(a) Disclosure of Evidence by the Prosecution. 

(1) Information Subject to Disclosure. 

(A) Statement of Defendant. Upon request by a defendant, the prosecution shall 
permit the defendant to inspect and copy or photograph: any relevant written or 
recorded statements made by the defendant, or copies thereof, within the possession, 
custody or control of the prosecution, the existence of which is known, or by the 
exercise of due diligence may become known, to the attorney for the prosecution; the 
substance of any oral statement which the prosecution intends to offer in evidence at 
the trial made by the defendant whether before or after arrest in response to 
interrogation by any person then known to the defendant to be a prosecution agent. 

(B) Defendant's Prior Record. Upon request of the defendant, the prosecution shall 
furnish to the defendant such copy of his prior criminal record, if any, as is within the 
possession, custody, or control of the prosecution, the existence of which is known, or 
by the exercise of due diligence may become known, to the attorney for the prosecution. 

(C) Documents and Tangible Objects. Upon request of the defendant the prosecution 
shall permit the defendant to inspect and copy books, papers, documents, photographs, 
tangible objects, buildings or places, or copies or portions thereof, which are within the 
possession, custody or control of the prosecution, and which are material to the 
preparation of his defense or are intended for use by the prosecution as evidence in 
chief at the trial, or were obtained from or belong to the defendant. 

(D) Reports of Examinations and Tests. Upon request of a defendant the prosecution 
shall permit the defendant to inspect and copy any results or reports of physical or 
mental examinations, and of scientific tests or experiments, or copies thereof, which are 
within the possession, custody, or control of the prosecution, the existence of which is 
known, or by the exercise of due diligence may become known, to the attorney for the 
prosecution, and which are material to the preparation of the defense or are intended for 
use by the prosecution as evidence in chief at the trial. 

(2) Information Not Subject to Disclosure. Except as provided in paragraphs (A), (B), 
and (D) of subdivision (a)(1), this rule does not authorize the discovery or inspection of 
reports, memoranda, or other internal prosecution documents made by the attorney for 
the prosecution or other prosecution agents in connection with the investigation or 
prosecution of the case, or of statements made by prosecution witnesses or prospective 
prosecution witnesses provided that after a prosecution witness has testified on direct 
examination, the court shall, on motion of the defendant, order the prosecution to 
produce any statement of the witness in the possession of the prosecution which relates 
to the subject matter as to which the witness has testified; and provided further that the 

RULE 5, SCRCrimP 

DISCLOSURE IN CRIMINAL CASES 
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court may upon a sufficient showing require the production of any statement of any 
prospective witness prior to the time such witness testifies. 

(3) Time for Disclosure. The prosecution shall respond to the defendant's request for 
disclosure no later than thirty (30) days after the request is made, or within such other 
time as may be ordered by the court. 

(b) Disclosure of Evidence by the Defendant. 

(1) Information Subject to Disclosure. 

(A) Documents and Tangible Objects. If the defendant requests disclosure under 
subdivision (a)(1)(C) or (D) of this rule, upon compliance with such request by the 
prosecution, the defendant, on request of the prosecution, shall permit the prosecution 
to inspect and copy books, papers, documents, photographs, tangible objects, or copies 
or portions thereof, which are within the possession, custody, or control of the defendant 
and which the defendant intends to introduce as evidence in chief at the trial. 

(B) Reports of Examinations and Tests. If the defendant requests disclosure under 
subdivision (a)(1)(C) or (D) of this rule, upon compliance with such request by the 
prosecution, the defendant, on request of the prosecution, shall permit the prosecution 
to inspect and copy any results or reports of physical or mental examinations and of 
scientific tests or experiments made in connection with the particular case, or copies 
thereof, within the possession or control of the defendant, which the defendant intends 
to introduce as evidence in chief at the trial or which were prepared by a witness whom 
the defendant intends to call at trial when the results or reports relate to his testimony. 

(2) Information Not Subject to Disclosure. Except as to scientific or medical reports, 
this subdivision does not authorize the discovery or inspection of reports, memoranda, 
or other internal defense documents made by the defendant, or his attorneys or agents 
in connection with the investigation or defense of the case, or of statements made by 
the defendant, or by prosecution or defense witnesses, or by prospective prosecution or 
defense witnesses, to the defendant, his agents or attorneys. 

(c) Continuing Duty to Disclose. If, prior to or during trial, a party discovers additional 
evidence or material previously requested or ordered, which is subject to discovery or 
inspection under this rule, he shall promptly notify the other party or his attorney or the 
court of the existence of the additional evidence or material. 

(d) Regulation of Discovery. 

(1) Protective and Modifying Orders. Upon a sufficient showing the court may at any 
time order that the discovery or inspection be denied, restricted, or deferred, or make 
such other order as is appropriate. Upon motion by a party, the court may permit the 
party to make such showing, in whole or in part, in the form of a written statement to be 
inspected by the judge alone. If the court enters an order granting relief following such 
an ex parte showing, the entire text of the party's statement shall be sealed and 
preserved in the records of the court to be made available to the appellate court in the 
event of an appeal. 

(2) Failure to Comply With a Request. If at any time during the course of the 
proceedings it is brought to the attention of the court that a party has failed to comply 
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with this rule, the court may order such party to permit the discovery or inspection, grant 
a continuance, or prohibit the party from introducing evidence not disclosed, or it may 
enter such other order as it deems just under the circumstances. The court may specify 
the time, place and manner of making the discovery and inspection and may prescribe 
such terms and conditions as are just. 

(e) Notice of Alibi. 

(1) Notice of Alibi by Defendant. Upon written request of the prosecution stating the 
time, date and place at which the alleged offense occurred, the defendant shall serve 
within ten days, or at such time as the court may direct, upon the prosecution a written 
notice of his intention to offer an alibi defense. The notice shall state the specific place 
or places at which the defendant claims to have been at the time of the alleged offense 
and the names and addresses of the witnesses upon whom he intends to rely to 
establish such alibi. 

(2) Disclosure by Prosecution. Within ten days after defendant serves his notice, but 
in no event less than ten days before trial, or as the court may otherwise direct, the 
prosecution shall serve upon the defendant or his attorney the names and addresses of 
witnesses upon whom the State intends to rely to establish defendant's presence at the 
scene of the alleged crime. 

(3) Continuing Duty to Disclose. Both parties shall be under a continuing duty to 
promptly disclose the names and addresses of additional witnesses whose identity, if 
known, should have been included in the information furnished under subdivisions (1) or 
(2). 

(4) Failure to Disclose. If either party fails to comply with the requirements of this rule, 
the court may exclude the testimony of any undisclosed witness offered by either party. 
Nothing in this rule shall limit the right of the defendant to testify on his own behalf. 

(f) Notice of Insanity Defense or Plea of Guilty but Mentally Ill. Upon written request 
of the prosecution, the defendant shall within ten days or at such time as the court may 
direct, notify the prosecution in writing of the defendant's intention to rely upon the 
defense of insanity at the time of the crime or to enter a plea of guilty but mentally ill. If 
the defendant fails to comply with the requirements of the subdivision, the court may 
exclude the testimony of any expert witness offered by the defendant on the issue of his 
mental state. The court may, for good cause shown, allow late filing of the notice or 
grant additional time to the parties to prepare for trial or make such other order as is 
appropriate. 

(g) Waiver. The court may, for good cause shown, waive the requirements of this rule. 
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JURISDICTION & VENUE 
 
 
 

 
EXCLUSIVE ORIGINAL JURISDICTION  

 
The family court has exclusive original jurisdiction over any action concerning a 
child living or found within the geographical limits of its jurisdiction:  

 whose behavior places himself or others at risk of danger;  

 who is beyond the control of his parent or other custodian (incorrigible); or 

 who is alleged to have violated or attempted to violate any state or local law 
or municipal ordinance, regardless of where the violation occurred except as 
provided in § 63-3-520 (traffic and wildlife jurisdiction). 

 
The family court also has exclusive original jurisdiction and shall be the sole court 
for initiating action:  

 for the treatment or commitment to any mental institution of a mentally 
defective or mentally disordered or emotionally disturbed child - as long as it 
doesn’t conflict with the probate court’s authority in dealing with such cases; 

 concerning any child 17 or older who allegedly violated or attempted to violate 
any state or local law or municipal ordinance before reaching the age of 17; 
and   

 for the detention of a child charged with committing a criminal offense when 
detention in a secure facility is found to be necessary. § 63-3-510. 

 
TIMING 

 
Although there is a common misunderstanding that jurisdiction attaches only 
after the petition is filed, jurisdiction attaches from the time a child is taken into 
custody. § 63-19-810(A). 

 
TRANSFER OF CASE FROM CIRCUIT COURT TO FAMILY COURT 

 
The circuit court must immediately transfer any case to family court involving a 
child erroneously charged as an adult for committing a criminal offense. § 63-19-
1210(1). 
 
A 16-year-old charged as an adult for allegedly committing a Class A, B, C or D 
felony, or a felony which provides for a maximum term of imprisonment of fifteen 
years or more, can be remanded to the family court for disposition of the charge 
at the solicitor’s discretion. § 63-19-20. 
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TERMINATION OF JURISDICTION 
 
Once the court has acquired jurisdiction over a child, jurisdiction continues as 
long as the court finds it necessary to retain jurisdiction for the “correction or 
education” of the child. Jurisdiction terminates on the child’s twenty-first 
birthday if not sooner. § 63-3-510(B). 
 
The court retains jurisdiction over any child adjudicated delinquent who was 
placed on probation until the specified term of probation expires.  This may be 
before but not after the child’s eighteenth birthday. § 63-3-510(B). 
 

TRAFFIC & FISH, GAME & WATERCRAFT VIOLATIONS  
 
The family court has concurrent jurisdiction with the magistrate and municipal 
courts for the trial of children charged with traffic or Title 50 (relating to fish, 
game, and watercraft) violations. All adjudications for moving traffic violations 
and other violations affecting a child’s driving privileges, including drug and 
alcohol violations, must be reported to the Department of Motor Vehicles by the 
court.  All adjudications for Title 50 violations must be reported to the Department 
of Natural Resources. § 63-3-520.  
 

POST CONVICTION PROCEEDINGS 
 
Post conviction proceedings, including habeas corpus actions, are instituted in 
the court in which the original action was concluded.  However, the family court 
also has original jurisdiction of habeas corpus actions if the person who is the 
subject of the action would otherwise be within the family court’s jurisdiction.       
§ 63-3-640. 
 

VENUE 
 
Venue of family court actions “shall be in such county as provided by law.”  
Family court trials are to be held in the county of venue, unless a change of 
venue is granted as provided by law. § 63-3-560. 

TRANSFER OF VENUE 

When a petition is filed that involves a child who is a resident of another county in 
the state, the judge may transfer the case to the county where the child lives if 
the child has returned home and it appears that the petitioner and witnesses will 
not be inconvenienced. If the judge orders a transfer, a copy of the order and all 
other documents and papers in the file shall be forwarded to the court in the 
county in which the child resides and shall be received and processed in the 
same manner as if filed initially in the latter county. Rule 33(a), SCRFC. 
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If the judge decides an immediate transfer should not be made and an 
adjudicatory hearing is held, the judge may order transfer to the county of the 
child's residence for disposition. Rule 33(b), SCRFC. 
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DETENTION OVERVIEW 
 
 

 
 

INTRODUCTION 
 

When a child is taken into custody by law enforcement for committing a 
delinquent offense, the officer who takes the child into custody makes the initial 
decision as to whether or not to detain the child. If detained, the child is placed in 
a secure detention facility while awaiting trial.   
 
Children in South Carolina are not afforded the right to bail; however, they are 
entitled to a hearing within a specified amount of time to determine whether 
probable cause exists to justify detention and whether the child’s continued 
detention is appropriate and necessary. If the court orders that a child remain in 
detention following the initial detention hearing, the child is entitled to periodic 
review hearings on continued detention. 

 
TAKING INTO CUSTODY  
 

When a child is taken into custody for violating a law or ordinance: 

 the taking into custody is not an “arrest”;  

 the family court’s jurisdiction attaches from the time of the taking into custody; 

 the officer who took the child into custody is required to notify the child’s 
parent as soon as possible; and   

 unless otherwise ordered by the court, the officer has the option of either 
releasing the child to a parent or responsible adult or detaining the child. § 63-
19-810(A). 

 
When an officer determines a child taken into custody needs to be placed outside 
of the home, the authorized DJJ representative is required to make a “diligent 
effort to place the child in an approved home, program, or facility, other than a 
secure juvenile detention facility, when these alternatives are appropriate and 
available.” § 63-19-820(A). 

 
DETENTION ELIGIBILITY 
 

A child who meets the criteria provided in § 63-19-820(B) is eligible for detention. 
However, detention is not mandatory for a child meeting the criteria if that child 
can be adequately supervised at home or in a less secure setting. Id. 

 
AGE REQUIREMENTS  
 

 Children who are ten or younger must not be incarcerated in a jail or detention 
facility for any reason. § 63-19-820(F). 

 Children who are eleven and twelve may only be incarcerated in a jail or 
detention facility by order of the family court. Id.  
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EX PARTE ORDER OF RELEASE 
 

If the officer does not consent to the child’s release, the parents or other 
responsible adult may apply to any family court judge within the circuit for an ex 
parte order of release of the child. The officer's written report must be provided to 
the family court judge who may establish conditions for the child’s release. § 63-
19-810(B). 
 

PREVENTIVE DETENTION 
 

As with adults, children who have been charged with crimes are presumed 
innocent, and it is a violation of the due process clause to use pretrial detention 
as punishment for children. Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520 (1979). However, 
"preventive detention” may be justified if there is a legitimate state interest in 
protecting the community or the child. Schall v. Martin, 467 U.S. 253 (1984). 

 
SCREENING FOR SERVICES 

 

A child ordered detained in a facility must be screened within 24 hours by a 
social worker or psychologist to determine whether the child is emotionally 
disturbed, mentally ill, or otherwise in need of services. If it is determined that the 
child is in need of services, the services must be provided immediately. § 63-19-
830(B). 
 

TIME LIMIT 
 

No juvenile should be detained in secure confinement for more than 90 days, 
absent exceptional circumstances. § 63-19-830(A). 

 

DETENTION ALTERNATIVES 

 House Arrest:  House arrest is often used as an alternative to detention.  
The child is court ordered to remain in the home and may only participate in 
outside activities which have been approved by the court. 

 Voice Monitoring: The child receives computerized calls and must answer 
and verify that he or she is at home. The system allows the child a window of 
time to call back before it alerts DJJ that the child has not responded (in case 
the child is in the shower, etc.).  

 Electronic Monitoring: The child is released from secure detention under a 
special court order of electronic monitoring which offers 24-hour oversight. A 
curfew can be set by the court for any time of the day or night and for any 
length of time. If electronic monitoring is ordered, the child wears an ankle 
bracelet which functions as a transmitter, sending signals to a unit in the 
home. The unit reports movement through the phone system to a computer 
which faxes information to the local DJJ office each day.  Violations are 
monitored by DJJ staff and reported to the court.  A phone line must be 
available in the child’s home, and the parents must sign releases and an 
agreement that they will not destroy the equipment.   
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DJJ contracts with a private provider to have access to electronic monitoring 
(EM) equipment. Every county in the state has access to EM equipment, and 
the county director for each DJJ office will know how to access units if they do 
not have any in their office, generally by contacting another county office to 
borrow any available units.  

Electronic monitoring costs DJJ up to $10 per day, while the cost of detaining 
a child at DJJ’s secure detention facility is $150.00 per day ($50.00 of which 
is charged back to the county). There is no cost to the child or the county for 
electronic monitoring. 

 GPS Monitoring: GPS (Global Positioning Satellite) Monitoring, which is 
similar to EM, utilizes a GPS device to track the child’s location. GPS costs 
roughly $10.00 per day. DJJ utilizes passive GPS. With passive GPS, the 
company contracting with DJJ to provide the monitoring service provides DJJ 
with a “next day printout” of the child’s status from the previous day.  

 Jail Removal Home (JRH):  As an alternative to secure detention, the child 
may be placed by DJJ or ordered by the court to be placed in a JRH – a non-
secure placement such as Therapeutic Foster Care, Temporary De-
escalation Intensive Group Care, or Shelter Care. 
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DETENTION  HEARING 
 
 
 
TIME REQUIRMENTS 

 
A detention hearing must be held within 48 hours from the time a child is taken 
into custody, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and holidays. § 63-19-830(A). 
However, a child taken into custody because of a status offense must not be 
detained more than 24 hours, unless a previously issued court order notified the 
child that further violation of the court's order may result in detention. If a child is 
ordered detained for violating a valid court order, the child may be held in secure 
confinement in a juvenile detention facility for up to 72 hours, excluding 
weekends and holidays. § 63-19-820(E). 
 
A child ordered detained is entitled to “further and periodic review:” 

 within 10 days following the initial hearing; 

 within 30 days following the I0-day hearing; and 

 at any other time with a showing of good cause. § 63-19-830(A). 
 

RIGHT TO COUNSEL 
 

A child has the right to an attorney in the detention hearing. The court must 
appoint an attorney for the child if none is retained. A child may not proceed 
without an attorney unless the child waives the right to counsel after consulting at 
least once with an attorney. § 63-19-830(A). 
 

PRESENCE OF PARENTS 
 
Rule 32, SCRFC provides that the detention hearing may be held without the 
presence of the child's parents if they cannot be located after reasonable effort. If 
the parents are not located, the court must appoint a guardian ad litem for the 
child. 
 

PURPOSE OF HEARING 
 
The court makes a determination as to whether: (1) probable cause exists to 
justify detention; and (2) it is appropriate and necessary for the child to remain in 
detention. 
 

EVIDENCE 
 

The court may admit “any evidence relevant to the necessity of detaining a child.” 
Rule 32, SCFCR. Therefore, evidence such as hearsay may be presented by the 
State when arguing for detention. 
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DETENTION HEARING PROCEDURE 
 
Though procedure may vary to some degree from county to county, the following 
is an overview of a typical detention hearing: 
 

 The detention hearing begins with the solicitor calling the case and presenting 
the State’s witnesses. The State has the burden of proving probable cause 
exists to justify detention and that continued detention is appropriate and 
necessary.  

- Potential witnesses for the State may include a law enforcement officer, a 
DJJ community specialist, witnesses of the alleged incident, and the 
victim. 

- Generally, the law enforcement representative (may be an officer without 
any direct knowledge of the case who reads from incident reports or notes 
from the reporting officer, since hearsay is admissible in this hearing) will 
testify as to probable cause and reasons why the child should be 
detained. 

- The DJJ representative may testify regarding the child’s prior court history 
and school records and present DJJ’s recommendation regarding 
continued detention. 

   

 After the solicitor questions each witness on direct examination, the defense 
attorney has the opportunity to question each witness.  

 After the State has presented its case, the defense will present its witnesses.  

- Potential witnesses may include parents/guardians and character 
witnesses who may testify regarding: the child’s home environment (level 
of structure, supervision, and stability in the home); the child's behavior in 
the home and at school; any special needs or disabilities the child may 
have; and how the child will be monitored if allowed to return home while 
awaiting trial. 

- As with the State’s witnesses, defense witnesses are also subject to 
cross-examination. 

 

 Following the defense’s case, the judge will usually hear from the attorneys 
as to why the child should be detained or released. The judge may also want 
to hear from parents who have not testified. 
 

 The judge will make a ruling as to whether the child will remain in detention or 
be released while awaiting trial. 
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SECTION 63-19-820. Out-of-home placement.  
 
(A) When the officer who took the child into custody determines that placement of a 
juvenile outside the home is necessary, the authorized representative of the 
Department of Juvenile Justice shall make a diligent effort to place the child in an 
approved home, program, or facility, other than a secure juvenile detention 
facility, when these alternatives are appropriate and available.  
 
(B) A child is eligible for detention in a secure juvenile detention facility only if the child:  
(1) is charged with a violent crime as defined in Section 16-1-60;  
(2) is charged with a crime which, if committed by an adult, would be a felony or a 
misdemeanor other than a violent crime, and the child:  
(a) is already detained or on probation or conditional release or is awaiting adjudication 
in connection with another delinquency proceeding;  
(b) has a demonstrable recent record of wilful failures to appear at court proceedings;  
(c) has a demonstrable recent record of violent conduct resulting in physical injury to 
others;  or  
(d) has a demonstrable recent record of adjudications for other felonies or 
misdemeanors;  and  
(i) there is reason to believe child is a flight risk or poses a threat of serious harm to 
others;  or  
(ii) the instant offense involved the use of a firearm;  
(3) is a fugitive from another jurisdiction;  
(4) requests protection in writing under circumstances that present an immediate threat 
of serious physical injury;  
(5) had in his possession a deadly weapon;  
(6) has a demonstrable recent record of wilful failure to comply with prior placement 
orders including, but not limited to, a house arrest order;  
(7) has no suitable alternative placement and it is determined that detention is in the 
child's best interest or is necessary to protect the child or public, or both;  or  
(8) is charged with an assault and battery or an assault and battery of a high and 
aggravated nature on school grounds or at a school-sponsored event against any 
person affiliated with the school in an official capacity.  
A child who meets the criteria provided in this subsection is eligible for detention.   
 
Detention is not mandatory for a child meeting the criteria if that child can be 
supervised adequately at home or in a less secure setting or program.  If the 
officer does not consent to the release of the child, the parents or other responsible 
adult may apply to the family court within the circuit for an ex parte order of release of 
the child.  The officer's written report must be furnished to the family court judge who 
may establish conditions for the release.  
 

DETENTION STATUTES 
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(C) No child may be placed in secure confinement or ordered detained by the court in 
secure confinement in an adult jail or other place of detention for adults for more than 
six hours.  However, the prohibition against the secure confinement of juveniles in 
adult jails does not apply to juveniles who have been waived to the court of general 
sessions for the purpose of standing trial as an adult.  Juveniles placed in secure 
confinement in an adult jail during this six-hour period must be confined in an area of 
the jail which is separated by sight and sound from adults similarly confined.  
 
(D) Temporary holdover facilities may hold juveniles during the period between initial 
custody and the initial detention hearing before a family court judge for a period up to 
forty-eight hours, excluding weekends and state holidays.  
 
(E) A child who is taken into custody because of a violation of law which would not be a 
criminal offense under the laws of this State if committed by an adult must not be placed 
or ordered detained in an adult detention facility.  A child who is taken into custody 
because of a violation of the law which would not be a criminal offense under the laws 
of this State if committed by an adult must not be placed or ordered detained more than 
twenty-four hours in a juvenile detention facility, unless an order previously has been 
issued by the court, of which the child has notice and which notifies the child that further 
violation of the court's order may result in the secure detention of that child in a juvenile 
detention facility.  If a juvenile is ordered detained for violating a valid court order, the 
juvenile may be held in secure confinement in a juvenile detention facility for not more 
than seventy-two hours, excluding weekends and holidays.  However, nothing in this 
section precludes a law enforcement officer from taking a status offender into custody.  
 
(F) Children ten years of age and younger must not be incarcerated in a jail or detention 
facility for any reason.  Children eleven or twelve years of age who are taken into 
custody for a violation of law which would be a criminal offense under the laws of this 
State if committed by an adult or who violates conditions of probation for such an 
offense must be incarcerated in a jail or detention facility only by order of the family 
court.  
 
(G) For purposes of this section, "adult jail" or other place of detention for adults 
includes a state, county, or municipal police station, law enforcement lockup, or holding 
cell.  "Secure confinement" means an area having bars or other restraints designed to 
hold one person or a group of persons at a law enforcement location for any period of 
time and for any reason.  Secure confinement in an adult jail or other place of detention 
does not include a room or a multipurpose area within the law enforcement center which 
is not secured by locks or other security devices.  Rooms or areas of this type include 
lobbies, offices, and interrogation rooms.  Juveniles held in these areas are considered 
to be in nonsecure custody as long as the room or area is not designed for or intended 
for use as a residential area, the juvenile is not handcuffed to a stationary object while in 
the room or area, and the juvenile is under continuous visual supervision by facility staff 
while in this room or area which is located within the law enforcement center.  Secure 
confinement also does not include a room or area used by law enforcement for 
processing "booking" purposes, irrespective of whether it is determined to be secure or 
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nonsecure, as long as the juvenile's confinement in the area is limited to the time 
necessary to fingerprint, photograph, or otherwise "book" the juvenile in accordance 
with state law.  
 
SECTION 63-19-830. Detention hearings; screenings.  
 
(A) If the officer who took the child into custody has not released the child to the custody 
the child's parents or other responsible adult, the court shall hold a detention hearing 
within forty-eight hours from the time the child was taken into custody, excluding 
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays.  At this hearing, the authorized representative of the 
department shall submit to the court a report stating the facts surrounding the case and 
a recommendation as to the child's continued detention pending the adjudicatory and 
dispositional hearings.  The court shall appoint counsel for the child if none is retained.  
No child may proceed without counsel in this hearing, unless the child waives the right 
to counsel and then only after consulting at least once with an attorney.  At the 
conclusion of this hearing, the court shall determine whether probable cause exists to 
justify the detention of the child and the appropriateness of, and need for, the child's 
continued detention.  If continued detention of a juvenile is considered appropriate by 
the court and if a juvenile detention facility exists in that county which meets state and 
federal requirements for the secure detention of juveniles or if that facility exists in 
another county with which the committing county has a contract for the secure detention 
of its juveniles and if commitment of a juvenile by the court to that facility does not 
cause the facility to exceed its design and operational capacity, the family court shall 
order the detention of the juvenile in that facility.   A juvenile must not be detained in 
secure confinement in excess of ninety days except in exceptional circumstances as 
determined by the court.  A detained juvenile is entitled to further and periodic review:  
(1) within ten days following the juvenile's initial detention hearing;  
(2) within thirty days following the ten-day hearing; and  
(3) at any other time for good cause shown upon motion of the child, the State, or the 
department.  
If the child does not qualify for detention or otherwise require continued detention under 
the terms of Section 63-19-820(A) or (B), the child must be released to a parent, 
guardian, or other responsible person.  
 
(B) A juvenile ordered detained in a facility must be screened within twenty-four 
hours by a social worker or if considered appropriate by a psychologist in order to 
determine whether the juvenile is emotionally disturbed, mentally ill, or otherwise in 
need of services.  The services must be provided immediately.  
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WAIVER OVERVIEW 
 
 
 
 
INTRODUCTION 

  
Waiver is one of the most significant actions that can occur in the early stages of 
a case involving a child charged with a criminal offense. Waiver is the transfer of 
jurisdiction of a child’s case from family court to a court which would have trial 
jurisdiction if the offense was committed by an adult.   
 
The waiver process is initiated by the solicitor who makes a motion to transfer 
jurisdiction and waive the child to adult court. The solicitor will also make a 
motion that DJJ conduct a pre-waiver evaluation. The defense may also have the 
child undergo an independent expert evaluation. 
 
Upon a motion to transfer jurisdiction, the family court must determine if it is in 
the best interest of both the child and the community before granting the transfer 
request. State v. Kelsey, 331 S.C. 50, 64, 502 S.E.2d 63, 70 (1998). The family 
court must consider eight factors, as approved by the United States Supreme 
Court in Kent v. United States, 383 U.S. 541, 86 S.Ct. 1045, 16 L.Ed.2d 84 
(1966), in making this determination. State v. Pittman, 373 S.C. 527, 647 S.E.2d 
144, (2007)  

 
ELIGIBILITY 

 
A family court judge has the authority to waive a child who is:   

 any age and charged with murder;  

 16 and charged with a misdemeanor, a Class E or F felony as defined in        
§ 16-1-20, or a felony which, if committed by an adult, would carry a 
maximum term of imprisonment of 10 years or less, after full investigation; 

 14 or 15 and charged with an offense which, if committed by an adult, would 
be a Class A,B,C, or D felony or a felony which provides for a maximum term 
of imprisonment of 15 years or more, after full investigation and a hearing; 
and  

 14 or older and charged with §16-23-430(1) (carrying a weapon on school 
property), §16-23-20 (unlawful carrying of a handgun), or §44-53-445 
(unlawful distribution of drugs within a half-mile of a school), after full 
investigation and a hearing. § 63-19-1210(4)-(6),(9). 

  
A family court judge is required to waive a child 14 or older charged with an 
offense which, if committed by an adult provide for a term of imprisonment of ten 
years or more and the child previously has been adjudicated or convicted for two 
prior offenses which, if committed by an adult, provide for a term of imprisonment 
of ten years or more. (An adjudication or conviction is considered a second 
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adjudication or conviction only if the second offense was committed after the 
sentence for the first offense was imposed.) § 63-19-1210(10). 
 
In Slocumb v. State, 522 S.E.2d 809 (S.C. 1999), the court held that § 16-3-659  
prohibits a child under fourteen from being waived to general sessions court on a 
criminal sexual conduct charge.   

 
MURDER AND CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT CASES 

 
When a child is charged with murder or with criminal sexual conduct, the solicitor 
has 30 days after filing the petition to request in writing that the case be 
transferred to general sessions court. The family court judge is authorized to 
determine this request. If the judge denies the request, the solicitor has 5 days to 
appeal the decision to the circuit court. The circuit court judge who hears the 
appeal has the discretion to retain jurisdiction in general sessions or relinquish 
jurisdiction to the family court. § 63-19-1210(6). 
 
A child under 14 cannot be waived to general sessions court on a criminal sexual 
conduct charge. § 16-3-659; Slocumb v. State, 522 S.E.2d 809 (S.C. 1999). 
Section 16-3-659 states that the "common law rule that a boy under fourteen 
years is conclusively presumed to be incapable of committing the crime of rape 
shall not be enforced in this State. Provided, that any person under the age of 14 
shall be tried as a juvenile for any violations of §§ 16-3-651 to 659.1 (criminal 
sexual conduct offenses).”  
 

PRE-WAIVER EVALUATION REPORT 
 
After moving to waive, the solicitor will generally move that the child undergo a 
pre-waiver evaluation.   
 
The report is typically divided into 2 parts: 
 

 One part is conducted by a community specialist in the county. This part 
contains a social history of the child, including prior court history, a family 
description, a report on social agencies involved with the child, a physical 
description, school information, early development/medical history, 
information regarding community and home adjustments, etc. 
 

 The second part is conducted by a DJJ psychologist. This part contains a 
referral statement, sources of information, a mental status examination, a 
psychological summary, and conclusions. These conclusions are drawn from 
an analysis of the factors the court will consider in determining whether or not 
to waive the child. These factors include the level of sophistication and 
maturity of the child; the likelihood of reasonable rehabilitation; adequate 
protection of the public; and procedures, services, and facilities currently 
available to the family court which could benefit the child. 

http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=711&SerialNum=1999253169&FindType=Y&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.08&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=1001530&DocName=SCSTS16%2D3%2D659&FindType=L&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.08&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=711&SerialNum=1999253169&FindType=Y&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.08&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
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WAIVER HEARING 
 
The waiver hearing is generally the most serious of all hearings for a child 
involved in the juvenile justice system. At the conclusion of this hearing, the 
family court judge rules on whether the child is to be prosecuted in family court or 
in a court which would have trial jurisdiction of the offense(s) if committed by an 
adult. In Kent v. United States, 383 U.S. 541 (1966), the U.S. Supreme Court 
ordered that a full investigation must be conducted on children who the State 
intends to waive. The Court also identified eight factors to be taken into 
consideration when making the determination of whether or not to waive the 
child. (See “The Eight Determinative Factors of Kent v. U.S.”)  
 
The solicitor has the burden of proving that the child should be waived. The 
solicitor will present witnesses and enter the pre-waiver evaluation report into 
evidence. Hearsay is admissible as this is not a trial on the merits. 
 
Following the State’s case, the defense will present its case in an effort to show 
the court that the child should be treated as a child and remain in family court 
instead of being prosecuted as an adult. After hearing all the evidence and 
reviewing the pre-waiver evaluation report, the court will make its ruling based on 
the Kent factors and the factual findings. 
  
If the court determines the child’s case should be transferred to general sessions 
court, the court’s order must sufficiently state the reasons for the transfer. The 
order should also contain language demonstrating that “the statutory requirement 
of full investigation has been met and that the question has received full and 
careful consideration by the family court.” State v. Avery, 509 S.E.2d 476, 481 
(S.C. 1998). The decision to transfer jurisdiction lies within the discretion of the 
family court. Id., State v. Pittman, 373 S.C. 527, 647 S.E.2d 144, (2007)  

 
POST WAIVER HEARING ISSUES 

 
If the family court does not waive the child and retains jurisdiction, the judge who 
presided over the waiver hearing should not preside over the adjudicatory 
hearing. Rule 34, SCRFC. 
 
If the family court waives the child and relinquishes jurisdiction to another court, 
the family court has full authority to grant bail and hold a preliminary hearing 
(although in practice, this is rarely done by the family court judge).  
 
Waiver or transfer of certain charges against a child does not result in all pending 
charges being transferred. If a charge is not transferred, it remains a family court 
charge and the child retains all of the protection of the juvenile system as to that 
charge. Johnson v. State, 437 S.E.2d 20 (S.C. 1993). 

 

http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?SerialNum=1966112621&FindType=Y&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.08&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
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 No Waiver Allowed 
 

   Waiver Allowed / Court’s Discretion 
  

 Mandatory Waiver 
  

 Automatic Jurisdiction in General Sessions Court (may be remanded to family court at solicitor’s 
discretion)                  

 
 
 

 
CHARGE 

UNDER 
AGE 14 

14 
YEARS 

OLD 

15 
YEARS 

OLD 

16 
OR 

OLDER 

Class A Misdemeanor 
    

Class B Misdemeanor 
    

Class C Misdemeanor 
    

Class E Felony 
    

Class F Felony 
    

Felony - maximum of 10 years or less 
    

Class A Felony 
    

Class B Felony 
    

Class C Felony 
    

Class D Felony 
    

Felony -  maximum of 15+ years  
    

Carrying Weapon on School Property  
§ 16-23-430 

    

Unlawful Carrying of Handgun   
§ 16-23-20 

    

Distribution of Controlled Substance 
within ½ Mile Radius of School  
 § 44-53-445 

    

CSC 
    

Murder  
    

Offense which, if committed by an adult, 
provides for 10+ years, if child previously 
adjudicated or convicted for 2 prior offenses 
which, if committed by an adult, provide for 
10+ 

    

WAIVER  
UNDER § 63-19-1210 
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THE EIGHT DETERMINATIVE FACTORS OF KENT 
 
 
 
 

In Kent v. United States, 383 U.S. 541 (1966), the United States Supreme 
Court established the following criteria for determining whether jurisdiction 
should be waived: 

 
1. The seriousness of the alleged offense to the community and whether 

the protection of the community requires waiver; 
 
2. Whether the alleged offense was committed in an aggressive, violent, 

premeditated, or willful manner; 
 
3. Whether the alleged offense was against persons or against property, 

greater weight being given to offenses against persons, especially if 
injury resulted; 

 
4. The merit of prosecuting the complaint, i.e., whether there is evidence 

upon which a grand jury may be expected to return an indictment; 
 
5. The desirability of trial and disposition of the entire offense in one court 

when the child’s co-defendants are adults; 
 
6. The sophistication and maturity of the child as determined by 

consideration of his home, environmental situation, emotional attitude 
and living pattern; 

 
7. The child’s prior record and involvement with the juvenile justice 

system; and 
 
8. The prospects for adequate protection of the public and the likelihood 

of reasonable rehabilitation of the child by the use of procedures, 
services and facilities currently available to the family court. 
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SECTION 63-19-1210. Transfer of jurisdiction.  
In accordance with the jurisdiction granted to the family court pursuant to Sections 
63-3-510, 63-3-520, and 63-3-530, jurisdiction over a case involving a child must be 
transferred or retained as follows:  
 
(1) If, during the pendency of a criminal or quasi-criminal charge against a child in a 
circuit court of this State, it is ascertained that the child was under the age of seventeen 
years at the time of committing the alleged offense, it is the duty of the circuit court 
immediately to transfer the case, together with all the papers, documents, and testimony 
connected with it, to the family court of competent jurisdiction, except in those cases 
where the Constitution gives to the circuit court exclusive jurisdiction or in those cases 
where jurisdiction has properly been transferred to the circuit court by the family court 
under the provisions of this section.  The court making the transfer shall order the child 
to be taken immediately to the place of detention designated by the court or to that court 
itself, or shall release the child to the custody of some suitable person to be brought 
before the court at a time designated.  The court then shall proceed as provided in this 
chapter.  The provisions of this section are applicable to all existing offenses and to 
offenses created in the future unless the General Assembly specifically directs 
otherwise. 
 

(2) Whenever a child is brought before a magistrate or city recorder and, in the opinion 
of the magistrate or city recorder, the child should be brought to the family court of 
competent jurisdiction under the provisions of this section, the magistrate or city 
recorder shall transfer the case to the family court and direct that the child involved be 
taken there. 

 

(3) When an action is brought in a circuit court which, in the opinion of the judge, falls 
within the jurisdiction of the family court, he may transfer the action upon his own motion 
or the motion of any party. 

 

(4) If a child sixteen years of age or older is charged with an offense which, if 
committed by an adult, would be a misdemeanor, a Class E or F felony as defined in 
Section 16-1-20, or a felony which provides for a maximum term of imprisonment 
of ten years or less, and if the court, after full investigation, considers it contrary to the 
best interest of the child or of the public to retain jurisdiction, the court, in its discretion, 
acting as committing magistrate, may bind over the child for proper criminal proceedings 
to a court which would have trial jurisdiction of the offense if committed by an adult.  
 

(5) If a child fourteen or fifteen years of age is charged with an offense which, if 
committed by an adult, would be a Class A, B, C, or D felony as defined in Section 
16-1-20 or a felony which provides for a maximum term of imprisonment of fifteen years 
or more, the court, after full investigation and hearing, may determine it contrary to the 
best interest of the child or of the public to retain jurisdiction.  The court, acting as 
committing magistrate, may bind over the child for proper criminal proceedings to a 
court which would have trial jurisdiction of the offenses if committed by an adult.  
 

(6) Within thirty days after the filing of a petition in the family court alleging the child 
has committed the offense of murder or criminal sexual conduct, the person 

WAIVER STATUTE 
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executing the petition may request in writing that the case be transferred to the court of 
general sessions with a view to proceeding against the child as a criminal rather than as 
a child coming within the purview of this chapter.  The judge of the family court is 
authorized to determine this request.  If the request is denied, the petitioner may appeal 
within five days to the circuit court.  Upon the hearing of the appeal, the judge of the 
circuit court is vested with the discretion of exercising and asserting the jurisdiction of 
the court of general sessions or of relinquishing jurisdiction to the family court.  If the 
circuit judge elects to exercise the jurisdiction of the general sessions court for trial of 
the case, he shall issue an order to that effect, and then the family court has no further 
jurisdiction in the matter.  
 

(7) Once the family court relinquishes its jurisdiction over the child and the child is 
bound over to be treated as an adult, Section 63-19-2020 dealing with the confidentiality 
of identity and fingerprints does not apply.  
 

(8) When jurisdiction is relinquished by the family court in favor of another court, the 
court shall have full authority and power to grant bail, hold a preliminary hearing and 
any other powers as now provided by law for magistrates in such cases.  
 

(9) If a child fourteen years of age or older is charged with a violation of Section 
16-23-430(1), Section 16-23-20, assault and battery of a high and aggravated 
nature, or Section 44-53-445, the court, after full investigation and hearing, if it 
considers it contrary to the best interest of the child or the public to retain jurisdiction, 
acting as committing magistrate, may bind over the child for proper criminal proceedings 
to a court which would have trial jurisdiction of the offenses if committed by an adult.  
 

(10) If a child fourteen years of age or older is charged with an offense which, if 
committed by an adult, provides for a term of imprisonment of ten years or more and 
the child previously has been adjudicated delinquent in family court or convicted 
in circuit court for two prior offenses which, if committed by an adult, provide for 
a term of imprisonment of ten years or more, the court acting as committing 
magistrate shall bind over the child for proper criminal proceedings to a court which 
would have trial jurisdiction of the offense if committed by an adult.  For the purpose of 
this item, an adjudication or conviction is considered a second adjudication or conviction 
only if the date of the commission of the second offense occurred subsequent to the 
imposition of the sentence for the first offense.  
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ADJUDICATORY HEARING 

 
 
 
 

The adjudicatory hearing is the hearing/trial held by a family court judge to 
determine whether a child engaged in a delinquent act. 

HEARING DATE  

Under the South Carolina Rules of Family Court, the adjudicatory hearing must 
be scheduled for the “earliest practicable date but no later than 40 days from the 
filing of the petition unless otherwise delayed by order of the court.” If the hearing 
is delayed by order of the court, the order must identify the reasons for the delay. 
Failure to schedule the adjudicatory hearing within the prescribed 40 days may 
be a ground for dismissal, but only if there is an “affirmative showing of material 
prejudice.” Rule 35(a), SCRFC.   

NOTICE OF HEARING  

Notice of the adjudicatory hearing must be served on both parents and both must 
be ordered to be present. If the child is not living with the parents, notice is to be 
served on the guardians or persons with whom the child resides. The parent or 
guardian must be present at the hearing and excused only by the judge upon a 
showing of sickness or other justifiable cause. Rule 35(b), SCRFC. 

ADJUDICATORY HEARING PROCESS 

The South Carolina Rules of Evidence apply in adjudicatory hearings. Rule 1101, 
SCRE. The South Carolina Rules of Criminal Procedure also apply in 
adjudicatory hearings insofar as practicable and to the extent they are not 
inconsistent with the statutes and rules governing family court. Rule 37, 
SCRCrimP. 

Prior to hearing any testimony, the judge, upon motion of any party, may 
sequester or exclude witnesses from the courtroom. The victim in the case may 
not be sequestered. 

Since the judge is the trier of law and fact in family court cases, if opening 
statements are made, they are usually brief. The hearing generally begins with 
the solicitor presenting the State’s case against the child by presenting witnesses 
to testify. The State has the burden of proving beyond a reasonable doubt that 
the child committed the delinquent act as charged. The child’s attorney will have 
the opportunity to cross examine the state’s witnesses, and the solicitor will be 
given the option to re-direct on any issues raised by the defense attorney on 
cross-examination.  
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MOTION FOR DIRECTED VERDICT 

After the solicitor presents the case against the child, the defense attorney 
should move for a directed verdict on the grounds that the State has not 
presented competent evidence to prove its case. “On motion of the defendant or 
on its own motion, the court shall direct a verdict in the defendant's favor on any 
offense charged in the [petition] after the evidence on either side is closed, if 
there is a failure of competent evidence tending to prove the charge in the 
[petition].” Rule 19(a), SCRCrimP. In ruling on the motion, the judge only 
considers the existence or non-existence of evidence and not the weight of the 
evidence. Id. The judge must view the evidence in the light most favorable to the 
State, when determining if there is any “direct or substantial circumstantial 
evidence which reasonably tends to prove the guilt of the accused or from which 
guilt may be fairly and logically deduced.” State v. Williams, 400 S.E.2d 131, 132 
(1991). 

If the judge grants the motion for a directed verdict, the trial ends and the child is 
found not guilty. If a defendant's motion for directed verdict at the close of the 
evidence offered by the State is not granted, the defendant may offer evidence 
without having reserved the right. Rule 19(b), SCRCrimP. 

ADJUDICATORY HEARING PROCESS, Continued 

On advice of counsel, the child may or may not take the stand and testify. As with 
the State’s witnesses, defense witnesses are also subject to cross-examination, 
by the solicitor.  

Following the defense's case, the solicitor may call rebuttal witnesses to discredit 
statements and facts presented by the defense witnesses. At the end of the 
adjudicatory hearing, the solicitor and the defense attorney will make their closing 
arguments to the judge.  

After hearing all the evidence presented, the judge will make a ruling. If the judge 
determines that the State did not meet its burden of proving the case beyond a 
reasonable doubt, the judge will find the child “not guilty.” If the verdict is “not 
guilty,” the child is released from the court’s jurisdiction. This verdict cannot be 
appealed by the State and the case cannot be retried. If the judge determines 
that the child is guilty, the dispositional hearing is set for a future date following 
an evaluation, or is held immediately if the judge determines an evaluation is not 
required or necessary. 

 
 
 

http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=711&SerialNum=1991035511&FindType=Y&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.08&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=711&SerialNum=1991035511&FindType=Y&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.08&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split


69 

 

GUILTY PLEA 
 
 

 
OVERVIEW 
 

In family court, a child enters into a guilty plea by formally admitting to the 
allegations in the petition. A guilty plea must be made voluntarily and should only 
be accepted by the court after the child has been informed of and understands 
his or her rights. A guilty plea has the same effect as an adjudication following a 
trial on the merits. 
 

PLEA NEGOTIATIONS 
 
Before a child pleads guilty, the child’s attorney and the solicitor usually meet to 
discuss the case and possible plea negotiations. When negotiating a plea, the 
solicitor has the authority to: 

 dismiss the charge(s); 

 allow the child to take part in a diversion program; 

 reduce or change the pending charge(s) named in the petition(s); 

 agree to enter into a “Negotiated Plea” (whereby the judge, although not 
bound to the agreement, must allow defendant to withdraw the plea, if 
unwilling to accept the plea as negotiated; 

 agree to recommend a favorable sentence to the judge (different from 
entering into a negotiated plea); or 

 agree to take no position as to sentencing (if unwilling to recommend a 
favorable sentence). 

Evidence of any statement made during plea discussions with the prosecutor 
which do not result in a guilty plea, or which result in a guilty plea that is later 
withdrawn, is not, in any civil or criminal proceeding admissible against the 
defendant who made the plea or was a participant in the plea discussions. Rule 
410(40, SCRE. 

 
GUILTY PLEA PROCEDURE 

 
Generally (though it may vary county to county), the process begins with the 
solicitor calling the case and indicating that the child wishes to plead guilty. The 
judge will ask the defense attorney if she or he has had a full opportunity to 
discuss the case with the child and if the child has indicated that he or she 
wishes to admit the charges as stated by the solicitor. The judge will then 
question the child to ensure that the child understands the charges, his or her 
rights, the implications of pleading guilty, and that the child is pleading guilty 
freely and voluntarily.  



70 

 

Examples of common questions asked of the child by the judge prior to accepting 
a plea include: 

 What is your full name? 

 How old are you? 

 Do you go to school? 

 What grade are you in? (The judge may question the child further if the child 
was held back.) 

 Are you making good grades or bad grades? 

 Are you working? 

 You were in the courtroom when the solicitor and your attorney told me that 
you wish to plead guilty and admit to these charges. Is that correct? 

 Do you understand that by pleading guilty, you are giving up your right to a 
trial? 

 Do you understand that if you go to trial, you would be presumed innocent of 
the charges and the state would have to prove your guilt beyond a reasonable 
doubt? That you would not have to testify against yourself at trial? That your 
lawyer may question and cross-examine the witnesses who will testify against 
you at the hearing? That you have a right to have witnesses present to testify 
on your behalf? 

 Who is here with you today? 

 Have you had enough time to talk with your parent/guardian about why you 
are here today? 

 Have you had enough time to talk with your lawyer about your case? 

 Do you understand the charges against you? 

 Has your lawyer answered all of your questions? 

 Has your lawyer done everything you have asked her/him to do? 

 Are you satisfied with her/his services? 

 Has anyone in any way forced, threatened, or pressured you or promised you 
anything to get you to plead guilty? 

 Are you under the influence of any medication, alcohol, or drugs that would 
keep you from understanding what we are doing here today? 

 Are you pleading guilty freely and voluntarily? 

 Do you understand that, if I find you guilty and adjudicate you delinquent, I 
have the authority to sentence you to the Department of Juvenile Justice for 
an indeterminate period not to exceed your 21st birthday? 

 Do you still wish to plead guilty? 

 Are you pleading guilty because you are guilty? 
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Following these questions, the judge will direct the solicitor to state the facts of 
the case. The solicitor will read out the petition, and the judge will ask the child if 
the child agrees with what was stated in the petition. 
 

The judge will then ask to hear from the DJJ community specialist who will report 
on the child’s school records and prior court history. The community specialist 
will also make a sentencing recommendation to the court on behalf of DJJ.   
 

At this point, the judge may give the victim an opportunity to address the court. 
The defense attorney will then be allowed to speak on behalf of her/his client. 
The defense attorney may also ask the judge to hear from the child and/or family 
members or friends of the child who wish to speak on the child’s behalf.   
 

The judge may ask further questions of the child, the defense attorney, the 
solicitor, or the DJJ community specialist. The solicitor may also request the 
opportunity to respond to statements made by the defense or recommendations 
regarding disposition of the case. 
 

The judge may then ask the child if he or she has any further questions and will 
accept the plea by stating the following (or something similar): “The Court finds 
that your decision to plead guilty in this case is freely, voluntarily and intelligently 
made and that you have had the advice of a competent lawyer with whom you 
say you are satisfied. I accept your guilty plea and adjudicate you delinquent.”  
 

VALIDITY OF GUILTY PLEA 
 

In Gaines v. State, 517 S.E.2d 439 (S.C. 1999), the South Carolina Supreme 
Court held that the test for a valid guilty plea is whether the record establishes 
that a guilty plea was voluntarily and understandingly made, citing  Boykin v. 
Alabama, 395 U.S. 238 (1969). Generally, "the [court] must be certain that the 
defendant understands the charge and the consequences of the plea and that 
the record indicates a factual basis for the plea." In State v. Armstrong, 211 
S.E.2d 889 (S.C. 1975), the court also acknowledged that the "court's warning 
should include an explanation of the defendant's waiver of constitutional rights 
and a realistic picture of all sentencing possibilities." The trial judge will usually 
question the defendant about the facts surrounding the case to ensure the 
defendant understands the implications of pleading guilty. See, e.g., State v. 
Lambert, 225 S.E.2d 340 (S.C. 1976). 
 

TYPES OF PLEAS 
 

Guilty Plea - A guilty plea consists of a waiver of the right to a trial and an 
express admission of guilt.  
 

Negotiated Plea - A negotiated plea is a plea where the defense attorney and 
solicitor have reached an agreement as to sentencing. If the judge does not 
accept the plea as negotiated, the judge must allow the defense attorney to 
withdraw the plea, or it is automatically appealable.   
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Nolo Contendere or No Contest – In a nolo contendere (Latin for “I do not wish 
to contend,” often shortened to nolo) or no contest plea, the child does not admit 
guilt but does not dispute the charges either.The no contest plea has the same 
effect as a guilty plea, but the child does not have to admit guilt. Section 17-23-
40 specifically allows no contest pleas to be entered on misdemeanor charges 
with consent of the court; however, many judges will allow a no contest plea on 
almost any degree of crime. Even if the charge is a misdemeanor, the defense 
attorney should approach the judge before the plea begins to determine if the 
judge is willing to accept a no contest plea.  
 

Alford Plea – In North Carolina v. Alford, 400 U.S. 25 (1970), the Supreme Court 
held that a defendant may enter a plea of guilty while actually maintaining his 
innocence. In order to enter an Alford plea, the defendant must be convinced, 
after being informed of the evidence against him, that he would be found guilty if 
he went to trial. The defendant must also receive some benefit from the plea, 
such as a reduced charge or favorable sentence recommendation. Acceptance 
of an Alford plea is in the court’s discretion. 
 

South Carolina does NOT recognize conditional guilty pleas. State v. Rice, 737 
S.E.2d 485 (S.C. 2013). See also In re Johnny Lee W., 638 S.E.2d 682, 684 (S.C. 
2006) (" A trial court may not accept a conditional plea.").  
- In South Carolina, a guilty plea constitutes a waiver of nonjurisdictional defects 

and claims of violations of constitutional rights. Rivers v. Strickland, 213 S.E.2d 
97 (S.C. 1975).  

 
DUTY TO WITHDRAW FROM PLEA  

  

In Santobello v. New York, 404 U.S. 257, (1971) the Court established that “state 
prosecutors are obligated to fulfill the promises they make to defendants when 
those promises serve as inducements to defendants to plead guilty." See 
Sprouse v. State, 585 S.E.2d 278 (S.C. 2003). If the defense enters into an 
agreement with the solicitor and the solicitor appears to stray from the pre-
arranged terms of the plea, the defense must move to withdraw from the plea. In 
Jordan v. State, 374 S.E.2d 683 (S.C. 1988), the court held that counsel was 
ineffective for failure to attempt to withdraw from the plea where the solicitor 
opposed probation after promising to remain silent on the issue. The court stated 
that counsel’s failure to protect defendant’s right to enforce the plea agreement 
with the solicitor's office fell below "prevailing professional norms." The court also 
held that there was a reasonable probability that “but for the fact that counsel 
failed to object to the continuation of the guilty plea proceeding once the solicitor 
reneged on the plea bargaining agreement, that defendant would not have 
pleaded guilty, but would have insisted on going to trial.”   
 

The defense attorney must also move to withdraw if the judge appears to deviate 
from the terms of a negotiated plea. Brooks v. State, 481 S.E.2d 712 (S.C. 1997). 
 
 
 

http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=708&SerialNum=1971136568&FindType=Y&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.08&mt=Westlaw&vr=2.0&sv=Split
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DISPOSITION PLANNING & ADVOCACY 
 

 
 

Disposition planning and advocacy should begin at the initiation of the attorney-
client relationship. The ultimate goal is to get the most appropriate and least 
restrictive sentence possible for your client if he or she is adjudicated delinquent.   
 
When interviewing your client and client’s guardian, obtain as much relevant 
information about your client and his surrounding circumstances as possible, 
such as background information regarding family dynamics, school history, 
employment history, mental health issues, prior record, and extra-curricular 
activities. When available, obtain corroborating evidence such as DJJ, DSS, 
school, medical and mental health records, which may have to be subpoenaed.  
 
Keep your client informed and involved in the development of the disposition plan 
throughout the process. Identify services and programs available in the 
community that would benefit your client and client’s family, and help your client 
understand and weigh his or her options. If your client wishes to take part in the 
services or programs you have identified, contact those services providers and 
determine what needs to be done to apply for admission.  

 
When preparing for disposition, keep in mind that your role a defense counsel is 
to represent your client’s expressed interests. You also have a responsibility to 
fully explain to your client: 
 the nature of the dispositional hearing; 
 the sentencing options available to the court; 
 the nature, obligations, and consequences of any proposed disposition plan 

and the possible duration of his or her  responsibilities under the plan; 
 the meaning of terms or conditions of probation and the implications of 

violating those terms; and 
 what to expect if commitment to a DJJ facility or other out-of-home placement 

is a possibility. 
 
BEFORE YOUR CLIENT ENTERS A GUILTY PLEA OR GOES TO TRIAL  

 
Discuss with your client the disposition options available to the court and the 
possible outcomes of the case.  
 
Standard Options Available to the Court at Disposition 
 
 Dismissal of the petition or termination of jurisdiction. § 63-19-1410(7). 

 

 Probation. § 63-19-1410(A)(3). 
The court may place the child on probation for any amount of time up until the 
child’s eighteenth birthday.  
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- The court may order straight probation, probation with a suspended 
commitment to DJJ, or probation to follow a determinate sentence.  

- Conditions of probation may include monetary restitution, community 
service, participation in a community mentor program, and/or a fine of up 
to $200 for an offense that carries a fine in adult court. 

- Advise your client of the possible length and terms of probation and the 
implications of violating the terms of probation. 
 

 Commitment to DJJ. 
The court may order that the child be committed to the custody of DJJ: 
- for an indeterminate period  not to exceed the child’s 21st birthday.            

§ 63-19-1440(B). 
o A child committed for an indeterminate period will receive Parole 

Guidelines of a minimum and maximum number of months the child 
may remain committed. Familiarize yourself with the Guidelines so 
you can advise your client regarding the potential length of 
commitment. Make sure your client understands that these are only 
guidelines (there is a rebuttable presumption against release prior 
to minimum and retention after maximum) and his or her behavior 
while committed will also impact the date of release. (See Parole 
section for additional information and an explanation of how the 
guidelines are determined.) 

- for a determinate sentence of up to ninety days for each adjudicated 
delinquent offense. Id. 

o A child committed to DJJ for a determinate or indeterminate 
sentence is entitled to receive credit for time served “for each 
day…detained in or temporarily committed to any secure pre-
dispositional facility, center or program.” § 63-19-1440(I). 

 

 
Collateral Consequences of an Adjudication and Disposition 
 
Advise your client of any possible collateral consequences of the adjudication 
and disposition, such as: 
 Fingerprinting. §§ 63-19-2030(G)-(L) 
 Photographing. § 63-19-2030(F) 
 DNA testing. § 23-3-620. 
 Driver’s license suspension.§ 63-19-1420) 
 School notification. § 63-19-2020 (E) 
 Transfer from DJJ to Department of Corrections at age 17 or 19. § 63-19-

1440(E) 
 Conditional release following DJJ commitment. § 63-19-1850 
 Sex offender registry (Article 7 Chapter 3 of Title 23)  
 Sexually Violent Predator Act (Article 7 Chapter 48 of Title 44)  
 Impact on immigration status, including deportation  
 Loss of scholarships (e.g., Hope and LIFE) 
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BEFORE YOUR CLIENT UNDERGOES A PREDISPOSITION EVALUATION  
 
Prior to sentencing a child who has been adjudicated delinquent, the court may 
order that the child undergo a community or residential evaluation by DJJ. (See 
Dispositional Hearing section for more information regarding the predisposition 
evaluation.) Fully explain the implications of the evaluation and the impact that 
findings in the evaluation report will have on the child’s sentencing. Ensure that 
your client and his or her parents understand the nature of the predisposition 
evaluation process and the importance of statements the child and child’s family 
may make in interviews with DJJ officers and evaluators. 
 
Your client needs to understand that his or her behavior will be closely monitored 
during the entire evaluation period. If the evaluation is conducted at a DJJ center, 
staff observations, both positive and negative, will be recorded in the evaluation 
report, which will be read and relied upon by the judge ruling on disposition. The 
child’s behavior during the 30- to 45-day evaluation period will likely impact the 
judge’s decision regarding disposition. 
 

BEFORE THE DISPOSITIONAL HEARING  
 
Understanding the child’s needs, strengths, and challenges is crucial to 
developing the most appropriate disposition plan and advocating for your client at 
the hearing. In preparation for the dispositional hearing, it is critical to gain a clear 
understanding of how the child is doing at home and in school. In family court, a 
judge’s decision regarding sentencing may be influenced as much by the child’s 
behavior at home and school as by the nature of the offense(s) for which the 
child is being adjudicated. Therefore, it is very important to have an accurate 
account of how the child is performing in school, both behaviorally as well as 
academically, and at home. What kind of attendance and disciplinary record does 
the child have at school? Is the child well-behaved at home? Does the child 
seem to respect authority? Has the child experienced any type of trauma? Has 
the child exhibited any violent, runaway or incorrigible behavior? 
 
While you will want to focus on your client’s strengths, you need to be prepared 
to address the court’s concerns for safety, for the community and the child, and 
any real or perceived shortcomings on the part of the child’s parents or guardian 
such as lack of appropriate supervision, structure and support.  
 
If your client is returning to court for a dispositional hearing following an 
evaluation, contact the DJJ caseworker who will be preparing the predisposition 
evaluation report and provide any relevant information favorable to your client, 
including any mitigating factors and the child’s version of the offense and 
surrounding circumstances,  if appropriate. 
  
You should receive the evaluation report from DJJ several days before going to 
court to ensure you have adequate time to prepare for the hearing. Review the 
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report and discuss it with your client. If the report contains any incorrect or 
misleading information, contact DJJ and try to get that information corrected or 
deleted before the court hearing or prepare to challenge the inaccurate 
information at the hearing. Refer to the next section, “Effective Use of Evaluation 
Reports,” for tips on using the information in the report to advocate for your client. 
 
Prior to the hearing, you should also: 
 
 Collect affidavits and letters of support from appropriate members of the 

community, such as teachers, coaches, pastors, neighbors, extended family 
members, and family friends.  
 

 Contact any potential character witnesses willing to speak on your client’s 
behalf at the hearing and meet with them to discuss what they will say.  
 

 Prepare your client and his parent or guardian for what they should expect as 
far as courtroom procedures, the judge‘s practices, dispositional options 
available to the court, and the likely outcome of the dispositional hearing (i.e., 
what you think the judge will do as far as sentencing). Make it clear that there 
is no way to know for sure what the judge’s sentence will be until the judge 
makes the final order for disposition. 
 

 Prepare your client to speak briefly at the hearing if he or she wishes to do so 
and in anticipation of the judge asking your client to speak.  

 
 Prepare your client's parent or guardian to speak briefly at the hearing and 

answer questions the judge may ask regarding the juvenile’s behavior at 
home. If your client’s relationship with his or her parent or guardian is 
strained, carefully explain the possible implications the parent’s statements 
may have on the judge’s sentencing decision. Discourage the parents from 
venting their frustrations with their child to the judge, as their statements could 
greatly influence the judge’s decision to allow the child to return home and 
may result in the child being committed to DJJ. Make sure they understand 
that if the judge orders out of home placement or commitment to DJJ, the 
parent will have lost all control to bring their child home. 

 
Pre-hearing Negotiations 
 
Both the prosecutor and the DJJ representative in court will make 
recommendations to the judge as to disposition, so contact them prior to court,  
determine what they intend to recommend, and try to come to an agreement as 
to an appropriate disposition plan. You may be able to persuade the prosecutor 
and or DJJ to change their recommendations or to agree with your proposed plan 
if you provide additional information favorable to your client to back up your 
position. 
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DEVELOPING A PLAN 
 

When developing a disposition plan to present to the court, involve your client 
and make sure he or she is in agreement with all aspects of the proposed plan. 
You should not make or agree to any recommendations without your client’s 
informed consent. The plan should entail the least restrictive disposition 
alternatives based on the child’s strengths that also address the court’s 
concerns. 
 
Familiarize yourself with options available to the court by state statute, 
community services and resources, and out-of-home placement options that may 
be useful in developing a plan tailored to your client’s needs and circumstances. 
A judge who is inclined to commit a child to DJJ may be persuaded to allow the 
child to return home or place the child in an alternative setting in the community if 
enough safeguards and services are put in place.  

- Contact staff at the local DJJ office and/or the Children’s Law Center, USC 
School of Law for guidance regarding community-based services, 
programs, and resources. 

 
Consider whether an independent private evaluation or assessment is needed to 
assist in the development of a plan.  
 
Additional information regarding creative approaches to dispositional planning 
can be found in Creative Sentencing in Juvenile Court, another Children’s Law 
Center publication available on the Children’s Law Center website at 
http://childlaw.sc.edu under Juvenile Justice Publications.  

 
Advocating for Probation  
 
If requesting probation for your client, present the court with a comprehensive 
plan tailored specifically to meet your client’s needs and address the court’s 
concerns. Advocate for probationary terms that are reasonable given the 
offense(s) for which the child has been adjudicated and feasible for your client 
and his or her family, taking into account availability of transportation to services 
and activities, and. Argue against terms that set your client up to fail and 
sanctions that allow your client to be sent to placement for violations without 
another hearing. 
 

Refer to the following language found in § 63-19-1410(3) to bolster arguments for 
appropriate terms and conditions of probation: 
 “Probation must not be ordered or administered as punishment but as a 

measure for the protection, guidance, and well-being of the child and the 
child's family.” 

 “Probation methods must be directed to the discovery and correction of the 
basic causes of maladjustment and to the development of the child's 
personality and character, with the aid of the social resources of the 
community.” 
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FOLLOWING THE DISPOSITION HEARING 
 

Carefully review the final order. If the order contains any errors, file objections 
and request a hearing to get the order corrected.  
 
Thoroughly explain the court’s ruling as to disposition to your client and his or her 
parents or guardian. Make sure your client understands the implications of the 
disposition, what will be expected of him or her, and the consequences of not 
cooperating with the order.   
 
Discuss with your client his or her right to appeal the court’s final ruling and make 
sure that right is protected until appellate counsel is substituted or your client 
decides not to exercise this privilege. Inform your client that the appellate counsel 
will guide him or her through the appellate process and will explain whether there 
are grounds for appeal, the likely results of an appeal, and the potential 
advantages and disadvantages associated with appeal.  
 
If your client was adjudicated for a status or nonviolent offense, inform him/her of 
the availability of expungement of his/her juvenile record upon turning 18 under  
§ 63-19-2050. 
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EFFECTIVE USE OF  
PREDISPOSITION EVALUATION REPORTS 

 
 
This section examines the various parts of the DJJ evaluation report and provides tips 
on using the information presented to effectively advocate for your client at the 
disposition hearing. Because judges rely heavily on these reports when sentencing 
juveniles, it is critical that you read the report in its entirety and not rely on the summary 
or merely skim over the report. In addition to highlighting all the positive points 
presented in the report, you should also be prepared to address any seemingly negative 
points at the disposition hearing. 
 

There are two types of predisposition evaluations conducted by DJJ - the Community 
Psychological Evaluation (Community Evaluation) and the Residential Evaluation (also 
referred to as the Secure Evaluation). This section follows the formatting used by DJJ 
for the Residential Evaluation reports, which include additional attachments and 
information not presented in the Community Evaluation reports. 
 

When preparing for disposition, keep in mind that you are tasked with representing your 
juvenile client’s expressed interests. See below: 
 

ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct (Model Rules): Preamble; 
1.14(a) Client with Diminished Capacity; 1.2(a) Scope of Representation 

and Allocation of Authority between Client and Lawyer 
 

At each stage of the case, juvenile defense counsel acts as the client’s 
voice in the proceedings, advocating for the client’s expressed interests, 
not the client’s “best interest” as determined by counsel, the client’s 
parents or guardian, the probation officer, the prosecutor, or the judge. 
With respect to the duty of loyalty owed to the client, the juvenile 
delinquency attorney-client relationship mirrors the adult criminal attorney-
client relationship. In the juvenile defender’s day-to-day activities, the 
establishment of the attorney-client relationship is animated by allocating 
the case decision-making, and practicing the special training required to 
represent clients with diminished capacity. 

 
I. Evaluation Report Cover Sheet 

 

A. Date of Commitment & Date of Release (for residential evaluations)  
 

The length of time a juvenile spends at an evaluation center is important for 
several reasons: 

 

1. Even though time spent at an evaluation center is for evaluation and not 
intended to be “punishment,” from the juvenile’s perspective, this is no 
different than being committed to DJJ. The juvenile is away from his or her 
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home and family, locked up in a secure institutional facility, surrounded by a 
barbed wire fence, and the juvenile is required to comply with all the rules of 
the facility or face consequences. However long the evaluation period is, 
generally 35 – 45 days, to a 14 or 15 year old, it is a very long time. Use this 
information to bolster your argument for allowing the juvenile to return home 
or to the community if alternative placement is the only viable option. 

 

2. If the juvenile is subsequently committed to DJJ at the disposition hearing, he 
or she will receive credit for each day temporarily committed to the evaluation 
center, per S.C. Code Ann. § 63-19-1440(I). 

 

B. Disposition Recommendation 
 

If you are privy to information that was not included in the evaluation report that 
could feasibly change the recommendation to one resulting in a more positive 
outcome for your client, contact the DJJ staff prior to the scheduled court hearing 
to see if you can influence a change in their recommendation to the court.  

 

C. Placement Recommendation 
 

The three options include Home Placement, Alternative Placement, and DJJ 
Institution. 
 

As stated in the introduction, you are required to advocate for your client’s 
expressed interests, not what you or others perceive as the juvenile’s “best 
interests.” If DJJ is recommending alternative placement and your client wishes 
to go home, you have to present your client’s wishes to the court.  In situations 
where it is unlikely that the judge will allow the juvenile to return home (e.g., the 
parents are unable to provide sufficient supervision or the judge makes it clear at 
adjudication that home placement is not an option), it would be prudent to 
discuss possible alternative placement options with your client to determine what 
might be agreeable. 
 

If Alternative Placement is the recommendation, check the Needs and 
Recommendations section at the end of the report to determine if a specific 
alternative placement has been identified and if bed space is likely to be 
available at the time of the disposition hearing.  
 

 If there is an application that needs to be completed, make sure that process 
has been initiated to avoid delays that could potentially result in the 
unnecessary detention of the juvenile in a secure facility pending placement. 
Contact the county DJJ office to check on an application or to encourage 
initiation of an application.  
 

 Detention of the juvenile pending alternative placement can also be avoided 
by presenting the court with available options such as voice or electronic 
monitoring or house arrest.     
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D. Attachments  
 

As soon as you receive your copy of the evaluation report, make sure all 
attachments that are checked off are included with the report so you have 
adequate time to obtain any missing information. 
 

II. Form 5 
 

The Form 5 was developed by DJJ to provide basic information about the juvenile. 
You should already have the majority of this information from your initial interview 
with your client and the child’s parent/guardian, but there may be additional useful 
information included, as well.   
 

 Closely examine this form to check for possible errors, especially in the “Legal 
History” section. Make sure it accurately reflects court outcomes affected by 
negotiated pleas, such as reduction of charges to lesser included offenses or 
dismissals of certain charges.  DJJ’s recommendation for disposition is based in 
part on the juvenile’s legal history, so any errors or discrepancies identified 
should be discussed with DJJ prior to court to determine if correcting the 
information could positively affect their recommendation. 

 

 This form also provides the child’s Medicaid number if applicable. When planning 
for disposition, you should know if your client has insurance or Medicaid which 
may be required when applying to certain programs in the community, especially 
private residential treatment facilities. If the child does not have insurance, is 
eligible for Medicaid, but has not yet applied, make sure the child’s guardian 
applies for Medicaid as soon as possible before the disposition hearing to avoid 
unnecessary delays in placement or acceptance to a treatment program. 

 

Applications for Medicaid can be obtained from the South Carolina Department of 
Health and Human Services or from the county health departments, most 
hospitals, and the county DSS offices. Applications for Medicaid may be filed in 
person or by mail. 

 

 The “DJJ Personnel” section identifies the names of DJJ Intake Counselors and 
Social Workers assigned to the child who you may want to contact. They can 
often provide additional insight regarding a child’s behavior while being evaluated 
and may be able to identify positive points you can present to the court on behalf 
of your client.  

 

 The “Juvenile Traits,” indicates whether DNA testing was conducted on the child 
or if the child was required to register as a sex offender. Again, review for 
accuracy.  
 

III. Court Order / Commitment Order for Evaluation 
 

You should have already received a copy of the court order and thoroughly reviewed 
it for any discrepancies from your notes or recollection of the court’s order at the 
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adjudicatory hearing, especially with regard to any handwritten notes added to a 
standard order.   
 

When preparing your disposition arguments for the court, include any information 
regarding the adjudicated offense favorable to the juvenile, such as mitigating 
factors and relative culpability. 
 
Make sure that any agencies or service providers included in the order have 
complied with the applicable terms. Was the DSS home study or investigation 
conducted as ordered by the court? Was an interagency staffing conducted, and did 
all the identified agencies participate? Have services been provided during the 
evaluation period as ordered? 
 

IV. Psychosocial Evaluation 
 

A. Reason for Referral 
 

If there are specific referral questions posed by the court in the order for 
evaluation, make sure that they are addressed in the evaluation report.  

 

B. Notice  
 

The following statement of confidentiality is standard in all evaluation reports and 
should be read thoroughly and taken very seriously.  

  
This report is confidential and meant for use by qualified professionals 
only and others involved from a legal perspective with this evaluation 
for disposition. No unauthorized disclosure of this report or information 
contained in this report is allowed. Any person who, without proper 
authorization, discloses information contained in the report assumes all 
liability associated therewith. Some individuals and family members 
may tend to misunderstand and/or distort the information enclosed in 
this report. This may result in significant psychological distress to the 
individual or may interfere with any treatment and eventual recovery 
from psychological illness, if present. For individuals with self-
destructive or assault tendencies, the consequences of ill-advised 
disclosure of this report may be serious. Release should be limited to 
that information pertinent to the needs of the requesting party and 
jargon and scores may need to be omitted or explained thoroughly. 
 

(Juvenile’s name) was informed of the purpose of the evaluation and 
was informed that the results would be shared with SCDJJ staff, family 
court officials, qualified professionals, and others involved from a legal 
perspective. He was informed that suspected child abuse or neglect 
must be reported to the proper authorities.  He indicated that he 
understood the limits of confidentiality.  

 

You should obtain your client’s permission before revealing any information 
contained in the report, even if it is to the child’s parent or guardian. Even with 
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your client’s permission, it is almost never a good idea to give a full copy 
of the report to the juvenile’s parent or guardian, or anyone else, for 
reasons identified in the confidentiality statement above.  If there is 
information from the report you believe the parent needs to know in order to help 
the child’s legal situation, then, after obtaining the child’s permission, discuss 
those parts of the report with the parent as needed.   
 

DJJ has a procedure whereby parents who are interested in obtaining a copy of 
the Psychosocial Evaluation (or Community Evaluation) have a meeting with a 
Community Psychologist who goes through the evaluation with the 
parent, explains any information that might be confusing, and answers 
any questions the parent may have.     
 

C. Sources of Information 
 

Possible sources include interviews with parents and other interested parties; 
interagency staffings; DJJ file information, including previous treatment records; 
behavioral observations; and psychological tests administered during the 
predisposition evaluation period, as well as available reports from previous 
testing when available.   
 

Check for any glaring omissions, such as the noncustodial parent who is still 
involved in the juvenile’s life or the absence of an agency representative at an 
interagency staffing, if applicable. 
 

This may also list other evaluations of the juvenile previously conducted that 
were considered as part of the current evaluation process. Request a copy of any 
evaluations you have not previously reviewed, as they may provide valuable 
insight regarding services provided in the past and whether or not they were 
effective in helping the juvenile.  

 

D. Summary of Current Offense and Offense History  
 

Check for accuracy. This information generally is obtained from the juvenile 
petition and the police incident report. 
 

E. Juvenile’s Account of Offenses 
 

Be on guard for misrepresentations. Discuss with your client any information 
reported that may have been misinterpreted by the evaluator that needs 
clarification. 
 

F. Family Functioning / Juvenile’s Report of Family Functioning 
 

Family involvement and support is a crucial part of an effective dispositional plan 
and the juvenile’s future success, so pay close attention to this section.  When 
the information in this section is thorough and derived from different accounts of 
various family members, it can provide insight into the needs of the juvenile, and 
can also be a good indicator of counseling needs of the parents and family as a 
whole. However, if only one parent or family member is interviewed, exercise 
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caution when relying on the reported information, as it could be distorted by that 
individual’s perception. 
 

This section may also provide information about other relatives the juvenile may 
be able to live with if returning to the home is problematic or unlikely. 
 

G. Adolescent Functioning 
 

When reviewing this section, does any of the information provided bring into 
question the juvenile’s competency? Even though the juvenile has been 
adjudicated, remember that competency can be raised at any point in the court 
process.   

 

 Relevant history 
This provides extensive reports of everything known to the evaluator from the 
child’s history possibly affecting his or her mental health, including: 
complications of mother’s pregnancy or at birth; developmental delays; history 
of head injuries, serious illnesses, or seizures; physical or sexual abuse; 
neglect; DSS involvement; mental health services received, hospitalizations, 
diagnoses, and medications. 

 

 Current Symptomatology  
This includes self reports (and reports by the juvenile’s parent or guardian) of 
symptoms, behaviors and attitudes of the juvenile.    

 

 Behavioral Observations 
This includes information relative to the juvenile’s mental status, such as 
mood, affect, demeanor, orientation, attention/concentration, responsiveness, 
memory, thought processes, observed or reported distress, and level of 
cooperation with the examiner during the interview and testing. 

 

 Behavioral/Emotional/Personality Measures  
This section reports results from several assessments conducted as part of 
the evaluation process, including: 
- The MACI (Millon Adolescent Clinical Inventory) - a self-report measure of 

adolescent personality and psychopathology. 
- The BASC-2 (Behavior Assessment System for Children, 2nd Edition) - a 

comprehensive assessment of personality, behavior, emotions and 
relationships.  This is a self-report measure of personal, clinical and 
school adjustment. 

- The RADS-2 (Reynolds Adolescent Depression Scales, 2nd Edition) - a 
measure of depression and depressive symptoms. 

- The SASSI-A2 (Substance Abuse Subtle Screening Inventory - 
Adolescent 2) - an inventory that screens for substance related problems. 

- The RISB (Rotter Incomplete Sentences Blank) - a self-report semi-
projective technique that permits juveniles to express conscious concerns 
directly using their own words.  
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 Cognitive Functioning and Academic Achievement 
- The WISC-IV (Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Children) 
- The WASI (Wechsler Abbreviated Scale of Intelligence) is briefer than a 

Full Scale IQ test, so scores from it tend to vary more over time than 
scores from a Full Scale IQ test. 

- The WIAT-II (Wechsler Individual Achievement Test, 2nd Edition) is an 
achievement test that provides Grade Equivalent for Reading 
Comprehension and Numerical Operations. 

- The VMI-5 (Beery-Buktenica Developmental Test of Visual Motor 
Integration) is a measure of visual motor integration 

 

 School/Job Functioning 
This information is gathered from self-reports, interviews with parents, and 
school records. 
 

If a juvenile has been suspended for the duration of the school year or 
expelled from school and unable to reenroll due to statutory or policy barriers, 
this will likely impact the recommendations by DJJ, as well as the judge’s 
ruling regarding disposition and placement. Be prepared to offer alternatives 
to show the court that the expelled juvenile will be keeping busy (i.e., staying 
out of trouble).  Encourage your client, if old enough, to enroll in an adult 
education program, take a GED course, or find a job so you have something 
to report to the court. 

 

 Peer Relations 
This tends to be self-reported. It can be an indicator of the need for more 
positive peer influences and exposure to extracurricular activities such as 
sports, music, theater or community park activities that may be available to 
the juvenile, either through the juvenile’s school or within safe walking 
distance to the juvenile’s home if lack of transportation is a limiting factor. 
 

Reports of gang involvement will also be included in this section. 
 

 Community Functioning 
This generally includes a brief description of the juvenile’s home and 
neighborhood (including crime and gang activity). 

 

A positive change in the juvenile’s living arrangements can bolster an 
argument for allowing the juvenile to remain in the community instead of 
being committed to DJJ. For example, the juvenile lived with his mother in a 
high-crime area but is moving in with his father in a neighborhood with much 
less crime and away from the negative peer influences from his former 
neighborhood. Be prepared to respond to questioning from the court as to 
how the juvenile plans to avoid future involvement with negative peers in the 
new neighborhood. 

 

 Adjustment at the Evaluation Center Placement 
Judges generally tend to pay special attention to this section. Obviously, you 
will want to emphasize any reports of positive behaviors in the residential 
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and/or educational settings and respond to statements regarding negative 
behavior. Reports of negative and disruptive behavior at the evaluation center 
could influence a judge’s decision on sentencing and increase the likelihood 
of commitment to a DJJ facility for disposition. Contact the juvenile’s social 
worker or teacher at the evaluation center to see if there is any helpful 
information that was left out of the report. For example, if the report includes a 
negative incident involving the juvenile in the school setting, contact the 
teacher at the center and see if you can gain any insight into the surrounding 
circumstances or if perhaps the juvenile’s behavior improved following the 
writing of the report but prior to release from the center. 
 

 Summary 
The judge may rely more on the summary as a guide during the actual 
hearing, especially on court days when presiding over numerous disposition 
hearings. Highlight important parts included in the summary and add any 
points found in other parts of the report that are not reiterated in the summary.   

 

 Strengths 
When addressing the court, focus on emphasizing the strengths listed in this 
section as well as other unlisted strengths you have identified while 
representing the juvenile. Identify all the juvenile’s positive attributes you have 
personally witnessed in your dealings with your client, such as good manners, 
honesty, remorse and responsibility for misbehavior, and a desire to stay out 
of future trouble.  
 

H. DSM-IV Diagnostic Impression  
 

This section lists the juvenile’s diagnosed mental health disorders from the 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders-IV (DSM-IV).  The DSM-
IV, published by the American Psychiatric Association, lists the diagnostic criteria 
for mental disorders and is organized into five axes. 

 

 Axis I includes Clinical Disorders, such as Depression, Anxiety Disorders, 
Schizophrenia, Oppositional Defiant Disorder (ODD), and Attention Deficit 
Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD). It also includes other conditions that may be a 
focus of clinical attention such as physical abuse of child, sexual abuse of 
child, parent-child problems, and borderline intellectual functioning. 
 

 Axis II includes Personality Disorders and mental retardation.  
 

 Axis III includes general medical conditions relevant to emotional /behavior 
functioning. Examples include seizure disorder and head injury.  
 

 Axis IV includes Psychosocial and Environmental Problems. Examples 
include educational problems, problems with primary support group, problems 
related to social environment, housing problems, and problems related to 
interaction with the legal system.  
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 Axis V identifies the Global Assessment of Functioning (GAF), which is the 
examiner’s judgment of the juvenile’s overall level of functioning ranging from 
0 to 100. This information is useful in planning treatment and measuring its 
impact. 

 

If your client has a mental health diagnosis, you will want to have at least a basic 
understanding of the disorder and the implications of that diagnosis as far as 
needs of the juvenile and beneficial services that are available.  Also, consider 
whether information revealed in this section brings into question the juvenile’s 
competency. 

  

I. Needs and Recommendations 
 

Review this section closely with your client and determine if your client is willing 
to comply with the recommendations as listed. If not, be prepared to argue to the 
court why your client should not have to comply or at least be prepared to 
present your client’s wishes to the court.   
 

If community service is recommended, discuss with your client possible 
community service options that correspond to the juvenile’s interests. If, for 
example your client loves animals, you might request that the community service 
ordered by the court be performed at an animal shelter. Discuss possible options 
with your local DJJ representative. 

 
V. Psychiatric Evaluation 

 

A psychiatric evaluation will be conducted only if specifically ordered by the court or 
if there are indicators of a psychiatric problem. Juveniles who are prescribed 
psychotropic medication or are believed to be in need of psychotropic medication will 
be referred to the DJJ consulting psychiatrist for medication monitoring or 
assessment. This information will be referenced in the Psychosocial Evaluation 
report under “Relevant History.” 
 

VI. Student Transcript 
 

If the juvenile performed well in class, it may be helpful to contact the lead teacher 
(name and phone number should be included on the form) to see if he or she has 
any positive comments that could be shared with the court. The teacher may also be 
able to provide you with some insight into the educational needs of the juvenile. 
 

VII. Health Examination Record 
The vision test may reveal a need for glasses or contacts. Consider the possibility 
that untreated eyesight problems could be contributing to poor academic 
performance. 
 

VIII. Medical Lab Report / Physical Examination Form 
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DISPOSITIONAL HEARING 
 
 

 
 
OVERVIEW 

 
The dispositional hearing is the sentencing phase of the family court process. It is 
the hearing where the judge determines what is most appropriate regarding 
treatment and custody for a child who has been adjudicated delinquent, while 
addressing concerns of community safety. In making this determination, the 
judge will consider the seriousness of the offense, the child’s prior record, the 
child’s family background, school records, and any available social reports or 
evaluations.  
 
The dispositional hearing may be held immediately following the adjudicatory 
hearing, or it may be scheduled for a later date, pending an evaluation of the 
child and the child’s circumstances.  

 
PREDISPOSITION EVALUATION 

 
There are two reasons why the judge may order a child to undergo a 
predisposition evaluation: (1) the judge may determine that he or she needs 
more information about the child and the child’s needs before sentencing the 
child; or (2) it may be required by law.  
 
Before committing a child to DJJ, the court must order the child to undergo an 
evaluation unless one of the exceptions described below applies. There are two 
types of predisposition evaluations: the community evaluation, where the child 
remains at home or in alternative placement in the community while undergoing 
the evaluation; and the residential evaluation, where the child is committed to 
DJJ for not more than 45 days while undergoing the evaluation. § 63-19-
1440(C). 
 
Both types of evaluation include psychological, social, and educational 
assessments. A child who undergoes a residential evaluation will also receive a 
medical examination and attend school while at the evaluation center. § 63-19-
1440(C). 
 
Following either type of evaluation, DJJ will submit an evaluation report to the 
court. The evaluation report includes: information gathered from interviews with 
the child and the child’s parents or guardian; psychological evaluations, 
psychiatric evaluations and tests when deemed necessary; information gathered 
from the child’s teachers and school officials; an overview of the child’s school 
and court records; and recommendations regarding treatment and services that 
would benefit the child. 
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The court may waive the evaluation in writing and move straight into disposition 
of the case if the child: 

 has already undergone a community or residential evaluation and the 
evaluation is available to the court;  

 has been released from DJJ within the past year and the child’s previous 
evaluation or other equivalent information is available to the court; or  

 receives a sentence of probation or if committed to DJJ, it is for a determinate 
sentence of 90 days or less. § 63-19-1440(C). 

 
DISPOSITIONAL HEARING PROCEEDINGS 

 
Rule 37, SCRFC, requires the judge who presided over the adjudicatory hearing 
to preside over the disposition hearing as well, unless a change of venue is made 
pursuant to Rule 33(b), SCRFC, or unless “otherwise unavailable.” In practice, 
and especially in larger counties with several family court judges, the judge 
assigned to juvenile cases the day the child is scheduled for the dispositional 
hearing is the judge who will preside, as opposed to the judge who actually 
presided over the adjudicatory hearing. 
 
The South Carolina Rules of Evidence (other than with respect to privileges) do 
not apply in dispositional hearings in juvenile delinquency matters. Rule 
1101(d)(3), SCRE. 
 
Though proceedings may vary county to county, the following is an overview of a 
typical dispositional hearing: 

 The hearing generally begins with the solicitor calling the case.   

 The judge will then ask to hear from the DJJ community specialist who will 
report on the child’s school records and prior court history. The DJJ 
representative will also highlight the evaluation report if an evaluation was 
conducted, which the judge will have read in full prior to the hearing, and 
make a recommendation on behalf of DJJ as to sentencing.  

 The solicitor will address the court and make a recommendation regarding 
sentencing.   

 The court will hear from the defense attorney who will speak on the child’s 
behalf and request a sentence for the child.   

 The court may also ask the child and the child’s parents questions before 
sentencing the child. 
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SECTION 63-19-1410. Adjudication.  
 
(A) When a child is found by decree of the court to be subject to this chapter, the court 
shall in its decree make a finding of the facts upon which the court exercises its 
jurisdiction over the child. Following the decree, the court by order may:  
(1) cause a child concerning whom a petition has been filed to be examined or treated 
by a physician, psychiatrist, or psychologist and for that purpose place the child in a 
hospital or other suitable facility;  
(2) order care and treatment as it considers best, except as otherwise provided in this 
section and may designate a state agency as the lead agency to provide a family 
assessment to the court. The assessment shall include, but is not limited to, the 
strengths and weaknesses of the family, problems interfering with the functioning of the 
family and with the best interests of the child, and recommendations for a 
comprehensive service plan to strengthen the family and assist in resolving these 
issues.  
The lead agency shall provide the family assessment to the court in a timely manner, 
and the court shall conduct a hearing to review the proposed plan and adopt a plan as 
part of its order that will best meet the needs and best interest of the child. In arriving at 
a comprehensive plan, the court shall consider:  
(a) additional testing or evaluation that may be needed;  
(b) economic services including, but not limited to, employment services, job training, 
food stamps, and aid to families with dependent children;  
(c) counseling services including, but not limited to, marital counseling, parenting skills, 
and alcohol and drug abuse counseling;  and  
(d) any other programs or services appropriate to the child's and family's needs.  
The lead agency is responsible for monitoring compliance with the court-ordered plan 
and shall report to the court as the court requires.  In support of an order, the court may 
require the parents or other persons having custody of the child or any other person 
who has been found by the court to be encouraging, causing, or contributing to the acts 
or conditions which bring the child within the purview of this chapter to do or omit to do 
acts required or forbidden by law, when the judge considers the requirement necessary 
for the welfare of the child. In case of failure to comply with the requirement, the court 
may proceed against those persons for contempt of court;  
(3) place the child on probation or under supervision in the child's own home or in the 
custody of a suitable person elsewhere, upon conditions as the court may determine.  A 
child placed on probation by the court remains under the authority of the court only until 
the expiration of the specified term of the child's probation. This specified term of 
probation may expire before but not after the eighteenth birthday of the child. 
Probation means casework services during a continuance of the case. Probation must 
not be ordered or administered as punishment but as a measure for the protection, 
guidance, and well-being of the child and the child's family. Probation methods must be 
directed to the discovery and correction of the basic causes of maladjustment and to the 
development of the child's personality and character, with the aid of the social resources 

DISPOSITIONAL POWERS OF THE COURT STATUTES 
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of the community. As a condition of probation, the court may order the child to 
participate in a community mentor program as provided for in Section 63-19-1430. The 
court may impose monetary restitution or participation in supervised work or community 
service, or both, as a condition of probation. The Department of Juvenile Justice, in 
coordination with local community agencies, shall develop and encourage employment 
of a constructive nature designed to make reparation and to promote the rehabilitation 
of the child. When considering the appropriate amount of monetary restitution to be 
ordered, the court shall establish the monetary loss suffered by the victim and then 
weigh and consider this amount against the number of individuals involved in causing 
the monetary loss, the child's particular role in causing this loss, and the child's ability to 
pay the amount over a reasonable period of time. The Department of Juvenile Justice 
shall develop a system for the transferring of court-ordered restitution from the child to 
the victim or owner of property injured, destroyed, or stolen. As a condition of probation 
the court may impose upon the child a fine not exceeding two hundred dollars when the 
offense is one in which a magistrate, municipal, or circuit court judge has the authority 
to impose a fine. A fine may be imposed when commitment is suspended but not in 
addition to commitment;  
(4) order the child to participate in a community mentor program as provided in Section 
63-19-1430;  
(5) commit the child to the custody or to the guardianship of a public or private institution 
or agency authorized to care for children or to place them in family homes or under the 
guardianship of a suitable person. Commitment must be for an indeterminate period but 
in no event beyond the child's twenty-first birthday;  
(6) require that a child under twelve years of age who is adjudicated delinquent for an 
offense listed in Section 23-3-430(C) be given appropriate psychiatric or psychological 
treatment to address the circumstances of the offense for which the child was 
adjudicated;  and  
(7) dismiss the petition or otherwise terminate its jurisdiction at any time on the motion 
of either party or on its own motion.  
 
(B) Whenever the court commits a child to an institution or agency, it shall transmit with 
the order of commitment a summary of its information concerning the child, and the 
institution or agency shall give to the court information concerning the child which the 
court may require. Counsel of record, if any, must be notified by the court of an 
adjudication under this section, and in the event there is no counsel of record, the child 
or the child's parents or guardian must be notified of the adjudication by regular mail 
from the court to the last address of the child or the child's parents or guardian.  
  
(C) No adjudication by the court of the status of a child is a conviction, nor does the 
adjudication operate to impose civil disabilities ordinarily resulting from conviction, nor 
may a child be charged with crime or convicted in a court, except as provided in Section 
63-19-1210(6). The disposition made of a child or any evidence given in court does not 
disqualify the child in a future civil service application or appointment.  
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SECTION 63-19-1420. Driver's license suspension.  
 
(A) If a child is adjudicated delinquent for a status offense or is found in violation of a 
court order relating to a status offense, the court may suspend or restrict the child's 
driver's license until the child's seventeenth birthday.  
 
(B) If a child is adjudicated delinquent for violation of a criminal offense or is found in 
violation of a court order relating to a criminal offense or is found in violation of a term or 
condition of probation, the court may suspend or restrict the child's driver's license until 
the child's eighteenth birthday.  
  
(C) If the court suspends the child's driver's license, the child must submit the license to 
the court, and the court shall forward the license to the Department of Motor Vehicles 
for license suspension. However, convictions not related to the operation of a motor 
vehicle shall not result in increased insurance premiums.  
 
(D) If the court restricts the child's driver's license, the court may restrict the child's 
driving privileges to driving only to and from school or to and from work or as the court 
considers appropriate. Upon the court restricting a child's driver's license, the child must 
submit the licens to the court and the court shall forward the license to the Department 
of Motor Vehicles for reissuance of the license with the restriction clearly noted.  
  
(E) Notwithstanding the definition of a "child" as provided for in Section 63-19-20, the 
court may suspend or restrict the driver's license of a child under the age of seventeen 
until the child's eighteenth birthday if subsection (B) applies.  
  
(F) Upon suspending or restricting a child's driver's license under this section, the family 
court judge shall complete a form provided by and which must be remitted to the 
Department of Motor Vehicles.  
 
SECTION 63-19-1430. Youth Mentor Act.  
 
(A) This section may be cited as the "Youth Mentor Act".  
(B) The Attorney General's Office shall establish a Youth Mentor Program to serve 
juvenile offenders under the jurisdiction of the family court. The program shall consist of 
a church mentor program and a community mentor program. Participation in the 
program may be required as a pretrial diversion option by a solicitor or as an optional, 
alternative disposition by a family court judge. The circuit solicitor may charge a juvenile 
offender who participates in the Youth Mentor Program a fee to offset the actual cost of 
administering the program; however, no juvenile offender is barred from the program 
because of indigence. This program must be available for juveniles who commit 
nonviolent offenses. For purposes of this subsection, nonviolent offenses mean all 
offenses not listed in Section 16-1-60.  
(C) When a child is charged with a nonviolent offense which places him under the 
jurisdiction of the family court and the solicitor is of the opinion that justice would be 
better served if the child completed a church mentor program, the solicitor may divert 
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the child to such a program. Upon completion of the program, the proceedings in family 
court must be dismissed.  
Participation in the church mentor program is voluntary, and the child or his parents or 
guardians may refuse to participate based upon their religious beliefs or for any other 
reason.  
The Attorney General must establish guidelines for the program, the mentors, and the 
churches, mosques, masjids, synagogues, and other religious organizations that 
participate in the church mentor program.  
(D) When a child is adjudicated delinquent for a nonviolent offense in family court, the 
family court judge may order the child to participate in the community mentor program.  
When a child is ordered to participate in the community mentor program, he must be 
assigned to a community organization which shall assign a mentor to the child.  The 
mentor shall monitor the academic and personal development of the child for a 
minimum period of six months and a maximum period not exceeding one year as 
ordered by the court. Failure to complete the program shall result in the child being 
brought before the family court for appropriate sanctions or revocation of suspended 
commitment.  
The Attorney General must establish guidelines for the program, the mentors, and the 
community organizations that participate in the community mentor program.  
 
SECTION 63-19-1440. Commitment.  
 
(A) A child, after the child's twelfth birthday and before the seventeenth birthday or 
while under the jurisdiction of the family court for disposition of an offense that occurred 
prior to the child's seventeenth birthday, may be committed to the custody of the 
Department of Juvenile Justice which shall arrange for placement in a suitable 
corrective environment. Children under the age of twelve years may be committed only 
to the custody of the department which shall arrange for placement in a suitable 
corrective environment other than institutional confinement. No child under the age of 
seventeen years may be committed or sentenced to any other penal or correctional 
institution of this State.  
  
(B) All commitments to the custody of the Department of Juvenile Justice for 
delinquency as opposed to the conviction of a specific crime may be made only for the 
reasons and in the manner prescribed in Sections 63-3-510, 63-3-520, 63-3-580, 
63-3-600, 63-3-650, and this chapter, with evaluations made and proceedings 
conducted only by the judges authorized to order commitments in this section. When a 
child is committed to the custody of the department, commitment must be for an 
indeterminate sentence, not extending beyond the twenty-first birthday of the child 
unless sooner released by the department, or for a determinate commitment sentence 
not to exceed ninety days.  
  
(C) The court, before committing a child as a delinquent or as a part of a sentence 
including commitments for contempt, shall order a community evaluation or temporarily 
commit the child to the Department of Juvenile Justice for not more than forty-five days 
for evaluation. A community evaluation is equivalent to a residential evaluation, but it is 
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not required to include all components of a residential evaluation.  However, in either 
evaluation the department shall make a recommendation to the court on the appropriate 
disposition of the case and shall submit that recommendation to the court before final 
disposition. The department is authorized to allow any child adjudicated delinquent for a 
status offense, a misdemeanor offense, or violation of probation or contempt for any 
offense who is temporarily committed to the department's custody for a residential 
evaluation, to reside in that child's home or in his home community while undergoing a 
community evaluation, unless the committing judge finds and concludes in the order for 
evaluation, that a community evaluation of the child must not be conducted because the 
child presents an unreasonable flight or public safety risk to his home community. The 
court may waive in writing the evaluation of the child and proceed to issue final 
disposition in the case if the child:  
(1) has previously received a residential evaluation or a community evaluation and the 
evaluation is available to the court;  
(2) has been within the past year temporarily or finally discharged or conditionally 
released for parole from a correctional institution of the department, and the child's 
previous evaluation or other equivalent information is available to the court;  or  
(3) receives a determinate commitment sentence not to exceed ninety days.  
  
(D) When a juvenile is adjudicated delinquent or convicted of a crime or has entered a 
plea of guilty or nolo contendere in a court authorized to commit to the custody of the 
Department of Juvenile Justice, the juvenile may be committed for an indeterminate 
period until the juvenile has reached age twenty-one or until sooner released by the 
releasing entity or released by order of a judge of the Supreme Court or the circuit court 
of this State, rendered at chambers or otherwise, in a proceeding in the nature of an 
application for a writ of habeas corpus.  A juvenile who has not been paroled or 
otherwise released from the custody of the department by the juvenile's nineteenth 
birthday must be transferred to the custody and authority of the Youthful Offender 
Division of the Department of Corrections. If not sooner released by the releasing entity, 
the juvenile must be released by age twenty-one according to the provisions of the 
juvenile's commitment; however, notwithstanding the above provision, any juvenile 
committed as an adult offender by order of the court of general sessions must be 
considered for parole or other release according to the laws pertaining to release of 
adult offenders.  
  
(E) A juvenile committed to the Department of Juvenile Justice following an adjudication 
for a violent offense contained in Section 16-1-60 or for the offense of assault and 
battery of a high and aggravated nature, who has not been paroled or released from the 
custody of the department by his seventeenth birthday must be transferred to the 
custody and authority of the Youthful Offender Division of the Department of 
Corrections.  A juvenile who has not been paroled or released from the custody of the 
department by his nineteenth birthday must be transferred to the custody and authority 
of the Youthful Offender Division of the Department of Corrections at age nineteen.  If 
not released sooner by the Board of Juvenile Parole, a juvenile transferred pursuant to 
this subsection must be released by his twenty-first birthday according to the provisions 
of his commitment. Notwithstanding the above provision, a juvenile committed as an 
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adult offender by order of the court of general sessions must be considered for parole or 
other release according to the laws pertaining to release of adult offenders.  
  
(F) Notwithstanding subsections (A) and (E), a child may be committed to the custody of 
the Department of Juvenile Justice or to a secure evaluation center operated by the 
department for a determinate period not to exceed ninety days when:  
(1) the child has been adjudicated delinquent by a family court judge for a status 
offense, as defined in Section 63-19-20, excluding truancy, and the order acknowledges 
that the child has been afforded all due process rights guaranteed to a child offender;  
(2) the child is in contempt of court for violation of a court order to attend school or an 
order issued as a result of the child's adjudication of delinquency for a status offense, as 
defined in Section 63-19-20;  or  
(3) the child is determined by the court to have violated the conditions of probation set 
forth by the court in an order issued as a result of the child's adjudication of delinquency 
for a status offense, as defined in Section 63-19-20 including truancy.  
Orders issued pursuant to this subsection must acknowledge:  
(a) that the child has been advised of all due process rights afforded to a child offender;  
and  
(b) that the court has received information from the appropriate state or local agency or 
public entity that has reviewed the facts and circumstances causing the child to be 
before the court.  
  
(G) A child committed under this section may not be confined with a child who has been 
determined by the department to be violent.  
  
(H) After having served at least two-thirds of the time ordered by a court, a child 
committed to the Department of Juvenile Justice for a determinate period pursuant to 
this section may be released by the department prior to the expiration of the 
determinate period for "good behavior" as determined by the department.  The court, in 
its discretion, may state in the order that the child is not to be released prior to the 
expiration of the determinate period ordered by the court.  
  
(I) Juveniles detained in any temporary holding facility or juvenile detention center or 
who are temporarily committed for evaluation to a Department of Juvenile Justice 
evaluation center for the offense for which they were subsequently committed by the 
family court to the custody of the Department of Juvenile Justice shall receive credit 
toward their parole guidelines, if indeterminately sentenced, or credit toward their date 
of release, if determinately sentenced, for each day they are detained in or temporarily 
committed to any secure pre-dispositional facility, center, or program.  
 
SECTION 63-19-1450. Commitment of juvenile with mental illness or mental 
retardation.  
 
(A) No juvenile may be committed to an institution under the control of the Department 
of Juvenile Justice who is seriously handicapped by mental illness or retardation. If, 
after a juvenile is referred to the Reception and Evaluation Center, it is determined that 
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the juvenile is mentally ill, as defined in Section 44-23-10, or a person with intellectual 
disability to an extent that the juvenile could not be properly cared for in its custody, the 
department through the voluntary admission process or by instituting necessary legal 
action may accomplish the transfer of the juvenile to another state agency which in its 
judgment is best qualified to care for the juvenile in accordance with the laws of this 
State. This legal action must be brought in the juvenile's resident county.  The 
department shall establish standards with regard to the physical and mental health of 
juveniles whom it can accept for commitment.  
 
(B) When the state agency to which a juvenile is transferred determines that it is 
appropriate to release from commitment that juvenile, the state agency must submit a 
request for release to the releasing entity.  If the releasing entity does not grant the 
request to release the juvenile, the juvenile must be placed in an environment 
consistent with the provisions of this section.  
  
(C) If a juvenile transferred to another state agency pursuant to this section is absent 
from a treatment facility without proper authorization, any state or local law enforcement 
officer upon the request of the director, or a designee, of the state agency to which the 
juvenile has been transferred and without the necessity of a warrant or a court order, 
may take the juvenile into custody and return the juvenile to the facility designated by 
the agency director or the designee.  
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 JUVENILE APPEALS OVERVIEW 
 
 

 
APPELLATE COURT RULES 

 
Generally, final orders of the family court are appealable to the Court of Appeals. 
The South Carolina Appellate Court Rules apply to appeals from family court 
orders. Section 63-3-630 states that a juvenile’s right to appeal “must be 
governed by the same rules, practices, and procedures that govern appeals from 
the circuit court.” 

 
DIVISION OF APPELLATE DEFENSE 

 
The Division of Appellate Defense, South Carolina Commission on Indigent 
Defense (SCCID) represents indigent juvenile defendants in appeals to the South 
Carolina Supreme Court and Court of Appeals. 

 
PROPER ERROR PRESERVATION AT TRIAL LEVEL   

 
General principles of preserving error for appellate review apply to juvenile cases 
just as they do to adult criminal appeals:   

 

 An issue must be raised to and ruled upon by the trial judge. State v. 
Williams, 401 S.E.2d 168 (S.C. 1991).   
 

 Objections must be on a specific ground. State v. Bailey, 170 S.E. 2d 376 
(S.C. 1969).   

 
NOTICE OF INTENT TO APPEAL 
 

The notice of intent to appeal a juvenile action from the family court must be filed 
within 10 days after receipt of written notice of entry of the order or judgment. 
Rules 203(b)(2) and b(3), SCACR. Because the notice of intent to appeal confers 
subject matter jurisdiction upon the appellate courts, it is critical that the notice be 
filed in a timely manner. 
 
The notice of intent to appeal should be filed from the dispositional order rather 
than the adjudicatory order. In re Lorenzo B., 415 S.E. 2d 795 (S.C. 1992).   

 
USE OF EXTRAORDINARY WRITS IN JUVENILE CASES 

 
One obstacle to providing juveniles with adequate post-dispositional 
representation is the difficulty of challenging a very short sentence in a slow 
appellate system. The average appeal may take a year or longer. A sentence of 
three, six, or even nine months may well be completed, and the issue will be 
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moot before the appellate court decides the case. Extraordinary writs are can be 
used to challenge these juvenile sentences. 
 
South Carolina Supreme Court cases involving successful attempts to obtain 
writs of supersedes to proceed with appeals on the basis of capable of repetition 
yet evading review:   

    
 In the Interest of Vincent J., 509 S.E. 2d 261 (S.C. 1998). Holding:  § 20-7-

7810(F) (§ 63-19-1440(F)) does not limit a family court’s power to commit 
non-status offenders for greater than 90 days for contempt. In footnote three, 
the Supreme Court noted the family court can not commit a contemnor to an 
indeterminate sentence because it would trigger the right to a jury trial and the 
family court does not conduct jury trials. 
     

 In re Tonisha G., 520 S.E. 2d 807 (S.C. 1999), the court confirmed that where 
a status offender is charged with contempt of court, the sentence cannot 
exceed ninety days. 
      

ADVERSE COLLATERAL CONSEQUENCES AND RIGHT OF REVIEW 
 

“Where adverse collateral consequences may arise from an adjudication of 
delinquency, a juvenile may not be foreclosed from appeal simply because he is 
no longer in custody.”  In re Willie H., 327 S.E.2d 76 (S.C. 1985).  
  
Examples of adverse collateral consequences identified by the Court:  
 Use of a juvenile adjudication to impeach a witness in a subsequent legal 

proceeding. State v. Mallory,  242 S.E.2d 693 (S.C. 1978).  
 Consideration by sentencing judge of adult defendant's juvenile record in 

imposing a sentence. Hayden v. State, 322 S.E.2d 14 (S.C. 1984).  
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APPELLATE PRACTICE FROM THE COURT’S PERSPECTIVE 
 

by The Honorable H. Bruce Williams 

 

TIPS FOR THE TRIAL STAGE 
 

 Preserving error requires not only that you raise an issue to the trial court, but 
that the trial court also rule upon the issue 
 

 If the trial judge has made an important ruling off the record (i.e., in chambers or 
at a sidebar), ask the judge to recap the ruling on the record when a court 
reporter is present. 
 

 If trying your case with a co-counsel, designate one person on the trial team with 
the task of preserving errors. 
- Co-counsel’s duties are to make sure: (1) key rulings are on the record; (2) 

proper instructions are submitted; (3) objections to testimony are made at the 
proper time and on the proper grounds; (4) excluded evidence is proffered; 
and (5) trial motions are made.  

 

 Do not be afraid to object for cause during opposing counsel’s closing argument 
for fear of tactics. You may miss an opportunity to argue an error on appeal. 
 

 Even if you are worried the trial judge is going to “shh” you, a contemporaneous 
objection is critical for purposes of your appeal. 
 

 If you have a motion in limine, remember it is generally not a final ruling. If you 
win the motion in limine, but opposing counsel later presents the excluded 
evidence, you must then object and ask for a mistrial. If evidence you want 
introduced is excluded in limine, you must proffer the evidence at trial for the 
appellate court to determine whether the exclusion is reversible error.  
 

 Prepare your post-trial motions before the end of the trial. You want to be 
prepared to present them even if the court returns a surprise verdict. 

 
IF YOU LOSE AT TRIAL 
 

 Determine whether sufficient grounds for an appeal exist before filing.  
 

 Consider the potential consequences of an appeal (a new trial may ultimately 
result in a harsher sentence).  
 

 If you decide to appeal, read the appellate court rules thoroughly. The most 
important rule is the service of the notice of appeal because that goes to subject 
matter jurisdiction.  
 

 Begin preparing your brief, paying attention to error preservation and scope of 
review.  
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STEPS FOR APPEAL 
 
Step 1:   File your notice of appeal, which must be served on all respondents within ten 

(10) days after the sentence is imposed. SCACR, Rule 203. 
 

Step 2:  The Brief Writing Process 
- Carefully identify the issues on appeal; most successful appeals have only 

a few good issues.  
- Acknowledge opposing counsel’s strongest points, and introduce (without 

arguing) the facts you will later use to counter the other side - A judge will 
be more inclined to accept the fairness of your statement under these 
conditions.  

- Know your standard of review. 
- Do not include lengthy quotes from one precedent after another without 

fitting the precedents into an overall pattern.   
- Provide the court with an adequate record on appeal. Resist the temptation 

to include everything in the record on appeal, but do make sure you include 
all important information, such as passages which demonstrate the issues 
on appeal were raised at trial. 

For Reply Briefs: 
- Reply briefs can be less extensive than the first brief and should briefly 

discount Respondent’s arguments.  
- These are optional, but recommended, and are particularly essential if 

Respondent raises new matters (such as preservation) in his or her brief. 
 

Step 3:  Preparing for Oral Argument 
- Master your record on appeal so you are able to respond to judges’ 

questions by referring to specific cites in the record. 
- Be specific in responding to the court’s question; if unsure of the answer, be 

forthright with the Court.  
- Have a thorough understanding of the law applicable to your case.  
- Do not limit your understanding to simply the cases cited in your brief and 

your opponent’s brief. Rather, pay particular attention to any opinions issued 
since the briefs were filed. 

- If arguing a principle which has not yet been addressed in South Carolina, 
be prepared to address cases in other jurisdictions which have spoken on 
the issue. 

- Canned speeches are rarely effective; HOWEVER, it is wise to prepare an 
opening that captures the court’s attention, and a closing that leaves the 
court with no doubt as to the relief you are seeking. 

- Opening: What is this case about? Why is this case important? Explain to 
the court why it should rule in your favor. 

- Middle: Consider every question from an appellate judge as a gift.  Pay 
attention to the questions asked of you. Do not assume every question is 
adversarial to your position. Your argument is to the court, not to the other 
side. 

- Closing: Be brief! When your time is up, conclude with your relief. 
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JUVENILE APPEAL CHECKLIST 
 

 
**Appeal must be filed within 10 Days of Disposition  

 
Name of Client:   _______________________________________ 
File Number:       _______________________________________ 
Docket Number:   _______________________________________ 
Disposition Date:  _______________________________________ 
 

1. Prepare “Notice of Appeal” (Duplicate original & make 4 copies). 
 

2. Prepare “Proof of Service” (Duplicate original & make 4 copies). 
 

3. File an original of the Notice of Appeal and an original of the Proof of Service with 
the family court. Have the four sets of copies certified as true copies of the originals 
filed. (Do this within 10 days of disposition.) 
DATE FILED _________ 

 

4. Serve a certified true copy of the Notice of Appeal and Proof of Service on opposing 
counsel on the same date as the filing with the family court. 

 DATE OF SERVICE _________ 
 

5. File the original of the Notice of Appeal and Proof of Service with the South Carolina 
Court of Appeals by mailing them together. Also, include a certified true copy of any 
dispositional order issued in the case. (Do this within 10 days of service on 
opposing counsel.) 
DATE MAILED _________ 

 

6. The Office of Appellate Defense will need the following documents if handling the 
appeal: 
 Certified true copies of the Notice of Appeal and Proof of Service; 
 Date of filing with the Court of Appeals and Clerk of Court; 
 Juvenile Petition, Adjudicatory Order, Commitment Order, and  all 

accompanying written motions, affidavits, search warrants, confessions, 
statements, and other relevant documents; 

 Certified true copies of any and all written exhibits introduced at trial and any 
written motions filed by the defense or prosecution; 

 Certified true copy of any dispositional order issued in the case; 
 A list of the dates of all hearings and the name(s) and addresses of the 

presiding judge(s) and court reporters; and  
 Order of Appointment OR Affidavit of Indigency provided by Appellate Defense, 

which can be found on the SC Office of Indigent Defense website at 
http://www.sccid.sc.gov/. 

        DATE MAILED __________ 
 

7. Mail copies of all associated documents to client.  
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**Rule 203, SCACR was last amended January 2009, effective April 2009. The 
following segments of Rule 203 are applicable to juvenile cases: 
 

(a) Notice. A party intending to appeal must serve and file a notice of appeal and 
otherwise comply with these Rules. Service and filing are defined by Rule 262. 
 

(b) Time for Service. 
(2) Appeals from the Court of General Sessions.  After a plea or trial resulting in 
conviction or a proceeding resulting in revocation of probation, a notice of appeal 
shall be served on all respondents within ten (10) days after the sentence is 
imposed.  In all other cases, a notice of appeal shall be served on all respondents 
within ten (10) days after receipt of written notice of entry of the order or judgment.  
When a timely post-trial motion is made under Rule 29(a), SCRCrimP, the time to 
appeal shall be stayed and shall begin to run from receipt of written notice of entry of 
an order granting or denying such motion. In those cases in which the State is 
allowed to appeal a pre-trial order or ruling, the notice of appeal must be served 
within ten (10) days of receiving actual notice of the ruling or order; provided, 
however, that the notice of appeal must be served before the jury is sworn or, if tried 
without a jury, before the State begins the presentation of its case in chief. 

 

 (3) Appeals from the Family Court.  A notice of appeal in a juvenile action shall be 
served in the same manner as provided by Rule 203(b)(2). 
 

(d) Filing. 
 

(1) Appeals from the Circuit Court, Family Court and Probate Court. 
 

(A) Where to File. The notice of appeal shall be filed with the clerk of the lower 
court and with the Clerk of the Supreme Court in the following cases: 

(ii) Any final judgment involving a challenge on state or federal grounds to 
the constitutionality of a state law or county or municipal ordinance where 
the principal issue is one of the constitutionality of the law or ordinance; 
provided, however, in any case where the Supreme Court finds that the 
constitutional issue raised is not a significant one, the Supreme Court may 
transfer the case to the Court of Appeals. 
In all other cases, the notice of appeal shall be filed with the clerk of the 
lower court and the Clerk of the Court of Appeals. 

 

(B) When and What to File. The notice of appeal shall be filed with the clerk of 
the lower court and the clerk of the appellate court within ten (10) days after the 
notice of appeal is served. The notice filed with the appellate court shall be 
accompanied by the following: 

(i) Proof of service showing that the notice has been served on all 
respondents; 
(ii) A copy of the order(s) and judgment(s) to be challenged on appeal if 
they have been reduced to writing; 

 

RULE 203 - NOTICE OF APPEAL 
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(iii) A filing fee as set by order of the Supreme Court; this fee is not 
required for criminal appeals or appeals by the State of South Carolina or 
its departments or agencies; 
(iv) If the appeal is from a guilty plea, an Alford plea or a plea of nolo 
contendere, a written explanation showing that there is an issue which can 
be reviewed on appeal.  This explanation should identify the issue(s) to be 
raised on appeal and the factual basis for the issue(s) including how the 
issue(s) was raised below and the ruling of the lower court on that 
issue(s).  If an issue was not raised to and ruled on by the lower court, the 
explanation shall include argument and citation to legal authority showing 
how this issue can be reviewed on appeal.  If the appellant fails to make a 
sufficient showing, the notice of appeal may be dismissed; 
(v) If the notice of appeal is from a post-conviction relief case and the 
lower court determined that the post-conviction relief action is barred as 
successive or being untimely under the statute of limitations, the written 
explanation required by Rule 243(c), SCACR; and, 
(vi) If the notice of appeal is from a habeas corpus proceeding and the 
lower court determined that habeas corpus relief was improper because 
the issues could have been raised in a timely application under the Post-
Conviction Relief Act (see Simpson v. State, 329 S.C. 43, 495 S.E.2d 429 
(1998)),  a written explanation as to why this determination was improper.  
This explanation must contain sufficient facts, argument and citation to 
legal authority to show that there is an arguable basis for asserting that 
the determination by the lower court was improper.  If the appellant fails to 
make a sufficient showing, the notice of appeal may be dismissed. 
 

 (3) Effect of Failure to Timely File.  If the notice of appeal is not timely filed or the 
filing fee is not paid in full, the appeal shall be dismissed, and shall not be reinstated 
except as provided by Rule 260. 

 

(e) Form and Content.  The notice of appeal shall be substantially in the form 
designated in the Appendix to these Rules. 

 

(1) Appeals from the Circuit Court, Family Court and Probate Court.  In appeals 
from lower courts, the notice of appeal shall contain the following information: 

 

(A) The name of the court, judge, and county from which the appeal is taken. 
(B) The docket number of the case in the lower court. 
(C) The date of the order, judgment, or sentence from which the appeal is 
taken; and if appropriate for the determination of the timeliness of the appeal, a 
statement of when the appealing party received notice of the order or judgment 
from which the appeal is taken, or, if a cross-appeal, when the respondent 
received appellant’s notice of appeal. 
(D) The name of the party taking the appeal. 
(E) The names, mailing addresses, and telephone numbers of all attorneys of 
record and the names of the party or parties represented by each. 
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PAROLE OVERVIEW 
 
 

 
When a juvenile is committed to DJJ for an indeterminate sentence, the length of 
commitment is determined by several factors discussed below, which are 
reviewed by an authorized releasing entity. When releasing a child from an 
indeterminate commitment, the releasing entity has the option of granting the 
child an unconditional or a conditional release. A juvenile conditionally released 
remains under the releasing entity’s authority until the specified term imposed in 
the juvenile’s conditional aftercare release expires. § 63-19-1850(A). 
 

RELEASE AUTHORITY 
 
The release and revocation of release of juveniles committed to DJJ for an 
indeterminate period is determined by one of two releasing entities under            
§ 63-19-1810:  

 DJJ -  for  juveniles  committed  after  March 31, 2007 for a status offense or 
a misdemeanor, and for juveniles who have violated probation for a status 
offense or a misdemeanor; or 

 Board of Juvenile Parole (Parole Board) - for juveniles committed for any 
other offense.  

 
THE PAROLE BOARD  

 
The Parole Board is composed of 10 members who are appointed by the 
Governor for four-year terms. § 63-19-610. The Parole Board is required to: 

 meet at least monthly to review the records and progress of juveniles 
committed to DJJ for the purpose of deciding the release or revocation of 
release of these juveniles. 

 inspect, at least quarterly, the records of these juveniles and, as deemed 
appropriate, issue temporary and final discharges or release these juveniles 
conditionally and prescribe their parole conditions. 63-19-1820(A)(1). 

 
DJJ RELEASE AUTHORITY 

 
The DJJ internal Release Authority consists of three panel members appointed 
by the Director. The release process, including the computation of guidelines, 
mirrors that of the Parole Board for the most part. DJJ generally handles the 
release for category III through VI offenses (most misdemeanors, status 
offenses, and probation violations for those offenses). One difference is that the 
“internal release” guidelines are shorter than those of the Parole Board. (e.g., 
instead of 1-3, 3-6, and 6-12 months, they are 1-3, 2-5, and 5-10 months. 
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GUIDELINES 
 
The releasing entities have established “guidelines” for determining the length of 
commitment for children serving indeterminate sentences at DJJ. Guidelines are 
a range of time with a minimum and maximum number of months the child will 
likely serve during the commitment period. The guidelines run anywhere from 1-3 
months to 36-54 months.  
 
The releasing entities use these guidelines, along with reports of the child’s 
behavior and progress, to determine the length of commitment. The releasing 
entities may keep indeterminately committed children at DJJ beyond their 
maximum guidelines, but not past their twenty-first birthday. They may also 
release children prior to their minimum guidelines for good behavior. 
 
A child who is conditionally released or released on parole will be under the 
releasing entity’s authority for a specified period of time not to exceed the child’s 
twenty-first birthday. A child conditionally released is “subject to the conditions 
and restrictions of the release and may at any time on the order of the releasing 
entity be returned to the custody of a correctional institution for violation of 
aftercare rules or conditions of release.” § 63-19-1850(A).   

 
PAROLE CONDITIONS 

 
A child released on parole may be required to pay restitution, participate in work 
ordered by the court, and/or participate in community service programs. § 63-19-
1850(B). 

 

 
When determining what a child’s guidelines will be if committed to DJJ for an 
indeterminate sentence, refer to the Parole Guidelines Grid on the following 
page. 
 
The Parole Guidelines Computation Sheet, which can be found following the 
Parole Guidelines Grid, will take you through the process. 
 
1. You need to know exactly what charges the child is being adjudicated for at 

the present hearing, as well as all the charges for which the child has been 
adjudicated in the past.  

 

2. Refer to the chart of “Offense Codes Sorted by Category” and find the 
category for the most serious, present, pending charge for which the child is 
being adjudicated - that will determine the CATEGORY on the left side of the 
grid. 

 

COMPUTATION OF PAROLE GUIDELINES 
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3. Refer to the Point Assignments for Other Adjudications - each category is 
allocated a number of points. 

 

a. Add up all the points for any other adjudications for the present hearing 
and all the adjudications in the child’s history.   
 

b. Use the Conversion Table to come up with a number 0-6. That determines 
where you come down from the top of the grid. 

 

Remember, these are just GUIDELINES! The Parole Board or DJJ, depending 
on the committing offenses, determines when the child is released. 
 

                       

                         PAROLE GUIDELINES GRID 

    

 0        1 2 3 4 5 6 

CATEGORY VI 1-3 1-3 1-3 1-3 1-3 1-3 1-3 

CATEGORY V 3-6 3-6 3-6 3-6 3-6 3-6 3-6 

CATEGORY IV 3-6 3-6 3-6 6-12 6-12 6-12 6-12 

CATEGORY III 6-12 6-12 6-12 12-18 12-18 12-18 12-18 

CATEGORY II 12-18 12-18 15-24 15-24 15-24 18-36 18-36 

CATEGORY I 18-36 18-36 18-36 18-36 24-48 24-48 24-48 

CATEGORY X 24-48 24-48 24-48 24-48 36-54 36-54 36-54 

CATEGORY XX 36-54 36-54 36-54 36-54 36-54 36-54 36-54 

    

 
Review Schedule: 1st Review: _____________  Min: _______ Max: ________ 
 
SPECIAL NOTE: Per Proviso 39.17:  Pre-Dispositional Confinement Credit 
reflected in minimum and maximum review dates, days credit. 
 
Parole Examiner:    County: 
 
CC: Juvenile & Institution: 
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 JUVENILE: ________________________ 
 

PAROLE GUIDELINES COMPUTATION SHEET 
 
 
 
I)   Most Serious Current Adjudication/Offense Category 
      ____________________________________        ________ 
 
II)   Point Assignments for Adjudications other than Most Serious Current 

Offense: 
 
  Category VI  1 
  Category V  2 
  Category IV  3 
  Category III  5 
  Category II  8 
  Category I  15 
  Category X  21 
  Category XX  25 
 
Adjudications Other Than Most Serious Current Offense and Points Assigned: 
________________________________________________   __________                                                                    
________________________________________________   __________                                                                    
________________________________________________   __________  
________________________________________________   __________                                                                    
________________________________________________   __________                                                                    
________________________________________________   __________                                                                                                                                     
        
         TOTAL POINTS:    __________ 
 
 
III) Conversion of Total Points to Guideline Grid: 
         1-4  0 
         5-8  1 
         9-13  2 
         14-18  3 
         19-23  4 
         24-28  5 
         29-over 6 
          
  Grid Assignment:  _____________      Guideline Range: ______________ 
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Sample from Chart of  

OFFENSE CODES SORTED BY CATEGORY 
*** Changes may be made to the offense categories  

periodically by DJJ or the Parole Board at their discretion. 
CODE CLASS DESCRIPTION ACRONYM CAT SCORE 

01312 LYNCHING LYNCHING, 1ST DEGREE LYNCH1 XX 25 

01116 MURDER MURDER MURDER XX 25 

07184 PROBATION PROB VIOL FOR CAT XX PRBVXX XX 25 

01905 ACCESSORY ACCESS BEF/AFT CAT XX ACBAXX X 21 

01907 AIDING AIDING/ABETTING CAT. X AIDX X 21 

02006 ARSON ARSON 1ST DEGREE ARSON1 X 21 

01253 SEX ASLT W/INT,CSC,1ST DEGR INTCS1 X 21 

01899 ATTEMPT ATTEMPT CATEGORY X ATMPX X 21 

02079 BURGLARY BURGLARY 1ST DEGREE BURGL1 X 21 

07177 PROBATION PROBATION VIOL. CAT X PRBVX X 21 

02458 MALICIOUS MAL.INJ.PLACE WORSHIP WRSHPV III 05 

03046 WEAPONS MFG/POSSESS FIREBOMB FIRBMB III 05 

03496 COIN MFG/SALE OF SLUGS MFSLGS III 05 

02493 MALICIOUS ML.INJ.ANML/PP,1001-4999 MLIPP1 III 05 

02510 MALICIOUS ML.INJ.RL.PRP,1001-4999 MALRP1 III 05 

03121 PERJURY PERJURY PERJRY III 05 

03497 COIN PLAYER TAMPER W/GAME VIDTMP III 05 

02538 VEHICLE POS.STLN VEH,$1001-4999 PSAUT1 III 05 

03180 DRUGS POSS.NARC.(I,II)--2ND DRUG2 III 05 

03181 DRUGS POSS.NARC.(I,II)--3RD & DRUG3 III 05 

02529 SHOPLIFTING SHOPLIFTING,$1001-4999 SHLFT1 III 05 

05655 SCHOOL THREAT TO SCHOOL TEACHER TEACHR III 05 

05260 THREAT THREATEN A PUBLIC EMPLOYEE PUBLIC III 05 

03659 DRUGS SIMPLE POSS.MARIJUANA--1 SMPLMJ V 02 

03185 DRUGS SIMPLE POSSESS MJ/HH--2N DRUG7 V 02 

01315 STALKING STALKING/HARRASSMENT STALKG V 02 

05660 ALCOHOL TRANSPORT ALCOHOL IN VEH TRAALC V 02 

03503 TRESPASS TRESPASSING TRESPS V 02 

05015 TRESPASS UNLAWFUL ENTRY INTO ENC UNLENT V 02 

05604 ALCOHOL UNLAWFUL POSESSION OF AL POSALC V 02 

05605 ALCOHOL UNLAWFUL POSS/CNSMP ALCH CONSAL V 02 

02226 VEHICLE USE CAR W/O, W/O INTENT AUTOTN V 02 

06609 JUVENILE VIOL OF HOUSE ARREST ORD (crim.) HOUSER V 02 

06605 JUVENILE CURFEW VIOLATION CURFEW VI 01 

06603 JUVENILE INCORRIGIBLE INCORR VI 01 

07183 PROBATION PROBATION VIOL.CAT.VI PBVLVI VI 01 

06601 JUVENILE RUNAWAY RUNAWY VI 01 

06602 JUVENILE TRUANCY TRUNCY VI 01 

06609 JUVENILE VIOL HOUSE ARREST ORDER (status) HOUSER VI 01 

05176 JUVENILE CONTEMPT OF COURT (STATUS) CNTMPS VI 01 
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SECTION 63-19-610. Board of Juvenile Parole.  
(A) There is created under the Department of Juvenile Justice the Board of Juvenile Parole.  
The parole board is composed of ten members appointed by the Governor with the advice and 
consent of the Senate.  Of these members, one must be appointed from each of the six 
congressional districts and four members must be appointed from the State at large.  If a 
vacancy occurs on the parole board when the Senate is not in session, the Governor may 
appoint a member to fill the vacancy and the appointee is a de facto member until the Senate 
acts upon the appointment.  
(B) Members of the parole board shall serve four-year terms and until their successors are 
appointed and qualify and these terms expire on June 30th of the appropriate year.  
(C) No member may be reappointed to the parole board until two years after the expiration of a 
full four-year term.  
 

SECTION 63-19-1810. Determination of release.  
(A) The release and revocation of release of juveniles adjudicated delinquent and committed to 
the department must be determined by:  
(1) the department for juveniles adjudicated delinquent and committed after March 31, 2007, for 
an indeterminate period for a status offense or a misdemeanor, other than assault and battery of 
a high and aggravated nature or assault with intent to kill, and for juveniles who have violated 
probation for a status offense or a misdemeanor, other than assault and battery of a high and 
aggravated nature or assault with intent to kill;  
(2) the Board of Juvenile Parole for juveniles adjudicated delinquent and committed for an 
offense other than an offense provided for in item (1).  
(B) For purposes of this chapter, "releasing entity" means:  
(1) the department for juveniles described in subsection (A)(1);  
(2) the Board of Juvenile Parole for juveniles described in subsection (A)(2).  
 

SECTION 63-19-1820. Board of Juvenile Parole; review & appearance procedures.  
(A)(1) The Board of Juvenile Parole shall meet monthly and at other times as may be necessary 
to review the records and progress of juveniles committed to the custody of the Department of 
Juvenile Justice for the purpose of deciding the release or revocation of release of these 
juveniles.  The board shall make periodic inspections, at least quarterly, of the records of these 
juveniles and may issue temporary and final discharges or release these juveniles conditionally 
and prescribe conditions for release into aftercare.  Before a juvenile is conditionally released, 
the juvenile must agree in writing to be subject to search or seizure, without a search warrant, 
with or without cause, of the juvenile's person, any vehicle the juvenile owns or is driving, and 
any of the juvenile's possessions by:  
(a) the juvenile's aftercare counselor; (b) any probation agent employed by the Department of 
Probation, Parole and Pardon Services;  or (c) any other law enforcement officer.  

A juvenile may not be conditionally released by the parole board if he fails to comply with this 
provision.  However, a juvenile who was adjudicated delinquent of a Class C misdemeanor or 
an unclassified misdemeanor that carries a term of imprisonment of not more than one year 
may not be required to agree to be subject to search or seizure, without a search warrant, with 
or without cause, of the juvenile's person, any vehicle the juvenile owns or is driving, or any of 
the juvenile's possessions.  

Immediately before each search or seizure conducted pursuant to this item, the law 
enforcement officer seeking to conduct the search or seizure must verify with the Department of 
Probation, Parole and Pardon Services or by any other means available to the officer that the 

PAROLE STATUTES 
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individual upon whom the search or seizure will be conducted is currently on parole or probation 
or that the individual is currently subject to the provisions of his conditional release.  A law 
enforcement officer conducting a search or seizure without a warrant pursuant to this item shall 
report to the law enforcement agency that employs him all of these searches or seizures, which 
shall include the name, address, age, gender, and race or ethnicity of the person that is the 
subject of the search or seizure.  The law enforcement agency shall submit this information at 
the end of each month to the Department of Probation, Parole and Pardon Services for review 
of abuse.  A finding of abuse of the use of searches or seizures without a search warrant must 
be reported by the Department of Probation, Parole and Pardon Services to the State Law 
Enforcement Division for investigation.  If the law enforcement officer fails to report each search 
or seizure pursuant to this item, he is subject to discipline pursuant to the employing agency's 
policies and procedures.  
(2)(a) It is the right of a juvenile who has not committed a violent offense, as defined by Section 
16-1-60, and for whom the board is the releasing entity, to appear personally before the board 
every three months for the purpose of parole consideration, but no appearance may begin until 
the board determines that an appropriate period of time has elapsed since the juvenile's 
commitment.  
(b) The board may waive the quarterly review of juveniles committed to the department, for 
whom the board is the releasing entity, for the commission of a violent crime, as defined in 
Section 16-1-60, until the juvenile reaches the minimum parole guidelines the board establishes 
for the juvenile.  At that point, the board may schedule its first review of the juvenile from three 
months up to twelve months after the juvenile reaches the minimum parole guidelines 
established by the board.  The scheduling of subsequent reviews is in the discretion of the 
board but must occur within three to twelve months of the juvenile's last appearance.  
(3) In order to allow reviews and appearances by juveniles, for whom the board is the releasing 
entity, the board may assign the members or individuals to meet in panels of not less than three 
members or individuals, to receive progress reports and recommendations, review cases, meet 
with juveniles, meet with counselors, and to hear matters and consider cases for release, 
parole, and parole revocation.  Membership on these panels must be periodically rotated on a 
random basis.  At the meetings of the panels, a unanimous vote must be considered the final 
decision.  A panel vote that is not unanimous must not be considered as a final decision, and 
the matter must be referred to the full parole board, which shall determine the matter by a 
majority vote of its membership.  
(4) The board may conduct parole hearings by means of a two-way, closed circuit television 
system.  
(5) The board shall develop written guidelines for the consideration of parole release of juveniles 
committed to the department for offenses for which the parole board is the releasing entity.  
The board shall provide these guidelines to juveniles, for whom the board is the releasing entity, 
upon commitment and periodically reviewed with each juvenile to assess the progress made 
toward achieving release on parole.  

(B) In the cases of juveniles for whom the department is the releasing entity, the department 
shall establish policies and procedures governing the review and release procedures for these 
juveniles.  

(C) In the determination of the type of discharges or conditional releases granted, the releasing 
entity shall consider the interests of the person involved and the interests of society and shall 
employ the services of and consult with the personnel of the Department of Juvenile Justice.  
The releasing entity may from time to time modify the conditions of discharges or conditional 
releases previously granted.  
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SECTION 63-19-1830. Legal representation before board.  
The parole board shall permit legal representation of a juvenile who appears before it for the 
purpose of parole or parole revocation.  The department shall allocate funds to contract with a 
public defender corporation or similar type legal program for legal assistance for the purpose of 
appearing before the parole board for a juvenile who desires this service but who cannot either 
personally or through the juvenile's family afford the assistance.  
 

SECTION 63-19-1835. Compliance reductions for probationers and parolees. 
The department may grant up to a ten-day reduction of the probationary or parole term to 
probationers and parolees who are under the department's supervision for each month they are 
compliant with the terms and conditions of their probation or parole order." 
 

SECTION 63-19-1840. Aftercare investigations.  
(A) The department shall conduct aftercare investigations to determine suitable placement for 
juveniles considered for conditional release from the correctional schools.  The department also 
shall supervise the aftercare program, making revocation investigations and submitting findings 
to the releasing entity.  
(B) The director and such staff as the director shall designate in the performance of their duties 
of investigation, counseling and supervision, and revocation investigations are considered 
official representatives of the releasing entity.  
(C) The directors and their staff are subject to the regulations for parole and parole revocation 
promulgated by the releasing entity and shall meet with the releasing entity at its meetings when 
requested.   Community-based counselors, or their supervisors, with assigned clients committed 
to institutions of the department shall periodically visit the institutions in order to counsel their 
clients and accomplish the duties as outlined in this subarticle.  
(D) Recognizing the need to maintain autonomy and to provide a check and balance system, 
the parole board shall employ a director of parole and other staff necessary to carry out the 
duties of parole examinations, victim liaison, and revocation hearings.  The director serves at 
the will and pleasure of the parole board.  All staff are employees of the parole board and are 
directly responsible to the parole board both administratively and operationally.  Funds allocated 
for the functions designated in this section must be incorporated as a line item within the 
department's budget and are subject to administrative control by the parole board.  
(E) The department shall continue to provide the budgetary, fiscal, personnel, and training 
information resources and other support considered necessary by the parole board to perform 
its mandated functions.  
 

SECTION 63-19-1850. Conditional release; search and seizure.  
A) A juvenile who shall have been conditionally released from a correctional facility shall remain 
under the authority of the releasing entity until the expiration of the specified term imposed in 
the juvenile's conditional aftercare release.  The specified period of conditional release may 
expire before but not after the twenty-first birthday of the juvenile.  Each juvenile conditionally 
released is subject to the conditions and restrictions of the release and may at any time on the 
order of the releasing entity be returned to the custody of a correctional institution for violation of 
aftercare rules or conditions of release.  The conditions of release must include the requirement 
that the juvenile parolee must permit the search or seizure, without a search warrant, with or 
without cause, of the juvenile parolee's person, any vehicle the juvenile parolee owns or is 
driving, and any of the juvenile parolee's possessions by:  
(1) his aftercare counselor; (2) any probation agent employed by the Department of Probation, 
Parole and Pardon Services;  or (3) any other law enforcement officer.  
However, the conditions of release of a juvenile parolee who was adjudicated delinquent of a 
Class C misdemeanor or an unclassified misdemeanor that carries a term of imprisonment of 
not more than one year may not include the requirement that the juvenile parolee agree to be 
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subject to search or seizure, without a search warrant, with or without cause, of the juvenile 
parolee's person, any vehicle the juvenile parolee owns or is driving, or any of the juvenile 
parolee's possessions.  
By enacting this provision, the General Assembly intends to provide law enforcement with a 
means of reducing recidivism and does not authorize law enforcement officers to conduct 
searches for the sole purpose of harassment.  Immediately before each search or seizure 
conducted pursuant to this subsection, the law enforcement officer seeking to conduct the 
search or seizure must verify with the Department of Probation, Parole and Pardon Services or 
by any other means available to the officer that the individual upon whom the search or seizure 
will be conducted is currently on parole or probation or that the individual is currently subject to 
the provisions of his conditional release.  A law enforcement officer conducting a search or 
seizure without a warrant pursuant to this subsection shall report to the law enforcement agency 
that employs him all of these searches or seizures, which shall include the name, address, age, 
gender, and race or ethnicity of the person that is the subject of the search or seizure.  The law 
enforcement agency shall submit this information at the end of each month to the Department of 
Probation, Parole and Pardon Services for review of abuse.  A finding of abuse of the use of 
searches or seizures without a search warrant must be reported by the Department of 
Probation, Parole and Pardon Services to the State Law Enforcement Division for investigation.  
If the law enforcement officer fails to report each search or seizure pursuant to this subsection, 
he is subject to discipline pursuant to the employing agency's policies and procedures.  
(B) As a condition of release, the releasing entity may enforce participation in restitution, work 
ordered by the court, and community service programs established or approved by the 
Department of Juvenile Justice.  
 

SECTION 63-19-1860. Conditional release violation.  

(A) At any time during the period of conditional release, an aftercare counselor or the 

counselor's supervisor or a probation or parole agent may issue or cause to be issued a warrant 
for the juvenile to be taken into custody for violating any of the conditions of the release.  A 
police officer or other officer with power to arrest, upon request of an aftercare counselor or a 
probation or parole agent, may take the juvenile into custody.  The arresting officer shall obtain 
a warrant signed by the aftercare counselor or a probation or parole agent setting forth that the 
juvenile, in the counselor's judgment, violated the conditions of the release which is authority for 
the detention of the juvenile in an appropriate place of detention.  If an aftercare release 
revocation is necessary, the aftercare counselor or a probation or parole agent shall submit in 
writing a thorough report to the releasing entity, showing in what manner the delinquent juvenile 
has violated the conditional release.  A juvenile returned to the custody of a correctional school 
by aftercare revocation shall have a hearing or review of the juvenile's case by the releasing 
entity.  The releasing entity is the final authority to determine whether or not the juvenile failed to 
abide by the aftercare rules and conditions of release.  
(B) An aftercare counselor or probation or parole agent who has successfully completed Class I 
or II law enforcement officer training and received a certificate from the Department of Public 
Safety pursuant to the provisions of Article 9, Chapter 6 of Title 23 has the power, when 
commissioned by the department, to take a juvenile conditionally released from the custody of 
the department and subject to the jurisdiction of the releasing entity into custody upon the 
issuance of a warrant for violating the conditions of his release.  
 

SECTION 63-19-1870. Revocation of conditional release.  
 

The order of revocation of a conditional release may be issued and made effective after the 
period of aftercare supervision prescribed in the release has expired when the violations of the 
conditions or release occurred during the aftercare supervision period.  
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AGENCY OVERVIEW 
 
 
 
INTRODUCTION 

The South Carolina Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ), a state cabinet 
agency, is responsible for providing rehabilitation and custodial care for the 
state's juveniles who are on probation, incarcerated, or on parole for a criminal or 
status offense. DJJ is organized within four divisions and two support offices. The 
following information highlights the agency's responsibilities and organizational 
structure. 
 
Note: The information in this section was obtained from the DJJ website 
November 2012 (with non-substantive editorial changes). Internal agency 
policies are subject to change. If you have a question concerning a 
particular policy, it is advised that you confirm its current content with a 
DJJ representative or the DJJ website. 

 

DIVISION OF COMMUNITY SERVICES 

The Division of Community Services is responsible for a wide range of direct 
services to youth and their families, as well as victims of crime, in the community 
through 43 DJJ county offices, servicing all 46 counties in the state. Among these 
services are a number of programs and initiatives aimed at providing effective 
supervision of youth on probation or parole and support for their families, with the 
goals of reducing juvenile crime and recidivism, and providing for safer 
communities. 

Case managers are involved with juveniles from the moment they enter the 
system until they complete probation and/or parole. In addition, they conduct 
detention screenings and intake interviews, complete risk/needs assessments, 
and make recommendations to the family court judges regarding case 
disposition. They also coordinate case diversion and supervise juveniles on 
probation or parole. 

Additional support services are available to the community through collaboration 
or partnership with the family court system, schools, and local organizations 
throughout South Carolina. The Juvenile Arbitration Program, for example, works 
through solicitors' offices in 16 judicial circuits to utilize community volunteers 
who, after being approved and trained by the Solicitors' Office, act as arbitrators 
in the resolution of cases involving non-violent first-time criminal offenders. 

DJJ has also embraced the restorative justice model and established a Victim 
Services Program (VSP), which is responsible for contacting victims of juvenile 
crime prior to making disposition recommendations, informing victims of any 
post-adjudicatory hearing or juvenile release or transfer, referring victims to 
community resources, and advocating on behalf of victims. 
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DJJ also provides alternative treatment programs for nonviolent offenders, 
including: 
• Family preservation programs—empowers parents with skills and resources 

needed to raise their children. 
• Interstate compact—arranges for supervision of delinquent youth who move 

to or from South Carolina. 
• Therapeutic foster care—helps juveniles overcome a variety of emotional and 

behavioral problems within a family setting. 
• Community Residence Programs—specialized programs offer education, skill 

building, and residential services. 
 

The Office of Consultation and Evaluation Services is responsible for conducting 
psychological evaluations and consulting with case managers about individual 
cases. The psychologists are also charged with performing pre-waiver 
evaluations for those youths who are being considered for waiver to General 
Sessions Court. 
 

DIVISION OF REHABILITATIVE SERVICES 
The Division of Rehabilitative Services is made up of three campuses within the 
Broad River Road Complex (BRRC) that provide juveniles committed by the 
family courts with around-the-clock custodial care and individualized treatment 
and rehabilitation, as well as DJJ's pre-trial evaluation centers and detention 
center. 

Campuses provide on-site: 

• education services through an independent school district; 
• psychological and social work services by licensed clinical staff; 
• medical/dental and mental healthcare services;  
• psychiatric services provided by contracted licensed practitioners; 
• custodial care by certified correctional staff; 
• recreational activities by trained staff; and 
• religious services by certified clinical chaplains. 

The campuses providing supervision for committed juveniles are: Willow Lane 
Program for Girls, Birchwood, and John G. Richards (See Long-term Campuses). 
 

DIVISION OF EDUCATIONAL SERVICES 

DJJ operates its own school district with academic programs that are fully 
accredited by the South Carolina Department of Education. The juveniles 
committed to DJJ can earn either a high school diploma or a GED. The agency's 
school district offers educational programs in Columbia at Birchwood High 
School and Birchwood Middle School. Other satellite programs attached to these 
two schools are operated at DJJ's three regional evaluation centers, as well as 
the agency's Detention Center. Specialized school programs are also available at 
community residence programs located throughout the state. Additionally, the 
district offers vocational courses, extensive special education services, and the 
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nation's first Army JROTC and Communities in Schools (CIS) programs in a 
juvenile correctional facility setting. 

 
DIVISION OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES 

DJJ's Division of Administrative Services provides a broad range of services to 
DJJ personnel. The division is comprised of the following offices: Fiscal Affairs, 
Human Resources, Information Technology, Medicaid Administration, Staff 
Development and Training, and Support Services. 
 

OFFICE OF PLANNING AND PROGRAMS 

The Office of Planning and Programs provides support to the divisions through 
programs and grants development, research and statistics, and planning and 
evaluation. The office's mission is to develop departmental efforts to strategically 
plan for agency growth, as well as to provide necessary information to effectively 
manage the agency's resources for quality service delivery. 

Essential functions of the office include the promotion of best practices as 
evidenced in research and evaluation; the continuous improvement of programs 
and services; the promotion of data-based decision making by DJJ staff and 
agency stakeholders through publication of statistical analysis and trends in 
juvenile crime; the development of tools and technologies to improve the 
department's performance and efficiency; and long-term, strategic planning. 
 

OFFICE OF THE INSPECTOR GENERAL 

DJJ's Inspector General ensures compliance with applicable state and federal 
laws, regulations, and policies and to promote professional accountability within 
the agency. Functions of the Office of Inspector General include public safety, 
internal affairs, internal audits, compliance and inspection, and juvenile and 
family relations. 
 

The Event Reporting Management Information System (ERMIS), a state-of-the-
art computer system managed by the Office of the Inspector General, ensures 
the comprehensive tracking, reporting, and managing of events occurring within 
the agency on a statewide basis 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Monthly reports 
of specific events are reported to SLED.  In its juvenile and family relations 
function, the office advocates on behalf of DJJ juveniles and families by 
addressing juvenile and family concerns or questions, representing their rights, 
conducting  disciplinary hearings, and inviting family involvement throughout a 
juvenile's rehabilitative progress. 

 

 
 
JUVENILE DETENTION CENTER  

* For more detailed information (including visitation rules and procedures), see 
the Detention Center brochure on the DJJ website. 

DETENTION & EVALUATION CENTERS 
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1725 Shivers Road, Columbia, South Carolina 29212  

(803) 896-9440  
 

DJJ's Juvenile Detention Center is a centralized pretrial detention facility, serving 
juveniles from most of South Carolina's 46 counties (Richland and 
Charleston, operate their own long-term and short-term detention facilities). The 
Detention Center is a secure, short-term facility providing custodial care and 
treatment to male and female juveniles ages 11 to 17 detained by law 
enforcement agencies and the family courts prior to disposition. Youths awaiting 
trial on serious and violent charges reside at DJJ's Detention Center to ensure 
public safety and the juveniles' immediate availability for court proceedings.  
 

MIDLANDS REGIONAL EVALUATION CENTER  

1721 Shivers Road; Columbia, South Carolina 29210  

(803) 896-7455  
 

DJJ's Midlands Regional Evaluation Center provides court-ordered evaluations 
for adjudicated juveniles from the midlands area prior to final disposition of their 
cases. The facility provides comprehensive psychological, social, and 
educational assessments to guide the court's disposition of cases. The facility 
serves male and female juveniles ages 11 to 17 from 19 midlands counties and 
is one of three regionalized evaluation centers around the state. By law, the 
length of stay for adjudicated juveniles cannot exceed 45 days.  The center 
opened in 1997. 
 

UPSTATE REGIONAL EVALUATION CENTER  

1585 Jonesville Highway; Union, South Carolina 29379  

(864) 429-3610 
 

DJJ's Upstate Regional Evaluation Center provides residential court-ordered 
evaluations for adjudicated juveniles from the upstate area prior to final 
disposition of their cases. The facility provides comprehensive psychological, 
social, and educational assessments to guide the court's disposition of cases. 
The facility serves male and female juveniles ages 11 to 17 from 15 upstate 
counties and is one of three regionalized evaluation centers around the state. By 
law, the length of stay for adjudicated juveniles cannot exceed 45 days.  The 
center opened in 1997.  
 

COASTAL REGIONAL EVALUATION CENTER  

331 Campbell Thickett Road; Ridgeville, South Carolina 29472  

(843) 821-3073  
 

DJJ's Coastal Regional Evaluation Center provides residential court-ordered 
evaluations for adjudicated juveniles from the coastal area prior to final 
disposition of their cases. The facility provides comprehensive psychological, 
social, and educational assessments to guide the court's disposition of cases. 
The facility serves male and female juveniles ages 11 to 17 from 16 lowcountry 
counties and is one of three regionalized evaluation centers around the state. By 
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law, the length of stay for adjudicated juveniles cannot exceed 45 days. The 
center opened in 2002.  

 

 
 

There are three long-term campuses operated by DJJ, all of which are located 
within the Broad River Road Complex in Columbia.  
  

WILLOW LANE PROGRAM FOR GIRLS—is a gender responsive program 
comprised of educational, clinical and independent living experiences for girls. 
The program houses a Transition House, which incorporates transitional living 
into the rehabilitative process. 
 

BIRCHWOOD—offers programs for boys with special needs, including the Sex 
Offender Treatment Program (SOTP), Pre-Release program, and Youthful 
Offender Program, Stabilizing Treatment to Enhance Potential Success 
(STEPS) program, and DJJ's Communities in Schools (CIS), program—one of 
the first in the nation in a juvenile correctional setting, offering skills/character 
development and specializing in educational services that prepare boys for 
postsecondary education. DJJ's Birchwood School is also located on the 
Birchwood campus.  
 

JOHN G. RICHARDS—provides treatment services to drug and alcohol related 
behaviorally challenged boys and houses the Systemic Treatment for 
Aggression Replacement program (STAR) and DJJ's Junior Reserve Officer 
Training Corps (JROTC), a cooperative effort between DJJ's school district and 
the U.S. Army.  

 
 

 
 
TRANSFER AT AGE SEVENTEEN 

 

A child committed to DJJ following an adjudication for a violent offense contained 
in § 16-1-60, who has not been paroled or released from the custody of DJJ by 
his or her seventeenth birthday must be transferred to the custody and authority 
of the Youthful Offender Division of the Department of Corrections. § 63-19-
1440(E). 
 

TRANSFER AT AGE NINETEEN 
 

Any child who has not been paroled or released from the custody of DJJ by his or 
her nineteenth birthday must be transferred to the custody and authority of the 
Youthful Offender Division of the Department of Corrections. § 63-19-1440(E). 
 
 

 

TRANSFER TO DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS 

LONG-TERM CAMPUSES 
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OVERVIEW 
 

Children who have been committed to DJJ are screened to determine if they 
qualify for SMI status and should therefore be transferred to DMH. To be eligible, 
a child must be “seriously mentally ill” or “developmentally disabled.” Only 
children who have been committed to a long-term DJJ institution may be 
considered for SMI status; children committed to a DJJ evaluation center are not 
eligible for consideration. SMI children are transferred to DMH where their needs 
can be better met, although they remain committed to DJJ.   
 
The “Agreement between DJJ & DMH for the Identification and Transfer of DJJ 
Juveniles with Serious Mental Illness,” provides a complete outline of the 
process, including eligibility requirements, by which children with a serious 
mental illness who are committed to DJJ are transferred to and treated by DMH. 
 
**NOTE: This agreement is still in effect as of the date of this publication; 
however, it is presented in its original form and refers to the former Title 20 
statute citations instead of Title 63. 

 
 

AGREEMENT BETWEEN DJJ & DMH FOR THE IDENTIFICATION AND 
TRANSFER OF DJJ JUVENILES WITH SERIOUS MENTAL ILLNESS 
 

WHEREAS, THE South Carolina Department of Juvenile Justice, hereinafter referred to 
as DJJ, is responsible for providing community-based and institutional services to 
juveniles charged with or adjudicated delinquent for having committed a criminal offense 
as delineated in Title 20, Chapter 7, of the S.C. Code of Laws; and 

WHEREAS, DJJ is authorized by state law (20-7-7815) to transfer juveniles committed 
to its custody who are seriously handicapped by mental illness and who because of 
such illness cannot be adequately cared for in its custody, to the state agency best 
suited to care for and treat such juveniles; and 

WHEREAS, the South Carolina Department of Mental Health, hereinafter referred to as 
DMH, is authorized to provide community and hospital services to promote the mental 
health of children and adolescents pursuant to Title 44 of the S.C. Code of Laws; and 

WHEREAS, DJJ and DMH acknowledge their shared responsibility to identify 
delinquent juveniles with a serious mental illness as early as possible in order to 
minimize their penetration into the juvenile justice system; and 

WHEREAS, DJJ and DMH acknowledge their shared responsibility to serve delinquent 
juveniles with a serious mental illness and recognize that the care and treatment of such 
children can best and most economically be done through a collaborative effort 
involving not only their limited resources but also the resources, expertise and financial 
assistance of other federal, state and local agencies as well; and 

DMH SERIOUSLY MENTALLY ILL (SMI) STATUS 
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WHEREAS, DJJ and DMH believe that such services for juveniles committed to DJJ 
custody who are seriously handicapped by mental illness and who because of such 
illness cannot be adequately cared for in DJJ custody can best be provided in programs 
separate from secure correctional institutions, which house other incarcerated 
delinquent youth, in programs with a treatment milieu which have been designed and 
are operated by treatment professionals who can promptly, professionally and, when 
necessary, securely, identify, serve and treat the mental health needs of these 
juveniles; 

NOW THEREFORE, based on these shared responsibilities and the goal of better 
serving these juveniles in DJJ custody who are seriously handicapped by mental illness 
and who because of such illness cannot be adequately cared for in DJJ custody, DJJ 
and DMH enter into the agreement set forth below.  

 

PURPOSE/APPLICATION 

The purpose of this Memorandum of Agreement is to outline the process by which 
juveniles with a serious mental illness committed to the custody of the State for having 
committed criminal or status offenses who are seriously handicapped by mental illness 
and are transferred to and treated by the Department of Mental Health, the state agency 
best suited to address the treatment needs of such juveniles. This agreement is 
applicable to any juvenile in the custody of SCDJJ, excluding only those juveniles who 
are temporarily committed solely for the purpose of evaluation at one of the 
Department's three secure evaluation centers. 

A. CRITERIA FOR INCLUSION: DJJ juveniles served under this agreement will meet 
the following diagnostic criteria as having a serious mental illness, as updated by DSM-
IV criteria: 

Category I: The following diagnoses are presumptively considered by diagnosis as 
requiring treatment services beyond the capability of DJJ. A juvenile must be 
determined to have a seriously mental illness in accord with criteria established by the 
American Psychiatric Association and be unable to interpret their environment in an 
acute and realistic manner and require intense specialized care. Using diagnoses as 
delineated in the DSM IV, any juvenile who has been professionally diagnosed as 
having any of the following illnesses shall be considered seriously mentally ill: 
1. Pervasive Developmental Disorder ( Autism, Rhett's, and Childhood Disintegrative  

Disorder) 
2. Cognitive Disorders (Delirium, Dementia, and Amnestic Disorder) 
3. Psychotic Disorders (Schizophrenia, Schizophreniform, Schizoaffective, Delusional  

Disorder, and Psychotic Disorder Not Otherwise Specified) 
4. Dissociative Identity Disorder 
5. Major Depression Recurrent and Single Episode (Active) 
6. Bipolar Disorders (All Subtypes) 

Category II: In addition, other juveniles who carry DSM-IV diagnoses may require 
further assessment to determine the degree of debilitation caused by their illness as 
requiring treatment services beyond the capability of DJJ. Axis V (the global 



125 

 

assessment scale) of the DSM-IV shall be used to determine the status of these 
juveniles. A score of fifty or below on this axis usually indicates that a juvenile is 
handicapped by his illness to the degree that he cannot be adequately cared for at DJJ 
facilities. Accordingly, juveniles who score fifty or below on this axis and who have the 
following professionally diagnosed illnesses will be considered seriously mentally ill 
requiring treatment services beyond the capability of DJJ after they have been 
unsuccessfully treated (behavioral interventions and psychotropic medications as 
prescribed by the treating physician) in a DJJ facility: 
1. Asperger's Disorder 
2. Pervasive Developmental Disorder NOS 
3. Eating Disorders 
4. Attention Deficit/ Hyperactivity Disorder 
5. Mental Disorder due to a general medical condition (Personality Change, Mood, and 

Anxiety); and Mental Disorder Not Otherwise Specified due to a general medical 
condition. 

6. Personality Disorders (Borderline, Paranoid, Schizoid, and Personality Disorder, 
N.O.S.).  

7. Cyclothymic or Dysthymic Disorder 
8. Post Traumatic Stress Disorder 

Regardless of the presumptive inclusion or exclusion of a juvenile by diagnosis under 
Category I or II, DJJ or DMH may initiate a case-by-case staffing of any juvenile 
diagnosed with a mental illness and in need of treatment for a mental illness, to 
otherwise consider inclusion or exclusion for services under this agreement. 

DJJ juveniles meeting the above criteria and served under this agreement will be 
referred to as "DJJ Juveniles with a Serious Mental Illness." 

B. IDENTIFICATION OF DJJ JUVENILES WITH A SERIOUS MENTAL ILLNESS: All 
juveniles upon commitment to DJJ will be screened for mental illness. If after the initial 
screening, or at any time prior to release, serious mental illness is suspected, a referral 
to DJJ psychological staff shall be made. DJJ's psychological staff shall interview, 
assess and, if deemed necessary, test all juveniles referred to them for possible serious 
mental illness. They will also consult with the appropriate DMH Community Mental 
Health Center (CMHC) Children, Adolescents and Families (CAF) Director in all cases 
where the juvenile has been a client of DMH, prior to referral to the DJJ contract 
psychiatrist. At the time of any such referral to a DJJ contract psychiatrist, a copy of the 
referral (Inclusion Form), with copies of supporting documents to include DJJ social 
work and psychology reports, psychiatric records, reports or evaluations, available 
school records or medical records, incident reports and other relevant information, will 
be sent to DMH CAF Director and applicable CMHC(s) having served the juvenile. The 
DJJ contract with the DJJ contract psychiatrist will reflect the applicable procedures in 
this section and those following. DJJ agrees to notify DMH upon any change of contract 
psychiatrist. 

After the DJJ contract psychiatrist's diagnostic determination that the juvenile is a DJJ 
Juvenile with a Serious Mental Illness, DMH may separately or in conjunction with DJJ 
and/or the DJJ contract psychiatrist, provide consultation and/or evaluate the juvenile. If 
face-to-face evaluation is needed, DJJ will make arrangements for designated DMH 
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personnel to interview the juvenile in his or her current setting. If at any time DMH 
disagrees with DJJ's determination that the juvenile is a DJJ Juvenile with a Serious 
Mental Illness, DMH may start the exclusion process as described in G following. If 
DMH initiates this process prior to transfer, diagnostic resolution will be reached prior to 
the inter-agency staffing held within 45 days of identification (see Section G). Unless the 
exclusion consideration process results in a final determination that a juvenile is not a 
DJJ juvenile with a serious mental illness, said juvenile must transfer to DMH for 
needed treatment within 90 days of the initial determination as described above. 

C.    INTERAGENCY STAFFING: Within 45 days of a juvenile being identified as a DJJ 
Juvenile with a Serious Mental Illness DJJ will facilitate a treatment team staffing to 
identify treatment/placement needs of the identified juvenile. This team will consist of at 
a minimum, the DMH state and community representative, a DJJ psychologist, DJJ 
social worker, a representative from DJJ's education division, DJJ's Coordinator of 
Special Needs Case Management (CSNCM), an advocate from Protection and 
Advocacy, the juvenile's Parole Board Examiner, the juvenile's DJJ Community 
Specialist and his or her parents or guardian. The absence of one or more invited 
individual treatment team member shall not require a rescheduling. Upon the meeting's 
conclusion, DMH will assume primary case management responsibility. 

D.  TRANSFER OF DJJ JUVENILES WITH A SERIOUS MENTAL ILLNESS: The 
authority for and the process by which DJJ Juveniles with a Serious Mental Illness are 
transferred to DMH is found in Section 20-7-7815 of the S.C. Code of Laws. Utilizing 
this authority, and having determined that juveniles identified as seriously mentally ill 
cannot be properly cared for, due to their mental health needs, within DJJ's secure 
correctional facilities, and that DMH is the state agency best qualified to meet and 
address these juveniles' mental health needs, the DJJ CSNCM will ensure that DJJ 
transfers all DJJ Juveniles with a Serious Mental Illness within 90 days of such 
designation. The CSNCM will utilize the Transfer Document for DJJ Juveniles with a 
Serious Mental Illness (Attachment A) for this purpose. 

As set forth in this document, although transferred to the custody of DMH, all DJJ 
Juveniles with a Serious Mental Illness remain in a DJJ commitment status and can be 
released from such status only by the Board of Juvenile Parole or the expiration of a 
determinate sentence. This means that while DMH has complete authority for 
determining appropriate treatment, appropriate levels of restriction and security, and to 
move these juveniles between any facilities or programs they operate or with which they 
contract (private placements), such juveniles cannot be released to their home, or 
placed in non-residential programs in their home community, by DMH without the 
consent and approval of the Juvenile Parole Board or the expiration of a determinate 
sentence. Both parties understand and agree that placement options available to DMH 
include therapeutic foster care and that DMH has the authority to consider and place 
juveniles in foster care placements close to the juvenile's or victim's home if clinically 
indicated for family treatment and reunification. DJJ will not oppose placement decisions 
made by DMH or release recommendations made by DMH to the Juvenile Parole Board 
on DJJ juveniles with serious mental illness who have been transferred to DMH, 
consistent with terms set forth above. 

In those cases where a DJJ Juvenile with a Serious Mental Illness has been placed 



127 

 

within a psychiatric impatient placement prior to his or her transfer to DMH, DMH will 
make every reasonable effort to secure an appropriate placement in lieu of returning the 
juvenile to DJJ.  

For those DJJ Juveniles with a Serious Mental Illness who are required to register in 
South Carolina's Sex Offender Registry, pre-initial registration shall continue to be the 
responsibility of DJJ. Upon the transfer of such juveniles to DMH, all subsequent 
registration requirements or notifications of pre-registration updates caused by a change 
in placement, etc., shall be the responsibility of DMH. 

E.  PROGRAMMING FOR DJJ JUVENILES WITH A SERIOUS MENTAL ILLNESS: 
DMH recognizes the necessity for a dual approach to treatment plans for transferred 
DJJ Juveniles with a Serious Mental Illness, which meets both the needs of the 
juveniles and the need for public safety. DJJ Juveniles with a Serious Mental Illness in 
the custody of DMH may receive passes and furloughs consistent with appropriate 
treatment and therapeutic practices as determined and established by DMH, consistent 
with the Order of Judge Donna Strom, dated October 15, 1996, and with the "Blanding" 
Decree, which is referred to therein. 

This order states in effect that DJJ Juveniles with a Serious Mental Illness transferred to 
DMH custody from DJJ shall be treated by DMH as they treat all other involuntarily 
committed mentally ill juveniles and that DMH shall be guided in making their placement 
and treatment decisions for such juveniles by what they determine to be the most 
suitable and appropriate therapeutic environment for the juvenile. 

After a juvenile is transferred to DMH and following DMH progressive treatment, care 
and management, if the DMH treating psychiatrist believes that the identified juvenile is 
in need of short-term behavioral health treatment, care and management beyond DMH 
capability, the DMH DJJ Liaison will facilitate an interagency staffing. This staffing will 
be attended by at least the treating physician and other clinical staff, DJJ's Director of 
Clinical and Professional Services and CSNCM, a state level DMH representative, the 
assigned JPB parole examiner, a P&A advocate, and the juvenile's parents. Procedures 
for these staffings, once agreed to, shall be made an attachment to this Agreement. 

F.  PLACEMENT AND MOVEMENT OF DJJ JUVENILES WITH A SERIOUS MENTAL 
ILLNESS: DJJ Juveniles with a Serious Mental Illness transferred by DJJ to DMH 
pursuant to Section 20-7-7815 may be subsequently transferred to any placement 
deemed appropriate by DMH. Furthermore, DJJ Juveniles with a Serious Mental Illness 
will fully participate in programs to which they are assigned, to include off-campus 
passes and overnight furloughs home. Such placement may include therapeutic foster 
care if clinically indicated (see Section D, above). Such therapeutic foster care 
placements close to the juvenile's or victim's home may be considered appropriate on a 
case-by-case basis as such placements may be clinically indicated for family treatment 
and reunification. 

Whenever a DJJ Juvenile with a Serious Mental Illness is moved to a different facility or 
program from which he/she was originally assigned following transfer from DJJ, the 
DMH DJJ Liaison will notify DJJ's Coordinator of Special Needs Case Management and 
the Parole Board of the placement within one working day after it occurs. Initial 
notification may be verbal followed within 48 hours with written notification. This and any 
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subsequent movement will be the responsibility of DMH. However, when DMH 
determines that placement with the juvenile's family, or placement in non-residential 
therapeutic program in the juvenile's home community is appropriate, this placement 
can be implemented only by a conditional or unconditional release by the Juvenile 
Parole Board or upon the end of the juvenile's determinate sentence. (See Section D) 

For those DJJ juveniles with a serious mental illness who are arrested and detained for 
charges accrued in placement, DMH will engage in a reasonable effort (considering the 
severity of the offense) to find, secure and transport such juveniles to an appropriate 
treatment setting until those charges are resolved. If a new adjudication occurs, DMH 
will pursue placement in order to avert a return to DJJ. If unavoidable, DMH has 90 
days upon the new date of commitment to find and place such a juvenile within an 
appropriate alternative placement. All recommitted juveniles who have not received 
DMH services for the preceding 90 days, and who are returned to DJJ, will be 
reevaluated to determine whether or not they continue to have a serious mental illness 
that would prevent them from being adequately cared for in DJJ custody. DMH Public 
Safety and the juvenile's local Mental Health Center CAF Director will track the 
juvenile's progress through the judicial system and prepare for alternative placement as 
needed. 

G.   RECONSIDERATION / REVIEW PROCESS: The transfer of a DJJ Juvenile with a 
Serious Mental Illness to the custody of DMH, pursuant to Section 20-7-7815 and this 
agreement, is intended to be a permanent movement of that juvenile from confinement 
within the juvenile correctional system. Only in cases where a juvenile's psychiatric 
diagnosis is changed to one not considered a serious mental illness, as listed in Section 
A, may a juvenile remain in, or be returned to a correctional confinement. However, 
even in such cases, options short of confinement in a secure correctional institution will 
be considered and determined to be inappropriate before re-incarceration is sought. 

If, prior to a transfer to DMH under this agreement, a DJJ contract psychiatrist changes 
a juvenile's diagnosis to one that is not listed in Section A above, the juvenile simply 
remains within a DJJ facility or program. If prior to a transfer to DMH under this 
agreement, DMH disagrees with the DJJ contract psychiatrist's diagnosis and need for 
transfer, DMH may initiate the reconsideration process. This sequence is identical to the 
one described below except that the Community Mental Health Center acts in lieu of the 
"treating psychiatrist." Furthermore, resolution will be reached prior to the "45 Day" 
interagency staffing described in section B. To insure this, the CSNCM will share all 
relevant psychiatric information with the local mental health center Children, 
Adolescents and Families (CAF) Director within 5 days of identification. Prior to 
considering exclusion, CMHC staff will consider all DJJ provided psychological and 
other relevant information. Moreover, a reconsideration staffing, if needed, will be 
scheduled within 15 days of identification. 

If after transfer, the treating psychiatrist believes that the juvenile does not have a 
serious mental illness, the treating psychiatrist will make a reasonable attempt to 
contact the DJJ contract psychiatrist. If, after such consultation, the treating psychiatrist 
continues to believe that the juvenile is not seriously mentally ill and changes the 
diagnoses to one not on the list, the DMH DJJ Liaison will facilitate an interagency 
staffing. This staffing will be attended by at least the treating physician and other clinical 
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staff, DJJ's Director of Clinical and Professional Services and CSNCM, a state level 
DMH representative, the assigned JPB parole examiner, a P&A advocate, and the 
juvenile's parents. If the staffing results in the DJJ Director of Clinical and Professional 
Services concurring with the treating psychiatrist's diagnosis, the juvenile will be either 
returned to a DJJ facility or treatment transferred to an alternative placement. 

If there is a lack of consensus among members of the treatment team regarding 
whether the juvenile is appropriately diagnosed with a serious mental illness, a review of 
this decision may be sought. The review process will consist of the disagreeing entity 
contacting and reviewing the juvenile's case with the Associate Director of Child and 
Adolescent Psychiatry at the Hall Institute. If the disagreeing entity is not an employee 
of the Department of Juvenile Justice, then DJJ's Director of Clinical and Professional 
Services and the CSNCM shall also be included in this review. Should these individuals 
not reach consensus, then a further review can be pursued to the DMH Medical 
Director. The DMH Medical Director's decision will be the final decision in regards to this 
change in diagnosis. 

DMH and DJJ agree that if a juvenile is identified as having a serious mental illness, 
such status and prescribed transfer will supersede a reassignment to the Youthful 
Offender Division of the Department of Corrections, Pursuant to 20-7-7810. Once 
identified as having a serious mental illness, inclusion for transfer and DMH services 
under this agreement will only be lost given a release by the Juvenile Parole Board, 
determinate sentence expiration or a diagnostic change. The latter two of the three are 
delineated above. 

H.   RECORDS: Subject to applicable law and respective privacy practices, DJJ/DMH 
clinical staff and treatment team members shall upon reasonable request have access 
to and may be provided copies at no charge, all relevant records (community 
institutional, medical, etc.) on juveniles who are seriously mentally ill or who are 
suspected of being seriously mentally ill as needed to provide, treatment or care 
services under this agreement including referral and coordination of such treatment or 
care services. Additional information on such juveniles not reduced to writing, but known 
to DJJ/DMH staff, shall also be provided by staff of either agency. 

I.  TRACKING THE STATUS AND PLACEMENT OF DJJ JUVENILES WITH A 
SERIOUS MENTAL ILLNESS: A master list of all DJJ juveniles with a serious mental 
illness served by SCDMH under this agreement will be kept by DJJ's Office of Clinical 
and Professional Services. This list will contain the juvenile's name, his/her committing 
offense, his/her mental health diagnosis and date of this diagnosis, the juvenile's status 
(i.e., committed, confined within DJJ; transferred to DMH); the facility/program the 
juvenile is located in and the dates of placement. In order to keep this master list 
current, within one working day after a DJJ Juvenile with a Serious Mental Illness is 
moved by DMH within its system, or within its network of private providers, or released 
by the Juvenile Parole Board, notice of such movement shall be provided to DJJ's Office 
of Clinical and Professional Services. 

J.  OTHER RELATED SERVICES:  Inpatient hospital psychiatric services for DJJ 
Juveniles, both those who are designated as seriously mentally ill or otherwise, will 
continue to be available as needed at William S. Hall Psychiatric Institute or DMH 
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inpatient programs through voluntary, judicial involuntary, and emergency involuntary 
admission pursuant to the Children's Commitment Act (Section 44-22-10, et seq., S.C. 
Code of Laws). 

K.   ESCAPES: As required by applicable contract with a residential treatment provider, 
when such provider has confirmation that a DJJ Juvenile with a Serious Mental Illness 
has escaped from or has failed to return to an assigned placement, that provider, within 
30 minutes, will complete a Notice of Escape form and will fax it to DMH Public Safety 
and DMH/DJJ Liaison. DMH Public Safety will immediately enter the information in the 
NCIC as well as contact local law enforcement and DJJ Police. DJJ Police will then 
immediately notify the DJJ Director of Communications and Victims' Service Office who 
will then contact the victim(s) as required. 

On the following business day, the DMH/DJJ Liaison will notify the assigned Juvenile 
Parole Board Examiner as well as the DJJ Coordinator of Special Needs Case 
Management and/or Director of Clinical and Professional Services. 

DMH has primary responsibility for the apprehension efforts, and either the placement 
or DMH may file escape charges against the juvenile if applicable. If so, DMH Public 
Safety and the juvenile's local mental health center CAF Director or designee, together 
with the local DJJ Community Specialist, will track the juvenile's progress through the 
judicial system, obtain the Detainer Orders and prepare for alternative placement as 
needed. If recommitted escape charges are filed, refer to Section F above regarding 
Placement and Subsequent Movement of Juveniles with a Serious Mental Illness. Once 
the juvenile is apprehended, the above notification procedure will be followed. 

If escape charges are filed, DMH Public Safety and the juvenile's local mental health 
center will track the juvenile's progress through the judicial system, obtain the Detainer 
Orders and prepare for alternative placement as needed. If recommitted, please refer to 
Section F, herein, regarding Placement and Movement of Seriously Mentally III 
Juveniles. 

L. VICTIM NOTIFICATION: When a DJJ Juvenile with a Serious Mental Illnesses is 
transferred from DJJ to DMH, victim notification, if such has been requested, will be 
provided to the victim by DJJ's Victims Services Section. 

In addition, DJJ's Victim Services Section will notify DMH of victim notification 
requirements, if any, at the time of transfer of a DJJ Juvenile with a Serious Mental 
Illness and will handle all required victim notification in the case of a seriously mentally 
ill juvenile's escape from DMH custody once notified of the escape. As reflected in a 
separate agreement between DMH and the Juvenile Parole Board, following the initial 
transfer, all subsequent victim notificants (except for escapes), brought about by the 
movement of a juvenile within the continuum of DMH and private provider placements, 
or brought about due to the furlough or the granting of passes to the juvenile, or due to 
the release of the juvenile, will be provided by the Victim Notification Section of the 
Juvenile Parole Board, following their notification of this event (in the case of transfers 
furloughs, and passes) by DMH. 

DMH acknowledges that because of the role of the Juvenile Parole Board in regards to 
the release of juvenile offenders for Victim Notification purposes, DMH will notify the 
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Juvenile Parole Board whenever a seriously mentally ill juvenile is placed in a facility or 
program that may grant the juvenile a pass or furlough unaccompanied by a staff 
member. 

If a DJJ Juvenile with a Serious Mental Illness who has not been released from 
commitment status escapes/absconds from the facility/program in which the juvenile 
has been placed by DMH, DMH or the private provider in whose program DMH has 
placed the juvenile, shall immediately contact DJJ's Public Safety Division (803-896-
9100) and the Board of Juvenile Parole (803-896-5614). Upon receipt of notification, 
DJJ's Public Safety Division shall enter the juvenile's name and other appropriate data 
on the NCIC and assure that local law enforcement and DJJ Victim Services are 
contacted regarding the escape. However, DMH will be the lead agency responsible for 
coordinating the apprehension efforts. DJJ will refer all contacts and questions from 
local law enforcement agencies to DMH. 

M.   MEDIA NOTIFICATION: Contacts with the media by DMH/DJJ shall be governed 
by their respective confidentiality laws, and release of information policies and practices. 
DJJ will inform the press (if contacted) that the juvenile in question was committed to 
DJJ and was transferred pursuant to Section 20-7-7815, Code of Laws of South 
Carolina to the custody of DMH, the agency best suited to meet the treatment needs of 
the juvenile. All further inquiries from the media will be referred to DMH Office of Public 
Affairs for handling. 

N.  TRANSPORTATION:  Once DJJ transfers a DJJ Juvenile with a Serious Mental 
Illness to his or her initial DMH placement, DMH is responsible for providing or 
arranging any subsequent transports as related to treatment or care of the child while 
transferred to DMH for treatment. Unless DMH permits a juvenile's parent to transport 
the juvenile to the juvenile's Juvenile Parole Board hearings, DMH shall provide such 
transportation, either by its own staff or under contract, for juveniles served under this 
agreement from the juvenile's treatment facility-or program as may be required for the 
juvenile's attendance at Juvenile Parole Board hearings. 

Upon commitment expiration and a return home, transportation to and from local mental 
health centers shall be the responsibility of the juvenile's parent or guardian. In the 
event that the parent or guardian is unable/unwilling to transport then the primary case 
manager at DMH and the assigned community specialist at DJJ will collaborate to 
resolve the transportation issue. 

O. SUPERVISION UPON RELEASE - RELEASE PLANNING PROCESS STAFFINGS: 
DMH and DJJ acknowledge that the authority to release a DJJ Juvenile with a Serious 
Mental Illness, as with any other juvenile indeterminately committed by the family court 
for commission of a crime, rests exclusively with the Board of Juvenile Parole. DMH and 
DJJ further acknowledge that to effectively manage release opportunities, both 
Agencies must be involved in the release planning process and in the supervision of 
and provision of treatment services to the juvenile upon release. DJJ agrees that for all 
DJJ Juveniles with a Serious Mental Illness conditionally released by the Board of 
Juvenile Parole, it will provide supervision at the level specified by the Board of Juvenile 
Parole. DMH agrees that ordered or needed mental health services will be provided to 
these juveniles, through its local mental health centers, on a priority basis, and that the 
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provision of these services will be coordinated and monitored by the assigned case 
manager at DMH. DMH further agrees that its local mental health centers will provide 
prioritized services to these juveniles, and will not deny, restrict or modify such services 
because they do not agree with the diagnosis which rendered the juvenile as seriously 
mentally ill. 

Prior to release by the Juvenile Parole Board, DJJ further agrees that the juvenile's 
assigned community specialist will continue to submit to the Juvenile Parole Board, 
community board reports, which emphasize primarily the suitability and readiness of the 
juvenile's family, home and community to accept the juvenile upon his release. Prior to 
release, periodic staffing will be held on all seriously mentally ill juveniles. Prior to 
recommending release, a final staffing will be held and a unified recommendation of the 
juvenile's anticipated future treatment needs and the best way to address these needs 
will be presented to the Board.  DJJ agrees that it will defer to the clinical expertise of 
DMH staff regarding a juvenile's readiness for release. The juvenile's parole examiner 
shall be invited to all staffings. 

For juveniles age eighteen and over, the joint staffing will include a review of mental 
health and other services available to individuals age eighteen and over, including adult 
services. 

DMH agrees that while it is solely responsible for coordinating discharge planning, 
making applications to step-down programs, and arranging for transportation to and 
from all placements, DMH will coordinate doing so with all appropriate agencies. DJJ 
commits to assisting in this process through their attendance and participation at all 
called staffings and meetings involving committed DJJ Juveniles with a Serious Mental 
Illness. 

The purpose of the periodic staffings will be to discuss the juvenile's treatment progress 
in placement, the anticipated course of treatment in the community and placement 
needs upon the juvenile's release. After these staffings occur, local efforts will be 
undertaken by both agencies to either secure the necessary service for the juvenile or 
prepare the existing services to admit the juvenile upon release. Prior to the anticipated 
release of the juvenile, a final staffing will be scheduled to discuss the actual course of 
treatment and to finalize the clinical recommendations and the discharge and placement 
plan. At this time, appointments will be made with the local agencies to ensure a smooth 
transition to the community. Throughout this process, the local mental health center 
case manager will be responsible for clinical case management, while the DJJ 
community specialists will be responsible for the matters associated with the juvenile's 
supervision. After release, the juvenile will be contacted by the local agencies within a 
week after the release date. 

P.   FISCAL RESPONSIBILITY: Prior to the transfer of seriously mentally ill juveniles, 
DJJ will assume fiscal responsibility for all care and treatment provided at the South 
Carolina Department of Juvenile Justice. All costs associated with the care and 
treatment of subclass juveniles will be governed by DMH laws and procedures after the 
transfer. 

Q.  CONTINUED INTERAGENCY COLLABORATION: DMH and DJJ Directors agree 
to meet at least quarterly and more frequently, if necessary, to address the immediate 
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and long-term interagency service needs of DJJ Juveniles with Serious Mental Illness. 

The parties to this Agreement further agree to participate in continuing meetings and 
discussions on further refinements to, and improvement of, this Agreement. Should any 
such agreement be reached, it will be reduced to writing and made an attachment to 
this Agreement. 

R.  AMENDMENTS AND TERMS OF AGREEMENT: The term of this agreement shall 
remain in effect from the date of signing by both parties unless amended in writing by 
mutual agreement of the Directors of DJJ and DMH. Either party may terminate the 
Agreement within 90 days written notice provided to the other Agency, addressed to the 
Director of that Agency, which notifies the other Agency of its intent to terminate this 
Agreement. 
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Children who have been committed to DJJ are screened to determine if they 
qualify for SMR status and should therefore be transferred to DDSN. To be 
eligible, a child must be diagnosed with “serious intellectual disability (mentally 
retardation).”  Only children who have been committed to a long-term DJJ 
institution may be considered for SMR status; children committed to a DJJ 
evaluation center are not eligible for consideration.  SMR children are transferred 
to DDSN where their needs can be better met, although they remain committed 
to DJJ.   
 
The following Agreement between DJJ and DDSN provides a complete outline of 
the process, including eligibility requirements by which children diagnosed with 
serious intellectual disability (mental retardation) who are committed to DJJ are 
transferred to and treated by DDSN. 
 
**NOTE: This agreement is still in effect as of the date of this publication; 
however, the last time it was updated was June 12, 2006.  It is presented in its 
original form and therefore, uses the term “mental retardation” instead of 
“intellectual disability” and refers to the former Title 20 statute citations. 

 
AGREEMENT BETWEEN DJJ AND DDSN FOR THE TREATMENT OF JUVENILE 
DELINQUENTS WITH SERIOUS MENTAL RETARDATION 

 
The South Carolina Department of Juvenile Justice, hereinafter referred to as DJJ, is 
responsible for providing community based and institutional services to juveniles 
charged with, or adjudicated delinquent for, having committed an offense as delineated 
in Title 20, Chapter 7, of the S. C. Code of Laws; and 

DJJ is authorized by the state law (20-7-7815) to transfer juveniles committed to its 
custody who are seriously handicapped by serious mental illness or mental retardation 
and who, because of such disabilities, cannot be adequately cared for in its custody, 
through the voluntary admission process or by instituting necessary legal action to 
accomplish the transfer of such juveniles to another state agency which in its judgment 
is best qualified to care for them in accordance with the laws of this State; and 

The South Carolina Department of Disabilities and Special Needs, hereinafter referred 
to as DDSN, is authorized to provide and/or procure institutional or community based 
residential services to promote the well-being of adolescents with mental retardation as 
delineated in Title 44, Chapter 20, of the S.C. Code of Laws; and 

DJJ and DDSN acknowledge their responsibility to serve delinquent juveniles with 
serious mental retardation and recognize that the care and treatment of such children 
can best and most economically be done through a collaborative effort involving not 
only their limited resources and expertise, but the resources, expertise and financial 
assistance of other federal, state, local and private agencies; and 

DDSN SERIOUSLY INTELLECTUALLY DISABLED  

(MENTALLY RETARDED (SMR)) STATUS 
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DJJ and DDSN believe that services for committed delinquent juveniles with serious 
mental retardation should be provided in facilities separate from those which house 
other incarcerated delinquent youth.  When such juveniles are identified, appropriate 
placement by DDSN will be secured.  DJJ and DDSN further agree that these juveniles 
with serious mental retardation should be placed into programs with a treatment milieu 
which has been designed and is operated by treatment professionals who can promptly, 
professionally and, when necessary, securely, identify, serve and treat the cognitive and 
adaptive deficits of these juveniles until these juveniles’ commitments end; and 

Now, based on these shared responsibilities and the goals of better serving these 
delinquent youth with serious mental retardation, DJJ and DDSN enter into the 
agreement established below. 

PURPOSE / APPLICATION 

The purpose of the Memorandum of Agreement is to outline the process by which those 
juveniles diagnosed with serious mental retardation (SMR) committed to the custody of 
the State for having committed offenses are transferred for treatment to the South 
Carolina Department of Disabilities and Special Needs. 

DJJ and DDSN jointly embrace several philosophical and procedural concepts which 
support this document.  These are: 
 The goal of attaining for each juvenile maximum mental, physical, and social 

development while minimizing the reoccurrence of a delinquent act; 
 The belief that juveniles with mental retardation accused of an illegal act should be 

prosecuted when found legally competent unless there are other circumstances 
mitigating against prosecution; 

 To support and assist each juvenile offender with serious mental retardation in 
remaining within or returning to their family and home, or in the community 
environment; 

Out of home placements from a DJJ institution require careful planning and must take 
into account needs for structure, supervision, training, and public safety; consequently, 
a 90-day time frame will be in effect, beginning with the date that the DDSN Liaison 
Psychologist diagnoses a juvenile with SMR, for locating appropriate placement and 
completing the transfer; 

 When out-of-home placements are necessary for supervision, management and 
treatment, the principle of least restrictive alternative should be followed.  Institutional 
placement should be the last alternative, and should be considered only if no other 
available and appropriate community alternative exists; 

That in addressing the procedures and concepts of this agreement, accurate, effective 
and timely communications, information sharing, and cooperative agency actions are 
necessary to ensure the best management and treatment decisions and outcomes for 
juveniles; 

That in the matter of assessing the presence and evaluating the extent of mental 
retardation of individuals falling under this agreement, DDSN’s findings shall generally 
be accepted by DJJ.  However, in those cases where DJJ does not accept DDSN’s 
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findings as to their determination, the case will be referred to an independent reviewer 
pursuant to the review procedure provided in this agreement; and  

That nothing in this agreement should be understood to preclude, supplement, or 
substitute the respective responsibilities that DJJ and DDSN are required to discharge 
under the South Carolina Code and/or Judge Anderson’s orders of March 31, 1992 and 
April 24, 1992, nor does this agreement supersede other relevant provisions, 
procedures, or due process requirements under the S.C. Code. 
 
A.  CRITERIA FOR INCLUSION: Mental retardation is herein defined as significantly 
sub-average intellectual functioning (i.e., an IQ of approximately 70 or below on an 
individually administered IQ test) with concurrent deficits or impairments in present 
adaptive functioning in at least two of the following areas: communication, self-care, 
home living, social/interpersonal skills, use of community resources, self-direction, 
functional academic skills, work, leisure, health, and safety.  Mental retardation will be 
considered present when the individual’s measured IQ is approximately 70 or below, is 
considered a valid estimate of current intellectual functioning, and is accompanied by 
deficits in adaptive functioning as listed above that are consistent with the individual’s 
history.  When measures of adaptive functioning cannot be administered in the 
standardized manner prescribed by the authors/publishers of the instrument(s), an 
estimate of adaptive functioning will be made based on available data and clinical 
judgment in a manner agreed upon by clinical staff from both agencies. 
Once the presence of mental retardation has been established for a given juvenile, his 
or her identification as a juvenile with SMR will be determined on the basis of Judge 
Anderson’s Court Order dated March 31, 1992 and the Supplemental Order dated April 
24, 1992.  Juveniles who are found to have Moderate Mental Retardation or below (i.e., 
IQs of approximately 55 or below with concurrent deficits in adaptive functioning) will be 
identified as juveniles with SMR.  Juveniles who are found to have Mild Mental 
Retardation (i.e., IQs of approximately 55 to approximately 70 with concurrent deficits in 
adaptive functioning) will be further assessed with regard to their adjustment to the 
demands of institutional living.  Such juveniles will qualify if and when they fail to 
demonstrate the ability to: 
1. Care for self in the DJJ environment; 
2. Protect self and not be victimized because of mental condition; or 
3. Demonstrate sufficient judgement and ability to follow and understand instructions 

so as to benefit from DJJ programs. 
 

Determination of the above competencies will be made following interviews with DJJ 
personnel who work directly with the juvenile, to include Juvenile Correctional Officers, 
teachers, social workers, and/or psychologists.  Results of these interviews, including 
names of respondents, will be documented. 
 
B.  IDENTIFICATION OF SUBCLASS MEMBERS: All juveniles committed to DJJ will 
be screened for possible referral to DDSN. If after the initial screening or at any time 
prior to release SMR is suspected, a referral to the appropriate DJJ Supervising 
Psychologist shall be made for further review. DJJ’s psychology staff may elect to 
interview, further assess and, if deemed necessary, test all juveniles referred to them.  
On the basis of the results of this assessment, the Supervising Psychologist will refer to 
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the DDSN Liaison Psychologist those cases which are believed to qualify.  The referral 
and staffing protocol between DJJ and DDSN shall include the following: 1) Completion 
of a standard referral form (see Attachment A) by DJJ to DDSN with all the required 
information; 2) A packet of information attached to the referral form to include DJJ social 
work and psychological reports, psychiatric reports (if completed), any available school 
records or medical information and any other pertinent data.  After receiving completed 
referrals from DJJ, DDSN will determine eligibility within 30 days and notify DJJ of its 
findings. In those cases where the DDSN Liaison Psychologist determines that the 
juvenile does not meet criteria for SMR designation, the DDSN Liaison will document 
the reasons for denial and will forward that finding along with pertinent clinical 
documentation, to include staff interviewed and tests administered, to the DJJ Director 
of Clinical and Professional Services. If DJJ disagrees and consensus cannot be 
reached by the DJJ team, the DJJ Coordinator of Special Needs Case Management 
(CSNCM), and the DDSN Liaison Psychologist, DJJ appeals shall be first channeled to 
the DJJ Director of Clinical and Professional Services and DDSN Liaison Psychologist 
for resolution in consultation with the principal designees of the State Directors of DDSN 
and DJJ.  If the appeal issue(s) cannot be resolved by these professionals and between 
the principal designees within fifteen (15) working days from the receipt of the appeal to 
DDSN, then a referral will be made to a qualified independent reviewer agreed upon by 
the Agencies.  The reviewer, after reviewing all available documentation and testing, 
conducting additional testing, if necessary, and utilizing this agreement’s established 
criteria, shall make recommendations to the State Director of DDSN who will then make 
a final determination regarding inclusion/eligibility as delineated in Section 44-20-430.  
Should DJJ appeal and an independent reviewer is needed, DJJ and DDSN State 
Directors will determine how payment will be made for the reviewer on a case by case 
basis. 
 
C. LOSS OF INCLUSION STATUS: Once the DDSN Liaison Psychologist diagnoses a 
juvenile with SMR, this status will be removed only if the juvenile’s commitment ends or 
if the juvenile’s diagnosis is changed to a diagnosis other than SMR. 
 
D. INTERAGENCY STAFFING: Within 30 days of SMR designation, DJJ will initiate a 
treatment team staffing with DDSN to identify treatment/placement needs of such 
juveniles.  This team will consist of those individuals identified under Section H of this 
document.  Upon conclusion of this treatment team meeting, DDSN will assume primary 
case management responsibility. 
 
E. JUVENILE TRANSFERS: The authority for and the process by which juveniles 
diagnosed with SMR are transferred to DDSN is found in Section 20-7-7815 of the S. C. 
Code of Laws. DJJ, through the voluntary admission process or by instituting necessary 
legal action in the family court, as delineated in Section 20-7-7815 and Section 44-20-
450, and through use of a Transfer Document (Attachment B) shall accomplish the 
transfer of the juvenile to DDSN.  As set forth in this document, although transferred to 
the jurisdiction of DDSN, all qualifying juveniles remain in a DJJ commitment status and 
can be released from such status only by the Board of Juvenile Parole or the expiration 
of a determinate sentence.  DDSN has authority for determining appropriate treatment 
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and placement, appropriate levels of restriction and security, and may move these 
juveniles between any placement or programs operated by DDSN or with which DDSN 
contracts. Juveniles cannot be released to their home or placed in non-residential 
programs in their home community by DDSN without consent and approval of the S.C. 
Juvenile Parole Board.  In the event that DDSN is unable to secure a transfer date for a 
juvenile diagnosed with SMR, whose age warrants movement to South Carolina 
Department of Corrections, DJJ has the authority to hold juveniles for up to six months 
beyond their transfer date.  As a result, DJJ will retain, for up to 90 days, a juvenile 
already diagnosed with SMR until he or she transfers to an appropriate treatment 
program. 
 

For those juveniles diagnosed with SMR who are required to register in South 
Carolina’s Sex Offenders Registry, registration shall continue to be the responsibility of 
DJJ. Upon the transfer of such juveniles to the jurisdiction of DDSN, all subsequent 
registration requirements or notifications of registration updates caused by a change in 
placement, etc., shall be the responsibility of DDSN. 
 
F. PROGRAMMING: DDSN recognizes the necessity for a dual approach to treatment 
plans for juveniles diagnosed with SMR which meets both the individual needs of the 
juveniles and the need for public safety.  These juveniles placed under the jurisdiction of 
DDSN may receive off-site visitation with family and for individual or group activities 
consistent with appropriate treatment and therapeutic practices as determined by 
DDSN. 
 
G. PLACEMENT/MOVEMENT OF QUALITYING JUVENILES: Juveniles diagnosed 
with SMR transferred by DJJ to DDSN pursuant to Section 20-7-7815 may be placed by 
DDSN in any appropriate placement. Such placement may include, if clinically indicated, 
therapeutic foster care, so long as the therapeutic foster home in which the juvenile is 
placed is not located in the juvenile’s and/or victim’s home community, or county, if 
ordered by the Court.  Such therapeutic foster care placements close to the juvenile’s or 
victim’s home may be considered appropriate on a case-by-case basis as such 
placements may be clinically indicated for family treatment and reunification. 
 
When a juvenile diagnosed with SMR is moved to a different placement or program 
from which he/she was originally assigned following placement by DDSN, DDSN will 
notify DJJ’s CSNCM and a S.C. Juvenile Parole Board representative of the placement 
within one working day after it occurs.  Initial notification may be verbal followed within 
48 hours with written notification. 
 
In the event a juvenile escapes from a DDSN residential facility or a DDSN contractual 
provider’s facility, DDSN will immediately notify DJJ’s Public Safety Office (803-896-
9100) and the DJJ CSNCM (803-896-9593).  In the event a juvenile is removed from 
such a facility for crisis, DDSN will immediately notify DJJ’s CSNCM.  In both cases, 
DDSN will also notify a S.C. Juvenile Parole representative. 
 

Should a juvenile diagnosed with SMR incur criminal charges while in a DDSN facility or 
privately contracted facility, and such juvenile is consequently placed in Detention 
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awaiting his or her hearing on those charges, DDSN will prepare an alternate placement 
plan so the juvenile may be placed upon disposition of the charges or release from 
detention, given that the juvenile commitment continues.  DDSN will be able to secure 
another alternative placement for any such juvenile diagnosed with SMR once the 
criminal charges have been resolved. 
  
H. INTERAGENCY TREATMENT TEAM MEMBERSHIP: A subclass juvenile’s 
treatment team shall consist of, at a minimum, the DDSN Liaison Psychologist, the 
DDSN state and DSN community representative, a DJJ psychologist, a DJJ social 
worker, a representative from DJJ’s education division, and DJJ’s CSNCM.  An 
advocate from Protection and Advocacy, the juvenile’s S.C. Juvenile Parole Board 
Examiner, the juvenile’s DJJ Community Specialist and a representative from the 
juvenile’s home school district will also be invited to attend.  The absence of one or 
more invited individual treatment team members shall not require the rescheduling of 
team meetings. 

 
I. RETURN TO DJJ – REMOVAL FROM THE SUBCLASS: The transfer of a juvenile 
diagnosed with SMR to the jurisdiction of DDSN is intended to be a movement of that 
juvenile from confinement within the juvenile correctional system.  Only in cases where 
a juvenile’s diagnosis is changed to a diagnosis which does not qualify him/her will a 
juvenile, once transferred to DDSN, be returned to correctional confinement at DJJ.  In 
such cases, options short of re-confinement in a secure correctional institution will be 
considered and must be determined inappropriate before re-incarceration is sought. 
 

A juvenile already designated as having SMR and transferred to DDSN will not be 
returned to DJJ prior to a treatment team staffing to include clinical staff from both 
agencies.  If DDSN believes a juvenile does not meet the qualifications for SMR, DDSN 
will notify the DJJ CSNCM.  Prior to a change in diagnosis occurring which could result 
in a return to DJJ, the designated DDSN Liaison Psychologist shall be consulted and a 
staffing with the juvenile’s treatment team shall occur.  If as a result of this staffing it is 
agreed that the juvenile does not meet the qualifications for SMR, a DDSN/DJJ 
Removal Form will be completed by those present; this form will clearly outline the 
reasons the juvenile does not qualify and will specify appropriate placement and 
treatment for the juvenile.  Should DJJ and DDSN fail to agree, the appeal process 
outlined in Section B (Identification of Subclass Members) shall be followed. 
 

If a conditional release has been granted by the S.C. Juvenile Parole Board and 
revocation is subsequently initiated, a juvenile may be returned to DJJ’s institutional 
facilities or placed in some other secure correctional facility or program only after a 
preliminary hearing conducted by the S.C. Juvenile Parole Board’s hearings officer has 
been held and a decision has been made by the hearings officer or S.C. Juvenile Parole 
Board to do so has occurred. 
 
If a juvenile who has been diagnosed with SMR returns to DJJ either because parole is 
revoked or because the juvenile has committed a new offense, the juvenile will retain 
his or her SMR designation if he or she has been diagnosed with Moderate Mental 
Retardation or below (i.e., an IQ of approximately 55 or below with concurrent deficits in 
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adaptive functioning), and DDSN will secure placement within 90 days of being notified 
of the revocation or recommitment.  Should such a juvenile have a diagnosis of Mild 
Mental Retardation (i.e., an IQ of approximately 55 to approximately 70 with concurrent 
deficits in adaptive functioning), he or she will be further assessed with regard to 
institutional adjustment.  Such juveniles will be diagnosed with SMR if they demonstrate 
poor institutional adjustment as described in Section A, “Criteria for Inclusion.”  Such a 
determination will be made by the DDSN Liaison Psychologist within 30 days of 
notification of the juvenile’s return to a DJJ institution.  DDSN reserves the right to re-
assess any juvenile if any new information becomes available that may impact the 
juvenile’s continued status as a subclass member. 
 
J. RECORDS/COMMUNICATION: DJJ and DDSN clinical staff and treatment team 
members shall have access to and may copy, upon request, all community, institutional, 
medical, test data, etc. on juveniles who may be or are diagnosed with SMR.  Additional 
information on such juveniles not reduced to writing, but known to DJJ or DDSN staff, 
shall also be provided by staff of either agency to staff of the other agency. 
 
K. COORDINATION AND RECORD OF MOVEMENT: A master list of all juveniles 
diagnosed with SMR, which contains the juvenile’s name, his/her committing offense, 
his/her diagnosis and date of this diagnosis, the juvenile’s commitment status (i.e., 
commitment, confined within DJJ; transferred to DDSN; conditionally released by the 
S.C. Juvenile Parole Board; expiration of determinate sentence), the 
placement/program the juvenile is located in and the dates of placement will be kept by 
DJJ’s Office of Clinical and Professional Services.  A master list of all DJJ institutional 
referrals to DDSN which contains the juvenile’s name, date of birth, committing offense, 
date of referral to DDSN, date of inclusion, eligibility status, and placement/program 
services will be kept by DDSN’s Office of Behavioral Supports.  Therefore, in order to 
keep these master lists current, within one working day after a juvenile diagnosed with 
SMR is moved by DDSN within its network of private providers or released by the S.C. 
Juvenile Parole Board, notice of such movement will be provided to DJJ’s CSNCM and 
DDSN’s Office of Behavioral Supports and included on these master lists. 
 
L. TRANSPORTATION: When a juvenile diagnosed with SMR is transferred from a 
DJJ institution into a placement secured by DDSN, DJJ will transport the juvenile from 
the DJJ institution to the designated placement facility.  The placement facility, the local 
DSN board, and DDSN will then be responsible for coordinating transportation for the 
juvenile after he/she is placed outside the DJJ institution.  If a juvenile diagnosed with 
SMR in a DJJ institution has been conditionally or unconditionally released by the S.C. 
Juvenile Parole Board, or has completed a determinate sentence at DJJ, DDSN will be 
responsible for coordination of transportation for the juvenile from the DJJ institution. 
 
M. VICTIM NOTIFICATION: When a juvenile diagnosed with SMR is placed under the 
jurisdiction of DDSN pursuant to 20-7-7815, DJJ’s Office of Victim Services will provide 
notification to the victim, if requested.  In addition, DJJ’s Victims Services Office will 
notify DDSN of victim notification requirements, if any, at the time of the initial 
placement staffing (described in Section D). DJJ will handle all required victim 
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notification in the case of an escape from a DDSN placement.  DDSN agrees to notify 
the DJJ Office of Victim Services at (803) 896-9544, [fax: (803) 896-6917; pager: 1-800-
614-4407] of escapes.  All subsequent victim notifications (except for escapes) brought 
about by the movement of a juvenile within DDSN or private provider’s placements or 
brought about due to furloughs or the granting of passes to the juvenile, will be handled 
by the S.C. Juvenile Parole Board.  DDSN will notify the S.C. Juvenile Parole Board’s 
Victim Assistance Program and the DJJ Community Specialist whenever a juvenile 
diagnosed with SMR is placed in a facility or program that may grant the juvenile a pass 
or furlough unaccompanied by a staff member.  DDSN will ensure that the facilities 
within its jurisdiction provide timely advance notification (at least two weeks) to the 
Juvenile Parole Board Victim Assistance Program of a juvenile’s unsupervised 
pass/furlough, and also direct its private provider placements to provide such advance 
notification.  The Juvenile Parole Board’s Victim Assistance Program will, in turn, 
provide advance notification of any passes/furloughs to the victim.  Similarly, DDSN 
agrees to notify the DJJ Office of Victims Services of escapes, off-site visitation and 
passes, or movement of a juvenile diagnosed with SMR so that victim notification can 
occur. 
 
N. SUPERVISION UPON RELEASE – PLANNING PROCESS STAFFINGS: DDSN 
and DJJ acknowledge that the authority to release a juvenile diagnosed with SMR, as 
with any other juvenile indeterminately committed by the family court for commission of 
a crime, rests exclusively with the S.C. Juvenile Parole Board.  DDSN and DJJ further 
acknowledge that to effectively manage release opportunities, both Agencies must be 
involved in the release planning process and in the supervision of, and provision of 
treatment services to, the juvenile upon release. DJJ agrees that for all juveniles 
conditionally released by the S.C. Juvenile Parole Board, it will provide supervision at 
the level specified by the S.C. Juvenile Parole Board.  DDSN agrees that ordered and 
needed services will be provided to juveniles diagnosed with SMR through its local DSN 
Provider Networks on a priority basis, and that provision of these services will be 
coordinated and monitored through the DDSN State office. 
 
DJJ further agrees that the juvenile’s assigned community specialist will continue to 
submit to the S.C. Juvenile Parole Board community board reports which emphasize 
primarily the suitability and readiness of the juvenile’s family, home and community to 
accept the juvenile upon release.  Prior to recommending release, a final staffing will be 
held and recommendations of the juvenile’s anticipated future treatment needs and the 
best way to address these needs will be presented to the S.C. Juvenile Parole Board.  
DJJ agrees that it will defer to the clinical expertise of DDSN staff regarding a juvenile’s 
readiness for release whenever the two Agencies disagree. The juvenile’s parole 
examiner shall be invited to all staffings.  DDSN will be notified and shall have access to 
any board hearings or reviews by the S.C. Juvenile Parole Board. 
For juveniles age eighteen and over, the joint staffings will include a review of the 
individual’s needs and services available.  DDSN agrees that while it is primarily 
responsible for coordinating discharge planning, making applications to step-down 
placements/programs, and arranging for transportation to and from all placements, 
DDSN will coordinate these activities with all appropriate agencies including DJJ.  DJJ 
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commits to assisting in this process as requested by DDSN and through DJJ’s 
attendance and participation at called staffings and meetings involving juveniles 
diagnosed with SMR. 
 
O. IDENTIFICATION OF OTHER POPULATIONS: DDSN and DJJ recognize that 
some delinquent juveniles needing DDSN services may not qualify for SMR diagnosis.  
DJJ will continue to refer to DDSN those individuals who appear to meet the criteria for 
DDSN Community Services. DJJ and DDSN will work cooperatively to obtain parental 
permission for DDSN to complete the intake process. After receiving completed 
referrals from DJJ as outlined in Section B, DDSN will determine eligibility within 90 
days and notify DJJ of its decision. In making its determination, DDSN may use 
acceptable data derived from other sources, including DJJ, in determining intellectual 
status and adaptive functioning and certification of an individual to have mental 
retardation.  If additional information is necessary to make such a determination, DDSN 
will contact DJJ to seek such information. If eligibility criteria are not met for DDSN 
Community services, DJJ will follow its own internal guidelines to assure that the 
juvenile’s needs are met and appropriate services provided. 
 
P. COST SHARE AGREEMENT: DDSN and DJJ will continue to pursue cost share 
agreements for juveniles who are identified as having mental retardation and 
adjudicated as delinquent who are on probation and/or conditionally released from DJJ.  
These cost share agreements will be in accordance with the cost share formula 
originated by the Children’s Case Resolution System but which may vary in terms of the 
percentage of funding amounts shared as agreed upon by the agencies.   
 
Q. CONTINUED INTERAGENCY COLLABORATION: DDSN and DJJ Agency 
Directors or their designees agree to meet at least twice yearly, and more frequently if 
necessary, to address the immediate and long-term interagency service needs of 
juvenile delinquents with mental retardation as well as continued development and 
improvement of this Agreement. 
 
DJJ and DDSN will provide joint trainings to their respective staff on the content of this 
agreement. Training content will be approved by both agencies to assure consistency in 
information delivery. 
 
R. AMENDMENTS AND TERMS OF AGREEMENT: The terms of this Agreement shall 
remain in effect from the date of signing by both parties unless amended in writing by 
mutual agreement of the Directors of DJJ and DDSN.  Either party may terminate the 
Agreement with 90 days written notice provided to the other Agency, addressed to the 
Director of that agency, which notifies the other Agency of its intent to terminate this 
Agreement. 
 

Signed June 12, 2006 
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JUVENILE RECORDS OVERVIEW 
 
 
 
CONFIDENTIALITY OF COURT AND DJJ RECORDS 
 

The court is required to keep records of every case involving a child who comes 
before the family court. DJJ also gathers information and prepares records 
regarding each child. All of these records are confidential and can only be 
disclosed to the judge, the child’s attorney, someone who needs access to the 
records in order to defend against an action initiated by the child, and to those 
with a legitimate interest who obtain a court order. §§ 63-19-2010, 2020(A). 

 
AUTHORIZED RELEASE OF INFORMATION BY DJJ 
 

 DJJ’s Director is required to develop policies for sharing “necessary and 
appropriate” information with service providers, other state agencies, and 
school districts as necessary to assist a child under DJJ’s supervision. § 63-
19-2020(B). 

 

 Reports and recommendations produced by DJJ for the court’s consideration 
at a dispositional hearing must be provided to the court, the solicitor, and the 
child’s attorney by DJJ. § 63-19-2020(D). 

 

 DJJ must notify the principal of a school in which a child is enrolled, intends to 
be enrolled, or was last enrolled upon final disposition of a case in which the 
child is charged with certain listed offenses. Each school is responsible for 
developing a policy to keep such information confidential. § 63-19-2020(E). 

 

 Upon request, DJJ must provide the victim with defendant child’s name, basic 
descriptive information, information about the juvenile justice system, the 
status of the case, available victim services, and DJJ’s disposition 
recommendations. § 63-19-2020(F). 

 

 Upon request, DJJ and/or SLED must provide to the Attorney General, a 
solicitor, or a law enforcement agency, a copy of a child’s offense history for 
criminal justice purposes, and may provide other information pursuant to an 
ongoing criminal investigation or prosecution. § 63-19-2020(G), (H). 
 

 DJJ may fingerprint and photograph a child upon the filing of a petition, 
release from detention, release on house arrest, or commitment to DJJ. 
Fingerprints and photographs taken by DJJ are confidential and must not be 
transmitted to SLED, the FBI, or another agency or person, except for the 
purpose of: aiding DJJ in apprehending an escapee; assisting the Missing 
Persons Information Center in finding a missing or runaway child; locating a 
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child who fails to appear in court as summoned; or locating a child subject to 
a house arrest order. § 63-19-2020 (I). 
 

CONFIDENTIALITY OF LAW ENFORCEMENT RECORDS 
 

Law enforcement records and information identifying children pursuant to the 
Juvenile Justice Code are confidential, must not be open to public inspection, 
and must be kept separate from records of adults. § 63-19-2030(A), (B). 

 
AUTHORIZED RELEASE OF INFORMATION BY LAW ENFORCEMENT 
 

 Law enforcement information or records of children created pursuant to the 
provisions of the Juvenile Justice Code may be shared among law 
enforcement agencies, solicitors’ offices, the Attorney General, DJJ, DMH, 
SCDC, and the Department of Probation, Parole and Pardon Services for 
criminal justice purposes without a court order. § 63-19-2030(D). 

 Incident reports are to be provided to the victim pursuant to § 16-3-1520.  
§ 63-19-2030(E). 

 Incident reports, including information identifying a child, must be provided by 
law enforcement to the principal of the school in which the child is enrolled 
when the child has been charged with:  

o a violent crime; 

o an offense that would carry a maximum term of imprisonment of fifteen 
years or more if committed by an adult;  

o a crime involving a weapon;  

o assault and battery against school personnel;  

o assault and battery of a high and aggravated nature committed on school 
grounds or at a school-sponsored event against any person affiliated with 
the school in an official capacity; or  

o distribution or trafficking unlawful drugs. Id. 

 Incident reports involving other offenses must be provided to the principal 
upon request. This information must be maintained by the principal in the 
manner set forth in § 63-19-2030(E) and must be forwarded with the child’s 
permanent school records if the child transfers to another school. Id. 

 
PHOTOGRAPHS 
 

A child charged with any offense may be photographed by the law enforcement 
agency that takes the child into custody. If the child is detained, the detention 
facility must photograph the child upon admission. These photographs may only 
be disseminated for criminal justice purposes or to assist the Missing Persons 
Information Center in locating or identifying a missing or runaway child. § 63-19-
2030(F). 
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FINGERPRINTS 

 A child charged with an offense that would carry a maximum term of 
imprisonment of five years or more if committed by an adult must be 
fingerprinted by the law enforcement agency that takes the child into custody. 
If the child is detained, the detention facility must fingerprint the child upon 
admission. § 63-19-2030(G). 

 A law enforcement agency may petition the court for an order to fingerprint a 
child when the child is charged with any other offense or the law enforcement 
agency has probable cause to suspect the child of committing any offense. Id. 

 A child’s fingerprint records must be kept separate from the adult fingerprint 
records and transmitted to SLED’s files. § 63-19-2030(H).  

 When a child has been adjudicated delinquent for an offense that would 
carry a maximum term of imprisonment of five years or more if committed by 
an adult, the child’s fingerprint records:  
o may be transmitted by SLED to the FBI files. § 63-19-2030(I). 
o must be provided by SLED or the law enforcement agency that took the 

child into custody to a law enforcement agency upon request for criminal 
justice purposes or to assist the Missing Person Information Center in 
locating or identifying a missing or runaway child. § 63-19-2030(J).  

 A child’s fingerprints and any SLED records regarding the fingerprints must 
not be disclosed for any purpose not specifically authorized by law or court 
order. § 63-19-2030(K). 

 Upon notification that a child has not been adjudicated delinquent for an 
offense that would carry a maximum term of imprisonment of five years or 
more if committed by an adult, SLED and the law enforcement agency who 
took the child into custody must destroy the fingerprints and all records 
created as a result of such information. § 63-19-2030(L). 
 

RELEASE OF INFORMATION TO NEWSPAPER, TV OR RADIO STATION 

The name, identity, or picture of a child under the court’s jurisdiction must not be 
provided to a newspaper, radio station, or television station unless: 

 authorized by court order; 

 the solicitor has petitioned the court to waive the child to circuit court;  

 the child has been bound over to adult court; or  

 the child has been adjudicated delinquent for: 
o a violent crime;  
o grand larceny of a motor vehicle;  
o a crime involving a weapon;  or  
o unlawful drug distribution or trafficking. § 63-19-2040(A). 
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SECTION 63-19-2010. Records.  
 
The court shall make and keep records of all cases brought before it.  The records of 
the court are confidential and open to inspection only by court order to persons having a 
legitimate interest in the records and to the extent necessary to respond to that 
legitimate interest.  These records must always be available to the legal counsel of the 
child and are open to inspection without a court order where the records are necessary 
to defend against an action initiated by a child.  
 
SECTION 63-19-2020. Confidentiality.  
 
(A) Except as provided herein, all information obtained and records prepared in the 
discharge of official duty by an employee of the court or department are confidential and 
must not be disclosed directly or indirectly to anyone, other than the judge, the child's 
attorney, or others entitled under this chapter or any other provision of law to receive 
this information, unless otherwise ordered by the court.  The court may order the 
records be disclosed to a person having a legitimate interest and to the extent 
necessary to respond to that legitimate interest.  However, these records are open to 
inspection without a court order where the records are necessary to defend against an 
action initiated by a child.  

(B) The director of the department must develop policies providing for the transmission 
of necessary and appropriate information to ensure the provision and coordination of 
services or assistance to a child under the custody or supervision of the department. 
This information must include that which is required for the admission or enrollment of a 
child into a program of services, treatment, training, or education.  The information may 
be provided to another department or agency of state or local government, a school 
district, or a private institution or facility licensed by the State as a child-serving 
organization. This information may be summarized in accordance with agency policy.  

(C) The director is authorized to enter into interagency agreements for purposes of 
sharing information about children under the supervision or in the custody of the 
department. The agencies entering into these agreements must maintain the 
confidentiality of the information.  

(D) Reports and recommendations produced by the department for the court for the 
purpose of a dispositional hearing must be disseminated by the agency to the court, the 
solicitor, and the child's attorney.  

(E)(1) The department must notify the principal of a school in which a child is enrolled, 
intends to be enrolled, or was last enrolled upon final disposition of a case in which the 
child is charged with any of the following offenses:  
(a) a violent crime, as defined in Section 16-1-60;  
(b) a crime in which a weapon, as defined in Section 59-63-370, was used;  
(c) assault and battery against school personnel, as defined in Section 16-3-612;  

JUVENILE RECORDS STATUTES 
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(d) assault and battery of a high and aggravated nature committed on school grounds or 
at a school-sponsored event against any person affiliated with the school in an official 
capacity;  or  
(e) distribution or trafficking in unlawful drugs, as defined in Article 3, Chapter 53 of Title 
44.  

(2) Each school district is responsible for developing a policy for schools within the 
district to follow to ensure that the confidential nature of a child offense history and other 
information received is maintained. This policy must provide for, but is not limited to:  
(a) the retention of the child offense history and other information relating to the child 
offense history in the child's school disciplinary file or in some other confidential 
location;  
(b) the destruction of the child offense history upon the child's completion of secondary 
school or upon reaching twenty-one years of age;  and  
(c) limiting access to the child's school disciplinary file to school personnel.  This access 
must only occur when necessary and appropriate to meet and adequately address the 
educational needs of the child.  

(F) When requested, the department must provide the victim of a crime with the name of 
the child and the following information retained by the department concerning the child 
charged with the crime:  

(1) other basic descriptive information, including but not limited to, a photograph;  

(2) information about the juvenile justice system;  

(3) the status and disposition of the delinquency action including hearing dates, times, 
and locations;  

(4) services available to victims of child crime;  and  

(5) recommendations produced by the department for the court for the purpose of a 
dispositional hearing.  

(G) The department or the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division, or both, must 
provide to the Attorney General, a solicitor, or a law enforcement agency, upon request, 
a copy of a child offense history for criminal justice purposes.  This information must not 
be disseminated except as authorized in Section 63-19-2030.  The department and the 
South Carolina Law Enforcement Division must maintain the child offense history of a 
person for the same period as for offenses committed by an adult.  

(H) Other information retained by the department may be provided to the Attorney 
General, a solicitor, or a law enforcement agency pursuant to an ongoing criminal 
investigation or prosecution.  

(I) The department may fingerprint and photograph a child upon the filing of a petition, 
release from detention, release on house arrest, or commitment to a juvenile 
correctional institution.  Fingerprints and photographs taken by the department remain 
confidential and must not be transmitted to the State Law Enforcement Division, the 
Federal Bureau of Investigation, or another agency or person, except for the purpose of:  

(1) aiding the department in apprehending an escapee from the department;  
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(2) assisting the Missing Persons Information Center in the location or identification of a 
missing or runaway child;  

(3) locating and identifying a child who fails to appear in court as summoned;  

(4) locating a child who is the subject of a house arrest order;  or (5) as otherwise 
provided in this section.  

(J) Nothing in this section shall be construed to waive any statutory or common law 
privileges attached to the department's internal reports or to information contained in the 
file of a child under the supervision or custody of the department.  
 
SECTION 63-19-2030. Law enforcement records.  
 
(A) Except as provided herein, law enforcement records and information identifying 
children pursuant to this chapter are confidential and may not be disclosed directly or 
indirectly to anyone, other than those entitled under this chapter to receive the 
information.  

(B) Law enforcement records of children must be kept separate from records of adults.  
Information identifying a child must not be open to public inspection, but the remainder 
of these records are public records.  

(C) Law enforcement agencies must maintain admission and release records on 
children held in secure custody, nonsecure custody, or both.  The records must include 
the times and dates of admission and release from secure and nonsecure custody and, 
if appropriate, the times and dates of transfer from one custody status to another.  

(D) Law enforcement information or records of children created pursuant to the 
provisions of this chapter may be shared among law enforcement agencies, solicitors' 
offices, the Attorney General, the department, the Department of Mental Health, the 
Department of Corrections, and the Department of Probation, Parole and Pardon 
Services for criminal justice purposes without a court order.  

(E) Incident reports in which a child is the subject are to be provided to the victim of a 
crime pursuant to Section 16-3-1520.  Incident reports, including information identifying 
a child, must be provided by law enforcement to the principal of the school in which the 
child is enrolled when the child has been charged with any of the following offenses:  

(1) a violent crime, as defined in Section 16-1-60;  

(2) an offense that would carry a maximum term of imprisonment of fifteen years or 
more if committed by an adult;  

(3) a crime in which a weapon, as defined in Section 59-63-370, was used;  

(4) assault and battery against school personnel, as defined in Section 16-3-612;  

(5) assault and battery of a high and aggravated nature committed on school grounds or 
at a school-sponsored event against any person affiliated with the school in an official 
capacity;  or  

(6) distribution or trafficking in unlawful drugs, as defined in Article 3, Chapter 53 of Title 
44.  
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Incident reports involving other offenses must be provided upon request of the principal.  
This information must be maintained by the principal in the manner set forth in Section 
63-19-2020(E) and must be forwarded with the child's permanent school records if the 
child transfers to another school or school district.  

(F) A child charged with any offense may be photographed by the law enforcement 
agency that takes the child into custody.  If the child is taken into secure custody and 
detained, the detention facility must photograph the child upon admission. These 
photographs may only be disseminated for criminal justice purposes or to assist the 
Missing Persons Information Center in the location or identification of a missing or 
runaway child.  

(G) A child charged with an offense that would carry a maximum term of imprisonment 
of five years or more if committed by an adult must be fingerprinted by the law 
enforcement agency that takes the child into custody.  If the child is taken into secure 
custody and detained, the detention facility must fingerprint the child upon admission.  
In addition, a law enforcement agency may petition the court for an order to fingerprint a 
child when:  

(1) the child is charged with any other offense;  or  

(2) the law enforcement agency has probable cause to suspect the child of committing 
any offense.  

(H) The fingerprint records of a child must be kept separate from the fingerprint records 
of adults.  The fingerprint records of a child must be transmitted to the files of the State 
Law Enforcement Division.  

(I) The fingerprint records of a child may be transmitted by the State Law Enforcement 
Division to the files of the Federal Bureau of Investigation only when the child has been 
adjudicated delinquent for having committed an offense that would carry a maximum 
term of imprisonment of five years or more if committed by an adult.  

(J) The fingerprint records of a child adjudicated delinquent for an offense that would 
carry a maximum term of imprisonment of five years or more if committed by an adult 
must be provided by the State Law Enforcement Division or the law enforcement 
agency who took the child into custody to a law enforcement agency upon request by 
that agency for criminal justice purposes or to assist the Missing Person Information 
Center in the location or identification of a missing or runaway child.  

(K) The fingerprints and any record created by the South Carolina Law Enforcement 
Division as a result of the receipt of fingerprints of a child pursuant to this section must 
not be disclosed for any purpose not specifically authorized by law or court order.  

(L) Upon notification that a child has not been adjudicated delinquent for an offense that 
would carry a maximum term of imprisonment of five years or more if committed by an 
adult, the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division and the law enforcement agency 
who took the child into custody must destroy the fingerprints and all records created as 
a result of such information.  
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SECTION 63-19-2040. Release of information.  
 

(A) The name, identity, or picture of a child under the jurisdiction of the court, pursuant 
to this chapter, must not be provided to a newspaper or radio or television station 
unless:  

(1) authorized by court order;  

(2) the solicitor has petitioned the court to waive the child to circuit court;  

(3) the child has been bound over to a court which would have jurisdiction of the offense 
if committed by an adult;  or  

(4) the child has been adjudicated delinquent in court for one of the following offenses:  
(a) a violent crime, as defined in Section 16-1-60;  
(b) grand larceny of a motor vehicle;  
(c) a crime in which a weapon, as defined in Section 59-63-370, was used;  or  
(d) distribution or trafficking in unlawful drugs, as defined in Article 3, Chapter 53 of Title 
44.  

(B) When a child is bound over to the jurisdiction of the circuit court, the provisions of 
this section pertaining to the confidentiality of fingerprints and identity do not apply.  

(C) The provisions of this section do not prohibit the distribution of information pursuant 
to the provisions of Article 7, Chapter 3 of Title 23.  
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EXPUNGEMENT OF JUVENILE RECORDS  
 
 
 
 
OVERVIEW 
 

Expungement is the destruction of a juvenile’s official records relating to being 
taken into custody, the charges filed against the child, the adjudication, and 
disposition. A person wishing to have his juvenile record expunged must petition 
the court for an order of expungement.  If an expungement order is granted, that 
person's records must be completely destroyed. The effect of an expungement 
order is to “restore the person in the contemplation of the law to the status he 
occupied before being taken into custody.” § 63-19-2050(C). 

 
Once the court grants a person an order of expungement, the person may not be 
found guilty of perjury or giving false statement for failing to acknowledge the 
charge or adjudication in response to an inquiry made of the person for any 
purpose. Id. 
 

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
 

Anyone seeking to have his juvenile record expunged: 

 must be at least 18;  

 must have successfully completed any court-ordered sentence; and  

 must be free of any subsequent criminal charges. § 63-19-2050(A). 
 
Even if someone is eligible to have his juvenile records expunged, expungement 
is discretionary with the judge. § 63-19-2050(A). 

 
RESTRICTIONS 
 

 No one under 18 may petition the court to have his juvenile record expunged. 
§ 63-19-2050(A). 

 No one who has a prior adjudication for an offense that would carry a 
maximum term of imprisonment of five years or more if committed by an adult 
may petition the court to have his juvenile record expunged. Id.  

 Only status and nonviolent offenses can be expunged. An adjudication for a 
violent crime cannot be expunged. § 63-19-2050(B).  
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EXPUNGEMENT APPLICATION PROCESS 

The Motion and Order for the Expungement of Juvenile Arrest Records (SCCA 
492) was revised and approved for use in the Family Courts by order of Chief 
Justice Toal in July 2009. This form is available on the South Carolina Judicial 
Department website at www.sccourts.org. 

The following steps must be taken to expunge a juvenile’s record: 

1. The applicant must apply to the solicitor in the circuit in which the offense 
was committed.  

2. The applicant must pay the solicitor in the form of separate certified 
checks or money orders:  

a. a non-refundable administrative fee of $250 made payable to the 
solicitor,  

b. a non-refundable SLED verification fee of $25 made payable to 
SLED, when applicable,  

3. a filing fee of $35.00 made payable to the county clerk of court, when 
applicable.  

4. The solicitor will send the application to DJJ and DJJ will return the 
application to the solicitor, either granting or denying approval.  

5. If the application is approved by DJJ, the solicitor will send the application 
to SLED to verify that the offense is eligible for expungement, as provided 
by state law.  

6. SLED will return the application to the solicitor and indicate if the offense 
is eligible for expungement.  

7. If the offense is deemed eligible by SLED, the solicitor will obtain all 
necessary signatures, including the family court judge’s signature. 

8. Once the order is signed by the family court judge, the solicitor will file the 
order with the clerk of court.  

9. The solicitor will provide copies of the expungement order to all pertinent 
governmental agencies as well as the applicant or the applicant’s attorney.  

 
 

 
 
 
 

http://www.sccourts.org/forms/dspFormID.cfm?formID=SCCA492
http://www.sccourts.org/forms/dspFormID.cfm?formID=SCCA492
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SECTION 63-19-2050. Petition for record destruction.  
 
(A) A person who has been taken into custody for, charged with, or adjudicated 
delinquent for having committed a status or a nonviolent offense may petition the court 
for an order destroying all official records relating to:  
(1) being taken into custody;  
(2) the charges filed against the child;  
(3) the adjudication; and  
(4) disposition.  
 
The granting of the order is in the court's discretion.  However, a person may not 
petition the court if he has a prior adjudication for an offense that would carry a 
maximum term of imprisonment of five years or more if committed by an adult. In 
addition, the court must not grant the order unless it finds that the person who is 
seeking to have the records destroyed is at least eighteen years of age, has 
successfully completed any dispositional sentence imposed, and has not been 
subsequently charged with any criminal offense.  
 
(B) An adjudication for a violent crime, as defined in Section 16-1-60, must not be 
expunged.  
 
(C) If the expungement order is granted by the court, no evidence of the records may be 
retained by any law enforcement agency or by any municipal, county, state agency, or 
department.  The effect of the order is to restore the person in the contemplation of the 
law to the status the person occupied before being taken into custody. No person to 
whom the order has been entered may be held thereafter under any provision of any 
law to be guilty of perjury or otherwise giving false statement by reason of failing to 
recite or acknowledge the charge or adjudication in response to an inquiry made of the 
person for any purpose.  
 
(D) For purposes of this section, an adjudication is considered a previous adjudication 
only if it occurred prior to the date the subsequent offense was committed. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

EXPUNGEMENT STATUTE 
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ADJUDICATIVE COMPETENCE  
 

 
OVERVIEW  

 
Due process requires that a defendant be competent to stand trial, which 
includes capacity to sufficiently understand the nature of the proceedings and to 
assist counsel in his defense. In Drope v. Missouri, 420 U.S. 162 (1975), the 
Court held that “[a] person whose mental condition is such that he lacks the 
capacity to understand the nature and object of the proceedings against him, to 
consult with counsel and to assist in preparing his defense may not be subjected 
to trial.” State v. Bell, 360 S.E.2d 706 (S.C. 1987). 
 
Adjudicative competence is usually raised at the pretrial stage of delinquency 
proceedings, but it can be raised at any point in the proceedings, including post-
trial. 
 

STANDARD FOR ADJUDICATIVE COMPETENCE  
 

In Dusky v. United States, the Court adopted the standard for competence to 
stand trial which is followed across the country: whether the defendant “has 
sufficient present ability to consult with his lawyer with a reasonable degree of 
rational understanding - and whether he has a rational as well as factual 
understanding of the proceedings against him.” Dusky v. United States, 362 U.S. 
402 (1960); cited in State v. Reed, 503 S.E.2d 747 (S.C. 1998), State v. Hill, 604 
S.E.2d 696 (S.C 2004). 
 
In Godinez v. Moran, 509 U.S. 389 (1993), the Court held that the competency 
standard for pleading guilty (or waiving the right to counsel) is the same as the 
competency standard for standing trial established in Dusky. 
 

ELEMENTS OF COMPETENCE TO STAND TRIAL - Excerpted from the National 
Juvenile Defender Center’s “Toward Developmentally Appropriate Practice: A 
Juvenile Court Training Curriculum.”  
 
Analyses of competence to stand trial in individual cases typically require 
information related to two major elements of competence as provided in 
definitions. These are abilities related to “factual understanding” and abilities 
related to “rational understanding.” 
 
1. Abilities related to “factual understanding” and “rational understanding” of the 

trial process. 
a. Factual understanding refers to the youth’s basic understanding of 

the nature of the proceedings, including: 

 Nature and seriousness of the charges 
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 The purpose of a trial process and possible penalties 

 Possible pleas, and the nature of plea agreements 

  The role of various participants in the process, especially 
defense counsel and, including, the youth himself as the 
defendant 

 Rights of the youth throughout the process 
b. Rational understanding (sometimes called “appreciation” of the 

significance of what one factually understands) refers to the youth’s 
ability to apply this information in a manner that does not impair 
decision making. Several reasons for limitations often seen in 
youth’s rational understanding may be relevant: 

 Understanding is often limited by the youth’s auditory and 
visual processing problems. 

 Immaturity may impair some youth’s abilities to perceive 
risks of various decisions realistically, to weigh their long-
range consequences, or to decide autonomously rather than 
on the basis of perceptions of their peers. 

 Mental disorders that may distort or “override” factual 
understanding (for example, if they involve beliefs that distort 
the youth’s perceptions of the significance of the trial 
process). 
 

2. Abilities associated with assisting counsel. 
a. Abilities associated with communication and trust. For example: 

 Ability to comprehend counsel’s inquiries 

 Ability to discern what is relevant to counsel’s inquiry 

 Ability to articulate the relevant information related to 
counsel’s inquiry 

b. Must be able to manage the demands of trial process. For example: 

 Must be able to endure stress of trial 

 Must be able to maintain demeanor 

 Must be able to testify relevantly, if necessary 
 

3. The role of decision making ability. Deficits in abilities to make autonomous 
decisions may arise because of problems related to immaturity in all of the 
above areas. They may also arise due to an inability to understand factually 
or to apply the information rationally to one’s case. Any of these may reduce 
the youth’s ability to assist counsel. Thus, an examination of the youth’s 
ability to use information in a decision making process is especially important. 

 
Thinking about a youth’s competence to stand trial requires three broad 
considerations. 
 
1. Functional abilities. What does the youth actually know, or what can the youth 

actually do, that is related to the factual and rational understanding 
components of competence to stand trial? 
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2. Causal explanation. If the youth has deficits in relevant functional abilities, 

what is their cause? 
a. The causes may be disabilities, immature cognitive or psychosocial 

development, intellectual disabilities, or mental disorders. 
b. The mere presence of deficits together with one of these possible 

causes is not sufficient for the analysis. One must show a logical 
connection between the deficits and the presumed cause. 
 

3. Situational factors. Are the demands of the youth’s trial situation such that the 
deficits are sufficiently significant to warrant a finding of incompetence? Not 
all delinquency proceedings are alike in their demands. Certain delinquency 
proceedings may require the youth to understand and appreciate different 
concepts. 

 
COMPETENCY EVALUATION 

 
Authorization for Evaluation  
 
Judges have a duty to order a competency examination if there is reason to 
believe that a person charged with a criminal offense is not fit to stand trial.  
Section 44-23-410 provides for pretrial evaluations of a juvenile’s competence to 
stand trial as follows: 
 
When a family court judge has reason to believe a juvenile is unable to 
understand the nature of the proceedings against him or to assist in his defense 
due to lack of mental capacity, he or she shall order a competency evaluation: 

 by two examiners designated by DMH, if the juvenile is believed to have a 
mental illness; 

 by two examiners designated by DDSN if the juvenile is believed to have 
intellectual disability or a related disability; or  

 by examiners from each agency, if the juvenile is believed to have both 
mental illness and intellectual disability or a related disability. 

 
** The judge also has the option of committing the juvenile to a DMH or DDSN 
facility for up to 15 days for “examination and observation.” § 44-23-410(A)(2). 
 
If the DMH examiners find indications of intellectual disability or a related 
disability but not mental illness, DMH shall inform the court that the juvenile is 
“not mentally ill” and should be evaluated by DDSN instead of DMH. Likewise, if 
the DDSN examiners find indications of mental illness but not intellectual 
disability or a related disability, DDSN shall inform the court that the juvenile does 
“not have intellectual disability” and should be evaluated for competency to stand 
trial by DMH instead of DDSN. If either DMH or DDSN finds a preliminary 
indication of dual diagnosis of mental illness and intellectual disability or a related 
disability, this must be reported to the court with a recommendation that one 

http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=1001530&DocName=SCSTS44%2D23%2D410&FindType=L&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.08&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=1001530&DocName=SCSTS44%2D23%2D410&FindType=L&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.08&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
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DMH examiner and one DDSN examiner be designated to further evaluate the 
juvenile and render a final report on the juvenile’s mental capacity. §44-23-
410(D).   
 
Despite the mandatory language of § 44-23-410, the ordering of a competency 
examination is within the judge’s discretion, and absent a clear showing of an 
abuse of this discretion, a refusal to grant an examination will not be disturbed on 
appeal. State v. Singleton, 472 S.E.2d 640 (S.C. App. 1996). 
 
The juvenile may also arrange for his own examination by an independent 
examiner. § 44-23-410(C). 
 
SCCA487 - Order for Competency to Stand Trial Evaluation can be found on 
the South Carolina Judicial website. 

 
Time Requirements  

 
The evaluation is to be conducted within thirty days of receipt of the court's order. 
§ 44-23-410(A)(1). The court may commit the juvenile to a DMH or DDSN facility 
for up to 15 days for “examination and observation.” § 44-23-410(A)(2). DMH or 
DDSN may apply for an extension of up to 15 more days to complete the 
examination or the “examination and observation” if necessary. § 44-23-410(B).   
 
Evaluation Report 

 
The examiners are required to issue a written report to the court: 

 within 10 days of the examination under § 44-23-410(A)(1), or 

 at the conclusion of the observation period under § 44-23-410(A)(2). 
 

 The report shall include: 

 a diagnosis of the juvenile’s mental condition;  and 

 clinical findings regarding whether or not the juvenile is capable of 
understanding the proceedings against him and assisting in his own defense, 
and if not, whether there is a substantial probability that he will attain that 
capacity in the foreseeable future. § 44-23-420(A). 

 
The report shall not contain any findings regarding insanity unless further 
examination on the question of insanity is ordered by the court. § 44-23-420(B). 

 
COMPETENCY HEARING (BLAIR HEARING) 

 
Upon receiving the evaluation report from the designated examiners, the court is 
required to set a date for a competency hearing and provide the juvenile and his 
attorney with notice of the hearing. § 44-23-430. See also State v. Blair, 273 
S.E.2d 536 (1981).  
 

http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=711&SerialNum=1996136708&FindType=Y&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.08&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
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The examination report is admissible as evidence in the competency hearing 
under § 44-23-420(C), and it is a statutory exception to the rule against hearsay. 
State v. Franklin, 456 S.E.2d 357 (1995). However, in Hudgins v. Moore, 524 
S.E.2d 105 (S.C. 1999), the court stated that information in a court-ordered 
mental health examination is inadmissible "for purposes other than that ordered 
by the court." (citing State v. Myers, 67 S.E.2d 506 (1951)); See also State v. 
Thompson, 495 S.E.2d 437 (1998) (attorney-client privilege prohibits use of 
defendant's communications to a mental health expert for impeachment). 
 
Finding that juvenile is fit to stand trial 
 
If the court finds the juvenile fit to stand trial, the delinquency proceedings 
resume. § 44-23-430. It is important to note, however, that if at any subsequent 
point in the proceedings, the court has reason to question the juvenile’s ability to 
understand the proceedings or assist counsel in his defense, the issue of 
competency may be revisited. 
 
Finding that juvenile is unfit and unlikely to become fit to stand trial in the 
foreseeable future 
 
If the court finds the juvenile unfit to stand trial and unlikely to become fit to stand 
trial in the foreseeable future, the solicitor is required to initiate judicial admission 
proceedings within 14 days excluding weekends and holidays, during which time 
the court may order the juvenile hospitalized or continued in detention if already 
detained. §44-23-430(2). 

 
Finding that juvenile is unfit but likely to become fit to stand trial in the 
foreseeable future  
 
If the court finds the juvenile unfit to stand trial but likely to become fit to stand 
trial in the foreseeable future, the court shall order him hospitalized up to an 
additional 60 days. If the juvenile is found to be unfit at the conclusion of the 
additional period of treatment, the solicitor shall initiate judicial admission 
proceedings within 14 days, excluding weekends and holidays, during which time 
the juvenile shall remain hospitalized. §44-23-430(3). 
 
A finding of unfitness to stand trial: 

 “does not preclude any legal objection to the prosecution of the [juvenile] 
which is susceptible of fair determination prior to trial” and without the 
defendant’s participation. § 44-23-440.  

 May be reexamined at any time on the motion of the court or either party. 
§ 44-23-450. 

 
DISCHARGE FOLLOWING CIVIL COMMITMENT 
 

When the hospital determines a juvenile with pending charges no longer requires 
hospitalization, the family court shall be notified and shall conduct a new hearing 

http://www.casemakerlegal.com/SearchResult.aspx?searchFields%5bstate%5d=&query=495+S.E.2d+437&juriStatesHidden=&searchCriteria=Citation&tabAction=ALLC&dtypeName=&headAdmin=&headCaselaw=&headStatutes=&searchType=overview&jurisdictions.allStates=on&jurisdictions.includeRelatedFederal=on&pinCite=y
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on the juvenile's fitness to stand trial. If the court finds the juvenile remains unfit 
to stand trial, it must order the juvenile’s release from the hospital. If the court 
finds the juvenile fit to stand trial, it may order that delinquency proceedings be 
resumed, or dismiss the charges and order the juvenile released. § 44-23-460. 
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Dusky v. United States, 362 U.S. 402 (1960). 
In Dusky, the Court adopted the legal standard of competence that asks whether 
the defendant “has sufficient present ability to consult with a lawyer with a 
reasonable degree of rational understanding and whether he has a rational as 
well as factual understanding of the proceeding against him.” (cited in State v. 
Reed, 503 S.E.2d 747 (S.C. 1998), State v. Hill, 604 S.E.2d 696 (S.C 2004)).  

 
Drope v. Missouri, 420 U.S. 162 (1975). 
In Drope v. Missouri, the Court held that a person “whose mental condition is 
such that he lacks the capacity to understand the nature and object of the 
proceedings against him, to consult with counsel, and to assist in preparing his 
defense may not be subjected to a trial." 
 
Jeter v. State, 417 S.E.2d 594 (S.C. 1992).  
The court held that due process prohibits the conviction of a person who is 
mentally incompetent (citing Bishop v. United States, 350 U.S. 961 (1956).   
 
State v. Blair, 273 S.E.2d 536 (S.C. 1981). 
Blair established that defendant is entitled to a pretrial hearing on competency to 
stand trial (Blair Hearing). 
 
State v. Lambert, 225 S.E.2d 340 (S.C. 1976),  
The Lambert Court held that the test of competency to enter a plea is the same 
as required to stand trial. 
 
State v. Reed, 503 S.E.2d 747 (S.C. 1998).  
In State v. Reed, the court held that the defendant bears the burden of proving 
his incompetence by a “preponderance of the evidence.”  

 
State v. Locklair, 535 S.E.2d 420 (2000). 
In State v. Locklair, the court held that the decision of whether to order a 
competency examination rests in the trial judge's discretion, and the trial judge’s 
decision will not be overturned on appeal absent a clear showing of an abuse of 
that discretion. See also § 44-23-410. 
 

 
 
 
 

COMPETENCY CASE LAW 

http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=708&SerialNum=1956201274&FindType=Y&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.08&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
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SECTION 44-23-410. Determining fitness to stand trial; time for conducting 
examination; extension; independent examination; competency distinguished.  

(A) Whenever a judge of the circuit court or family court has reason to believe that a 
person on trial before him, charged with the commission of a criminal offense or civil 
contempt, is not fit to stand trial because the person lacks the capacity to understand 
the proceedings against him or to assist in his own defense as a result of a lack of 
mental capacity, the judge shall:  
(1) order examination of the person by two examiners designated by the Department of 
Mental Health if the person is suspected of having a mental illness or designated by the 
Department of Disabilities and Special Needs if the person is suspected of having 
intellectual disability or having a related disability or by both sets of examiners if the 
person is suspected of having both mental illness and intellectual disability or a related 
disability.  The examination must be made within thirty days after the receipt of the 
court's order and may be conducted in any suitable place unless otherwise designated 
by the court;  or  
(2) order the person committed for examination and observation to an appropriate 
facility of the Department of Mental Health or the Department of Disabilities and Special 
Needs for a period not to exceed fifteen days.  

(B) Before the expiration of the examination period or the examination and observation 
period, the Department of Mental Health or the Department of Disabilities and Special 
Needs, as appropriate, may apply to a judge designated by the Chief Justice of the 
South Carolina Supreme Court for an extension of time up to fifteen days to complete 
the examination or the examination and observation.  

(C) If the person or the person's counsel requests, the court may authorize the person 
to be examined additionally by a designated examiner of the person's choice.  However, 
the court may prescribe the time and conditions under which the independent 
examination is conducted.  

(D) If the examiners designated by the Department of Mental Health find indications of 
intellectual disability or a related disability but not mental illness, the department shall 
not render an evaluation on the person's mental capacity, but shall inform the court that 
the person is "not mentally ill" and recommend that the person should be evaluated for 
competency to stand trial by the Department of Disabilities and Special Needs.  If the 
examiners designated by the Department of Disabilities and Special Needs find 
indications of mental illness but not intellectual disability or a related disability, the 
department shall not render an evaluation on the person's mental capacity, but shall 
inform the court that the person does "not have intellectual disability or a related 
disability" and recommend that the person should be evaluated for competency to stand 
trial by the Department of Mental Health.  If either the Department of Mental Health or 
the Department of Disabilities and Special Needs finds a preliminary indication of a dual 
diagnosis of mental illness and intellectual disability or a related disability, this 
preliminary finding must be reported to the court with the recommendation that one 
examiner from the Department of Mental Health and one examiner from the Department 

FITNESS TO STAND TRIAL STATUTES 
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of Disabilities and Special Needs be designated to further evaluate the person and 
render a final report on the person's mental capacity.  
 

SECTION 44-23-420. Designated examiners' report.  
 

(A) Within ten days of examination under Section 44-23-410(A)(1) or at the conclusion 
of the observation period under Section 44-23-410(A)(2), the designated examiners 
shall make a written report to the court which shall include:  
(1) a diagnosis of the person's mental condition;  and  
(2) clinical findings bearing on the issues of whether or not the person is capable of 
understanding the proceedings against him and assisting in his own defense, and if 
there is a substantial probability that he will attain that capacity in the foreseeable future.  

(B) The report of the designated examiners shall not contain any findings nor shall the 
examiners testify on the question of insanity should it be raised as a defense unless 
further examination on the question of insanity is ordered by the court.  

(C) The report is admissible as evidence in subsequent hearings pursuant to Section 
44-23-430.  
 

SECTION 44-23-430. Hearing on fitness to stand trial;  effect of outcome.  
 

Upon receiving the report of the designated examiners, the court shall set a date for and 
notify the person and his counsel of a hearing on the issue of his fitness to stand trial. If, 
in the judgment of the designated examiners or the superintendent of the facility if the 
person has been detained, the person is in need of hospitalization, the court with 
criminal jurisdiction over the person may authorize his detention in a suitable facility until 
the hearing.  The person shall be entitled to be present at the hearings and to be 
represented by counsel.  If upon completion of the hearing and consideration of the 
evidence the court finds that:  
(1) the person is fit to stand trial, it shall order the criminal proceedings resumed;  or  
(2) the person is unfit to stand trial for the reasons set forth in Section 44-23-410 and is 
unlikely to become fit to stand trial in the foreseeable future, the solicitor responsible for 
the criminal prosecution shall initiate judicial admission proceedings pursuant to 
Sections 44-17-510 through 44-17-610 or Section 44-20-450 within fourteen days, 
excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays, during which time the court may order the 
person hospitalized, may order the person to continue in detention if detained, or, if on 
bond, may permit the person to remain on bond;  or  
(3) the person is unfit to stand trial but likely to become fit in the foreseeable future, the 
court shall order him hospitalized up to an additional sixty days.  If the person is found 
to be unfit at the conclusion of the additional period of treatment, the solicitor 
responsible for the criminal prosecution shall initiate judicial admission proceedings 
pursuant to Sections 44-17-510 through 44-17-610 or Section 44-20-450 within fourteen 
days, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays, during which time the person shall 
remain hospitalized.  
 

Subject to the provisions of Section 44-23-460, persons against whom criminal charges 
are pending shall have all the rights and privileges of other involuntarily hospitalized 
persons. Persons against whom criminal charges are pending but who are not 
involuntarily committed following judicial admission proceedings shall be released.  
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SECTION 44-23-440. Finding of unfitness to stand trial shall not preclude defense on 
merits.  
 

A finding of unfitness to stand trial under Section 44-23-430 does not preclude any legal 
objection to the prosecution of the individual which is susceptible of fair determination 
prior to trial and without the personal participation of the defendant.  
 

If either the person found unfit to stand trial or his counsel believes he can establish a 
defense of not guilty to the charges other than the defense of insanity, he may request 
an opportunity to offer a defense on the merits to the court.  The court may require 
affidavits and evidence in support of such request.  If the court grants such request, the 
evidence of the State and the defendant shall be heard before the court sitting without a 
jury.  If after hearing such petition the court finds the evidence is such as would entitle 
the defendant to a directed verdict of acquittal, it shall dismiss the indictment or other 
charges.  
 

SECTION 44-23-450. Reexamination of finding of unfitness.  
 

A finding of unfitness to stand trial under Section 44-23-430 may be reexamined by the 
court upon its own motion, or that of the prosecuting attorney, the person found unfit to 
stand trial, his legal guardian, or his counsel.  Upon receipt of the petition, the court 
shall order an examination by two designated examiners whose report shall be 
submitted to the court and shall include underlying facts and conclusions.  The court 
shall notify the individual, his legal guardian, and his counsel of a hearing at least ten 
days prior to such hearing.  The court shall conduct the proceedings in accordance with 
Section 44-23-430, except that any petition that is filed within six months after the initial 
finding of unfitness or within six months after the filing of a previous petition under this 
section shall be dismissed by the court without a hearing.  
 

SECTION 44-23-460. Procedure when superintendent believes person charged with 
crime no longer requires hospitalization.  
 

When the superintendent of a hospital or intellectual disability facility believes that a 
person against whom criminal charges are pending no longer requires hospitalization, 
the court in which criminal charges are pending shall be notified and shall set a date for 
and notify the person of a hearing on the issue of fitness pursuant to Section 44-23-430.  
At such time, the person shall be entitled to assistance of counsel:  
(1) if upon the completion of the hearing, the court finds the person unfit to stand trial, it 
shall order his release from the hospital;  and  
(2) if such a person has been hospitalized for a period of time exceeding the maximum 
possible period of imprisonment to which the person could have been sentenced if 
convicted as charged, the court shall order the charges dismissed and the person 
released;  or  
(3) the court may order that criminal proceedings against a person who has been found 
fit to stand trial be resumed, or the court may dismiss criminal charges and order the 
person released if so much time has elapsed that prosecution would not be in the 
interest of justice.  
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SECTION 44-24-90. Notification to child and guardian of petition; contents of petition; 
right to counsel;  examination and conclusions.  
 
(A) Proceedings for judicial admission to a treatment program or facility begin by an 
interested person filing a written petition with the court of the county where the child is 
present or where the child is a resident.  The petition must state the factual basis of the 
person's belief that:  
(1) the child is in need of treatment;  
(2) treatment may be obtained only through an involuntary admission.  

(B) The petition may be accompanied by a certificate of an examiner stating that he has 
examined the child and is of the opinion the child is a child in need of treatment.  The 
certificate or written statement must contain the underlying facts upon which the 
examiner or petitioner bases his conclusions.  

(C) Upon receiving a petition the court shall give the child and his legal guardian, the 
guardian ad litem, if one has been appointed, and other interested persons notice by 
certified mail of the petition and of the child's right to counsel.  Every reasonable effort 
must be made to notify the child's natural parents of the petition.  

(D) Within three days after a petition for judicial commitment is filed, exclusive of 
Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays, the court shall appoint counsel to represent the 
child if counsel has not been retained in the child's behalf.  The court shall appoint two 
examiners, one of whom must be a licensed physician, to examine the child and report 
to the court their findings as to the child's mental condition and the need, if any, for 
treatment.  If the child refuses examination, the court may require a law enforcement 
officer to take the child into custody and to transport him for examination by the two 
examiners.  After the examination, the child must be released.  A record of the 
examination must be made and offered to his counsel.  If the conclusions of the 
examination are that the child is a child in need of treatment, the underlying facts must 
be recorded as well as the conclusion.  The child or his guardian may request an 
additional examination by an independent examiner.  The examination must be 
conducted at public expense.  
 
SECTION 44-24-100. Notice of hearing for emergency or judicial admission.  
 
Notice of the hearing for an emergency admission or a judicial admission must be given 
to the child or his guardian, his counsel, and other interested persons at least five days 
before the hearing, exclusive of Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays.  The notice 
must include the time, date, and place of the hearing, a clear statement in plain and 
simple language of the purpose of the proceedings, and the possible consequences to 
the individual for whom involuntary admission is sought and a copy of the petition or 
affidavit and supporting certificates of the examining physician.  
 

JUDICIAL COMMITMENT STATUTES 
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SECTION 44-24-110. Examiners' reports;  disposition of child where report does not 
recommend judicial admission, recommends judicial admission, or is divided.  
 
(A) The written reports filed with the court by the designated examiners must include, 
but are not limited to, questions relating to whether or not the child poses an imminent 
danger to himself or others, whether or not recent overt acts are indicative of a child in 
need of treatment, and whether or not a less restrictive placement is recommended and 
available.  

(B) If the report of the examiners is that the child is not in need of judicial admission, the 
court shall dismiss the petition and the child must be discharged immediately by the 
place of admission if the child has been admitted to a treatment facility or program.  

(C) If the report of the examiners is that the child is a child in need of judicial admission, 
the court may order that the child be detained at the place of his admission or in another 
treatment facility or program.  

(D) If the report of the examiners is divided, the court may terminate the proceedings or 
shall designate a third examiner, who must be a psychiatrist or psychologist trained or 
experienced in the treatment of children, and order that the three examiners render a 
majority opinion within three days exclusive of Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays.  
 
SECTION 44-24-120. Removal of proceedings to another county.  
 
The child or the child's guardian may request removal of the proceedings to another 
county of the State when the convenience of witnesses and the ends of justice require 
it.  When the place of the proceedings is changed, all other proceedings must be held in 
the county to which the place of hearing is changed, unless otherwise provided by the 
filed consent of the parties in writing or order of the court.  The papers must be filed or 
transferred accordingly.  
 
SECTION 44-24-130. Hearing;  location;  testimony;  rules of evidence;  transcript.  
 
A person to whom notice is required may appear at the hearing, testify and, within the 
discretion of the court, present and cross-examine witnesses, and the court may receive 
the testimony of other persons.  The court may hold the hearing in a suitable location in 
the State, without regard to whether the location is in the county of the court conducting 
the hearing, when the judge is satisfied that the health and welfare of the child 
concerned is best served by conducting the hearing in a location other than the court.  
The hearing may be conducted in an informal manner consistent with orderly procedure.  
The court shall follow the rules of evidence applicable to the probate courts in receiving 
evidence.  The child or his legal guardian may have a free transcript of the record of the 
proceedings.  
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SECTION 44-24-140. Determination after presentation of evidence.  
 
(A) If the court finds, after presentation of all the evidence, that the child is not in need of 
judicial admission, the court shall order that he must be discharged if he has been 
hospitalized before the hearing.  

(B) If upon completion of the hearing and consideration of the record the court finds 
upon clear and convincing evidence that the child is in need of judicial admission, the 
court may order treatment in the department or at another program or facility that 
agrees to accept the child.  
 
SECTION 44-24-150. Psychiatric evaluations of children;  notification of victims.  
 
(A) A family court may order that a child, who is otherwise before the court on another 
matter, be given a psychiatric evaluation by the appropriate community mental health 
center.  The community mental health center shall schedule the child for the ordered 
evaluation as soon as possible and shall provide the family court with a written report of 
the results of the evaluation within five working days following the evaluation.  

(B) If the community mental health center reports to the family court that the child is in 
need of an inpatient psychiatric evaluation, the family court may commit the child to a 
hospital designated by the department for a psychiatric evaluation.  An order of 
commitment for psychiatric evaluation may not exceed fifteen days.  Upon written 
request by the department to the court, the evaluation period may be extended for no 
more than an additional fifteen days.  Upon notification by the department to the court 
that the evaluation has been completed, the court shall issue an order to implement the 
immediate discharge of the child from the hospital.  

(C) If a psychiatric evaluation indicates a child is in need of judicial admission, the family 
court may:  
(1) defer to the probate court for purposes of commitment to a range of services;  or  
(2) commit to a range of services utilizing the procedures and forms applicable to the 
probate court pursuant to Chapter 23 and Sections 44-24-90 through 44-24-140.  

(D) Any victim of a child charged with a crime and held in detention who is ordered to a 
mental health facility for a psychiatric evaluation must be notified pursuant to Article 15, 
Chapter 3, Title 16 of the child's transfer to or discharge from a mental health facility.  
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To gain a better understanding of adolescent development and mental health issues 
affecting juveniles involved in the family court system, request a copy of Toward 
Developmentally Appropriate Practice: A Juvenile Court Training Curriculum from the 
National Juvenile Defender Center. 
 
Intended for juvenile court judges, defense attorneys, prosecutors, and probation staff, 
the curriculum provides in-depth training materials on the most up-to-date adolescent 
development research and its application to juvenile court practice. As a part of the 
MacArthur Foundation’s project, Models for Change: Systems Reform in Juvenile 
Justice, this curriculum is available to jurisdictions across the country to enhance the 
capacity of professionals to make high-quality, developmentally appropriate decisions 
about the court-involved youth with whom they work. 
 
Each of the five training modules that comprise the curriculum contains comprehensive 
substantive material, as well as interactive training exercises. The modules are 
organized as follows: 
 

 Module One: Adolescent Development provides participants with a working 
knowledge of key aspects of adolescent development and their application to 
decision making at critical junctures in the juvenile court process.  

 Module Two: Screening, Assessing, and Evaluating Youth provides 

professionals with information about forensic evaluations, as well as screening and 

assessment instruments used in juvenile justice systems.  

 Module Three: Special Education and Disability Rights provides an overview of 

education-related disabilities, the laws pertaining to special education and disability 

rights, and the relevance of special education and disability rights for juvenile courts.  

 Module Four: Legal Questions about Youth’s Capacities reviews the legal 

questions in delinquency cases that require information about youth’s capacities, 

including the validity of waivers of Miranda rights, the voluntariness of confessions, 

the competence of youth to participate in the legal process, and the transfer of youth 

to criminal court.  

 Module Five: Communicating with Youth: Interviews and Colloquies describes 

techniques for effective communication with youth involved in the juvenile court 

system, including respondents, witnesses and complaining witnesses. In particular, 

the module covers how professionals can incorporate developmental considerations 

into their communications with youth, whether they are trying to get information from, 

or impart information to, youth.  

To obtain a copy of the Curriculum or to request training based on the Curriculum, go to 

the National Juvenile Defender Center website at http://www.njdc.info/. 

 

MACARTHUR FOUNDATION’S 
JUVENILE COURT TRAINING CURRICULUM 

http://www.njdc/
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DMH INTER-AGENCY INITIATIVES 
 
 

* The following information was obtained from SCDMH’s website January 2013.  
 
The DMH-Division of Children, Adolescents and Their Families (CAF) has 
partnered with other child serving agencies, forming inter-agency initiatives to 
expand and enhance the system of care available to the children and families of 
South Carolina. Several of these initiatives are discussed below.  

 
CHILD MENTAL HEALTH/DJJ INITIATIVES 

 

These initiatives represent a partnership between mental health and juvenile 
justice. They serve to divert youth with serious mental illness and/or serious 
emotional disturbance from the criminal justice system and to ensure that 
children and adolescents who have already penetrated the system have access 
to appropriate care and services. 
 

DMH serves children and adolescents at all levels of the juvenile justice 
spectrum including youth on probation, parole and those committed to the DJJ 
institutions. Mental health professionals are out stationed in county DJJ offices in 
several catchment areas. Diversion programs targeting status offenders are 
available at eight (8) CMHCs. These early intervention programs strive to keep 
youth in home, in school and out of trouble (DJJ). Additionally, the department 
partners with DJJ to provide intensive family services using the Multi-Systemic 
Therapy Model at six (6) CMHCs.  
 

DMH provides services to seriously mentally ill youth committed to DJJ. A federal 
class action law suit filed against DJJ resulted in the formation of a subclass of 
youth classified as seriously mentally ill. The court found that these youth, though 
committed to DJJ, must be transferred to the agency best qualified to treat them, 
DMH. These youth are transferred to DMH for placement in a therapeutic 
setting. However, they remain committed to DJJ and are under the jurisdiction of 
the SC Board of Juvenile Parole. 
 

DJJ AND DSS FAMILY PRESERVATION/MULTI-SYSTEMIC THERAPY 
INITIATIVES 

 

These programs work closely with DJJ and DSS to prevent the removal of 
children from the home and to stabilize and strengthen the child/family's 
functioning and adjustment. Family preservation is an important clinical 
intervention that is often used to reunite children with their families.  
 

SHARED PURCHASE OF RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT SERVICES 
 

This service is primarily a fiscal vehicle through which DMH secures 
proportionate funding from all agencies having some programmatic responsibility 
for the child being served (i.e., the child is eligible for the services of multiple 
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state agencies). Upon making a determination that a child has multiple needs 
that require the services of other child-serving agencies, a staffing is convened 
by the "lead agency" for the purposes of developing a comprehensive and 
coordinated treatment plan, and determining each agency's proportionate share 
of the costs. In the case of children in DSS custody, agencies contribute annually 
to a legislatively-mandated pooled services fund, which can then be accessed to 
pay service costs for eligible consumers. 

 
INTERAGENCY SYSTEM OF CARE FOR EMOTIONALLY DISTURBED 
CHILDREN (ISCEDC) 
 

The purpose of this program is to establish a pooled services fund, and prescribe 
an interagency service planning process for addressing the needs of emotionally-
disturbed children in DSS custody. ISCEDC is a legislatively-mandated program 
aimed at placing the decision-making responsibility and funding authority for 
therapeutic residential placements at the local level. County-based Interagency 
Staffing Teams (IST), which include a representative from DMH, review clinical 
information to determine ISCEDC eligibility and the initial level of therapeutic care 
that is needed. Interagency Staffing Teams (IST) have been established in each 
county. They include, at a minimum, DSS/Managed Treatment Services, 
DSS/Regular Foster Care and DMH. Other agencies such as COC, DJJ, school 
districts, local drug abuse and alcohol (DAODAS), and DDSN would participate if 
they are involved or are expected to become involved with the child.  
 

A child may be referred for an ISCEDC staffing if he/she is either at-risk or in 
need a therapeutic residential placement. The goals of the ISCEDC program are 
to ensure that children are placed in therapeutic residential placement only when 
necessary, and to ensure that such placement is the least restrictive, most 
appropriate level of care for addressing their treatment needs. Services paid from 
this fund include therapeutic placement services and wraparound. 

 
SPECIALIZED RESIDENTIAL PROGRAMS FOR UNDER-SERVED 
POPULATIONS OF YOUTH 
 

DMH partners with public and private agencies to meet the needs of severely 
emotionally disturbed children and adolescents whose needs are too complex to 
be met by the State's current service delivery system. DMH partnered with the 
Governor's Office, Office of Children's Affairs to provide start up funding for the 
development of high management rehabilitative services for deaf and emotionally 
disturbed youth. This program is operated by the Center for Change. DMH also 
partnered with the Governor's Office of Children's Affairs, DDSN and the DSS/ 
Division of Managed Treatment Services in the development of New Pathways, a 
high management rehabilitative services for dually diagnosed severely 
emotionally disturbed youth. New Pathways is located in House 5 on DMH 
grounds and is operated by Mentor, Inc.  
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Prepared by: 
 Bill Haxton, Ph.D. and Beth Nowell-Haxton, Ph.D.  

 
These descriptions are summarized from the Diagnostic and Statistics Manual of 
Mental Disorders, Fourth Edition – Text Revision (2000). Included here are those 
disorders that are most likely to appear in the psychological reports of children and 
adolescents.  

 
Adjustment Disorder  
The essential feature is the development of clinically significant emotional or behavioral 
symptoms in response to an identifiable psychosocial stressor or stressors. The 
stressor(s) is generally identified on Axis IV of the DSM multiaxial system.  Adjustment 
Disorders are coded according to the subtype that best fits the predominant symptoms:  
 

 With Depressed Mood - This is used when the predominant features include 
symptoms such as depressed mood, tearfulness, or feelings of hopelessness.  

 With Anxiety - This specifier is used when the main features are symptoms such as 
nervousness, worry, or jitteriness.  

 With Mixed Anxiety and Depressed Mood - This subtype is used to reflect 
combination of depression and anxiety.  

 With Disturbance of Conduct - This is used when the predominant feature is a 
disturbance in conduct in which there is a violation of the rights of others or violation 
of major age-appropriate societal norms and rules (e.g., truancy, vandalism, 
reckless driving, fighting).  

 With Mixed Disturbance of Emotions and Conduct - This subtype is used when the 
predominant manifestations are both emotional systems (e.g., depression, anxiety) 
and a disturbance of conduct.  

 
Attention - Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder  
The essential feature is a persistent pattern of inattention and/or hyperactivity-
impulsivity that is more frequent and severe than is typically observed in individuals at 
a comparable level of development. Some hyperactive-impulsive or inattentive 
symptoms that cause impairment must have been present before age seven. 
Associated features may include low frustration tolerance, temper outburst, bossiness, 
stubbornness, moodiness, and excessive insistence that requests be met.  
 

 Combined Type - Multiple symptoms of both inattention and hyperactivity-
impulsivity.  

 Predominantly Inattentive Type - Symptoms of hyperactivity-impulsivity are minimal 
or absent.  (This is sometimes informally referred to as ADD). 

 Predominantly Hyperactive-Impulsive Type - Symptoms of inattention are minimal.  
 
 

QUICK REFERENCE GUIDE TO DISORDERS  

COMMON IN PSYCHOLOGICAL REPORTS OF CHILDREN 
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Bipolar Affective Disorder  
A mood disorder characterized by mood swings that either fluctuate rapidly or over 
longer periods. Individuals with this disorder typically experience periods of depression 
or dysthymia alternating with periods of mania or hypomania (periods of elevated mood 
or agitation, expansiveness, less need for sleep).  
 
Child or Adolescent Antisocial Behavior  
Used when a focus of clinical attention is antisocial behavior in a child or adolescent 
that is not due to a mental disorder (e.g., Conduct Disorder or an Impulse-Control 
Disorder). Examples include isolated delinquent acts that are not part of a pattern and 
may not be typical for that child.  
 
Conduct Disorder  
The essential feature is a repetitive and persistent pattern of behavior in which the 
basic rights of others or major age-appropriate societal norms or rules are violated. The 
behavior pattern is usually present in a variety of settings such as home, school, or the 
community. Because individuals with Conduct Disorder are likely to minimize their 
conduct problems, the clinician often must rely on additional informants. Individuals 
with this disorder characteristically demonstrate relatively serious disruptive behaviors 
such as, initiating aggressive behavior, destruction of others’ property, deceitfulness or 
theft, or frequently running away from home.  
 

 Childhood-Onset Type- At least one symptom began prior to age ten. These 
individuals are more likely to have persistent Conduct Disorder and to develop adult 
Antisocial Personality Disorder than are those with Adolescent-Onset Type.  

 Adolescent-Onset Type- Symptoms of Conduct Disorder are absent prior to age 
ten. These individuals are less likely to display aggressive behaviors and tend to 
have more normative peer relationships than those with Childhood-Onset Type.  

 Severity of the disorder is rated Mild, Moderate, or Severe.  
 

Older diagnostic systems (prior to 1994) used the following descriptors: 
 Group Type or Socialized Nonaqqressive Type - Conduct problems occur mainly as 

a group activity with peers. Aggression may or may not be present.  
 Solitary Aqqression Type or Undersocialized Aqqressive Type- Aggressive physical 

behavior predominates, usually toward both adults and peers, and the individual 
usually acts alone.  

 Undifferentiated Type- The child or adolescent has a mixture of clinical features that 
cannot be classified as either of above.  

 
Depression  
Individuals with this disorder display either a depressed mood or loss of interest in 
pleasurable activities. Other symptoms may include weight loss or gain, sleep 
disturbance, psychomotor agitation or retardation, fatigue, feelings of worthlessness or 
guilt, inability to concentrate and/or thoughts of death.  Also in children, chronic 
boredom can be a sign of depression. 
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Depression with Psychotic Features  
Besides displaying the characteristics of depression, individuals with this disorder also 
experience hallucinations or delusions. These typically involve depressive themes such 
as hearing voices that berate them for shortcomings or sins, or delusions of being 
responsible for something bad that happened.  
 
Disruptive Behavior Disorder NOS  
Used for disorders characterized by a pattern of conduct or oppositional defiant 
behaviors that does not meet full criteria for Conduct Disorder or Oppositional Defiant 
Disorder.  
 
Dysthymic Disorder  
The essential feature is a chronically depressed mood that occurs for most of the day 
more days than not for at least 2 years. Individuals with this disorder often describe 
their mood as "sad." In children, the mood may be irritable rather than depressed, and 
the duration is only one year. During periods of depressed mood, some of the following 
symptoms are seen: poor appetite or overeating, insomnia or hypersomnia, low energy 
or fatigue, low self-esteem, poor concentration or difficulty making decisions.  
 
Intellectual Disability (formerly “Mental Retardation”) 
The essential feature of Intellectual Disability is significantly subaverage general 
intellectual functioning that is accompanied by significant symptoms in adaptive 
functioning, with onset prior to age 18.  
 

 Mild (IQ level 50 -55 to approx. 70) - Typically develop social and communication 
skills during the preschool years, have impairment in sensorimotor areas, and often 
are not distinguishable from children without Intellectual Disability until a later age. 
By their late teens, they can acquire academic skills up to approximately the six-
grade level. During adult years, they usually achieve social and vocational skills 
adequate for minimum self-support, but may need supervision, guidance, and 
assistance, especially when under unusual social or economic stress. With 
appropriate supports, individuals with Mild Intellectual Disability can usually live 
successfully in the community, either independently or in supervised settings.  

 

 Moderate (IQ level 35 - 40 to 50-55) - Most of the individuals with this level of 
Intellectual Disability can acquire communication skills during early childhood years. 
They profit from vocational training, and with moderate supervision, can attend to 
their personal care. They can also benefit from training in social and occupational 
skills but are unlikely to progress beyond the second-grade level in academic 
subjects. They may learn to travel independently in familiar places. During 
adolescence, their difficulties in recognizing social conventions may interfere with 
peer relationships. In their adult years, the majority are able to perform unskilled or 
semiskilled work under supervision in sheltered workshops or in the general work 
force. They adapt well to life in the community, usually in supervised settings.  

 

 Severe and Profound - These individuals typically require institutional care. 
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Intermittent Explosive Disorder  
The essential feature is the occurrence of discrete episodes of failure to resist 
aggressive impulses that result in serious assaultive acts or destruction of property. 
The degree of aggressiveness expressed during an episode is grossly out of proportion 
to any provocation or precipitating stressor. This diagnosis is made only after other 
mental disorders that might account for these episodes have been ruled out (e.g., a 
personality disorder, Conduct Disorder, a Manic Episode, or ADHD).  
 
Learning Disorders  
The essential feature is inadequate development of specific academic, language, 
speech, or motor skills that is not due to a general medical condition. Often, the 
individual has average intelligence, but manifests difficulty in one specific area. These 
are now diagnosed individually, for example:  
 Mathematics Disorder  
 Reading Disorder (Dyslexia)  
 Disorder of Written Expression, etc.  
 
Malingering  
The essential feature of Malingering is the intentional production of false or grossly 
exaggerated physical or psychological symptoms, motivated by external incentives 
such as avoiding responsibility or evading prosecution.  
 
Oppositional - Defiant Disorder  
The essential feature is a recurrent pattern of negativistic, defiant, disobedient, and 
hostile behavior toward authority figures that persists for at least 6 months. These 
behaviors may be expressed by persistent stubbornness, resistance to directions, and 
unwillingness to compromise. Hostility may be directed at adults or peers and is shown 
by deliberately annoying others or by verbal aggression. Symptoms are usually more 
evident in interactions with adults or peers the individual knows well and are typically 
justified as responses to unreasonable demands or circumstances.  
 
Personality Disorder  
A Personality Disorder is an enduring pattern of inner experience and behavior that 
deviates markedly from the expectations of the individual's culture, is pervasive and 
inflexible, has an onset in adolescence or early adulthood, is stable over time, and 
leads to distress or impairment. Personality Disorders are generally not diagnosed in 
adolescents since this is recognized as a period of development and change.  
 

 Paranoid - a pattern of distrust and suspiciousness such that others' motives are 
interpreted as malevolent.  

 Schizoid - a pattern of detachment from social relationships and restricted range of 
emotional expression.  

 Schizotypal - a pattern of acute discomfort in close relationships, cognitive or 
perceptual distortions, and eccentricities of behavior.  

 Antisocial - a pattern of disregard for, and violation of, the rights of others.  
 Borderline - a pattern of instability in interpersonal relationships, self image, and 

affects, and marked impulsivity.  
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 Histrionic - a pattern of excessive emotionality and attention seeking.  
 Narcissistic - a pattern of grandiosity, need for admiration, and lack of empathy.  
 Avoidant - a pattern of social inhibition, feelings of inadequacy, and hypersensitive 

to negative evaluation.  
 Dependent - a pattern of submissive and clinging behavior related to an excessive 

need to be taken care of.  
 Obsessive-Compulsive - a pattern of preoccupation with orderliness, perfectionism, 

and control.  
 
Post-traumatic Stress Disorder  
The essential feature of this disorder is the development of characteristic symptoms 
following exposure to an extreme traumatic stressor.  Examples include sexual abuse 
or rape, witnessing or causing a death, surviving a serious car accident, or learning 
about an unexpected or violent death or injury to a family member.  Symptoms include 
persistent re-experiencing of the event (e.g., nightmares, persistent memories, or 
"flashbacks"), persistent avoidance of stimuli associated with the trauma (e.g., trying 
not to think about it, or being unable to recall certain aspects of the event), and 
increased arousal (e.g., difficulty sleeping, exaggerated startle response, irritability or 
outbursts of anger)  
 
Schizophrenia  
A group of psychotic disorders characterized by withdrawal from reality with highly 
variable accompanying affective, behavioral and cognitive disturbances. Common 
symptoms include delusions and hallucinations.  
 
Separation Anxiety Disorder / School Phobia 
Developmentally inappropriate and excessive anxiety concerning separation from 
home or from those to whom the individual is attached. This may take the form of 
persistent and excessive worry about something bad happening to a loved one, refusal 
to go to school because of fear, or repeated nightmares involving the theme of 
separation.  
 
Sexual Abuse of a Child  
Unfortunately, this wording is used in the DSM-IV for both victims and perpetrators; the 
main distinction is the diagnostic code:  
 995.5 when the focus of clinical attention is on the victim 
 V61.21 when focus is on the perpetrator  
 
"V" Codes  
Diagnoses which may be the focus of clinical attention but which do not warrant a 
clinical diagnosis are preceded by the letter "V." Examples include:  
 

 V61.20  Parent-Child Relational Problem 
 V61.21  Sexual Abuse of a child 
 V65.2  Malingering 
 V71.02  Child or Adolescent Antisocial Behavior 
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MISCELLANEOUS TERMS  

Acute: Term used to describe a disorder of sudden onset and relatively short duration, 
usually with intense symptoms.  

Affect: Experience of emotion or feeling.  

Anhedonia: Inability to experience pleasure or joy; often seen in depressed and 
schizophrenic individuals.  

Aphasia: Loss or impairment of ability to express and/or understand language.  

Ataxia: Muscular dyscoordination.  

b.i.d: Used in prescribing medications; specifies taking the medication twice daily.  

Bv History: Used to indicate that the diagnosis is being made on the basis of a 
previous evaluation, e.g., the discharge summary from a recent hospitalization.  

"Cluster B Traits": Used in place of a personality disorder diagnosis when the client 
displays characteristics of Antisocial, Borderline, Histrionic, and/or Narcissistic 
Personality Disorder, but it is believed that a full-blown personality disorder is not yet 
developed, or the child is too young to be diagnosed with a personality disorder.  
Sometimes used for an individual with a tendency to self-mutilate. 

Cognitive: Having to do with thinking, understanding, and reasoning.  

Decompensation: Ego or personality disorganization under excessive stress.  

DSM-IV-TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fourth Edition, 
Text Revision. This is the classification system used by most psychologists and 
psychiatrists in the U.S.  Another diagnostic system is the ICD-9 (see below). 

Enuresis: Bed-wetting; involuntary release of urine.  

Fetal Alcohol Syndrome:  An observed pattern in the children of mothers who drank 
alcohol while pregnant, in which there is characteristic facial or limb irregularity, low 
birth weight, and behavioral and cognitive abnormalities.  

h.s: Used in prescribing medications; specifies taking the medication each night at 
bedtime.  

Hypnagogic:  A sensory or motor phenomenon occurring during the transition from 
wakefulness to sleep, sometimes mistaken for a hallucination.  

Hypnopompic:  A sensory or motor phenomenon occurring as one is waking up, 
sometimes mistaken for a hallucination. 

Hypomania: Mild form of manic reaction, characterized by moderate psychomotor 
activity and/or feelings of euphoria. Can be a symptom of Bipolar Disorder II.  

Hypoxia: Insufficient delivery of oxygen, typically to the brain.  

ICD-9: International Classification of Diseases, Ninth Edition. This classification system 
is similar to the DSM and is used when completing Medical Necessity Statements.  

In Full Remission: There are no longer any signs or symptoms of the disorder.  



179 

 

In Partial Remission: The full criteria for the disorder were previously met, but 
currently only some of the symptoms or signs of the disorder remain.  

Labile: Tending to change affective states quickly, e.g., shifting from laughing to crying 
and back again as the topic of conversation changes. Also used to indicate 
inappropriate and/or exaggerated emotional expression. 

Malingering: Consciously faking an illness or disability.  

Mania: Emotional state characterized by intense and unrealistic feelings of excitement 
and euphoria. In children and adolescents, this often presents as irritability instead of 
euphoria.  

Mental Status Examination: An evaluation (both by observation and interview) of the 
client's current mental state, including factors such as mood, attention span, quality of 
speech, memory, level of consciousness, and presence or absence of psychotic signs.  

Narcolepsy: Disorder characterized by transient, compulsive states of sleepiness. A 
form of epilepsy.  

Neurological examination: Examination to determine the presence and extent of 
organic damage to the nervous system. Evaluates reflexes, eye movements, muscular 
coordination, and related functions of the nervous system.  

Neuropsychological assessment:  Use of psychological tests that measure cognitive, 
perceptual and motor performance to determine the extent and locus of possible brain 
damage or central nervous system dysfunction.  

NOS: Not Otherwise Specified. This term is used when the presentation conforms to 
the general guidelines for the disorder, but the client does not meet enough of the 
criteria to warrant the full diagnosis. 

P.O.: Used in prescribing medications; specifies taking the medication by mouth. 

Premorbid: Existing prior to the onset of mental disorder.  

Prior history: Used when it is useful to indicate that the client had carried the 
diagnosis at some time in the past, since this information might elucidate current 
functioning.  

Psychomotor epilepsy: (Also referred to as temporal lobe epilepsy). State of 
disturbed consciousness in which an individual may perform various actions, 
sometimes of a violent nature, which he or she cannot remember later. 

QD: Used in prescribing medications; specifies taking the medication every day (i.e., 
once a day). 

qid:  In prescribing medications, signifies taking the medication four times per day. 

Rule Out (R/O): Used when the client displays symptoms of a disorder and it is not yet 
clear whether he or she actually has the disorder. (Example: 'RIO Bipolar Disorder' 
means the child or adolescent appears to have symptoms of Bipolar Disorder and this 
diagnosis is yet to be confirmed.)  

Sequelae: The symptoms remaining as the aftermath of a disorder.  
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Somatic: Pertaining to the body, e.g., "somatic complaints" typically means complaints 
of aches and pains.  

Temporal lobe epilepsy: See psychomotor epilepsy.  

Trichotillomaina: The nervous habit of pulling out one's hair.  
 
MEDICATIONS 
The following medications are listed according to their typical uses; many have multiple  
uses that may overlap with other categories.  This does not represent an exhaustive 
list. These are listed by brand name (generic names in parentheses). 
 
Anxiety Disorders 
Atarax (hydroxyzine) 
Ativan (lorazepam) 
BuSpar  (buspirone) 
Compazine (prochorperazine) 
Effexor XR (venlafaxine) 
Librium (chlordiazepoxide) 
Paxil (paroxetine) 
Tranxene (chlorazepate) 
Valium (diazepam) 
Vistaril (also known as a sleep aid)  
Xanax  (alprazolam) 
 
Attention Deficit-Hyperactivity 
Disorder 
Adderall 
Concerta (one of several time-released 
versions) 
Cylert  (pemoline) 
Dexedrine (dextroamphetamine) 
Focalin (dexmethylphenidate) 
Ritalin  (metadata)  (methalin)  
(methylphenidate) 
Strattera 
 
Bed-wetting 
DDAVP (desmopressin) 
Tofranil (imipramine) 
 
Bipolar Disorder 
Some are seizure disorder medications 
as well 
Depakote (divalprozx)  
Depakene (valproic acid) 
Klonopin (clonazeoan) 
Eskalith (lithium, lithobid) 

Lamictal (lamotrigine) 
Topamax (topiramate) 
Tegretol (carbamazepine) (Carbatrol) 
Tripleptal (oxcarbazepine) 
Zyprexa (olanzapine) 
 
Depression 
Aventyl (Pamelor) (nortriptyline) 
Celexa (citalopram) 
Desyrel (trazodone) (also used for 
sleep problems) 
Effexor (venlafaxine) 
Elavil (amitriptyline) 
Imipramine (also used to treat enuresis)  
Lexapro (escitalopram) 
Luvox (used especially for OCD) 
Nardil (phenelzine) 
Norpramin (desipramine) 
Pamelor (nortriptyline) 
Parnate (tranylcypromine) 
Paxil (paroxetine) 
Prozac (fluoxetine) 
Remeron (mirtazapine) 
Serzone (nefazodone) 
Sinequan (doxepine) 
Tofranil  (imipramine) 
Trazadone (desyrel) (also used to treat 
sleep disorder) 
Vivactil (protriptyline) 
Wellbutrin  (bupropion) 
Zoloft  (sertraline) 
 
Insomnia 
Some antidepressants are also used 
for sleep problems 
Ambien (zolpidem) 
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Dalmane (flurazepam) 
Doral (quazepam) 
Halcion (triazolam) 
Restoril (temazepam) 
Sonata (zaleplon) 
 
Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder 
Anafranil (clomipramine) 
Paxil (paroxetine) 
Prozac (fluoxetine) 
Zoloft (sertraline) 
 
Panic Disorder 
Klonopine (clonazapam) 
Paxil (paroxetine) 
Xanax (alprazolam) 
Zoloft (sertraline) 
 
Post-traumatic Stress Disorder 
Paxil (paroxetine) 
Zoloft (sertraline) 
 
 

Psychosis and Schizophrenia 
Abilify  (aripiprazole) 
Clozaril (clozapine) 
Compazine (prochlorperazine) 
Geodon (zipraxidone) 
Haldol  (haloperidol) 
Mellaril  (thioridazine) 
Moban (molindone) 
Navane (thiothixene) 
Risperdal (risperidone) 
Serentil (mesoidazine) 
Seroquel (quetiapine) 
Stelazine (trifluoperazine) 
Thorazine (chlorpromazine) 
Triavil (amitryptyline with perphenazine) 
(Etrafon) 
Trilafon (perphenazine) 
Zyprexa  (olanzapine) 
 
Severe Behavior Problems in 
Children 
Thorazine (chlorpromazine) 

Haldo (haloperidol) 

 
 
 
DIAGNOSTICS  
The Diaqnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fourth Edition, Text 
Revised (DSM-IV-TR) uses a multiaxial diagnostic system. This means that clients 
are assessed on several axes, each of which refers to a different domain of 
information that may aid in treatment planning. There are five axes included in the 
DSM-IV diagnostic classification:  
 

Axis I Clinical Disorders and other conditions that may be a focus of clinical 
attention 

Axis II  Personality Disorders / Mental Retardation 

Axis III General Medical Conditions 

Axis IV Psychosocial and Environmental Problems 

Axis V  Global Assessment of Functioning  
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PSYCHOLOGICAL TESTS  
 
The following is a list of commonly used psychological tests, with brief descriptions 
of their purpose(s):  

Bender Visual- Motor Gestalt Test - Neuropsychological screening, visual-motor 
coordination  

DAP (Draw-A-Person) - Personality  

Developmental Test of Visual-Motor Integration (DTVMI or VMI) 
Neuropsychological screening, visual-motor coordination  

H-T-P (House-Tree-Person) - Personality (No longer held to be reliable) 

Incomplete Sentences Blank - Personality  

Jesness - Juvenile delinquency typology  

K-Bit (Kaufman Brief Intelligence Test) - Intelligence estimate  

Kinetic Family Drawing - Personality/family functioning  

MACI (Million Adolescent Clinical Inventory) - Personality  

MMPI-A (Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory-Adolescent) - Personality  

Mooney Problem Checklist - List of Potential symptoms/problems  

PIAT-R (Peabody Individual Achievement Test, Revised) - Academic Achievement  

PPVT-IV (Peabody Picture Vocabulary Test, Forth Edition) - Receptive Vocabulary 

Rorschach - Personality  

SB-V (Stanford-Binet Intelligence Scale, Fifth Edition) - Intelligence  

TAT - (Thematic Apperception Test) - Personality  

VABS (Vineland Adaptive Behavioral Scales) - Adaptive Functioning  

WAIS-IV (Wechsler Adult Intelligence Scale, Forth Edition) - Intelligence  

WASI (Wechsler Abbreviated Scale of Intelligence) - Estimated IQ  

WIAT-3 (Wechsler Individual Achievement Test, Third Edition) - Academic 
Achievement  

WISC-IV (Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Children, Fourth Edition) - Intelligence  

Woodcock-Johnson - Academic Achievement  

WRAT-3 (Wide Range Achievement Test, Third Edition) - Academic Achievement 
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INTELLECTUAL DISABILITY MENTAL ILLNESS 

1. Refers to below average intellectual   
functioning. 

Has nothing to do with IQ. A person 
with mental illness may be a genius or 
may be below average. 

2. Refers to impairment in social 
adaptation. 

May be very competent socially but 
may have a character disorder or other 
aberration. 

3. National incidence:  
3% of general population 

16-26% of general population 

4. Is present at birth or usually occurs 
during the period of development. 

May have its onset at any age. 

5. Some degree of intellectual 
impairment can be expected to be 
permanent but can be aided through 
full development of the person’s 
potential. 

Is often temporary and in many 
instances is reversible.  Seldom meets 
the definition of a development 
disability. 

6. Person can usually be expected to 
behave rationally at his/her functional 
level. 

Person may fluctuate between normal 
and irrational behavior. 

 

7. Erratic and/or violent behavior is 
rarely noted in persons with 
intellectual disability secondary to the 
cause of their disability. 

The presence of erratic behavior is a 
hallmark in some types of mental 
illness, and violence may be a 
characteristic of a certain specific 
mental illness. 

8. Symptoms of failure to adjust to 
societal demands are secondary to     
limited intelligence and social 
adaptive responses. 

Symptoms are secondary to a break 
with reality and/or emotional 
interference with responses. 

9. Person often has impaired 
communication skills. 

Person may communicate in very 
idiosyncratic manner. 

10. Person can also have mental illness. Person can also have impaired 
intellectual functioning as a result of the 
mental illness. 

DIFFERENCES BETWEEN INTELLECTUAL  

DISABILITY AND MENTAL ILLNESS 
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JUVENILE CONFESSIONS OVERVIEW 
 
 

 
ADMISSIBILITY OF JUVENILE CONFESSIONS 
 

Generally, a child’s confession is admissible as evidence in juvenile 
delinquency proceedings as long as it was given freely and voluntarily. In 
Bram v. United States, 168 U.S. 532 (1897), the Court held that the Fifth 
Amendment protection against self incrimination requires that a confession be 
made voluntarily in order to be admissible. Also, the Fourteenth Amendment 
prohibits states from persuading a person to confess through insincere 
sympathy, imprisonment or threats of imprisonment, or other like forms of 
persuasion. The Bram Court stated that a confession is inadmissible unless 
made freely and voluntarily; that is: “(it) must not be extracted by any sort of 
threats or violence, nor obtained by any direct or implied promises, however 
slight, nor by the exertion of any improper influence.” 168 U.S. at 542-543. 
 

MIRANDA RIGHTS AND WARNINGS  
 
In Miranda v. Arizona, the Court required procedural safeguards to protect the 
rights of an accused person to be free from compelled self-incrimination when 
being questioned while in custody. The Miranda Court held that: 

 
[W]hen an individual is taken into custody or otherwise deprived 
of his freedom by the authorities in any significant way and is 
subjected to questioning, the privilege against self-incrimination 
is jeopardized. Procedural safeguards must be employed to 
protect the privilege and…the following measures are required. 
He must be warned prior to any questioning that he has the right 
to remain silent, that anything he says can be used against him 
in a court of law, that he has the right to the presence of an 
attorney, and that if he cannot afford an attorney one will be 
appointed for him prior to any questioning if he so desires. 
Opportunity to exercise these rights must be afforded to him 
throughout the interrogation. After such warnings have been 
given, and such opportunity afforded him, the individual may 
knowingly and intelligently waive these rights and agree to 
answer questions or make a statement. But unless and until 
such warnings and waiver are demonstrated by the prosecution 
at trial, no evidence obtained as a result of interrogation can be 
used against him.  

 
Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436, 478-479 (1966). 
 

 

http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?referenceposition=186&rs=WLW6.05&referencepositiontype=S&serialnum=1897180201&fn=_top&sv=Split&tc=-1&findtype=Y&tf=-1&db=708&vr=2.0&rp=%2ffind%2fdefault.wl&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner
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VOLUNTARINESS 
  
In Gallegos v. Colorado, 370 U.S. 49 (1962), the Court recognized that youth 
may fear police or give greater deference to authority than adults, that they 
are more susceptible to suggestions than adults, and that an assessment of 
“voluntariness” requires close scrutiny to ensure that youth are not coerced. 
However, in Colorado v. Connelly, 479 U.S. 157 (1986), the Court held that 
absent police coercion, a defendant’s mental state alone would not make a 
confession involuntary. The Court has never addressed the circumstances 
under which police conduct that would not be coercive for adults might be 
coercive with adolescents. Weighing voluntariness requires a “totality of 
circumstances” analysis involving the conditions of the waiver situation and 
the characteristics of the youth. 

 
Totality of Circumstances Test 

 
When reviewing whether a child knowingly waived his Miranda rights and 
made a voluntary confession, the court should consider the totality of the 
circumstances standard which is applicable to adults. In In re Williams, 217 
S.E.2d 719 (S.C. 1975), the court recognized the "totality of circumstances 
test” to determine the admissibility of a statement or confession of a minor 
and held that "[w]hile the age of the individual is a factor to be taken into 
consideration, the admissibility of a statement or confession of a minor 
depends upon its voluntariness, to be determined from the totality of the 
circumstances under which it is made." 217 S.E.2d at 722. In Williams, the 
court espoused the general rule established by People v. Laura, 432 P.2d 
202, 215 (Cal. 1967) that “a minor has the capacity to make a voluntary 
confession, without the presence or consent of counsel or other responsible 
adult, and the admissibility of such a confession depends not on his age 
alone but on a combination of that factor with such other circumstances as his 
intelligence, education, experience, and ability to comprehend the meaning 
and effect of his statement." Williams, 217 S.E.2d at 722. 

 
 Analyzing the Totality of Circumstances- Excerpted from the National 

Juvenile Defender Center’s “Toward Developmentally Appropriate Practice: A 
Juvenile Court Training Curriculum.” See the full Curriculum for further 
explanation and examples. 
  
Analysis must consider two types of information: capacities of the youth, and 
circumstances of the interrogation. 
 

1. Current capacities of the youth, including:  
a. Functional abilities. These include the specific capacities, skills, 

and abilities relevant to each of the areas of the legal standard 
being evaluated; including: 
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 Ability to comprehend Miranda warnings (e.g., knowing 
that he can have a defense attorney to advise him at the 
time he decides whether or not to waive Miranda rights). 

 Ability to grasp the significance of rights in the context of 
the legal process (e.g., knowing what a defense attorney 
is and the role he plays in relation to the youth and the 
legal process). 

 Ability to process information in arriving at a decision 
about waiver (e.g., ability to put the information together 
to reach a decision independently). 

b. Causal factors. This includes information about the youth’s 
mental condition that would explain any deficits in functional 
abilities to understand Miranda rights.  “Causal” explanations 
can include cognitive or developmental deficits, emotional 
disturbances and mental disorders, learning disabilities, mental 
retardation [intellectual disability], and/or immaturity. 

2. Circumstances at the time of the interrogation, including: 
a. Information about the mental and physical conditions of the 

youth at the time of the Miranda waiver (which may be different 
from mental condition at the time of the evaluation of the youth’s 
capacities). 

b. Details about the chronological history of events leading up to 
and during the presentation of the Miranda warnings. 

c. Information about all persons present during the events as well 
as their roles and behaviors, and precisely how the warnings 
were presented. 

3. Interaction of abilities and situational demands. Given these two 
types of information, the analysis must consider the abilities of the 
youth in the context of the demands of the interrogation.  

 
FACTORS TO CONSIDER WHEN DETERMINING VOLUNTARINESS 
 

Factors that should be considered when determining the voluntariness of a 
child’s confession include:  
 the child’s age, intelligence, education, background, prior experience with 

police, mental capacity, and physical condition at the time of questioning;  
 the legality and duration of the detention;  
 the length of questioning; and  
 any physical or mental abuse by police, including the existence of threats 

or promises.  
 
ADMISSIBILITY OF STATEMENTS MADE BY CHILD HELD IN ILLEGAL  
CUSTODY 
 

“The fruit of the poisonous tree doctrine holds that where evidence would not 
have come to light but for the illegal actions of the police, and the evidence 
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has been obtained by the exploitation of that illegality, the evidence must be 
excluded.” State v. Plath, 284 S.E.2d 221, 226 (1981) (citing Wong Sun v. 
United States, 371 U.S. 471 (1963)), overruled on other grounds by State v. 
Short, 511 S.E.2d 358 (1999). However, the fruit of the poisonous tree 
doctrine will not apply to a confession if it is freely and voluntarily given, even 
if the arrest was illegal.” Id. at 226.  
 
In State v. Funchess, 179 S.E. 2d 25 (S.C. 1971), the court held that “every 
statement or confession made by a person in custody as the result of an 
illegal arrest, is not involuntary and inadmissible, but the facts and 
circumstances surrounding such arrest and the in-custody statement should 
be considered in determining whether the statement is voluntary and 
admissible. Voluntariness remains as the test of admissibility.” Id. at 28. 

 
JACKSON V. DENNO HEARING 
 

Jackson v. Denno, 378 U.S. 368 (1964), established that a defendant is 
entitled to a pre-trial hearing on the question of voluntariness of a confession. 
However, due process does not require a separate hearing as to the 
voluntariness of a statement or confession absent a proper objection to the 
admission of such statement or confession. The Jackson v. Denno Court held 
that the defendant had a constitutional right at some stage in the proceedings 
to object to the use of a confession and was entitled to a fair hearing in which 
both underlying factual issues and voluntariness of confession are actually 
and reliably determined.  
 
At a pretrial hearing concerning the suppression of a statement, the state has 
the burden of proving, based on the totality of the circumstances surrounding 
the statement, that the statement was voluntary. Voluntariness must be 
proven by a preponderance of the evidence. State v. Smith, 234 S.E.2d 19 
(S.C. 1977). 

 
U.S. SUPREME COURT DECISIONS 
 

Miranda v Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966): A criminal suspect has constitutional 
rights to avoid self incrimination and to advice of counsel prior to and during 
custodial interrogations. Unless the suspect has made a “knowing and intelligent” 
waiver of these rights, his or her statements may not be used in subsequent 
delinquency or criminal proceedings. 
 
In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967): Juveniles have the same constitutional privilege 
against self-incrimination and right to counsel as adults. 
 
Juveniles’ confessions require special scrutiny. (Fare v. Michael C., 442 U.S. 
707 (1979); Gallegos v. Colorado, 370 U.S. 49 (1962), Haley v. Ohio, 332 U.S. 
596 (1948).  
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In re Wyman WILLIAMS and Gregory Alvin Jenkins, children 
under the age of seventeen years. 
Gregory Alvin JENKINS, Appellant, 

v. 
STATE of South Carolina, Respondent. 

217 S.E.2d 719 (S.C. 1975) 
 

William T. Toal, Columbia, for appellant. 
Atty. Gen. Daniel R. McLeod, Asst. Atty. Gen. Joseph R. Barker and Staff Atty. 
Sidney S. Riggs, III, Columbia, for respondent. 

LEWIS, Justice: 
Appellant, a minor, was arrested and charged on April 15, 1974, with 

delinquency based upon charges of breaking and entering and theft from a place of 
business in Columbia, South Carolina. He was subsequently found guilty of the 
charges, adjudged a delinquent by the Family Court of Richland County, and placed 
on probation for twelve (12) months. A statement signed by appellant following his 
arrest was introduced into evidence over his objection. The admissibility of that 
statement is the sole issue in this appeal. 

Appellant, age 15, and his cousin Wyman Williams, age 14, spent the night of 
April 14, 1974 at the home of their grandmother. They were awakened at about 3:00 
a.m. on Monday, April 15, 1974, by appellant's father who carried them with him to 
the premises of Pearce-Young-Angel Co., a wholesale food distributor. They entered 
the premises where appellant and his cousin were shortly thereafter arrested by an 
officer of the Richland County Sheriff's Department, who was investigating a report 
from the night manager of the business that a man was in the meat freezer. When 
the officer approached and someone shouted: 'Police,' appellant and his cousin ran 
but were unable to escape. The officer testified that they stopped after he fired a 
warning shot. Appellant testified that he ran only after a shot was fired and not 
because he thought he was doing anything illegal. 

At the time of appellant's arrest, meat of the approximate value of $1100.00 
had been removed from the freezer and placed on the loading platform. 

Appellant was carried to the premises by his father and it is clearly inferable 
that the father escaped when the officers arrived. Therefore, the conclusion is 
inescapable that the father knew of the plight of his son without being notified by the 
officers. Following his arrest about 3:30 a.m., appellant was taken to the Richland 
County jail and held until about 9:00 a.m. when he was put under the custody of a 
juvenile investigator of the Sheriff's Department. Shortly thereafter this investigator 
read to him the Miranda warnings, after which he signed a waiver form. Appellant 
then made an inculpatory statement which was reduced to writing on a form 
containing the requirements of Miranda, 384 U.S. 436, 86 S.Ct. 1602, 16 L.Ed.2d 
694, and signed. Appellant and his co-defendant testified that the statement was 
signed because he was told that he could go home when he did so. 

The statement signed by appellant was admitted into evidence, over 
objection. The exceptions challenge the admissibility of the statement upon the 

IN RE WILLIAMS 

http://www.casemakerlegal.com/SearchResult.aspx?searchFields%5bstate%5d=&query=384+U.S.+436&juriStatesHidden=&searchCriteria=Citation&tabAction=ALLC&dtypeName=&headAdmin=&headCaselaw=&headStatutes=&searchType=overview&jurisdictions.allStates=on&jurisdictions.includeRelatedFederal=on&pinCite=y
http://www.casemakerlegal.com/SearchResult.aspx?searchFields%5bstate%5d=&query=86+S.Ct.+1602&juriStatesHidden=&searchCriteria=Citation&tabAction=ALLC&dtypeName=&headAdmin=&headCaselaw=&headStatutes=&searchType=overview&jurisdictions.allStates=on&jurisdictions.includeRelatedFederal=on&pinCite=y
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grounds (1) that the statement was made while appellant was in illegal custody in 
violation of Code (Supplement) Section 15--1095.17 and (2), since appellant was a 
juvenile, he could not make an intelligent waiver of his constitutional right against 
self-incrimination in the absence of a parent or a friendly adult. 

Appellant's first contention is that his statement was made during a period of 
illegal custody because his parents were not notified of his arrest 'as soon as  
possible' as required by Code Section 15--1095.17. This section is a part of the 
Family Code Act and provides that when a child is taken into custody for violation of 
any law the 'officers shall notify the parent, guardian or custodian of the child as 
soon as possible.' 

Appellant and his cousin were taken into custody about 3:30 a.m. on the 
premises of Pearce-Young-Angel Company where the father of appellant was also 
present but apparently escaped. Since the father was aware of the plight of his son, 
we assume that the claim of failure to notify the parents has reference to appellant's 
mother. While the officers could not specifically recall whether the parents were 
notified that night, appellant's brief concedes that the mother of appellant appeared 
at the jail 'around 8 or 9 a.m.,' about five (5) hours after the arrest, to see about her 
son. She evidently received information of the arrest at some time prior to her 
appearance at the jail. It is most significant that neither the father nor mother of 
appellant, witnesses peculiarly available to him, were called to testify that they had 
received no notice of the arrest of their son. 

In view of the presence of the father on the premises when appellant was 
arrested and the appearance of the mother at the jail within about five (5) hours of 
the arrest which occurred in the early morning hours (about 3:30 a.m.), we conclude 
that the record fails to sustain the claim that the parents of appellant were not 
notified of his arrest 'as soon as possible' within the meaning of Section 15--1095.17. 

Assuming however that appellant was held in illegal custody, such fact alone 
does not render his inculpatory statement inadmissible. We have held that every 
statement or confession made by a person in illegal custody is not involuntary and 
inadmissible, 'but the facts and circumstances surrounding such arrest and the in-
custody statement should be considered in determining whether the statement is 
voluntary and admissible. Voluntariness remains as the test of admissibility.' State v. 
Funchess, 255 S.C. 385, 179 S.E.2d 25; State v. Bishop, 256 S.C. 158, 181 S.E.2d 
477. 

Under the next contention of appellant, we are asked to adopt a rule under 
which any inculpatory statement obtained from a minor in the absence of counsel, 
parent or other friendly adult would be Per se inadmissible regardless of the 
circumstances surrounding the making of such statement. This we decline to do. 

It is conceded in this case that the purported waiver of appellant's 
constitutional right against self-incrimination and the subsequent statements were 
made in the absence of parents or other friendly adult. 

While the age of the individual is a factor to be taken into consideration, the 
admissibility of a statement or confession of a minor depends upon its voluntariness, 
to be determined from the totality of the circumstances under which it is made. 
Recognizing the 'totality of circumstances' test approved in Haley v. Ohio, 332 U.S. 
596, 68 S.Ct. 302, 92 L.Ed. 224, and Gallegos v. Colorado, 370 U.S. 49, 82 S.Ct. 

http://www.casemakerlegal.com/SearchResult.aspx?searchFields%5bstate%5d=&query=255+S.C.+385&juriStatesHidden=&searchCriteria=Citation&tabAction=ALLC&dtypeName=&headAdmin=&headCaselaw=&headStatutes=&searchType=overview&jurisdictions.allStates=on&jurisdictions.includeRelatedFederal=on&pinCite=y
http://www.casemakerlegal.com/SearchResult.aspx?searchFields%5bstate%5d=&query=179+S.E.2d+25&juriStatesHidden=&searchCriteria=Citation&tabAction=ALLC&dtypeName=&headAdmin=&headCaselaw=&headStatutes=&searchType=overview&jurisdictions.allStates=on&jurisdictions.includeRelatedFederal=on&pinCite=y
http://www.casemakerlegal.com/SearchResult.aspx?searchFields%5bstate%5d=&query=256+S.C.+158&juriStatesHidden=&searchCriteria=Citation&tabAction=ALLC&dtypeName=&headAdmin=&headCaselaw=&headStatutes=&searchType=overview&jurisdictions.allStates=on&jurisdictions.includeRelatedFederal=on&pinCite=y
http://www.casemakerlegal.com/SearchResult.aspx?searchFields%5bstate%5d=&query=181+S.E.2d+477&juriStatesHidden=&searchCriteria=Citation&tabAction=ALLC&dtypeName=&headAdmin=&headCaselaw=&headStatutes=&searchType=overview&jurisdictions.allStates=on&jurisdictions.includeRelatedFederal=on&pinCite=y
http://www.casemakerlegal.com/SearchResult.aspx?searchFields%5bstate%5d=&query=181+S.E.2d+477&juriStatesHidden=&searchCriteria=Citation&tabAction=ALLC&dtypeName=&headAdmin=&headCaselaw=&headStatutes=&searchType=overview&jurisdictions.allStates=on&jurisdictions.includeRelatedFederal=on&pinCite=y
http://www.casemakerlegal.com/SearchResult.aspx?searchFields%5bstate%5d=&query=332+U.S.+596&juriStatesHidden=&searchCriteria=Citation&tabAction=ALLC&dtypeName=&headAdmin=&headCaselaw=&headStatutes=&searchType=overview&jurisdictions.allStates=on&jurisdictions.includeRelatedFederal=on&pinCite=y
http://www.casemakerlegal.com/SearchResult.aspx?searchFields%5bstate%5d=&query=332+U.S.+596&juriStatesHidden=&searchCriteria=Citation&tabAction=ALLC&dtypeName=&headAdmin=&headCaselaw=&headStatutes=&searchType=overview&jurisdictions.allStates=on&jurisdictions.includeRelatedFederal=on&pinCite=y
http://www.casemakerlegal.com/SearchResult.aspx?searchFields%5bstate%5d=&query=68+S.Ct.+302&juriStatesHidden=&searchCriteria=Citation&tabAction=ALLC&dtypeName=&headAdmin=&headCaselaw=&headStatutes=&searchType=overview&jurisdictions.allStates=on&jurisdictions.includeRelatedFederal=on&pinCite=y
http://www.casemakerlegal.com/SearchResult.aspx?searchFields%5bstate%5d=&query=92+L.Ed.+224&juriStatesHidden=&searchCriteria=Citation&tabAction=ALLC&dtypeName=&headAdmin=&headCaselaw=&headStatutes=&searchType=overview&jurisdictions.allStates=on&jurisdictions.includeRelatedFederal=on&pinCite=y
http://www.casemakerlegal.com/SearchResult.aspx?searchFields%5bstate%5d=&query=370+U.S.+49&juriStatesHidden=&searchCriteria=Citation&tabAction=ALLC&dtypeName=&headAdmin=&headCaselaw=&headStatutes=&searchType=overview&jurisdictions.allStates=on&jurisdictions.includeRelatedFederal=on&pinCite=y
http://www.casemakerlegal.com/SearchResult.aspx?searchFields%5bstate%5d=&query=82+S.Ct.+1209&juriStatesHidden=&searchCriteria=Citation&tabAction=ALLC&dtypeName=&headAdmin=&headCaselaw=&headStatutes=&searchType=overview&jurisdictions.allStates=on&jurisdictions.includeRelatedFederal=on&pinCite=y
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1209, 8 L.Ed.2d 325, the correct general rule has been thus stated: “[a] minor has 
the capacity to make a voluntary confession, even of capital offenses, without the 
presence or consent of counsel or other responsible adult, and the admissibility of 
such a confession depends not on his age alone but on a combination of that factor 
with such other circumstances as his intelligence, education, experience, and ability 
to comprehend the meaning and effect of his statement.” People v. Lara, 67 Cal.2d 
365, 62 Cal.Rptr. 586, 432 P.2d 202, 215. 

The question of whether a minor can knowingly waive his constitutional rights is 
analogous to the question of whether the confession of a mentally subnormal person 
is admissible. The inquiry in both cases is the ability or capacity to comprehend the 
meaning and effect of the waiver or statement. We have consistently held that 
mental deficiency alone is not sufficient to render a confession involuntary but that it 
is a factor to be considered along with all of the other attendant facts and 
circumstances in determining the voluntariness of the confession. State v. Cain, 246 
S.C. 536, 144 S.E.2d 905; State v. Callahan, 263 S.C. 35, 208 S.E.2d 284. 

The objections to the admissibility of the statement because of the age of 
appellant and the fact that the statement was made while he was allegedly in illegal 
custody were properly overruled.  However, we are not satisfied that the 
determination in the lower court of the issue of voluntariness was made upon a full 
inquiry into the facts. 

Although the record is not very clear on the question, it is inferable that the 
statement from appellant was not taken until after the mother appeared at the jail 
about 8:00 or 9:00 a.m., and the release of appellant had been refused. This 
conclusion may be drawn from the fact that the officer who took the statement did 
not come to work until 9:00 a.m. The statement therefore would have been signed 
after that hour, which was after the mother and made inquiry about her son between 
8:00 and 9:00 a.m. There was testimony that she was told that she could not obtain 
the release of appellant at that time but would have to return later. Appellant was 
subsequently released about 4 p.m. or about thirteen (13) hours after his arrest. In 
addition, when the officer who took the statement was asked if he had used 'any 
coercion at all to obtain these statements,' the court admonished: 'No need to go into 
that. I've already ruled on that.” 

The issue of the voluntariness of appellant's statement should not be resolved 
upon the cursory inquiry revealed by this record. Ordinarily, remand would be limited 
to a further determination of this issue but, in view of the nature of the proceedings in 
Family Court, we think it proper to reverse the judgment under appeal and remand 
for a new trial, at which time a full inquiry can be had into the entire matter and the 
issues determined in the light of the facts so developed. 

Reversed and remanded for a new trial. 
MOSS, C.J., LITTLEJOHN and NESS, JJ., and BRAILSFORD, Acting Associate 

Justice, concur. 
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INTERSTATE COMPACT FOR JUVENILES 

 
 

The Interstate Compact for Juveniles is a legal agreement between 49* 
states, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. Virgin Islands that regulates the 
interstate movement of children who: 

 have run away from home and left their state of residence without 
permission; 

 are under court supervision on probation, parole, and have absconded to 
another state; 

 have been accused of an offense in another state;  

 are in need of institutionalization or special services in another state; 
and/or  

 require probation/parole supervision services when they relocate to 
another state. 

*Georgia does not currently participate in ICJ, and coordinates juvenile 
movement and supervision with South Carolina under a Memorandum of 
Agreement. 
 
South Carolina adopted the new Interstate Compact for Juveniles law, which 
was enacted nationally in 2008, replacing the original 1955 compact. Working 
through DJJ’s ICJ Commissioner/Coordinator, DJJ staff complete the 
standardized ICJ paperwork and follow compact procedures to ensure the 
proper supervision of juveniles across state lines, coordinating their transport 
or return to the home state, and if necessary their detention. (See § 63-19-
2220.) 
 

ICJ’S BENEFITS 
 
The compact is overseen by the national Interstate Commission for Juveniles. 
Its goals are to preserve child welfare and promote public safety, victim’s 
rights, enhanced juvenile accountability and safety, and enforcement of 
protocols and communication among commission members.  
 
ICJ strengths are that it opens communication between participating states 
and establishes a uniform system of data collection and forms pertaining to a 
juvenile’s movement and supervision across state lines. The compact 
ensures that solicitors, judges, and other juvenile justice professionals 
involved in the process have a consistent approach to working with these 
juveniles. The individual members work cooperatively in the administration 
and management of the program. 
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INTERSTATE COMMISSION FOR JUVENILES WEBSITE 
 
Additional information on the Interstate Compact for Juveniles, including 
required and optional forms, as well as a complete list of the ICJ Rules, can 
be found at http://www.juvenilecompact.org/.  
 
** The Benchbook for Judges and Court Personnel is also an excellent 
resource that can be accessed on the ICJ website. It provides a detailed 
overview of the ICJ rules. 

 
SOUTH CAROLINA CONTACT INFORMATION 

 
Your local DJJ representatives are trained on the interstate compact and 
should be able to handle any situation involving a child who comes under the 
ICJ.  
 
For more information please contact your local DJJ County Office or: 
Dawne Gannon 
ICJ Commissioner/Coordinator 
Office of Community Justice 
S.C. Department of Juvenile Justice 
4900 Broad River Rd., PO Box 21069 
Columbia, SC 29221-1069 
Office (803) 896-9351, Fax (803) 896-6917 
DSGANN@scdjj.net 
 
 
. 

 

 

 

 
 
 

 

 

http://www.juvenilecompact.org/
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MEDIA ISSUES 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



198 

 

MEDIA OVERVIEW 
 

 
RIGHT OF ACCESS TO COURT PROCEEDINGS BY THE PRESS 

 

The “free press” right of access to court proceedings claim is generally based upon 
the First and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitution and Section 
2, Article I of the South Carolina Constitution which prohibit the making of laws which 
would diminish the freedom of the press.  

 The First Amendment to the United States Constitution provides that “Congress 
shall make no law…abridging the freedom of…the press” (made applicable to the 
states by the 14 Amendment). 

 Section 2, Article I of the South Carolina Constitution provides that the “General 
Assembly shall make no law… abridging the freedom of …the press.” 

 Section 9, Article I of the SC Constitution provides that “all courts shall be public.” 
 

While Section 9, Article I of the South Carolina Constitution provides that “all courts 
shall be public,” state law provides that the “general public must be excluded [from 
hearings involving cases of children] and only persons the judge finds to have a 
direct interest in the case or in the work of the court may be admitted.” § 63-3-590.  
 

In Ex parte Columbia Newspapers, 333 S.E. 2d 337 (S.C. 1985), the court held that 
Article I, § 9 does not render § 63-3-590 unconstitutional. The court found that “the 
public, which includes the press, has a right of access to juvenile court proceedings 
subject to a balancing of interests with the parties involved.” The court also held 
that if a judge’s decision to close any court proceeding is challenged by the public or 
the press, it must be supported by findings explaining the balancing of interests and 
the need for closure of the proceeding. (See also, Steinle v. Lollis, 307 S.E.2d 230 
(S.C. 1983) – the right of access to court proceedings is not absolute but subject to a 
proper balancing of competing interests.) 
 
A defendant who opposes the public’s right of access to court proceedings bears the 
burden of proof to justify closure. This is in line with the general rule that "[c]losed 
proceedings...must be rare and only for cause shown that outweighs the value of 
openness." Ex parte The Island Packet, 417 S.E.2d 575 (S.C. 1992). 
 

RELEASE OF INFORMATION TO NEWSPAPER, TV OR RADIO STATION 
 
Section 63-19-2040(A) prohibits providing a newspaper or radio or television station 
with the name, identity, or picture of a child under the court’s jurisdiction unless: 

 authorized by court order; 

 the solicitor has petitioned the court to waive the child to circuit court;  

 the child has been waived to adult court;  or  

 the child has been adjudicated delinquent for a violent crime, grand larceny of a 
motor vehicle; a crime in which a weapon was used;  or distribution or trafficking 
in unlawful drugs.  

http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?mt=LawSchool&db=1001530&docname=SCCNARTIS2&rp=%2ffind%2fdefault.wl&findtype=L&ordoc=1983144222&tc=-1&vr=2.0&fn=_top&sv=Split&tf=-1&pbc=707800AA&rs=WLW12.04
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?mt=LawSchool&db=1001530&docname=SCCNARTIS2&rp=%2ffind%2fdefault.wl&findtype=L&ordoc=1983144222&tc=-1&vr=2.0&fn=_top&sv=Split&tf=-1&pbc=707800AA&rs=WLW12.04
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The Juvenile Court of Richland County, Carol Conner, J., issued an order closing 
motion hearing to determine whether two juveniles accused of murder would be tried 
in family court or the court of general sessions, and newspaper appealed. The 
Supreme Court held that: (1) although sole issue on appeal had been rendered 
moot, issue was considered because dispute was one capable of repetition yet 
evading review, and (2) once newspaper had challenged closure of proceedings, 
family court judge was required to make specific findings justifying closure, and 
judge's conclusory statement that closure was necessary to protect juveniles' 
chances of rehabilitation was not a sufficient finding. 
 
Order vacated. 
Jay Bender, of Belser, Baker, Barwick, Ravenel, Toal & Bender, Columbia, for 
appellant.  
Douglas K. Kotti, of the Law Offices of Harvey L. Golden, P.A., and John R. Lester, 
Columbia, for respondents. Sol. James C. Anders and Asst. Sol. Stanley D. 
Ragsdale, Columbia, for the State.  
 
PER CURIAM:  
Fifteen-year-old twin brothers were charged with the murder of their mother. Under 
[§ 63-19-1210(5)] of the Code of Laws of South Carolina (1976), it became the duty 
of the Family Court Judge to determine whether the cases would be tried in Family 
Court or transferred to the Court of General Sessions where the accused persons 
would be tried as if the offense had been committed by an adult. At the time of the 
motion hearing, the Family Court Judge excluded the press relying upon [§ 63-3-
590], which states in pertinent part:  
 
All cases of children shall be dealt with as separate hearings by the [Family] court 
and without a jury.... The general public shall be excluded and only such persons 
admitted as the judge shall find to have a direct interest in the case or in the work of 
the court.  
 
Columbia Newspapers, Inc., through this appeal, challenges the constitutionality of 
this section. That is the only issue before the Court. While the trial of the case on its 
merits has been finalized in the Court of General Sessions, we will not treat the 
issue as moot because the dispute is one which is capable of repetition yet evading 
review. Gannett v. DePasquale, 443 U.S. 368, 99 S.Ct. 2898, 61 L.Ed.2d 608; 
Steinle v. Lollis, 279 S.C. 375, 307 S.E.2d 230 (1983). We review the case in order 
to provide guidelines for the bench, bar and the press at future hearings.  
 
The newspaper contends that the statute is in direct contradiction with Article I, 
Section 9 of the Constitution of South Carolina which states: All courts shall be 
public, and every person shall have speedy remedy therein for wrongs sustained. 
The right of the public and of news media are the same. The newspaper argues that 

 

EX PARTE COLUMBIA NEWSPAPERS, INC. 
286 S.C. 116, 333 S.E.2d 337, 1985. 

http://web2.westlaw.com/Find/Default.wl?DB=1001530&DocName=SCSTS20-7-430&FindType=L&AP=&RS=WLW2.75&VR=2.0&SV=Split&MT=LawSchool&FN=_top
http://web2.westlaw.com/Find/Default.wl?DB=708&SerialNum=1979135173&FindType=Y&AP=&RS=WLW2.75&VR=2.0&SV=Split&MT=LawSchool&FN=_top
http://web2.westlaw.com/Find/Default.wl?DB=711&SerialNum=1983144222&FindType=Y&AP=&RS=WLW2.75&VR=2.0&SV=Split&MT=LawSchool&FN=_top
http://web2.westlaw.com/Find/Default.wl?DB=1001530&DocName=SCCNARTIS9&FindType=L&AP=&RS=WLW2.75&VR=2.0&SV=Split&MT=LawSchool&FN=_top
http://web2.westlaw.com/Find/Default.wl?DB=1001530&DocName=SCCNARTIS9&FindType=L&AP=&RS=WLW2.75&VR=2.0&SV=Split&MT=LawSchool&FN=_top


200 

 

this provision of the Constitution guarantees the general public access to all courts 
of the State such that anyone may attend any proceeding. We disagree.  
 
In Steinle v. Lollis, supra, we stated "... such right of access to trials as does exist is 
not absolute but subject to a proper balancing of competing interests."  
 
We interpret Article I, Section 9 of the Constitution of South Carolina as we did in 
Steinle to mean that the public, and likewise the press, has a right of access to court 
proceedings subject to a balancing of interests with the parties involved. The 
Legislature may impose limitations on the right of access to court proceedings as 
was done by [§63-3-590]. However, when and if challenged by the public or the 
press, the decision of a judge to close any proceeding must be supported by 
findings, which explain the balancing of interests and the need for closure of the 
proceeding. It would be unduly burdensome to require a Family Court judge to make 
specific findings in every case where children are involved. Therefore, we require 
that findings be made only when the closure of a particular case is challenged.  
 
We hold the Family Court judge erred in failing to make specific findings that the 
closure of the hearing was necessary to protect the rights of the juveniles involved. 
The judge's conclusory statement that opening the proceedings to the public would 
have an adverse effect upon the chances of rehabilitation of the juveniles is not a 
sufficient finding. The order under appeal is accordingly,  
VACATED. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://web2.westlaw.com/Find/Default.wl?SerialNum=1983144222&FindType=Y&AP=&RS=WLW2.75&VR=2.0&SV=Split&MT=LawSchool&FN=_top
http://web2.westlaw.com/Find/Default.wl?DB=1001530&DocName=SCCNARTIS9&FindType=L&AP=&RS=WLW2.75&VR=2.0&SV=Split&MT=LawSchool&FN=_top
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Ex parte THE ISLAND PACKET and The Beaufort Gazette, Appellants. 
In re CHRISTOPHER F., a minor Under the Age of Seventeen, Defendant. 

308 S.C. 198, 417 S.E.2d 575, 1992 
 

Newspapers requested transcripts of closed detention hearing and access to closed transfer 
hearing regarding juvenile charged with murdering his father and stepmother. The Family 
Court, Beaufort County, John T. Black, J., denied the request, and newspapers appealed. The 
Supreme Court, Moore, J., held that: (1) failure to challenge closure of hearing does not bar 
subsequent consideration of request for access to transcript of hearing; (2) accused who 
opposes public's right of access to hearing bears burden of proof to justify closure; and (3) 
closure of hearing was not justified.  
Reversed. 
 

Jay Bender, of Baker, Barwick, Ravenel & Bender, Columbia, for appellants.  
Atty. Gen. T. Travis Medlock, Asst. Attys. Gen., Harold M. Coombs, Jr. and Amie L. Clifford, 
Columbia, and Sol. Randolph Murdaugh, III, Hampton, for respondent.  
Kathy D. Lindsay, of Garber, Baldwin, Fairbanks & Lindsay, Beaufort, guardian ad litem, for 
defendant.  
 

MOORE, Justice:  
This appeal is from a family court order denying appellants access to transcripts of two 
hearings held in a juvenile matter and closing a pending hearing in the same case. We reverse. 
 
FACTS 
Defendant Christopher F. was fifteen years old when he was charged in juvenile petitions with 
murdering his father and stepmother. A detention hearing, closed to the public, was held in 
family court on May 2, 1990. A transfer hearing, also closed to the public, was begun May 18 in 
family court and continued to June. On May 23, appellants (Newspapers) filed a request for 
access to the transfer hearing scheduled for June and for transcripts of the May 2 and May 18 
hearings. A hearing was held June 8 to consider Newspapers' request for access which was 
denied. The transfer hearing was held later that day and was closed to the public. 
 
ISSUES 
1. Is access to a hearing transcript barred by failure to challenge closure of the hearing before it 
is held?   
2. Who bears the burden of proof in determining whether closure should be allowed?  
3. Was closure in this case properly allowed? 
 
DISCUSSION 
The family court ruled Newspapers' request for access to transcripts of the May 2 detention 
hearing and the May 18 transfer hearing was not timely because Newspapers did not challenge 
closure of those hearings before they were held. Newspapers contend access should not be 
barred on this procedural ground. We agree.  
 

The request for a transcript implicates the same first amendment rights that protect the public's 
access to the actual proceeding. See Press-Enterprise Co. v. Superior Court, 478 U.S. 1, 106 

 

EX PARTE THE ISLAND PACKET 

http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=WLD%2DPEOPLECITE&DocName=0260520701&FindType=h&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=WLD%2DPEOPLECITE&DocName=0260520701&FindType=h&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=WLD%2DPEOPLECITE&DocName=0260621201&FindType=h&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=WLD%2DPEOPLECITE&DocName=0260621201&FindType=h&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=WLD%2DPEOPLECITE&DocName=0150838701&FindType=h&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=WLD%2DPEOPLECITE&DocName=0150838701&FindType=h&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=WLD%2DPEOPLECITE&DocName=0274298101&FindType=h&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=WLD%2DPEOPLECITE&DocName=0274298101&FindType=h&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=WLD%2DPEOPLECITE&DocName=0221374201&FindType=h&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=WLD%2DPEOPLECITE&DocName=0221374201&FindType=h&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=WLD%2DPEOPLECITE&DocName=0178669601&FindType=h&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=WLD%2DPEOPLECITE&DocName=0178669601&FindType=h&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=WLD%2DPEOPLECITE&DocName=0260621201&FindType=h&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=WLD%2DPEOPLECITE&DocName=0260621201&FindType=h&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=708&SerialNum=1986133437&FindType=Y&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
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S.Ct. 2735, 92 L.Ed.2d 1 (1986) (Press-Enterprise (II)); see also State v. Sinclair, 275 S.C. 608, 
274 S.E.2d 411 (1981). We hold the fact that closure of the hearing was unchallenged at the 
time is not a bar to consideration of a request for access to a transcript of the hearing.  
 

Newspapers also contest the family court's ruling they had the burden of proof in challenging 
closure of the transfer hearing and the finding that closure was justified.  
 

In Press-Enterprise (II), supra, the United States Supreme Court set out the analysis to be 
applied in determining whether the First Amendment requires public access to a criminal 
proceeding when the accused opposes it. First, the threshold inquiry is whether there exists a 
right of access to the particular type of proceeding in question. 106 S.Ct. at 2740. In making 
this determination, the court may consider (1) whether the proceeding has historically been an 
open one and (2) whether public scrutiny plays a significant role in the functioning of the 
proceeding. Id.   For instance, in non-jury matters the public's presence is considered a 
safeguard against the "overzealous prosecutor" and the "eccentric judge." 106 S.Ct. at 2742. 
 

Once there has been a threshold determination that a qualified first amendment right of access 
applies to the particular proceeding, the court must then consider whether the rights of the 
accused override it. 106 S.Ct. at 2741. To justify closure, the court must make specific findings 
that closure is "essential to preserve higher values and is narrowly tailored to serve that 
interest." Id. Where the accused asserts his right to a fair trial to justify closure, the court must 
make specific findings (1) that there is a substantial probability of prejudice from publicity that 
closure would prevent and (2) there are no reasonable alternatives to closure that would 
adequately protect the defendant's fair trial rights. 106 S.Ct. at 2743.  "[E]ven when a right of 
access attaches, it is not absolute." 106 S.Ct. at 2740. 
 

We hold under Press-Enterprise (II) the accused who opposes the public's right of access 
bears the burden of proof to justify closure. This allocation of the burden of proof is consistent 
with the general rule that "[c]losed proceedings... must be rare and only for cause shown that 
outweighs the value of openness." Press-Enterprise Co. v. Superior Court, 464 U.S. 501, 104 
S.Ct. 819, 823, 78 L.Ed.2d 629 (1984) (Press-Enterprise (I) ).  
 

The family court properly found a qualified right of access to the transfer hearing as previously 
held by this Court in Ex parte Columbia Newspapers, Inc., 286 S.C. 116, 333 S.E.2d 337 
(1985). In denying Newspapers' request for access, however, the family court found: (1) 
publicity would affect the defendant's right to a fair trial; and (2) confidential information 
regarding the defendant's psychiatric status would be revealed. It also noted the defendant's 
"anxiety" about press coverage.  
 

Under the Press-Enterprise (II) analysis, we find none of these findings sufficient to justify 
closure here. First, the record does not support a finding of a substantial probability of prejudice 
from publicity since extensive details had already been disclosed in the press regarding the 
defendant and the crimes with which he was charged. Second, a reasonable alternative to 
closure would be in camera testimony regarding matters of a confidential nature. Finally, 
lessening a defendant's "anxiety," even a juvenile's, does not promote a higher value than 
protection of the public's constitutional right of access.  
 

Accordingly, we hold the family court erred in refusing Newspapers' request for access to the 
transcripts of the May 2 and May 18 hearings and in closing the June 8 hearing. REVERSED.  
HARWELL, C.J., CHANDLER and FINNEY, JJ., and JOHN P. GARDNER, Acting Associate 
Justice, concur.  

 

http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?SerialNum=1986133437&FindType=Y&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=711&SerialNum=1981104447&FindType=Y&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=711&SerialNum=1981104447&FindType=Y&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?SerialNum=1986133437&FindType=Y&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=708&SerialNum=1986133437&FindType=Y&ReferencePositionType=S&ReferencePosition=2740&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?SerialNum=1986133437&FindType=Y&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=708&SerialNum=1986133437&FindType=Y&ReferencePositionType=S&ReferencePosition=2742&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=708&SerialNum=1986133437&FindType=Y&ReferencePositionType=S&ReferencePosition=2741&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?SerialNum=1986133437&FindType=Y&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=708&SerialNum=1986133437&FindType=Y&ReferencePositionType=S&ReferencePosition=2743&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=708&SerialNum=1986133437&FindType=Y&ReferencePositionType=S&ReferencePosition=2740&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?SerialNum=1986133437&FindType=Y&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=708&SerialNum=1984103129&FindType=Y&ReferencePositionType=S&ReferencePosition=823&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=708&SerialNum=1984103129&FindType=Y&ReferencePositionType=S&ReferencePosition=823&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?SerialNum=1984103129&FindType=Y&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=711&SerialNum=1985138961&FindType=Y&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?DB=711&SerialNum=1985138961&FindType=Y&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?SerialNum=1986133437&FindType=Y&AP=&fn=_top&rs=WLW6.05&mt=LawSchoolPractitioner&vr=2.0&sv=Split
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UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT CASES 
 

Kent v. United States, 383 U.S. 541 (1966). 

Established that, in order to protect a child’s constitutional rights, the child is 
entitled to: a full hearing on the issues of waiver to adult court; assistance of 
counsel at the hearing; full access to social records used by the court to 
determine whether the child should be waived; and a statement of the 
reasons for any decision to waive jurisdiction to adult court. 
 
In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967). 

Established that due process rights guaranteed by the Fifth, Sixth, and 
Fourteenth Amendments apply to juvenile court proceedings and that a 
juvenile has the right to adequate and timely notice of charges, the right to 
counsel, the right against self incrimination, and the right to confront and 
cross-examine witnesses.  
 
In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970). 

Established proof beyond a reasonable doubt as the standard for juvenile 
adjudication proceedings. 
 
McKeiver v. Pennsylvania, 403 U.S. 528 (1971). 

Established that a child being adjudicated delinquent in juvenile court is not 
guaranteed the right to a jury trial. 
 
Breed v. Jones, 421 U.S. 519 (1975).  

Established that the Double Jeopardy Clause of the Fifth Amendment 
prevents a juvenile who has been adjudicated delinquent in juvenile court 
from being subsequently tried in an adult court for the same offense. 
 
Schall v. Martin, 467 U.S. 253 (1984).  

Established that preventive detention fulfills a legitimate state interest of 
protecting society and juveniles by detaining those who might be dangerous 
to society or to themselves. 
 
Roper v. Simmons, 543 U.S. 551 (2005). 

Established that it is unconstitutional to impose capital punishment for crimes 
committed prior to a person’s 18th birthday. 
 

 

 

LANDMARK JUVENILE CASES  
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SOUTH CAROLINA SUPREME COURT CASES 
 

In the Matter of Skinner, 249 S.E.2d 746 (S.C. 1978). 

Established that the common law presumption that a child between the ages 
of seven and fourteen is rebuttably presumed incapable of committing a crime 
is inapplicable to family court proceedings.  The practical effect is that there is 
no age limit for bringing a delinquency proceeding in family court. 
 
In re Williams, 217 S.E.2d 719 (S.C. 1975). 

Established that the absence of a parent, counsel, or other friendly adult does 
not make a statement given by a child to the police inadmissible. The 
admissibility of a statement given by a minor is based upon the “totality of the 
circumstances” to include such factors as age, intelligence, education, 
experience, and ability to comprehend the meaning and effect of the 
statement. 
 
In Interest of Christopher W., 329 S.E.2d 769 (S.C. 1985). 

Established that the voluntariness of a minor's inculpatory statement must be 
proved by preponderance of evidence.  
 
State v. McCoy, 328 S.E.2d 620 (S.C. 1985). 

Established that Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963) does not apply in a 
waiver hearing. 
 
State v. Sparkman, 339 S.E. 2d 865 (S.C. 1986). 

Held that a person’s juvenile record may be used in a subsequent court 
proceeding to impeach the person (as a defendant or witness) and at 
sentencing. 
 
Ex parte Columbia Newspapers, Inc., 333 S.E.2d 337 (S.C. 1985). 

Established that family court proceedings are open to the press unless the 
judge makes a specific finding justifying closure. 
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STATE AGENCIES 
 

Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services (DAODAS) 
http://www.daodas.state.sc.us/ 
 

The South Carolina Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services 
(DAODAS) is the cabinet-level agency charged with ensuring the provision of 
quality services to prevent or reduce the negative consequences of substance 
use and addictions. DAODAS partners with public, private and social sector 
organizations to provide quality prevention, intervention and treatment 
services for the citizens of South Carolina. 
 
SC Department of Disabilities and Special Needs (DDSN) 
http://ddsn.sc.gov/ 
 

SCDDSN is the state agency that plans, develops, oversees and funds 
services for South Carolinians with severe, lifelong disabilities of intellectual 
disability, autism, traumatic brain injury and spinal cord injury and conditions 
related to each of these four disabilities. Their mission is to assist people with 
disabilities and their families in meeting needs, pursuing possibilities and 
achieving life goals, and to minimize the occurrence and reduce the severity 
of disabilities through prevention.  

 
SC Department of Education (DOE) 
http://ed.sc.gov/ 

 
SC Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ) 
http://www.state.sc.us/djj/ 
 

DJJ is a state cabinet agency, and by law, it is also a treatment and 
rehabilitative agency for the state’s juveniles.  DJJ is responsible for providing 
custodial care and rehabilitation for the state’s children who are incarcerated, 
on probation or parole, or in community placement for a criminal or status 
offense.  DJJ’s goal is to protect the public and reclaim juveniles through 
prevention, community programs, education, and rehabilitative services in the 
least restrictive environment possible.  

 
S.C. Department of Mental Health (DMH) - Division of Children, 
Adolescents and Their Families (CAF) 
http://www.state.sc.us/dmh/caf/services 

 

DMH provides a wide range of treatment services to children, adolescents 
and their families. These services are provided through the department’s 
network of 17 local community mental health centers. DMH  seeks to make 
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these services accessible to families by "meeting families where they are." 
Consequently, many of the services are provided in those natural 
environments–such as in the school or home–that are most comfortable for 
the child and his or her family. Information regarding available services can 
be accessed on their website. 

 
S.C. Department of Social Services (DSS) 
http://dss.sc.gov 
 

The mission of the South Carolina Department of Social Services is to ensure 
the safety of children and adults who cannot protect themselves and assist 
families with achieving stability through child support, child care, financial and 
other temporary benefits while transitioning into employment. 

 

CHILD ADVOCACY ORGANIZATIONS 
 

Protection and Advocacy for People with Disabilities, Inc. (P&A) 
3710 Landmark Drive, Suite 208, Columbia, SC 29204 
1-866-275-7273; 803-782-0639 
http://pandasc.org 
 

P&A is an independent, statewide, non-profit corporation that protects and 
advances the legal rights of people with disabilities. Under annual priorities 
set by a volunteer board of directors, P&A investigates reports of abuse and 
neglect and advocates for disability rights in areas such as health care, 
education, employment and housing. P&A serves people of all ages and 
disabilities. P&A does not charge for its services. 
 

While P&A does not provide direct legal representation to juveniles in 
delinquency proceedings, their advocates and attorneys are available for 
consultation and support to assist children in obtaining the services and 
supports necessary to rehabilitate and maintain them safely and successfully 
in the community. If you know or suspect a juvenile who has pending charges 
may be disabled, you may call P&A at 1-866-275-7273 for assistance.   
 
Continuum of Care  
State Office, Governor’s Office   
1205 Pendleton Street, Suite 372, Columbia, South Carolina 29201  
Office: (803) 734-4500 Fax: (803) 734-4538   
http://www.continuum.sc.gov 
 

The Continuum of Care is a program that serves children with severe 
emotional disturbance. It is housed within the Governor's Office of Executive 
Policy and Programs. The Continuum has one administrative office (State 
Office) in Columbia and four regional offices located in Columbia, North 
Charleston, Greenville and Florence that provide services throughout the 
state. The Continuum is funded primarily with state revenues and Medicaid 
funds. 

http://dss.sc.gov/
http://pandasc.org/
http://www.continuum.sc.gov/
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The mission of the Continuum of Care is to ensure continuing development 
and delivery of appropriate services to those children with severe emotional 
disturbance and their families in SC whose needs are not being adequately 
met by existing services and programs. It will meet this mission by 
supplementing existing services available to this population and promoting 
support that encourages family strength and self-sufficiency.  
 

The Continuum can serve as a valuable resource to the family court providing 
information regarding treatment and services that the court may not have 
considered. Often, the Continuum can develop individualized services to meet 
the specific needs of a client and family. The Continuum can access in-home 
treatment programs, residential programs, and community wrap-around 
services to provide the needed treatment to a client and family.  The 
Continuum will advocate for the client to receive treatment in the least 
restrictive setting possible.  
 
The Children’s Trust of South Carolina 
1634 Main Street, Suite 100 Columbia, SC 29201  
 803.733.5430 
http://www.scchildren.org 
 

In 2008, to eliminate duplication of programs and to fortify sustainability for 
initiatives supporting children and families, The Children's Trust of South 
Carolina became the state's designated 501(c)(3) organization for the 
prevention of child abuse, neglect and unintentional injuries. This was the 
result of a merger between Prevent Child Abuse South Carolina, Voices for 
South Carolina's Children, Children's Trust Fund of South Carolina and Safe 
Kids South Carolina. 

 

IN–PATIENT ADOLESCENT TREATMENT FACILITIES 
 

William J. McCord Adolescent Treatment Facility 
910 Cook Road, Orangeburg, SC 29118 
(803) 534-2328 
www.mccordcenter.com 

 

The William J. McCord Adolescent Treatment Facility offers a 24-hour 
structured regime of medical and clinical services to adolescents with 
presenting alcohol and/or other drug problems.  

 
William S. Hall Psychiatric Institute / Child and Adolescent 

1800 Colonial Drive, Columbia, SC 29203  
(803) 898-1662 
  

This hospital is licensed by the state of South Carolina as a Specialized 
Hospital with a separately-licensed Residential Treatment Facility for Children 
and Adolescents. It provides in-patient psychiatric services, treatment for 
alcoholism and drug abuse or addiction, and residential treatment for 
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adolescents. Patients are admitted from throughout the state with referrals 
from community mental health centers, juvenile parole boards, Department of 
Social Services, the family court system and the Department of Juvenile 
Justice. The majority of patients are admitted through probate court, family 
court, or are voluntary admissions. Outpatient services include the 
Assessment and Resource Center.  
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SOUTH CAROLINA  
 

Children’s Law Center, University of South Carolina School of Law  
http://childlaw.sc.edu 
Contains downloadable pdf files of Children’s Law Center (CLC) publications, 
summaries of case decisions relevant to children in South Carolina, updates on 
child related issues, legal forms, updated information regarding trainings and 
projects of the CLC, and links to numerous child-serving agencies and 
organizations. 
 
South Carolina Department of Juvenile Justice 
http://www.state.sc.us/djj 
Provides an overview of all services offered by the agency. 
 
South Carolina Legislature Online 
http://www.scstatehouse.gov 
Provides access to South Carolina laws and legislative updates. 

 
NATIONAL 

 
ABA’s Juvenile Justice Committee (Criminal Justice Section) 
http://www.americanbar.org 
Contains state and federal legislative updates, juvenile justice standards and 
articles. Includes links to over 500 juvenile justice websites and research 
information for judges, defenders, prosecutors, and parents.  
 
Center for Children's Law and Policy  
http://www.cclp.org 
CCLP is a public interest law and policy organization focused on reform of 
juvenile justice and other systems that affect troubled and at-risk children, and 
protection of the rights of children in such systems. 
  
Children’s Defense Fund 
http://www.childrensdefense.org 
The mission of the Children's Defense Fund is to “Leave No Child Behind” and to 
ensure every child a successful passage to adulthood with the help of caring 
families and communities. 
 
Coalition for Juvenile Justice (CJJ) 
http://www.juvjustice.org 
CJJ is a national association of governor-appointed state advisory groups tasked 
with informing policy makers, advocates and the public about the interplay of 
prevention, rehabilitation and accountability in reducing juvenile crime and 
delinquency.  

 

JUVENILE JUSTICE WEBSITES 

http://childlaw.sc.edu/
http://www.juvjustice.org/
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The Equity Project 
http://www.equityproject.org/  
The Equity Project examines issues of sexual orientation, gender identity, and 
gender expression (SOGI/E) that impact youth during the entire delinquency 
process, ranging from arrest through post-disposition. 
 
Interstate Commission for Juveniles 
http://www.juvenilecompact.org 
The ICJ, the governing body of the Interstate Compact for Juveniles provides 
enhanced accountability, enforcement, visibility, and communication in the return 
of juveniles who have left their state of residence without permission and in the 
cooperative supervision of delinquent juveniles who travel or relocate across 
state lines. 

 Bench Book for Judges and Court Personnel 

 Interstate Compact Rules 
 
Juvenile Collateral Consequences 
http://www.beforeyouplea.com 
The Juvenile Collateral Consequences Project is an endeavor undertaken by the 
American Bar Association to document and analyze the significant hardships 
experienced by youth who have come in contact with the juvenile justice system. 
These hardships, known as collateral consequences affect youth who have 
successfully completed a sentence imposed by the court and include barriers to 
education, employment, and public benefits. 
 
Juvenile Info Network 
http://www.juvenilenet.org 
Includes news, links, and research on juvenile justice issues. 
 
Juvenile Justice Resource Hub (Juvenile Justice Information Exchange) 
http://jjie.org/hub/ 
A comprehensive source of information on cutting-edge juvenile justice issues 
and reform trends. 
 
Juvenile Law Center 
http://www.jlc.org 
Provides access to numerous publications and training opportunities. 
 
Legal Information Institute 
http://www.law.cornell.edu 
Provides access to family law statutes from all 50 states.  
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National Center for Juvenile Justice 
http://www.ncjj.org 
Provides detailed profiles on each state’s juvenile justice system. The NCJJ, 
located in Pittsburgh, PA. is the research division of the National Council of 
Juvenile and Family Court Judges and is the oldest juvenile justice research 
group in the US. 
 
National Center for Mental Health and Juvenile Justice  

 
 
National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges  
http://www.ncjfcj.org 
Includes reviews of recent events in juvenile justice and many links. 
Available publications:  

 NCTSN Bench Card for the Trauma-Informed Judge, July 2013 

 Seven Things Juvenile Courts Should Know About Learning Disabilities, 
January 2012  

 Ten Things Every Juvenile Court Judge Should Know About Trauma and 
Delinquency, July 2010 

 
National Criminal Justice Reference Service  
http://www.ncjrs.gov 
NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse 
information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.  
 
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, US DOJ 
http://ojjdp.gov 
Provides facts and figures on juvenile justice, delinquency prevention, violence 
and victimization. 
 
Vera Institute of Justice, Center on Youth Justice 
http://www.vera.org/centers/youth-justice  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.ncjrs.gov/
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I. The National Juvenile Defender Center (NJDC)  

http://www.njdc.info/ 
The NJDC is an excellent resource for juvenile defenders. Be sure to visit 
their website and signup to be on one or more of their listservs (as well as the 
listserv of the Southern Juvenile Defender Center, our regional Center that 
includes SC, NC, GA, FL, LA, MS, AL). 
 

Useful publications available on the NJDC website include: 
 Trial Manual for Defense Attorneys in Juvenile Delinquency Cases, 

2012 Edition by Randy Hertz, Martin Guggenheim, and Anthony G. 
Amsterdam of New York University School of Law. This EXCELLENT 
resource is a how-to-do-it guidebook for handling juvenile court cases 
from beginning to end. It deals exclusively with the tasks, skills, rules of 
law, and issues of strategic judgment involved in representing clients in 
juvenile court. Rather than ignoring those aspects of juvenile proceedings 
that mirror adult criminal practice, the MANUAL examines them at every 
stage. 

 Juvenile Defender Delinquency Notebook, June 2006 
 Role of Juvenile Defense Counsel, Spring 2009 
 National Juvenile Defense Standards, 2012 

 
II. Juvenile Indigent Defense section of the Juvenile Justice Resource Hub 

http://jjie.org/hub/juvenile-indigent-defense/ 
 

III. Vera Institute of Justice, Center on Youth Justice 
http://www.vera.org/centers/youth-justice 
Status Offense Reform Center  
SORC, a project of the Center on Youth Justice at the Vera Institute of 
Justice, assists policymakers and practitioners create effective, community-
based responses for keeping status offenders out of the juvenile justice 
system and safely in their homes and communities. 
 

IV. American Bar Association publications: 
 Representing Juvenile Status Offenders  
 www.abanet.org/child/jso.shtml 
 Collateral Consequences in the State of South Carolina 

http://www.beforeyouplea.com/sc 
 ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct (Adopted by SC 10/1/2005) 
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